Detailed Action
The communications received 02/10/2025 have been filed and considered by the Examiner. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “… a lower axial surface, and plurality of openings…” should read “… a lower axial surface, and a plurality of openings…” or similar grammatical correction. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the flat plate". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of Examination this claim is understood to read “a flat plate” or equivalent. Dependent claims are similarly rejected.
Claims 8 and 12 recites the limitation "the plurality of wear strips" in claim 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of Examination this claim is understood to read “a plurality of wear strips” or equivalent. Dependent claims are similarly rejected.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the wear strips" of claim 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of Examination this claim is understood to read “a set of wear strips” or equivalent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chupka et al (US 20050039615 A1) hereinafter CHU in view of Briden (US 20220018071 A1) hereinafter BRI.
As for claim 1, CHU teaches:
A bedplate for a pulp processing unit, the bedplate comprising [CHU: Abstract]:
a plate having an upper axial surface, a lower axial surface, and plurality of openings extending through the plate from the upper axial surface to the lower axial surface [CHU: Abstract],
wherein: each of the plurality of openings has a shape, a size, and an angle [CHU: 0013];
the shape is a cross-sectional shape of each of the plurality of openings in a plane perpendicular to a center axis of the bedplate [CHU: 0013; 0032];
the size is equal to a largest cross-sectional dimension of each of the plurality of openings [CHU: 0032];
the angle is an angle formed between a centerline of each of the plurality of openings and an axial line parallel to a center axis of the bed plate [CHU: 0013; 0032];
Although CHU’s slots/holes appear to be different, CHU does not teach that the shape, the size, an orientation of the shape, the angle, or combinations thereof of the plurality of openings varies depending on a location of each of the plurality of openings on the bedplate.
BRI teaches that in elements used to screen pulp fibers (which in the case of CHU is the bedplate), that it is known to adjust parameters such as size, shape, location (density), angles (normals), and protuberances in accordance with fluid dynamics simulations to achieve improved screening [0022-24; 0032-34; 0077-87].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted the size, shape, location, angles, etc. of the bedplate of CHU in response to the results of fluid dynamics simulations of the overall apparatus as taught by BRI in order to improve the screening of BRI. As both BRI and CHU pertain to elements that screen fibers in a pulp processing apparatus, they are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art expects success in the combination.
As for claims 2-19, it is understood that the relative shaping, angles, and sizing of the slots of CHU/BRI in regards to relative position, angle, and shape of features which would affect flow such as the wear strips present and pressure zones (where shear would be present) [CHU: 0008; 0012; 0029; 0033] would be adjusted in accordance with fluid dynamic simulation of the bedplate of CHU in the context of its pulper. One of ordinary skill in the art would particularly expect to meet the limitations as the instant specification acknowledges that local flow conditions which can be determined via computational modeling is what is used to select for localized features [instant specification: 0006; 0015-16; 0064-69; Fig. 5-6].
As for claim 20, CHU/BRI teach claim 1 and CHU further teaches that the bedplate is employed in a paper pulper [Fig. 1; 0015] which comprises a rotor [Fig. 1 #15] and a vessel (tub) [Fig. 1 #6] and in which the bedplate is arranged with the upper axial face towards the rotor [Fig. 1 #10’s upper surface faces Fig. 1 #15].
Conclusion
/E.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748