DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 7-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12108298 in view of US 2016/0021503 (Tapia).
Claim 1 of the patent anticipates most of the limitations recited in claims 1 and 3 of the pending application.
Claims 2 of the patent anticipates most of the limitations recited in claim 2 of the pending application.
Claims 3 of the patent anticipates most of the limitations recited in claim 4 of the pending application.
Claims 4 of the patent anticipates most of the limitations recited in claim 5 of the pending application.
Claims 5 of the patent anticipates most of the limitations recited in claim 6 of the pending application.
Claims 7 of the patent anticipates most of the limitations recited in claim 7 of the pending application.
Claims 8 of the patent anticipates most of the limitations recited in claim 8 of the pending application.
What is lacking from claims 1-5 and 7-8 of the patent is the performance parameters including signal strength and quality. In analogous art Tapia teaches wireless network performance parameters comprising signal strength and quality (see paragraph 17).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to the patented claims so as to optimize the evaluation of network performance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the plurality of geographic locations" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0281497 (Nieminen) in view of US 2016/0021503 (Tapia) in view of US 2017/0142595 (Ljung et al.).
As to claim 1, Nieminen teaches a method comprising using at least one hardware processor to:
for each of a plurality of network layers (16-18, fig 1) receive quality information for that network layer, wherein the quality information comprises cell load level, both signal quality and strength indications or throughput at the plurality of geographic locations in at least one cell of the network layers (see paragraphs 53 and 75, load, signal strengths and throughputs for cells serving overlapping area obtained as part of network modelling);
for each of the plurality of network, receive one or more objectives. These objectives can represent target values, which are used in determining an optimal transfer of demand between the plurality of network layers at one or more of the plurality of geographic locations at which the plurality of network layers overlap (see paragraphs 32 and 48, network optimalization and load balancing for cells in an overlapping area is the desired outcome for the network modeler);
generate an optimal transfer of demand between the plurality of networks at one or more of the plurality of geographic locations at which the plurality of networks overlap, wherein the optimal transfer of demand is determined based on the load level, differences between signal strength and one or more objectives using the at least one hardware processor and powerful computing tools, over a plurality of iterations until one or more objectives are satisfied (see paragraphs 48-50 and 62-73 and figure 4, the load balancing process is repeated for every cell until all cells are processed based on loads, signal strength differences and desired outcomes);
determine one or more parameters to be used by at least one of the plurality of network layers to produce the optimal transfer of demand between the plurality of network layers at the one or more geographic locations at which the plurality of networks overlap (see paragraph 68, network parameter values needed to achieve load balancing determined and saved);
deliver the set of one or more parameters to the at least one network layer through an interface with at least one network layers (see paragraph 70, cells are informed of the network parameter values needed to achieve load balancing).
What is lacking from Nieminem of the differences between signal strength and quality.
In analogous art Tapia teaches wireless network performance parameters comprising signal strength and quality (see Tapia, paragraph 17).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Nieminem so as to optimize the evaluation of network performance.
What is lacking from Nieminen is including massive parallel cloud computing
In analogous art, Ljung teaches load balancing in an area served by multiple cells by using massive parallel cloud computing (see Ljung, paragraphs 45-46 and 52-54).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Nieminen so as to exploit the increased capacity of cloud based computing.
As to claim 2, Nieminen further teaches wherein quality information for that network layer is an available signal parameter that indicates the quality or strength of the connection that can be achieved (see paragraph 53).
As to claim 3, Nieminen further teaches wherein noise plus interference difference in signal quality and strength between cells in different network layers can be estimated by subtracting the SINR value from the RSRP values and averaging across each network layer (note that this wherein statement does not further limit any of the claimed steps of the method recited in claim 1).
As to claim 5, Nieminen further teaches where the signal parameters include at least one of signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), channel quality indicator (CQI), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), reference signal received power (RSRP), and received signal strength indicator (RSSI) (see paragraph 34, parameters for load balancing may include threshold signal strengths [~RSSI]).
As to claim 6, Nieminen further teaches where the one or more objectives include network speed or speed distribution (see paragraph 75, throughput~network speed).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0281497 (Nieminen) in view of US 2016/0021503 (Tapia) in view of US 2017/0142595 (Ljung et al.) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2015/0111575 (Lei et al.).
As to claim 4, what is further lacking is where the powerful computing tools utilize artificial intelligence (e.g., machine learning).
In analogous art, Lei teaches using AI to execute traffic steering in a wireless network (see Lei, paragraph 47).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Nieminen so as to exploit the superior and self learning computing capability of AI.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0281497 (Nieminen) in view of US 2016/0021503 (Tapia) in view of US 2017/0142595 (Ljung et al.) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of US 2016/0219478 (Huang-Fu et al.).
As to claim 7, what is lacking is wherein the set of one or more parameters include parameters to be used in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Reconfiguration message.
In analogous art, Huang-Fu teaches traffic steering parameters being sent to a user device via a RRC signaling (see Huang-Fu, paragraph 52).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Nieminen so as to preserve resources by using available signaling to load manage a network.
As to claim 8, what is lacking is wherein the set of one or more parameters include parameters to be used in a System Information Block (SIB).
In analogous art, Huang-Fu teaches traffic steering parameters being sent to a user device via a SIB (see Huang-Fu, paragraph 52).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Nieminen so as to preserve resources by using available signaling to load manage a network.
Conclusion
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641