DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a display unit” and “a print unit” in claim 1.
The specification describes a display unit as an output unit 220 in combination with an information output unit 402 and describes a print unit as a print control unit 404. Both units are controlled by a CPU and therefore there is sufficient structure in the specification to avoid a 35 USC 12(b) rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2020/0073606).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Park discloses a method for controlling an information processing device having an operating system (OS) standard printing function and an information processing device having an operating system (OS) standard printing function, the information processing device comprising:
a display unit configured to display information regarding a cloud printer registered in the OS standard printing function (see Figs. 2 and 3 and paras 41, 105, 108-109, and 135, user terminal 200 allows a user to register and view a cloud printer); and
a print unit configured to instruct a cloud printer registered in the OS standard printing function to perform printing (see para 98, a user can perform a printing process from an application installed on user terminal 200),
wherein while a first user is logged in to the information processing device, the display unit displays information regarding a cloud printer registered in the OS standard printing function by the first user (see paras 54-58, 78, 80, 100-102, 105, 120-121, 125-128, and 135, only an authorized user can select and print to a registered cloud printer), and
while a second user different from the first user is logged in to the information processing device, the display unit does not display information regarding a cloud printer registered in the OS standard printing function by the first user and not registered in the OS standard printing function by the second user (see paras 54-58, 78, 80, 100-102, 105, 120-121, 125-128, and 135, only an authorized user can select and print to a registered cloud printer).
Regarding claim 2, Park further discloses wherein the second user is a user who does not belong to the same tenant as the first user (see paras 54-58, 78, 80, 100-102, 105, 120-121, 125-128, and 135, only an authorized user can select and print to a registered cloud printer, reference makes no mention of user’s belong to the same tenant).
Regarding claim 6, Park further discloses a print server that provides the cloud printer; and a printing device that is registered in the print server as the cloud printer (see paras 54-58, 108-109, and 120-121, the combination of cloud 400 and authentication server 500 acts as a print server that provides registering of a cloud printer and printing to a cloud printer).
Regarding claim 7, Park further discloses a non-transitory storage medium that stores a program for enabling a computer to function as the units included in the information processing device according to claim 1 (see paras 138-140 and claim 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sako (US 2022/0147289).
Regarding claim 3, Park does not disclose expressly wherein while a third user belonging to the same tenant as the first user is logged in to the information processing device, the display unit displays information regarding a cloud printer registered in the OS standard printing function by the first user and not registered in the OS standard printing function by the third user.
Sako discloses wherein while a third user belonging to the same tenant as the first user is logged in to the information processing device, the display unit displays information regarding a cloud printer registered in the OS standard printing function by the first user and not registered in the OS standard printing function by the third user (see paras 113-115, users from the same tenant can shared registered cloud printers).
Regarding claim 5, Park does not disclose expressly wherein the print unit uses the Internet Printing Protocol to instruct the cloud printer to perform printing.
Sako discloses wherein the print unit uses the Internet Printing Protocol to instruct the cloud printer to perform printing (see paras 56 and 91, printing device 100 utilizes IPP).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the sharing of registered cloud printers with users of the same tenant and the use of IPP, as described by Sako, with the system of Park.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to avoid unnecessary and repetitive registering of cloud printers for the users of a group/tenant. IPP is a widely used and supported protocol for printing devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sako with Park to obtain the invention as specified in claims 3 and 5.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Official Notice.
Park does not disclose expressly wherein while the second user is logged in to the information processing device, the display unit displays information regarding a local printer registered in the OS standard printing function by the first user and not registered in the OS standard printing function by the second user.
Official Notice is being taken as it is well known in the art that locally connected printers do not require registration associated with authorized users and as such all users of a user terminal would have the ability to print to and utilize a local printer.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the displaying of local printers to a second user of an information processing device with the system of Park.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to avoid unnecessary and repetitive registering of printers thereby saving time and increasing user friendliness.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Official Notice with Park to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
Conclusion
/MARK R MILIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681