The claims received 5/5/2026 are entered. Claims 15-17 are new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oudenhoven (US 4,483,156).
Regarding claim 1, Oudenhoven discloses a heat pump system for optimizing operational efficiency without charge imbalance, the heat pump system comprising:
an indoor HVAC unit (14) comprising an indoor coil; and
an outdoor HVAC unit (20) in communication with the indoor HVAC unit, the outdoor HVAC unit comprising:
a compressor (12) in communication with a reversing valve (30); and
an outdoor coil in communication with the indoor HVAC unit and the compressor, the outdoor coil comprising at least one charge storage circuit (23, where 23 includes 24 and 26),
wherein, during a cooling mode, liquid refrigerant flows into the indoor HVAC unit and a plurality of tubes (26) the at least one charge storage circuit functions as a subcooling circuit (4:13-19), and
wherein, during a heating mode, the same plurality of tubes of the at least one charge storage circuit, that functions as the subcooling circuit during the cooling mode, contains the liquid refrigerant (4:53-64).
Regarding claim 2, Oudenhoven discloses the outdoor coil further comprises a plurality of fluid circuits (22).
Regarding claim 3, Oudenhoven discloses the outdoor HVAC unit further comprises an expansion valve (54) located between the at least one charge storage circuit (23) and the plurality of fluid circuits (22).
Regarding claim 4, Oudenhoven discloses the plurality of fluid circuits is spaced apart from each other in a linear direction (an arbitrary line may be drawn along which the fluid circuits are spaced apart).
Regarding claim 5, Oudenhoven discloses a number of the plurality of fluid circuits is greater than a number of the at least one charge storage circuit (nine fluid circuits 22 are counted in figure 1 and one charge storage circuit 23).
Regarding claim 6, Oudenhoven discloses when operating in the cooling mode, the indoor HVAC unit is adapted to: receive the liquid refrigerant from the outdoor coil; and supply vapor refrigerant to the compressor before returning to the outdoor coil (the indoor coil is performing as an evaporator in the cooling mode).
Regarding claim 7, Oudenhoven discloses when operating in the heating mode, the indoor HVAC unit is adapted to: receive vapor refrigerant exiting the compressor; and return the liquid refrigerant to the outdoor HVAC unit (in the heating mode the indoor coil is operating as a condenser).
Regarding claim 8, Oudenhoven discloses an outdoor HVAC unit comprising:
a compressor (12);
an outdoor coil (20) in communication with an indoor HVAC unit (14) and the compressor (12),
the outdoor coil comprising:
a plurality of fluid circuits (22);
at least one charge storage circuit (23, including 24 and 26); and
an expansion valve (54) located between the at least one charge storage circuit and the plurality of fluid circuits,
wherein, during a cooling mode, liquid refrigerant flows into the indoor HVAC unit and a plurality of tubes (26) of the at least one charge storage circuit functions as a subcooling circuit (4:13-19), and
wherein, during a heating mode, the same plurality of tubes of the at least one charge storage circuit, that functions as the subcooling circuit during the cooling mode, contains the liquid refrigerant (4:53-64).
Regarding claim 9, Oudenhoven discloses a method for optimizing operational efficiency of a heat pump system without charge imbalance, the method comprising:
operating the heat pump system, in at least one of a heating mode and a cooling mode (col 4 discusses heating and cooling modes), the heat pump system comprising:
an indoor HVAC unit (14) comprising an indoor coil; and
an outdoor HVAC unit in communication with the indoor HVAC unit, the outdoor HVAC unit comprising:
a compressor (12) in communication with a reversing valve (30); and
an outdoor coil (20) in communication with the indoor HVAC unit and the compressor, the outdoor coil comprising at least one charge storage circuit (23; including 24 and 26);
supplying liquid refrigerant into the indoor HVAC unit during the cooling mode (the indoor unit functions as an evaporator in the cooling mode);
configuring a plurality of tubes (26) of the at least one charge storage circuit to function as a subcooling circuit during the cooling mode (4:13-19); and
configuring the same plurality of tubes (26) of the at least one charge storage circuit, that functions as the subcooling circuit during the cooling mode, to contain the liquid refrigerant during the heating mode (4:53-64).
Regarding claim 10, Oudenhoven discloses the outdoor coil further comprises a plurality of fluid circuits (22).
Regarding claim 11, Oudenhoven discloses spacing the plurality of fluid circuits apart from each other in a linear direction (an arbitrary line may be drawn along which the fluid circuits are spaced apart).
Regarding claim 12, Oudenhoven discloses a number of the plurality of fluid circuits is greater than a number of the at least one charge storage circuit (nine fluid circuits 22 are counted in figure 1 and one charge storage circuit 23).
Regarding claim 13, Oudenhoven discloses when operating in the cooling mode, configuring the indoor HVAC unit to: receive the liquid refrigerant from the outdoor coil; and supply vapor refrigerant to the compressor before returning to the outdoor coil (the indoor unit operates as an evaporator in the cooling mode).
Regarding claim 14, Oudenhoven discloses operating in the heating mode, configuring the indoor HVAC unit to: receive vapor refrigerant exiting the outdoor coil via the compressor; and return the liquid refrigerant to the outdoor coil (in the heating mode the indoor unit operates as a condenser).
Regarding claims 15-17, Oudenhoven discloses the expansion valve (54) is bypassed by the liquid refrigerant during the cooling mode (4:4-5 refrigerant flowing through 48 is bypassing expansion valve 54; 4:13-19 discusses that in cooling mode check valve 56 prevents flow therethrough which is on the path including expansion valve 54), and the at least one charge storage circuit contains the liquid refrigerant before the liquid refrigerant enters the expansion valve, during the heating mode (4:33-52 describes the heating mode and discusses flow through the expansion valve at 4:50).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant discusses the Oudenhoven reference at pages 8-10. In particular at the bottom of page 9 is the following statement:
It is pointed out that 26 of Oudenhoven acts as a subcooler in the cooling mode (4:13-19) and as a storage in the heating mode (4:55-56) and satisfies the claim limitation.
Regarding Leman and Leman in view of Hyde. The alternative rejection is not necessary. Oudenhoven is regarded as the best reference of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yokozeki et al (US 10,591,192) subcooler arrangement.
Bashyam (US 2024/0191917) charge compensation.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799