DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an application filed on 08/29/2024. The applicant submits two Information Disclosure Statements dated 08/29/2024. The applicant does not make a claim for Foreign priority. The applicant makes a claim for Domestic priority to applications filed on 09/16/2021 and 06/30/2022.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8 , and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claim clauses are separated by either a comma or a semi-colon. Therefore, there is inconsistency between the independent claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6 – 8, 10, 11, 14, 16 – 18, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,623,738. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to the same inventive concept of identifying an actuator of a vehicle malfunctioning and then adjusting the operation of the actuators to execute stable coordinated flight.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 3, 5, 8, 10 – 13, 15, 18, 20, and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,077,281. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to the same inventive concept of identifying an actuator of a vehicle malfunctioning and then adjusting the operation of the actuators to execute stable coordinated flight.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,077,281. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to the same inventive concept of identifying an actuator of a vehicle malfunctioning and then adjusting the operation of the actuators to execute stable coordinated flight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of a mental concept of evaluation and/or observation without significantly more. The claims are evaluated with respect to the MPEP and the 2019 Subject Matter Guidance, herein guidance. Example 40 of the Guidance is used as the threshold for evaluating the claims.
Step 1
The claims recite a system, a method, and a non-transitory computer readable medium string executable instruction. The claims are identified to one of the four statutory categories. Therefore, the claims pass Step 1.
Step 2A Prong I
The independent claims 1 is reproduced below with the abstract idea in italics and the pre/post solution activity in bold. The analysis of claim 1 is applied to the other independent claims 8 and 14.
Claim 1
A system comprising:
a processor; and
a memory with instructions executable on the processor, the instructions configured to: receive pilot control selection data and receive aircraft angle data based on a sensor,
identify a malfunctioning actuator of an electric aircraft based on the pilot control selection data and the aircraft angle data, and
in response to identifying the malfunctioning actuator, generate an actuator command to control an additional actuator.
With respect to the MPEP the inventive concept is determined pursuant to section 2106.07. The invention evaluates whether the actuators are operating properly and then takes action based upon the evaluation. The claims do not define with specificity pursuant to the section 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A) how the evaluation is performed. The claims contain a generic structure of a processor, memory, and sensor without detailing features that a human mind cannot perform. A human is able to observe the actuators and evaluate the performance. The generating of a command is generic and does not specify a command that a basic computer code isn’t able to perform. The dependent claims do not identify a specific malfunction that cannot be observed and evaluated with the human mind. In addition, the dependent claims do not identify structure that is so specific that the human mind is unable to perform. Therefore, with respect to the MPEP the features fail Step 2A Prong I.
With respect to the Guidance, the claims do not define what is sensed to determine a malfunction is or did occur. In example 40, the claims identify what specific data is collected and based upon the collected data determining performance. Therefore, since the claims in the claimed invention fail to comply with the standards established in the example. The claims fail Step 2A Prong I based upon the guidance.
Step 2A Prong II
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not identify a new or improved way to control an actuator pursuant to MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.04(d)(1). The claims do not identify a new or improved sensing of a malfunction. In addition, the claims do not identify a new or improved manner of generating commands for an actuator. Therefore, the claims fail step 2A Prong II.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims fail to satisfy the thresholds established in the MPEP 2106.05 (a-h). The claims do not satisfy the guidance thresholds of example 40. Therefore, the claims are not eligible for patent protection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8 – 10, 12, 14, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by McCullough US 10,227,133.
As per claim 1, A system comprising:
a processor; (McCullough Col 9 lines 41 – 44) and
a memory with instructions executable on the processor, the instructions configured to:
receive pilot control selection data and receive aircraft angle data based on a sensor, (McCullough Col 20 lines 37 – 40)
identify a malfunctioning actuator of an electric aircraft based on the pilot control selection data and the aircraft angle data, (McCullough Col 5 lines 40 – 44) and
in response to identifying the malfunctioning actuator, generate an actuator command to control an additional actuator. (McCullough Col 11 lines 51 – 67, Col 12 lines 1, 2)
As per claim 3, The system of claim 1, wherein the actuator command to the additional actuator compensates for the malfunctioning actuator. (McCullough Col 11 lines 51 – 67, Col 12 lines 1, 2)
As per claim 4, The system of claim 1, wherein identifying the malfunctioning actuator of the electric aircraft further comprises comparing an expected actuator performance model to an actual actuator performance. (McCullough Col 20 lines 64 – 67 and Col 21 line 1)
As per claim 6, The system of claim 1, wherein the pilot control selection data comprises an attitude command. (McCullough Col 11 lines 3 – 14, where pitch is the functional equivalent to attitude)
As per claim 8, A method comprising:
receiving pilot control selection data and receive aircraft angle data based on a sensor; (McCullough Col 20 lines 37 – 40)
identifying a malfunctioning actuator of an electric aircraft based on the pilot control selection data and the aircraft angle data; (McCullough Col 5 lines 40 – 44) and
in response to identifying the malfunctioning actuator, generating an actuator command to control an additional actuator. (McCullough Col 11 lines 51 – 67, Col 12 lines 1, 2)
As per claim 10, The method of claim 8, wherein the actuator command to the additional actuator compensates for the malfunctioning actuator. (McCullough Col 11 lines 51 – 67, Col 12 lines 1, 2)
As per claim 12, The method of claim 8, wherein the pilot control selection data comprises an attitude command. (McCullough Col 11 lines 3 – 14, where pitch is the functional equivalent to attitude)
As per claim 14, A non-transitory computer readable medium storing executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause a computing device to:
receive pilot control selection data and receive aircraft angle data based on a sensor, (McCullough Col 20 lines 37 – 40)
identify a malfunctioning actuator of an electric aircraft based on the pilot control selection data and the aircraft angle data, (McCullough Col 5 lines 40 – 44) and
in response to identifying the malfunctioning actuator, generate an actuator command to control an additional actuator. (McCullough Col 11 lines 51 – 67, Col 12 lines 1, 2)
As per claim 16, The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 14, wherein the actuator command to the additional actuator compensates for the malfunctioning actuator. (McCullough Col 11 lines 51 – 67, Col 12 lines 1, 2)
As per claim 17, The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 14, wherein identifying the malfunctioning actuator of the electric aircraft further comprises comparing an expected actuator performance model to an actual actuator performance. (McCullough Col 20 lines 64 – 67 and Col 21 line 1)
As per claim 19, The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 14, wherein the pilot control selection data comprises an attitude command. (McCullough Col 11 lines 3 – 14, where pitch is the functional equivalent to attitude)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCullough US 10,227,133 in view of Crandall US 5,552,984.
As per claim 2, The system of claim 1, wherein the malfunctioning actuator and the additional actuator are ailerons. (Crandall Col 5 lines 10 – 14)
McCullough discloses a vertical transportation system, apparatus, and method for performing corrective actions when an actuator malfunctions. McCullough does not disclose the actuator is an aileron that malfunctions. Crandall teaches of a system operating when an aileron is malfunctioning. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Crandall et.al. into the invention of McCullough. Such incorporation is motivated to maintain safe operation of an aerial vehicle during flight operations.
As per claim 5, The system of claim 1, wherein the additional actuator includes an electric motor for an aileron. (Crandall Col 5 lines 10 – 14)
McCullough discloses a vertical transportation system, apparatus, and method for performing corrective actions when an actuator malfunctions. McCullough does not disclose the actuator is an aileron that malfunctions. Crandall teaches of a system operating when an aileron is malfunctioning. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Crandall et.al. into the invention of McCullough. Such incorporation is motivated to maintain safe operation of an aerial vehicle during flight operations.
As per claim 7, The system of claim 1, wherein the malfunctioning actuator and the additional actuator control a split surface. (Crandall Col 5 lines 10 – 14)
McCullough discloses a vertical transportation system, apparatus, and method for performing corrective actions when an actuator malfunctions. McCullough does not disclose the actuator is an aileron that malfunctions. Crandall teaches of a system operating when an aileron is malfunctioning. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Crandall et.al. into the invention of McCullough. Such incorporation is motivated to maintain safe operation of an aerial vehicle during flight operations.
As per claim 9, The method of claim 8, wherein the malfunctioning actuator and the additional actuator are ailerons. (Crandall Col 5 lines 10 – 14)
McCullough discloses a vertical transportation system, apparatus, and method for performing corrective actions when an actuator malfunctions. McCullough does not disclose the actuator is an aileron that malfunctions. Crandall teaches of a system operating when an aileron is malfunctioning. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Crandall et.al. into the invention of McCullough. Such incorporation is motivated to maintain safe operation of an aerial vehicle during flight operations.
As per claim 11, The method of claim 8, wherein the additional actuator includes an electric motor for an aileron. (Crandall Col 5 lines 10 – 14)
McCullough discloses a vertical transportation system, apparatus, and method for performing corrective actions when an actuator malfunctions. McCullough does not disclose the actuator is an aileron that malfunctions. Crandall teaches of a system operating when an aileron is malfunctioning. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Crandall et.al. into the invention of McCullough. Such incorporation is motivated to maintain safe operation of an aerial vehicle during flight operations.
As per claim 13, The method of claim 8, wherein the malfunctioning actuator and the additional actuator controls a split surface. (Crandall Col 5 lines 10 – 14)
McCullough discloses a vertical transportation system, apparatus, and method for performing corrective actions when an actuator malfunctions. McCullough does not disclose the actuator is an aileron that malfunctions. Crandall teaches of a system operating when an aileron is malfunctioning. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Crandall et.al. into the invention of McCullough. Such incorporation is motivated to maintain safe operation of an aerial vehicle during flight operations.
As per claim 15, The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 14, wherein the malfunctioning actuator and the additional actuator are ailerons. (Crandall Col 5 lines 10 – 14)
McCullough discloses a vertical transportation system, apparatus, and method for performing corrective actions when an actuator malfunctions. McCullough does not disclose the actuator is an aileron that malfunctions. Crandall teaches of a system operating when an aileron is malfunctioning. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Crandall et.al. into the invention of McCullough. Such incorporation is motivated to maintain safe operation of an aerial vehicle during flight operations.
As per claim 18, The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 14, wherein the additional actuator includes an electric motor for an aileron. (Crandall Col 5 lines 10 – 14)
McCullough discloses a vertical transportation system, apparatus, and method for performing corrective actions when an actuator malfunctions. McCullough does not disclose the actuator is an aileron that malfunctions. Crandall teaches of a system operating when an aileron is malfunctioning. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Crandall et.al. into the invention of McCullough. Such incorporation is motivated to maintain safe operation of an aerial vehicle during flight operations.
As per claim 20, The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 14, wherein the malfunctioning actuator and the additional actuator controls a split surface. (Crandall Col 5 lines 10 – 14)
McCullough discloses a vertical transportation system, apparatus, and method for performing corrective actions when an actuator malfunctions. McCullough does not disclose the actuator is an aileron that malfunctions. Crandall teaches of a system operating when an aileron is malfunctioning. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Crandall et.al. into the invention of McCullough. Such incorporation is motivated to maintain safe operation of an aerial vehicle during flight operations.
Conclusion
/TYLER D PAIGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664