Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the plurality of fluid circuits” which lacks antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination claim 3 will be treated as depending from claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oudenhoven (US 4,483,156).
Regarding claim 1, Oudenhoven discloses a heat pump system for optimizing operational efficiency without charge imbalance, the heat pump system comprising:
an indoor HVAC unit (14) comprising an indoor coil; and
an outdoor HVAC unit (20) in communication with the indoor HVAC unit, the outdoor HVAC unit comprising:
a compressor (12) in communication with a reversing valve (30); and
an outdoor coil in communication with the indoor HVAC unit and the compressor, the outdoor coil comprising at least one charge storage circuit (23, where 23 includes 24 and 26),
wherein, during a cooling mode, the liquid refrigerant flows into the indoor HVAC unit and the at least one charge storage circuit functions as a subcooling circuit (4:13-19), and
wherein, during a heating mode, the at least one charge storage circuit contains liquid refrigerant (4:53-64).
Regarding claim 2, Oudenhoven discloses the outdoor coil comprises: a plurality of fluid circuits (22); and the at least one charge storage circuit (23).
Regarding claim 3, Oudenhoven discloses the outdoor HVAC unit further comprises an expansion valve (54)located between the at least one charge storage circuit (23) and the plurality of fluid circuits (22).
Regarding claim 4, Oudenhoven discloses the plurality of fluid circuits are spaced apart from each other in a linear direction (an arbitrary line may be drawn along which the fluid circuits are spaced apart).
Regarding claim 5, Oudenhoven discloses the number of plurality of fluid circuits are greater than the number of the at least one charge storage circuit (nine fluid circuits 22 are counted in figure 1 and one charge storage circuit 23).
Regarding claim 6, Oudenhoven discloses when operating in the cooling mode, the indoor HVAC unit is adapted to: receive liquid refrigerant from the outdoor coil; and supply vapor refrigerant to the compressor before returning to the outdoor coil (the indoor coil is performing as an evaporator in the cooling mode).
Regarding claim 7, Oudenhoven discloses when operating in the heating mode, the indoor HVAC unit is adapted to: receive vapor refrigerant exiting the compressor; and return liquid refrigerant to the outdoor HVAC unit (in the heating mode the indoor coil is operating as a condenser).
Regarding claim 8, Oudenhoven discloses an outdoor HVAC unit comprising:
a compressor (12);
an outdoor coil (20) in communication with an indoor HVAC unit (14) and the compressor (12),
the outdoor coil comprising:
a plurality of fluid circuits (22);
at least one charge storage circuit (23, including 24 and 26); and
an expansion valve (54) located between the at least one charge storage circuit and the plurality of fluid circuits,
wherein, during a cooling mode, the liquid refrigerant flows into the indoor HVAC unit and the at least one charge storage circuit functions as a subcooling circuit (4:13-19), and
wherein, during a heating mode, the at least one charge storage circuit contains liquid refrigerant (4:53-64).
Regarding claim 9, Oudenhoven discloses a method for optimizing operational efficiency of a heat pump system without charge imbalance, the method comprising:
operating the heat pump system, in at least one of a heating mode and a cooling mode (col 4 discusses heating and cooling modes), the heat pump system comprising:
an indoor HVAC unit (14) comprising an indoor coil; and
an outdoor HVAC unit in communication with the indoor HVAC unit, the outdoor HVAC unit comprising:
a compressor (12) in communication with a reversing valve (30); and
an outdoor coil (20) in communication with the indoor HVAC unit and the compressor, the outdoor coil comprising at least one charge storage circuit (23; including 24 and 26);
supplying liquid refrigerant into the indoor HVAC unit during the cooling mode (the indoor unit functions as an evaporator in the cooling mode);
configuring the at least one charge storage circuit to function as a subcooling circuit during the cooling mode (4:13-19); and
configuring the at least one charge storage circuit to contain liquid refrigerant during the heating mode (4:53-64).
Regarding claim 10, Oudenhoven discloses the outdoor coil comprises: a plurality of fluid circuits (22); and the at least one charge storage circuit (23).
Regarding claim 11, Oudenhoven discloses spacing the plurality of fluid circuits apart from each other in a linear direction (an arbitrary line may be drawn along which the fluid circuits are spaced apart).
Regarding claim 12, Oudenhoven discloses the number of plurality of fluid circuits are greater than the number of the at least one charge storage circuit (nine fluid circuits 22 are counted in figure 1 and one charge storage circuit 23).
Regarding claim 13, Oudenhoven discloses when operating in the cooling mode, configuring the indoor HVAC unit to: receive liquid refrigerant from the outdoor coil; and supply vapor refrigerant to the compressor before returning to the outdoor coil (the indoor unit operates as an evaporator in the cooling mode).
Regarding claim 14, Oudenhoven discloses operating in the heating mode, configuring the indoor HVAC unit to: receive vapor refrigerant exiting the outdoor coil via the compressor; and return liquid refrigerant to the outdoor coil (in the heating mode the indoor unit operates as a condenser).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Leman et al (US 11,215,388). or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Leman et al (US 11,215,388) in view of Hyde (US 5,509,272).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 9, Leman discloses a heat pump system for optimizing operational efficiency without charge imbalance, the heat pump system comprising:
an indoor HVAC unit (12) comprising an indoor coil; and
an outdoor HVAC unit (14) in communication with the indoor HVAC unit, the outdoor HVAC unit comprising:
a compressor (18) in communication with a reversing valve (V); and
an outdoor coil in communication with the indoor HVAC unit and the compressor, the outdoor coil comprising at least one charge storage circuit (40a and 40b),
wherein, during a cooling mode, the liquid refrigerant flows into the indoor HVAC unit and the at least one charge storage circuit functions as a subcooling circuit (4:48-64 discloses that flow occurs through 20a and 20b and thus 40a and 40b includes refrigerant flow and heat exchange therein, while the term subcooling is not discussed within the disclosure it is understood that the continuance of heat exchange after condensing of the refrigerant and prior to expansion is a subcooling operation thus the arrangement is capable of subcooling), and
wherein, during a heating mode, the at least one charge storage circuit contains liquid refrigerant (5:20-27).
Further regarding subcooling. As discussed above the storage circuit 40a and 40b of Leman is capable of subcooling. Hyde is provided to evidence that within a condensing circuit that continued cooling of the refrigerant after it has condensed is a subcooling circuit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the circuit to be of sufficient size to enable subcooling in order to increase energy efficiency and cooling capacity.
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 12, Leman discloses the outdoor coil comprises: a plurality of fluid circuits (40); and the at least one charge storage circuit (40a and 40b).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Leman discloses when operating in the cooling mode, the indoor HVAC unit is adapted to: receive liquid refrigerant from the outdoor coil; and supply vapor refrigerant to the compressor before returning to the outdoor coil (in the cooling mode the indoor unit operates as an evaporator).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Leman discloses when operating in the heating mode, the indoor HVAC unit is adapted to: receive vapor refrigerant exiting the compressor; and return liquid refrigerant to the outdoor HVAC unit (when operating in the heating mode the indoor unit performs as a condenser).
Regarding claim 11, Leman discloses spacing the plurality of fluid circuits apart from each other in a linear direction (along a vertical line).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yokozeki et al (US 10,591,192) subcooler arrangement.
Bashyam (US 2024/0191917) charge compensation.
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799