DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/29/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 13, 15, and 18 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 13, lines 4-5, “sunk in in said recess” should read “sunk in said recess”.
In claim 15, line 2, "baseplate” should read "base plate”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 18 is/are objected to for their dependency on an objected base claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
closing unit in at least claim 5.
drive unit in at least claim 5.
transmission unit in at least claim 6.
Module carrier in at least claim 9.
Closing unit is interpreted to cover a lid as per para [0026] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Drive unit is interpreted to cover a motor as per para [0033] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Transmission unit is interpreted to cover at least one of a crank transmission, a wheel transmission, a roller transmission, and a worm transmission as per para [0032] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Module carrier is interpreted to cover at least one of a hook and lug as per para [0040] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 calls for the limitation “which is filled with a thermally insulating material” in lines 5-6, which limitation is indefinite as it is unclear what previously recited limitation the term “which” is referring to. Is “which” referring to the base plate? The clearance? It’s uncertain. Appropriate correction is required.
For examination purposes, “which” will be interpreted as if directed to the clearance.
Claim 1 also calls for the limitation “a further electronics module” in line 10; which limitation is indefinite as it is unclear as to how a further electronics module is introduced in the claim when there is no prior recitation of a first electronics module. It raises some confusion as to whether elements are omitted in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 calls for the limitation “which is open”, which limitation is indefinite as it is unclear what previously recited limitation the term “which” is referring to. Is “which” referring to the recess? The ceiling wall? Or the base plate? It’s uncertain. Appropriate correction is required.
For examination purposes, “which” will be interpreted as if directed to the recess of the ceiling wall of the base plate.
Claim(s) 2-18 is/are indefinite for their dependency on an indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-10, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (CN 116105430 A).
Regarding claim 1:
Wang discloses a household cooling appliance #1 (Fig. 1-8), comprising:
a housing #11 defining a receiving space #12 for food ([0068]);
a plate-shaped separation unit #14 being releasably disposed in said receiving space and is disposed for separating a volume of said receiving space ([0072]. #14 is releasably disposed in the receiving space at least via #152. See [0086]. Also, with appropriate tools provided, #14 can be removed from #12 by an ordinary skill artisan), wherein said plate-shaped separation unit has a base plate (made of both #144 & #142) which has a clearance (best seen in Fig. 7), said clearance being filled with a thermally insulating material #143 ([0078]), said plate-shaped separation unit has in said base plate at least one light module #16 configured as a function module ([0088-0090]), said base plate is configured as a multi-module carrier plate for receiving several functionally different function modules (see Fig. 7-8; [0088-0090] & [0093]); and
a further electronics module #17 (note: #17 is a food preservation light as discussed in ([0082]). A food preservation light is an electronics module at least because it uses semiconductor components to convert electrical energy into specific, controlled wavelengths of UV or visible light) disposed on said base plate (best seen in Fig. 7) and is separate and functionally different from said at least one light module (Fig. 7; [0082] & [0088-0090]).
Regarding claim 2:
Wang further discloses wherein said base plate has a bottom wall #144 with a recess formed therein that is open towards a bottom (Fig. 7-8, [0090]), wherein said at least one light module is disposed and sunk in said recess such that light of said at least one light module is emitted through a first opening of said recess towards the bottom (see Fig. 1, 7-8, and 10; [0088]).
Regarding claim 3:
Wang further discloses wherein said base plate has a ceiling wall (made of both #141 & #142) with a recess #1421 formed therein; and said further electronics module #17 is an operating and/or display device ([0076]), said operating and/or display device is disposed in said recess of said ceiling wall of said base plate (Fig. 7, [0080]), said recess of the ceiling wall of the base plate is open towards a top and in which said operating and/or display device is disposed sunk in, such that said operating and/or display device may be viewed from a top through an second opening of said recess.
Regarding claim 4:
Wang further discloses wherein said ceiling wall is made of glass (#141 is made of glass. See [0078]) and has a cut-out formed therein (#142 has a cut-out #1421), wherein said further electronics module is disposed in said cut-out of said ceiling wall ([0080]).
Regarding claim 9:
Wang further discloses a first module carrier (#1442 & #1443; Fig. 8 & 10), said at least one light module is disposed on said first module carrier that is disposed sunk in in said clearance ([0090]).
Regarding claim 10:
Wang further discloses wherein said at least one light module has a light housing #153 with a cavity formed therein (Fig. 8 & 10), and a circuit board with at least one light source, wherein said circuit board is received in said cavity formed in said light housing (see Fig. 8 & 10. Note: #16 is a food preservation light as discussed in ([0105]). A food preservation light is an electronics module at least because it uses semiconductor components/circuit board to convert electrical energy into specific, controlled wavelengths of UV or visible light).
Regarding claim 14:
Wang further discloses bearing elements #1441 disposed on a vertical sidewall of said base plate for bearing said plate-shaped separation unit and are disposed in said receiving space (see Fig. 7-8, [0087]).
Regarding claim 15:
Wang further discloses wherein said base plate has a ceiling wall #142 with first and second bottom sides (Fig. 7-8); and said bearing elements are separate parts, which are attached to said second bottom side of said ceiling wall (Fig. 7-8).
Regarding claim 16:
Wang further discloses wherein said first module carrier is disposed completely sunk in in said clearance (Fig. 8 & 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 116105430 A).
Regarding claim 11:
Wang discloses all the limitations, except for wherein the bottom wall of the base plate is made of metal.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
By official notice, the examiner submits that it is known to make the material of refrigerator partition metal; especially stainless steel.
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Wang with the bottom wall of the base plate made of metal.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have enhanced cooling efficiency by maintaining consistent, colder temperatures throughout. Other benefits include distributing cold air more evenly, making the base plate more robust, improving the aesthetic appearance, and facilitation of cleaning.
Regarding claims 12 & 17:
Wang discloses all the limitations, except for wherein the thermally insulating material is polystyrene board.
By official notice, the examiner submits that it is known to use polystyrene board for insulation in refrigerators.
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Wang with the thermally insulating material being polystyrene board.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided excellent thermal insulation within the refrigerator. Other benefits include cost-effectiveness and recyclability.
Regarding claim 18:
Wang further discloses wherein said bearing elements are separate parts (Fig. 7-8), which are attached to said second bottom side of said ceiling wall.
Wang does not disclose wherein said attachment is by an adhesive bond.
Nonetheless, connecting elements by adhesive bonding is well known in the art (official notice).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Wang with said attachment being by an adhesive bonding.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have offered superior structural integrity by distributing stress evenly across the entire surface of the structures rather than at localized points; thereby, reducing fatigue and preventing crack initiation.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 116105430 A) in view of Pritts (US 6006531 A).
Regarding claim 13:
Wang further discloses wherein said base plate has a bottom wall #144 with a recess formed therein (Fig. 8).
Wang does not disclose wherein said further electronics module is a detection sensor for detecting a storage parameter of said receiving space, wherein said detection sensor is sunk in in said recess of said bottom wall of said base plate for detecting the storage parameter in a lower volume subspace of said receiving space.
Nonetheless, Wang already discloses the provision of a sensor (light module) in a recess formed in the bottom wall of the base plate (see rejection of claim 1).
In the same field of endeavor, Pritts teaches that it is known to provide a detection sensor for detecting a storage parameter of a receiving space, wherein said detection sensor is sunk in a partition that separates compartment of the refrigerator (col. 4, L 59 – col. 5, L 12).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Wang with said further electronics module being a detection sensor for detecting a storage parameter of said receiving space, wherein said detection sensor is sunk in in said recess of said bottom wall of said base plate for detecting the storage parameter in a lower volume subspace of said receiving space; since these concepts are known in the cart as taught by Wang and Pritts.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided critical, real-time monitoring of the temperature within the refrigerator so as to ensure food safety, prevent spoilage, and maintain optimal, consistent, and energy-efficient cooling.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
There is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the prior art of record so as to provide a closing unit which is external to said plate-shaped separation unit; wherein the further electronics module is a drive unit for driving said closing unit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ahn (US 20170219269 A1) discuss providing a sensor in a partition plate of a refrigerator.
Kuehl (US 5419148 A) teaches provision on a bottom wall of a partition of a refrigerator.
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763