DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “refrigerant preheating unit,” “expansion unit,” and “control unit” used throughout the claims.
For the record:
“Refrigerant preheating unit” has been interpreted according to the corresponding structure of reference numeral 180 as described in the specification and illustrated inf the figures.
“Expansion unit,” has been interpreted according to the corresponding structure of reference numeral 130 as described in the specification and illustrated inf the figures.
No corresponding structure has been described for “control unit.” See corresponding rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) & (b), below.
Note further that the limitation “ice-removing refrigerant flow path unit” has NOT been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) since the term “flow path” is deemed to provide intrinsic structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites the limitation “control unit,” which has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as set forth above. However, since the disclosure does not identify the corresponding structure for the limitation, as required under that statute, Applicant has failed to demonstrate full possession of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention at the effective filing date of the application. Claims 2-15 are also rejected since they either depend from or incorporate the subject matter of claim 1.
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “control unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
In addition, the following rejections are made in order to further clarify the claim language:
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the sensor measures the temperature.…” This is an improper method step within the apparatus claim. This limitation should more properly read: “the sensor is configured to measure the temperature….”
Claim 6 recites the limitation “an ice-making expansion valve… expands”. This is an improper method step within the apparatus claim. This limitation should more properly read: “an ice-making expansion valve… is configured to expand”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “a cold-water expansion valve… expands”. This is an improper method step within the apparatus claim. This limitation should more properly read: “a cold-water expansion valve… is configured to expand”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the ice-removing refrigerant flow path unit… guides”. This is an improper method step within the apparatus claim. This limitation should more properly read: “the ice-removing refrigerant flow path unit … is configured to guide”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the control unit opens”. This is an improper method step within the apparatus claim. This limitation should more properly read: “the control unit is configured to open”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the control unit opens”. This is an improper method step within the apparatus claim. This limitation should more properly read: “the control unit is configured to open”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2004/0188517 A1)) in view of Keller, Jr. et al. (US 5167491).
As per claim 1, Choi discloses an ice maker, comprising: a compressor 171 for compressing a refrigerant; a condenser 172 for condensing a refrigerant discharged from a discharge end of the compressor; an expansion unit 174 for expanding a refrigerant condensed in the condenser; an ice-making evaporator 173B for evaporating a refrigerant expanded in the expansion unit to make ice; a refrigerant flow path unit for guiding a refrigerant discharged from the compressor to a suction end of the compressor through the condenser, the expansion unit and the ice-making evaporator Fig. 3); an ice-removing refrigerant flow path unit for guiding a refrigerant discharged from the compressor to the ice-making evaporator (Fig. 3: flow path diverging from between the compressor and condenser and reconnecting upstream of evaporator 173B). Choi does not teach the ice maker comprising a refrigerant preheating unit configured to cause a refrigerant discharged from the compressor to be re-suctioned into the compressor before passing through the condenser; and a control unit for controlling the refrigerant preheating unit. Keller, Jr. et al. teach a refrigerant cycle comprising a refrigerant “preheating unit” (bypass line 22 with bypass valve 24 provides the same structure as Applicant’s pre-heating unit as interpreted above under 35 U.S.C. 112(f); note that even though Keller, Jr. et al. do not describe the bypass arrangement as a “preheating unit,” it constitutes the exact same structure) for causing a refrigerant discharged from the compressor to be re-suctioned into the compressor before passing through the condenser (Fig. 1; etc.); and a control unit 30 for controlling the refrigerant preheating unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to provide the bypass arrangement of Keller, Jr. et al. to the system of Choi for the same basic purpose of preventing reverse flow operation and minimizing energy loss during shutting down of the compressor (col. 2, lines 3-17; etc.).
As per claim 2, Choi does not teach wherein the refrigerant preheating unit comprises: a bypass flow path which is branched from a discharge end of the compressor and is connected to a suction end of the compressor; a bypass opening/closing valve for opening/closing the bypass flow path; and a sensor for measuring the temperature of the external environment. Keller, Jr. et al. teach wherein the refrigerant preheating unit comprises: a bypass flow path 22 which is branched from a discharge end of the compressor (at 13) and is connected to a suction end of the compressor (at 21); a bypass opening/closing valve 24 for opening/closing the bypass flow path; and a sensor for measuring the temperature of the external environment (considered an implicit feature of thermostat 40). Again, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to provide the bypass arrangement of Keller, Jr. et al. to the system of Choi for the same basic purpose of preventing reverse flow operation and minimizing energy loss during shutting down of the compressor (col. 2, lines 3-17; etc.).
As per claim 3, Choi does not teach wherein the sensor measures the temperature of the outside air or the temperature of purified water. Again, thermostat 40 of Keller, Jr. et al. controls the system according to air cooling demand (col. 2, lines 30-54; etc.), which implicitly involves a sensor to detect the temperature of air outside of the refrigeration cycle. it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize such cooling demand to control a compressor bypass valve (again, see col. 2, lines 30-54 of Keller, Jr. et al.), wherein thermostat 40 is used to control valve 24, for the purposes of purpose of preventing reverse flow operation and minimizing energy loss during shutting down of the compressor (col. 2, lines 3-17; etc.), as already discussed.
As per claim 4, Choi discloses the system further comprising: a cold-water evaporator 173a for cooling purified water with a refrigerant expanded in the expansion unit (at 174a).
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2004/0188517 A1)) in view of Keller, Jr. et al. (US 5167491), and further in view of JP2010025410A.
As per claim 5, Choi discloses wherein the refrigerant flow path unit comprises: an ice-making refrigerant flow path (path that includes valve 174b) for guiding a refrigerant that has passed through the condenser 172 to the ice-making evaporator 173b; a cold-water refrigerant flow path (path that includes valve 174a) for guiding a refrigerant that has passed through the condenser to the cold-water evaporator 173a. Choi does not teach a multi-directional valve for guiding a refrigerant that has passed through the condenser to at least any one of the ice-making refrigerant flow path and the cold- water refrigerant flow path. JP2010025410A teaches a refrigeration system comprising ice-making evaporator 18 and cold water evaporator 20, wherein flow to the respective evaporators are controlled by valves 17 and 19 (Fig. 1; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly provide control valves on the evaporator flow paths of Choi for the same purpose of controlling refrigerant flow, and thus the degree of cooling, at each evaporator. Further, it would have been a simple mechanical expedient to replace the two valves taught by JP2010025410A with a single multi-directional flow valve as simply an alternative commonly-known valving arrangement for controlling flow to two alternate flow paths.
As per claim 6, Choi discloses wherein the expansion unit comprises: an ice-making expansion valve 174b which is provided on the ice-making refrigerant flow path and expands a refrigerant directed to the ice-making evaporator 173b; and a cold-water expansion valve 174a which is provided on the cold-water refrigerant flow path and expands a refrigerant directed to the cold-water evaporator 173a (Fig. 3; etc.).
As per claim 7, Choi does not teach wherein the ice-removing refrigerant flow path unit is provided to branch from the multi-directional valve and guides a refrigerant to the ice-making evaporator. Again, the use of multi-flow valves is a common mechanical expedient for controlling flow to alternate flow paths. In using a multi-directional valve such as that discussed regarding claim 5 (from which claim 7 depends), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize the muti-flow valve to also control flow to the ice-removing refrigerant flow path of Choi (see details of that flow path discussed above regarding claim 1), since that flow path is simply a further alternative refrigerant flow to the ice-making evaporators, and further since adding an additional alternative flow path to a multi-way valve is another simple mechanical expedient well within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art involving simply adding an additional outflow port.
As per claim 17, as already discussed, Keller, Jr. et al. teach the corresponding structure of the refrigerant preheating unit as disclosed and as interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The recitation of being “configured to cause a refrigerant discharged from the compressor to be repeatedly re-suctioned into the compressor and repeatedly compressed” is simply a functional application of the refrigerant preheating unit. Since Keller, Jr. et al. teach the exact same structure, it is considered intrinsically capable of performing the same function. Again, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to apply the unit of Keller, Jr. et al. to the system of Choi for the reasons already discussed above regarding claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and (b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As per claim 8 (and claim 10 which depends therefrom), there is no teaching or suggestion to modify the system of Choi wherein before ice is made in the ice-making evaporator, if the idle time of the compressor is greater than a preset time, and the temperature of the external environment measured by the sensor is below a preset temperature, the control unit opens the bypass opening/closing valve for a set period of time to control a refrigerant discharged from the compressor to circulate to a suction end of the compressor through the bypass flow path.
As per claim 9, there is no teaching or suggestion to modify the system of Choi wherein when ice is being made or ice making is completed in the ice-making evaporator, if the temperature of the external environment measured by the sensor is below a preset temperature, the control unit opens the bypass opening/closing valve for a set period of time to control a refrigerant discharged from the compressor to circulate to a suction end of the compressor through the bypass flow path.
As per claim 11 (and claims 12-15 which depend therefrom),. there is no teaching or suggestion to modify the system of Choi to perform the method comprising: an environmental temperature measuring step for measuring the temperature of an outside air environment; a low-temperature environment determining step for determining whether the temperature measured in the environmental temperature measuring step is lower than a preset temperature; a preheating time calculating step for calculating a refrigerant preheating time at a corresponding temperature when the environmental temperature determined in the low-temperature environment determining step is a low-temperature environment that is lower than a preset temperature; and a refrigerant preheating step for circulating a refrigerant through the bypass flow path of a refrigerant preheating unit through the compressor during the time calculated in the preheating time calculating step.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of claim 1-17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) are not persuasive. 35 U.S.C. 112(f) requires disclosure of the corresponding structure of the limitation “control unit.” Applicant’s arguments are all directed to possible functions of the control unit, but not to the actual physical structure of the control unit itself: i.e., whether it constitutes software, hardware, or some other physical structure. Accordingly the rejection is maintained. The corresponding rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is also maintained for similar reasons.
The additional rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have all been properly addressed and are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections of claims 1-7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are not persuasive. The arguments are directed to the unit of Keller, Jr. et al. not being configured to perform the refrigerant preheating function. However, since the unit of Keller, Jr. et al. has the exact same structure of Applicant’s refrigerant preheating unit as interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), above, it is deemed physically capable of performing the same functions. “refrigerant preheating” is simply a particular intended use of the structure. As the unit of Keller, Jr. et al. has the exact same structure, it is deemed to read on the claim limitation regardless of the intended use.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC E NORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763