DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office action for Application 18/818,950 filed 08/29/2024.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending;
Claims 1-16 are original;
Claims 1-16 are rejected herein.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the following informality:
It is not clear as to what the language "the second mounting seat is kept at any rotation position of the first mounting seat" in lines 7 and 8 means.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 7, 10, 15, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, line 2, "the elastic members" appears to be --the at least two elastic members--.
Claim 7, line 2, "part" appears to be --a part--.
Claim 10, line 7, the limitations "a number of the supporting members is two" appear to be redundant, since claim 9 clearly recites "two supporting members" in lines 2 and 3.
Claim 10, line 8, "a left side" appears to be --a left side of the force applying member--.
Claim 15, line 2, "the elastic members" appears to be --the at least two elastic members--.
Claim 16, line 3, "part" appears to be --a part--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations "a force applying member arranged between the first mounting seat and the second mounting seat, wherein the force applying member comprises at least two elastic members nested sequentially from inside to outside" are recited in lines 7-9. As shown in Figures 3 and 4, the "force applying member" appears to consist of a first elastic member (21) with a larger diameter and a second elastic member (21) with a smaller diameter, wherein the first elastic member appears to sleeve over the second elastic member with a radial space between the first and second elastic members. It is not clear as to how "the force applying member comprises at least two elastic members" as claimed, since the first elastic member and the second elastic member do not appear to constitute "a force applying member" as claimed or simply be structural elements of "a force applying member" as claimed. As best understood, each of the first elastic member and the second elastic member appears to be a force applying member, where the first elastic member does not appear to be connected to the second elastic member. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations "the second mounting seat is kept at any rotation position of the first mounting seat" in lines 10 and 11 are indefinite. It is not clear as to what these limitations mean. How is the second mounting seat (2) "kept at any rotation position of the first mounting seat" (1)? Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 2, the limitations "the supporting member comprises a first connecting rod and a second connecting rod… the first connecting rod, the second connecting rod, the first mounting seat and the second mounting seat form a quadrilateral structure" are recited in claim 2 (lines 2, 3, 7, and 8) are indefinite. As shown in Figures 1 and 2, the first connecting rod (11) appears to be rotatably connected to the first mounting seat (1) and the second mounting seat (2) whereas the second connecting rod (12) appears to be rotatably connected to the first mounting seat (1) and the second mounting seat (2), wherein the first connecting rod and the second connecting member appear to be spaced apart by the first mounting seat and the second mounting seat. Moreover, based on the limitations in claim 1 (lines 1-3), the first mounting seat and the second mounting seat are not structural element of "a supporting member" as claimed. As such, it is not clear as to how "the supporting member comprises a first connecting rod and a second connecting rod" as claimed, since the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod do not appear to constitute "a supporting member " as claimed or simply be structural elements of "a supporting member" as claimed. As best understood, each of the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod appears to be a supporting member, where the first connecting rod member does not appear to be connected to the second connecting rod via a structural component(s) of "a supporting member" as claimed. Similar rejection applies to the limitations in claim 11 (lines 2, 3, and 6-8). Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 2, the limitations "the quadrilateral structure is kept at any deformation position by the force applying member" in line 9 are indefinite. It is not clear as to what the instant limitations mean. How is the quadrilateral structure "kept at any deformation position by the force applying member" as claimed? Similar rejection applies to the limitations in claim 11 (line 9). Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 4, the limitations "a compression spring located at an outer side of the two compression springs" in line 7 are indefinite. It is not clear as to how many compression springs claim 4 requires. For example, does claim 4 require "two compression springs" in line 4 and "a compression spring located at an outer side of the two compression springs" in line 7, totaling three compression springs? Or does claim 4 require "two compression springs" in line 4, wherein the "two compression springs" in line 4 comprise "a compression spring located at an outer side of the two compression springs" in line 7? Similar rejection applies to the limitations in claim 13 (lines 7 and 8). Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 4, the limitations "a compression spring located at an inner side of the two compression springs" in line 9 are indefinite. It is not clear as to how many compression springs claim 4 requires. For example, does claim 4 require "two compression springs" in line 4 and "a compression spring located at an inner side of the two compression springs" in line 9, totaling three compression springs? Or does claim 4 require "two compression springs" in line 4, wherein the "two compression springs" in line 4 comprise "a compression spring located at an inner side of the two compression springs" in line 9? Similar rejection applies to the limitations in claim 13 (lines 9 and 10). Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 9, the limitation "two supporting members" in claim 9 (lines 2 and 3) is indefinite. It is not clear as to how many supporting members claim 9 requires. For example, does claim 9 require "two supporting members" in claim 9 (lines 2 and 3) in addition to "a supporting member" in claim 1 (line 4), totaling three compression supporting members? Or does claim 9 require "two supporting members" in claim 9 (lines 2 and 3), wherein the "two supporting members" in claim 9 (lines 2 and 3) comprise "a supporting member" in claim 1 (line 4)? Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 10, the limitations "the housing comprises an upper cover plate, a left cover plate and a right cover plate that are connected and arranged at an included angle" in lines 2 and 3 are indefinite. It is not clear as to which particular structures the limitation "that" in line 2 refers to. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3, 5-8, 12, and 14-16 are rejected as being dependent from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-16, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 9,004,431 B2) in view of Ying et al. (US 12,485,520 B2), hereinafter Ying.
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a supporting arm (200, fig 1) comprising: a first mounting seat (4, fig 2); a second mounting seat (5, fig 2); a supporting member (2a, 3a, fig 2, see annotation, the reference number 2a refers to the right connecting rod of the upper link 2, the reference number 3a refers to the right connecting rod of the lower link 3; alternatively, 2a, fig 2, see annotation, the right connecting rod of the upper link 2), wherein two opposite ends of the supporting member are configured to be rotatably connected to the first mounting seat and the second mounting seat, respectively (see Figures 1-3, see col 3, lines 52-67, col 4, lines 1-5); and a force applying member (63, fig 2) arranged between the first mounting seat and the second mounting seat (see Figures 1-3), wherein the force applying member comprises at least one elastic member (63, fig 2), and the at least one elastic member provides a supporting force (see Figures 1-3, see col 4, lines 6-24), such that the second mounting seat is kept at any rotation position of the first mounting seat (see Figures 1-3, see col 4, lines 6-24).
[AltContent: textbox (2b – Fourth Connecting Rod)]
[AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (2a – Second Connecting Rod)]
[AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (3b – Third Connecting Rod)]
[AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (3a – First Connecting Rod)]
Huang does not disclose the supporting arm, wherein the force applying member comprises at least two elastic members nested sequentially from inside to outside, and the at least two elastic members jointly provide a supporting force.
Ying teaches a device (10, fig 1) comprising: a supporting member (31, fig 2); and a force applying member (33, fig 2), wherein the force applying member comprises at least two elastic members (331a, 331b, fig 4) nested sequentially from inside to outside (see Figures 2-9), and the at least two elastic members jointly provide a spring force (see Figures 2-9, see col 9, lines 4-22).
Huang and Ying are analogous art because Huang is at least from the same field of endeavor, i.e., supports, and Ying is at least from a similar problem solving area, i.e., providing forces with springs. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the force applying member (Huang: 63, fig 2) with at least two elastic members (Ying: 331a, 331b, fig 4) nested sequentially from inside to outside (Ying: see Figures 2-9), and the at least two elastic members jointly provide a supporting force (Ying: see Figures 2-9, see col 9, lines 4-22; Huang: see Figures 1-3, see col 4, lines 6-24), such that the second mounting seat (Huang: 5, fig 2) is kept at any rotation position of the first mounting seat (Huang: 4, fig 2, see Figures 1-3, see col 4, lines 6-24), as taught by Ying, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to allow heavier electronic devices to be used with the supporting arm by providing a greater spring force against the gravitational torque caused by the heavier electronic devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Huang and Ying to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, wherein: at least one side of the force applying member is provided with the supporting member (Huang: see Figures 1-3), the supporting member comprises a first connecting rod (Huang: 3a, fig 2, see annotation, the right connecting rod of the lower link 3) and a second connecting rod (Huang: 2a, fig 2, see annotation, the right connecting rod of the upper link 2), a first end of the first connecting rod and a first end of the second connecting rod are both pivotally connected to the first mounting seat (Huang: see Figures 1-3, see col 3, lines 52-67, col 4, lines 1-5), a second end of the first connecting rod and a second end of the second connecting rod are both pivotally connected to the second mounting seat (Huang: see Figures 1-3, see col 3, lines 52-67, col 4, lines 1-5), and the first connecting rod, the second connecting rod, the first mounting seat and the second mounting seat form a quadrilateral structure (Huang: see Figures 1-3, see col 3, lines 52-67, col 4, lines 1-5); and the quadrilateral structure is kept at any deformation position by the force applying member (Huang: see Figures 1-3, see col 4, lines 6-24).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, the supporting arm further comprising: a connecting member (Huang: 611, fig 2) connected to the second connecting rod (Huang: see Figures 1-3, see col 3, lines 52-67, col 4, lines 1-24); and a stopping member (Huang: 64, fig 2) connected to the first connecting rod or the first mounting seat (Huang: see Figures 1-3, see col 3, lines 52-67, col 4, lines 1-24 and 63-67, col 5, lines 1-67, col 6, lines 1-3), wherein the at least two elastic members are located between the connecting member and the stopping member (Huang: see Figures 1-3), and two opposite ends of each of the at least two elastic members are connected to the connecting member and the stopping member, respectively (Huang: see Figures 1-3).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Huang, as modified by Ying with respect to claim 1, teaches the supporting arm, wherein: the at least two elastic members are two compression springs (Ying: 331a, 331b, fig 4).
Huang, as modified by Ying with respect to claim 1, does not teach the supporting arm, wherein: the stopping member comprises a first stopping section and a second stopping section that are connected to each other, a cross-sectional area of the first stopping section is larger than a cross-sectional area of the second stopping section, a compression spring located at an outer side of the two compression springs sleeves the second stopping section and abuts against the first stopping section, and a compression spring located at an inner side of the two compression springs abuts against the second stopping section.
Ying teaches a device (10, fig 1) comprising: a supporting member (31, fig 2); and a force applying member (33, fig 2), wherein the force applying member comprises at least two elastic members (331a, 331b, fig 4) nested sequentially from inside to outside (see Figures 2-9), and the at least two elastic members jointly provide a spring force (see Figures 2-9, see col 9, lines 4-22), wherein: the at least two elastic members are two compression springs (331a, 331b, fig 4), a stopping member (3112, fig 7) comprises a first stopping section (713, fig 8), and a second stopping section (712, fig 8) that are connected to each other (see Figure 8), a cross-sectional area of the first stopping section is larger than a cross-sectional area of the second stopping section (see Figure 8), a compression spring (331b, fig 8) located at an outer side of the two compression springs sleeves the second stopping section and abuts against the first stopping section (see Figures 7 and 8), and a compression spring (331a, fig 8) located at an inner side of the two compression springs abuts against the second stopping section (see Figures 7 and 8).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the stopping member (Huang: 64, fig 2) with a first stopping section (Ying: 713, fig 8) and a second stopping section (Ying: 712, fig 8) that are connected to each other (Ying: see Figure 8), a cross-sectional area of the first stopping section is larger than a cross-sectional area of the second stopping section (Ying: see Figure 8), a compression spring (Ying: 331b, fig 8) located at an outer side of the two compression springs sleeves the second stopping section and abuts against the first stopping section (Ying see Figures 7 and 8), and a compression spring (Ying: 331a, fig 8) located at an inner side of the two compression springs abuts against the second stopping section (Ying: see Figures 7 and 8), as taught by Ying, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to allow proper positioning of the first elastic member and the second elastic member within the supporting arm. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Huang and Ying to obtain the inventions as specified in claims 4 and 13.
Regarding claim 5 and 14, Huang, as modified by Ying (see above discussions with respect to claims 4 and 13), teaches the supporting arm, wherein the stopping member comprises at least two stopping sections (Ying: 712, 713, fig 8) which are connected and whose cross-sectional areas decrease sequentially (Ying: see Figures 7 and 8), and the at least two elastic members correspondingly abut against the at least two stopping sections (Ying: see Figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, wherein the stopping member is movably arranged along an axis of the elastic members (Ying: see Figures 2-9; Huang: see Figures 1-3), a side of the second connecting rod facing the force applying member is provided with a guide groove (Huang: 2c, fig 4, see annotation, the guide groove defined by the top plate 221 and the two vertical side plates 222), and the stopping member is in sliding fit with the guide groove (Huang: see Figures 1-4, see col 5, lines 31-67, col 6, lines 1-3).
[AltContent: textbox (2c – Guide Groove)]
[AltContent: connector]
Regarding claims 7 and 16, the supporting arm further comprising a limiting member (Huang: 221, fig 4) connected to the second connecting rod (Huang: see Figure 4), wherein at least part of the limiting member is arranged at an included angle with the second connecting rod (Huang: see Figure 4), and the limiting member is at least located at a circumferential side of the force applying member (Huang: see Figures 1-4), such that the force applying member is prevented from falling off (Huang: see Figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 8, the supporting arm further comprising: a guide sleeve (Huang: 610, fig 2); and a guide rod (Huang: 663, fig 2) in sliding fit with the guide sleeve (Huang: see Figures 1-9, col 6, lines 21-58), wherein the force applying member is located on an outer circumference of both the guide sleeve and the guide rod (Huang: see Figures 1-9; Ying: see Figures 2-9), such that the force applying member is to be guided (Huang: see Figures 1-9; Ying: see Figures 2-9).
Claims 9 and 10, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 9,004,431 B2) in view of Ying et al. (US 12,485,520 B2), hereinafter Ying, and Bowman et al. (US 8,931,748 B2), hereinafter Bowman.
Regarding claim 9, Huang, as modified by Ying with respect to claim 1, does not teach the supporting arm, further comprising a housing connected to the supporting member, wherein the housing covers an outer circumference of two supporting members and the force applying member.
Bowman teaches a supporting arm (2110, fig 9) comprising: a first mounting seat (2230, fig 12); a second mounting seat (2210, fig 12); a supporting member (2156, fig 12; alternatively, 2160, fig 12), wherein two opposite ends of the supporting member are configured to be rotatably connected to the first mounting seat and the second mounting seat, respectively (see Figures 9-18); a force applying member (2320, fig 10A); and a housing (2202, fig 12) connected to the supporting member (see Figures 9-18, see col 24, lines 24-59), wherein the housing covers an outer circumference of two supporting members (2156, 2160, fig 12) and the force applying member (see Figures 9-18).
Bowman is analogous art because it is at least from the same field of endeavor, i.e., supports. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the supporting arm (Huang: 200, fig 1) with a housing (Bowman: 2202, fig 12) connected to the supporting member (Huang: 2a, 3a, fig 2, see annotation; Bowman: see Figures 9-18, see col 24, lines 24-59), wherein the housing covers an outer circumference of two supporting members (Huang: 2a, 2b, 3a, 3b, fig 2, see annotation) and the force applying member (Huang: 63, fig 2, as modified by, Ying: 33, fig 2; Bowman: see Figures 9-18), as taught by Bowman, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to protect the upper link and the lower link of the supporting arm. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Huang, Ying, and Bowman to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, wherein: the housing comprises an upper cover plate, a left cover plate and a right cover plate that are connected and arranged at an included angle, so as to form a U-shaped structure provided with a mounting cavity; or the supporting arm further comprises a lower cover plate connected to the supporting member, and the lower cover plate is located on a bottom of the supporting member; or a number of the supporting members is two (Huang: 2a, 2b, 3a, 3b, fig 2, see annotation, with the first supporting member 2a, 3a and the second supporting member 3a, 3b), and the two supporting members are located at a left side and a right side of the force applying member, respectively (Huang: see Figures 1-3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-892 for various supports.
/G. H. G./Examiner, Art Unit 3631
/JONATHAN LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3631