DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 10, 2-9 and 11-20 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1 and 3, 4-9 and 11-20 of Application No. 18/818,816. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claims 1 and 10, 2-9 and 11-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3, 4-9 and 11-20 of copending Application No. 18/818,816 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 3, 4-9 and 11-20 of copending application anticipate the examined claims 1 and 10, 2-9 and 11-20.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-10, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witczak et al. US 2020/0109027 A1 in a view of WITCZAK EP 3581534 A1 and further in a view of Witczak et al. US 11,613,445 B2.
Regarding claim 1, Witczak et al. disclose
A detection device (fig. 4, item 402) for a lift with a cabin with at least one cabin door, which is configured to carry out an opening movement and a closing movement when the cabin stops at a floor, to determine the floor when the cabin stops at the floor [0027, 0028], the detection device comprising:
with at least one accelerometer configured to detect a vibration of the at least one cabin door during the opening movement and/or the closing movement, and an evaluation device (item 212) configured to: create a recorded vibration profile from the detection of the vibration during the opening movement and/or the closing movement [0028, 0030, 0032] (Witczak discloses a vibration sensor but does not explicitly mention “one accelerometer”);
create and store one or more reference vibration profiles for each of at least two floors from one or more vibration profiles during a learning phase (during calibration or classification) [0030, 0032, 0033];
compare the recorded vibration profile with the one or more reference vibration profiles outside the learning phase [0034];
determine a particular reference vibration profile, of the one or more reference vibration profiles, as a match to the recorded vibration profile based on the comparison]; and determine the floor based on the particular reference vibration profile [0035].
Witczak does not disclose but WITCZAK discloses an accelerometer configured to detect a vibration [0039].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an accelerometer as the vibration sensor as disclosed by WITCZAK in Witczak’s teachings to collect movement data of the elevator car.
A combination of Witczak and WITCZAK does not disclose but Witczak et al.(’445) disclose wherein the detection device has a status signal generator (via a block 502) for outputting a signal for a start and/or end of vibration detection, wherein the signal is not obtained from the detection of the vibration, and wherein the evaluation device (item 212) is configured to infer a start and an end of the detection (via a block 506) from the signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an a status signal generator to infer a start and end of the detection as disclosed by Witczak (,445) in Witczak’s teachings to transition between different modes.
Regarding claim 8, Witczak et al. disclose
wherein the evaluation device is configured to create the recorded vibration profile from an analysis of a time course of the vibration [0033].
Regarding claim 9, Witczak et al. disclose
wherein the evaluation device is designed configured to create and store a reference vibration profile (characteristics signatures) for each floor from one or more vibration profiles during the learning phase (classification) [0030].
Regarding claim 10, a combination of Witczak, WITCZAK and Witczak (‘445) disclose a lift with at least two floors [0035] with a detection device comprising: at least one accelerometer configured to detect a vibration of at least one cabin door during an opening movement and/or a closing movement; and an evaluation device configured to: create a recorded vibration profile from the detection of the vibration during the opening movement and/or the closing movement; create and store one or more reference vibration profiles for each of at least two floors from one or more vibration profiles during a learning phase; compare the recorded vibration profile with the one or more reference vibration profiles outside the learning phase; determine a particular reference vibration profile, of the one or more reference vibration profiles, as a match to the recorded vibration profile based on the comparison; and determine the floor based on the particular reference vibration profile, wherein the detection device has a status signal generator for outputting a signal for a start and/or an end of vibration detection, wherein the signal is not obtained from the detection of the vibration, and wherein the evaluation device is configured to infer a start and an end of the detection from the signal. (see claim 1 rejection for detail)
Regarding claim 18, Witczak et al. disclose, wherein the evaluation device is configured to create the recorded vibration profile by a time-domain analysis, a frequency- domain analysis, and/or a sequence analysis [0033].
Regarding claim 19, Witczak et al. disclose, wherein the one or more reference vibration profiles comprises a plurality of reference vibration profiles (0-4), and the evaluation device is configured to determine the particular reference vibration profile based on identifying which reference vibration profile, of the plurality of reference vibration profiles, deviates the least from a characteristic of the recorded vibration profile [0035].
Regarding claim 20, Witczak et al. disclose, wherein the evaluation device is configured to determine the particular reference vibration profile (0 or 1 or 2 or 3 or 4) based on a determination that a characteristic of the recorded vibration profile deviates less than a threshold from a corresponding characteristic in the particular reference vibration profile [0035].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 and 11-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under Double patenting, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 2 disclosed details about the detection device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HEGDE (EP 3495300 A1) discloses an elevator door system.
Cegard/Smart discloses an elevator door protection solution.
/BICKEY DHAKAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837