DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10, 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Please spell out “its” in line 4 of claim 1 to what it is referring to.
Please spell out “its” in line 3 of claim 10 to what it is referring to.
Please spell out “its” in line 5 of claim 13 (and repeated in line 13 of claim 13) to what it is referring to.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 7-8, 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the distal catheter extension" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the catheter body" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the distal region of the catheter body" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Also, it is unclear if it is referring to the distal end of the proximal catheter segment or it is referring to the distal end of the distal catheter segment or it is referring to new limitation. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation as it is referring to the distal end of the proximal catheter segment.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the distal region of the catheter body" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Also, it is unclear if it is referring to the distal end of the proximal catheter segment or it is referring to the distal end of the distal catheter segment or it is referring to new limitation. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation as it is referring to the distal end of the proximal catheter segment.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "over the catheter body" in line 15. it is unclear if it refers to the catheter body of the first catheter or second catheter or it is referring to new limitation. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation as it is referring to the catheter body of the second catheter
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ho et al. (US 20120022426 A1) (“Ho”).
Re claim 13, Ho discloses a reverse flow medical device (Fig. 1-13, ¶0016, abstract) combination for performing carotid artery stenting (Fig. 13, 1310), the reverse flow medical device combination comprising: a first catheter (110) including: a catheter body extending from a proximal region (lower region of 110) to a distal region (region of 610 and top end of 110) including a distal end (top end of 110), the catheter body adapted to terminate with its distal end within a common carotid artery (CCA, Fig. 10-13); a working lumen (lumen of 110, ¶0019) extending through the catheter body and terminating at the distal end of the catheter body (Fig. 10-13); a first inflatable balloon (610) secured within the distal region of the catheter body of the first catheter and adapted when inflated to occlude the CCA (Fig. 10-13, ¶0026); and a second catheter (210) including: a catheter body extending from a proximal region (lower portion of 210) to a distal region (region at 910, 1120) including a distal end ( top end of 210), the catheter body adapted to terminate with its distal end within an internal carotid artery (ICA, Fig. 10-13 ¶0029); an expandable stent (1310) disposed over the catheter body (¶0030), a second inflatable balloon (910) secured within the distal region of the catheter body of the second catheter (Fig. 13); a blood lumen ( lumen from 110 to 120, ¶0029) extending through the catheter body to a position distal of the second inflatable balloon in order to allow antegrade blood flow from a position proximal of the first inflatable balloon to a position distal of the second inflatable balloon (¶0029).
Re claim 14, Ho discloses wherein the second catheter further comprises a stent deployment sheath (520) that is adapted to be withdrawn proximally in order to deploy the stent (¶0029-¶0030).
Re claim 15, Ho discloses wherein the second catheter further comprises a post-stenting dilation balloon (1210, ¶0030).
Re claim 16, Ho discloses wherein the second catheter further comprises one or more flushing ports disposed proximal of the second inflatable balloon (1220, ¶0030).
Re claim 17, Ho discloses wherein the second catheter is adapted to extend coaxially with the first catheter (Fig, 12).
Re claim 18, Ho discloses wherein the second catheter is adapted to extend within the working lumen of the first catheter ( the second catheter is capable to be extended within the working lumen).
Re claim 19, Ho discloses wherein the second catheter is adapted to extend next to the first catheter (Fig, 12).
Re claim 20, Ho discloses wherein the first inflatable balloon comprises a lumen ( lumen of the balloon 610 for 110) extending therethrough adapted to accommodate the first catheter within the lumen (Fig. 10-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coppi (US 20050273051 A1) in view of Ho.
Re claim 1, Coppi discloses a reverse flow catheter for performing carotid artery stenting (Fig. 1-6, ¶0023, abstract), the reverse flow catheter comprising: a proximal catheter segment ( segment from 3 to 4) extending from a proximal region (5) to a distal region including a distal end ( balloon region and distal end 4), the proximal catheter segment adapted to terminate with its distal end within a common carotid artery (CCA) (Fig. 4, artery 10); a distal catheter segment ( 11) extending from a proximal end (lower end of 11) to a distal region including a distal end (balloon 12 region and top end, Fig. 4), the distal catheter segment extending distally from the distal end of the proximal catheter segment (Fig, 4), the distal catheter segment adapted to terminate within an external carotid artery (ECA) ( vessel 210, Fig. 4, ¶0066); a working lumen ( lumen 2, Fig. 4) extending through the proximal catheter segment and terminating at the distal end of the proximal catheter segment (Fig. 2); a CCA occlusion balloon (9, Fig, 4, ¶0058) secured within the distal region of the proximal catheter segment (Fig, 4); an ECA occlusion balloon (12) secured within the distal region of the distal catheter segment (Fig. 4. ¶0067); a first shunt port (lower port 20 of conduit 7, Fig. 5) disposed within the proximal catheter segment proximal of the CCA occlusion balloon (Fig. 5); a second shunt port ( top port of the conduit 7, Fig. 5) disposed within the distal catheter segment distal of the ECA occlusion balloon ( Fig. 5) and a shunt lumen extending between the first shunt port and the second shunt port ( 7), but it fails to disclose that the shunt lumen is in order to allow antegrade blood flow from proximal of the CCA occlusion balloon to distal of the ECA occlusion balloon.
However, Ho discloses a catheter (Fig, 12) and wherein a shunt lumen extending between the first shunt port (1110) and the second shunt port ( 1120) is used in order to allow antegrade blood flow from proximal of the CCA occlusion balloon (610) to distal of the occlusion balloon (910, ¶0029, ¶0006).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the shut lumen of Coppi so that the shunt lumen is used in order to allow antegrade blood flow from proximal of the CCA occlusion balloon to distal of the ECA occlusion balloon as taught by Ho for the purpose of maintaining blood flow from proximal of the first inflatable member to distal of the second inflatable member through the catheter part of the distal balloon catheter while isolating the branch vessel (Ho, ¶0006).
Re claim 2, Coppi discloses wherein the shunt lumen extends through part of the proximal catheter segment and through the distal catheter extension (Fig. 5).
Re claim 3, Coppi fails to discloses wherein the shunt lumen comprises an ovoid-shaped shunt lumen.
However, Ho discloses a catheter (Fig, 1) and wherein the lumen (110) comprises an ovoid-shaped lumen (Fig. 1).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the shut lumen of Coppi so that the shunt lumen comprises an ovoid-shaped shunt lumen.as taught by Ho for the purpose of maintaining blood flow from proximal of the first inflatable member to distal of the second inflatable member through the catheter part of the distal balloon catheter while isolating the branch vessel (Ho, ¶0006).
Re claim 4, Coppi discloses further comprising an inflation lumen (6, 8) extending to and fluidly coupled with the CCA occlusion balloon (Fig.3-5).
Re claim 5, Coppi discloses wherein the inflation lumen also extends to and is fluidly coupled with the ECA occlusion balloon (Fig. 3-5).
Re claim 6, Coppi discloses wherein the working lumen is adapted to accommodate retrograde blood flow therethrough (lumen 2 is capable to accommodate retrograde blood flow therethrough).
Re claim 7, Coppi discloses wherein the catheter body has an 8 French outer diameter (¶0026, diameters with different measurement than 13-14 French can be used).
Re claim 8, Coppi discloses, wherein the working lumen has a 6 French inner diameter (less than 7 French ¶0055).
Re claim 9, Coppi discloses wherein the working lumen is adapted to accommodate a stent delivery catheter extended through the working lumen and into the interior carotid artery (ICA) (Fig. 4, ¶0069).
Re claim 10, Coppi discloses a catheter (Fig. 1-6, ¶0023, abstract), comprising: a proximal catheter segment (segment from 3 to 4) extending from a proximal region (5) to a distal region including a distal end (ballon region and distal end 4), the proximal catheter segment adapted to terminate with its distal end within a common carotid artery (CCA) (Fig. 4, artery 10), the proximal catheter segment having an 8 French outer diameter (¶0026 as the outer diameter can be less than 12 and other size can be used); a distal catheter segment extending (11) from a proximal end ( lower end of 11) to a region including a distal end ( region of the balloon 12 and top end of 11, Fig. 4-5), the distal catheter segment extending distally from the distal end of the catheter body (Fig, 4-5), the distal catheter segment adapted to terminate within an external carotid artery (ECA) ()vessel 210, Fig. 4, ¶0066); a working lumen (2) extending through the proximal catheter segment and terminating at the distal end of the proximal catheter segment (Fig. 1-5), the working lumen having a 6 French inner diameter ( up to 7 French, ¶0055); a CCA occlusion element (9)secured within the distal region of the catheter body (Fig. 1-5); an ECA occlusion element (12) secured within the distal region of the distal catheter segment (Fig. 1-5); and a blood shunt path (7) extending from a position proximal of the CCA occlusion element ( lower opening of 7, Fig. 5) to a position distal of the ECA occlusion element (upper opening of 7), but it fails to disclose that the shunt path is used in order to allow antegrade blood flow from proximal of the inflatable CCA occlusion balloon to distal of the inflatable ECA occlusion balloon.
However, Ho discloses a catheter (Fig, 12) and wherein a shunt lumen extending between the first shunt port (1110) and the second shunt port ( 1120) is used in order to allow antegrade blood flow from proximal of the CCA occlusion balloon (610) to distal of the occlusion balloon (910, ¶0029, ¶0006).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the shut lumen of Coppi so that the shunt path is used in order to allow antegrade blood flow from proximal of the inflatable CCA occlusion balloon to distal of the inflatable ECA occlusion balloon as taught by Ho for the purpose of maintaining blood flow from proximal of the first inflatable member to distal of the second inflatable member through the catheter part of the distal balloon catheter while isolating the branch vessel (Ho, ¶0006).
Re claim 11, Coppi discloses a proximal blood shunt port ( lower opening of 11, Fig. 5) fluidly coupled with a proximal end of the blood shunt path (7); and a distal blood shunt port ( top opening of 7) fluidly coupled with a distal end of the blood shunt path (Fig. 1-5).
Re claim 12, Coppi discloses wherein the working lumen is adapted to accommodate retrograde blood flow through the working lumen simultaneously with a stent delivery catheter being advanced through the working lumen (lumen 2 is capable to accommodate the retrograde blood flow and delivery the stent catheter15 at the same time, Fig. 4).
Conclusion
/HAMZA A DARB/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783