DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claims 1, 7 and 13, Applicant argues that MacLachlan in view of Andersen does not disclose “wherein the rib blocking structure has a lateralmost edge that is disposed laterally inward from an outermost surface of the first end eye part”. In response, Examiner would like to make reference to Figure 4 of Andersen wherein the lower forward projecting part 36 is shown. Part 36 has a top side on which an upper supporting surface is disposed laterally inward from an outermost surface of the first end eye part as the upper surface defines a plane which extends at least partially laterally inward and therefore recessed from the outer surface of the first end portion.
Regarding Claims 2-6, 8-12 and 14-20, Applicant makes no other arguments other than to state these rejections should be traversed under the amended independent claims.
For the foregoing reasons, the claims stand rejected.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because: a plurality of lines state the phrase "said", which is considered to be implied language. Applicant appeared to correct some of these phrases in the replacement abstract from 4/14/2026, but did not correct all instances. Correction is required. See MPEP 608.01(b). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacLachlan (United States Patent US 7,070,043 B1) in view of Andersen (United States Patent Application US 2011/0017576A1).
Regarding Claim 1, MacLachlan discloses A modular conveyor belt link configured to be assembled in interfitting relationship with a plurality of like modular conveyor belt links, which may be connected together with connection pins to form an endless conveyor belt with a load carrying surface and an underside opposite the load carrying surface, the endless conveyor belt defining a forward direction and a rearward direction extending in opposing directions along a conveying path, and a belt thickness between the load carrying surface and the underside of the belt, (Figure 2: Conveyor belt 10)the modular conveyor belt link comprising: a main body having a first thickness configured to define the belt thickness when the link is assembled with other links; (Figure 23: Module 24 with a thickness defining the belt thickness)a plurality of central eye parts extending perpendicularly from said main body in forward and rearward directions, each said central eye part also being of said first thickness;(Figure 3: Hinge eyes 42, 43).
However, MacLachlan does not disclose an outermost end structure on a first end of said modular conveyor belt link, said outermost end structure comprising: a first end eye part being of said first thickness, extending from said main body in a first direction along the conveying path, providing an engagement surface for engaging a driving rib of a drive element, and defining an outer side surface of the link, and a second end eye part extending from said main body in a second direction opposite the first direction along the conveying path and including a rib blocking structure having a second thickness that is less than said first thickness, said rib blocking structure being configured to prevent lateral engagement of the driving rib inward between the link and an adjacent link beyond said rib blocking structure, wherein the rib blocking structure has a lateralmost edge that is disposed laterally inward from an outermost surface of the first end eye part.
Andersen discloses a similar modular conveyor belt link comprising an outermost end structure on a first end of said modular conveyor belt link, said outermost end structure comprising: a first end eye part being of said first thickness, extending from said main body in a first direction along the conveying path, providing an engagement surface for engaging a driving rib of a drive element, and defining an outer side surface of the link,(Paragraph 0027: "The edge element 20 together form an outwardly predominantly closed guide surface 34 as the edge elements 20 at the front, i.e. in the direction of movement, has a lower forward projecting part 36 and at the rear a upper rearward projecting part 38 such that, as seen from above, a predominantly closed guide surface 34 is formed, which e.g. will prevent the sharp edges of the vertical curve guides 8 from interfering with the lateral apertures 18 which are now well out of the way behind the edge elements 20.", wherein Figure shows inner side part 24 of edge element 20, which forms a first end eye part on the right side of the link) and a second end eye part extending from said main body in a second direction opposite the first direction along the conveying path and including a rib blocking structure having a second thickness that is less than said first thickness, (Figure54: Lower forward projecting part 36)said rib blocking structure being configured to prevent lateral engagement of the driving rib inward between the link and an adjacent link beyond said rib blocking structure.(Paragraph 0027: "The edge element 20 together form an outwardly predominantly closed guide surface 34 as the edge elements 20 at the front, i.e. in the direction of movement, has a lower forward projecting part 36 and at the rear a upper rearward projecting part 38 such that, as seen from above, a predominantly closed guide surface 34 is formed, which e.g. will prevent the sharp edges of the vertical curve guides 8 from interfering with the lateral apertures 18 which are now well out of the way behind the edge elements 20."), wherein the rib blocking structure has a lateralmost edge that is disposed laterally inward from an outermost surface of the first end eye part. (Figure 4: Lower forward projecting part 36 has upper support surface disposed laterally inward)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MacLachlan to include the engagement surface for a rib, as well as a rib blocking structure as taught by Andersen. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a substantially closed guide surface to counteract issues of lateral incisions or apertures at the belt edges (Paragraph 0005).
Regarding Claim 2, MacLachlan in view of Andersen discloses the modular conveyor belt link of claim 1, as seen above. Andersen further discloses wherein, when the link is assembled with other links to form a conveyor belt, a first surface of said rib blocking structure is flush with the underside or load carrying surface of the conveyor belt.(Figure 6: Bottom surface of Projecting part 36 flush with bottom of belt)
Regarding Claim 3, MacLachlan in view of Andersen discloses the modular conveyor belt link of claim 2, as seen above. Andersen further discloses wherein, when the link is assembled with other links to form a conveyor belt, a second surface of the rib blocking structure is disposed part way between the load carrying surface of the belt and the underside of the belt, such that the second surface of the rib blocking structure is recessed from the underside or the load carrying surface of the belt.(Figure 6: Top surface of projecting part 36 is disposed between the load carrying surface and underside surface of the belt)
Regarding Claim 4, MacLachlan in view of Andersen discloses the modular conveyor belt link of claim 1, as seen above. Andersen further discloses wherein the rib blocking structure includes a horizontally oriented flange.(Figure 6: Forward projecting part 36)
Regarding Claim 5, MacLachlan in view of Andersen discloses the modular conveyor belt link of claim 4, as seen above. MacLachlan further discloses wherein the first end eye part includes a recess configured to receive a horizontally oriented flange of a rib blocking structure of an adjacent link when the link and the adjacent link are arranged in a collapsed belt condition.(Column 5, lines 43-65: "The first side edge of the module is formed by a zigzag edge member 84 with a first arm 86 extending along an outermost hinge member 60' from a central junction 88 of the zigzag member toward the first end 76 of the module and a second arm 87 in the form of a projection extending longitudinally toward the second end 77 of the module. The first arm is in a position occluding the hinge rod passageway along the first end of the belt to hinder the migration of a hinge rod out of the passageway. A lower surface of the projection is preferably coplanar with the bottom side 23 of the module. The two arms are vertically offset. The first arm has a lower sloped surface 90 defining a lower notch 92 narrowing toward its termination at the central junction. The second projecting arm has an upper sloped surface 91 defining an upper notch 93 narrowing toward its termination at the central junction. The second arm of a leading belt row nestles in the lower notch of the trailing belt row at the inside of a turn, while the first arm of a trailing row nestles in the upper notch of a leading row. Outside surfaces of the two arms define a flush edge 94 along the first side edge of the module. When, as in FIG. 1, a belt constructed of these edge modules collapses at the inside of a turn, the zigzag edge members of consecutive belt rows mesh to form a generally flush belt edge.")
Regarding Claim 6, MacLachlan in view of Andersen discloses the modular conveyor belt link of claim 5, as seen above. MacLachlan further discloses wherein the recess is located in a bottom portion or a top portion of the first eye part.(Column 5, lines 43-65: "The first side edge of the module is formed by a zigzag edge member 84 with a first arm 86 extending along an outermost hinge member 60' from a central junction 88 of the zigzag member toward the first end 76 of the module and a second arm 87 in the form of a projection extending longitudinally toward the second end 77 of the module. The first arm is in a position occluding the hinge rod passageway along the first end of the belt to hinder the migration of a hinge rod out of the passageway. A lower surface of the projection is preferably coplanar with the bottom side 23 of the module. The two arms are vertically offset. The first arm has a lower sloped surface 90 defining a lower notch 92 narrowing toward its termination at the central junction. The second projecting arm has an upper sloped surface 91 defining an upper notch 93 narrowing toward its termination at the central junction. The second arm of a leading belt row nestles in the lower notch of the trailing belt row at the inside of a turn, while the first arm of a trailing row nestles in the upper notch of a leading row. Outside surfaces of the two arms define a flush edge 94 along the first side edge of the module. When, as in FIG. 1, a belt constructed of these edge modules collapses at the inside of a turn, the zigzag edge members of consecutive belt rows mesh to form a generally flush belt edge.")
Regarding Claim 7, MacLachlan discloses A modular conveyor belt link configured to be assembled in interfitting relationship with a plurality of like modular conveyor belt links to form a modular conveyor belt defining a load carrying surface and an underside opposite the load carrying surface, the modular conveyor belt link comprising: a main body configured to extend laterally across a conveyor belt when assembled with other links;(Figure 2: Conveyor belt 10) an outermost end structure on a lateral end of the modular conveyor belt link, said outermost end structure comprising: a first end portion having said first thickness, extending from said main body in a first direction along a conveying path of the belt, (Figure 23: Module 24 with a thickness defining the belt thickness)
However, MacLachlan does not disclose and providing an engagement surface for engaging a driving rib of a drive element; and a second end portion extending from the main body in a second direction opposite the first direction along the conveying path of the belt and including a rib blocking structure having a second thickness that is less than said first thickness, the rib blocking structure being configured to prevent lateral engagement of the driving rib inward between the link and an adjacent link beyond the rib blocking structure when the link is assembled with other links, wherein the rib blocking structure is recessed from an outermost surface of the first end portion and thereby permits engagement of the driving rib with the engagement surface of the first end portion.
Andersen discloses a similar modular conveyor belt link comprising providing an engagement surface for engaging a driving rib of a drive element;(Paragraph 0027: "The edge element 20 together form an outwardly predominantly closed guide surface 34 as the edge elements 20 at the front, i.e. in the direction of movement, has a lower forward projecting part 36 and at the rear a upper rearward projecting part 38 such that, as seen from above, a predominantly closed guide surface 34 is formed, which e.g. will prevent the sharp edges of the vertical curve guides 8 from interfering with the lateral apertures 18 which are now well out of the way behind the edge elements 20.", wherein Figure shows inner side part 24 of edge element 20, which forms a first end eye part on the right side of the link)and a second end portion extending from the main body in a second direction opposite the first direction along the conveying path of the belt and including a rib blocking structure having a second thickness that is less than said first thickness,(Figure54: Lower forward projecting part 36) the rib blocking structure being configured to prevent lateral engagement of the driving rib inward between the link and an adjacent link beyond the rib blocking structure when the link is assembled with other links.(Paragraph 0027: "The edge element 20 together form an outwardly predominantly closed guide surface 34 as the edge elements 20 at the front, i.e. in the direction of movement, has a lower forward projecting part 36 and at the rear a upper rearward projecting part 38 such that, as seen from above, a predominantly closed guide surface 34 is formed, which e.g. will prevent the sharp edges of the vertical curve guides 8 from interfering with the lateral apertures 18 which are now well out of the way behind the edge elements 20.") wherein the rib blocking structure is recessed from an outermost surface of the first end portion and thereby permits engagement of the driving rib with the engagement surface of the first end portion. (Figure 6: Top surface of projecting part 36 is disposed between the load carrying surface and underside surface of the belt)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MacLachlan to include the engagement surface for a rib, as well as a rib blocking structure as taught by Andersen. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a substantially closed guide surface to counteract issues of lateral incisions or apertures at the belt edges (Paragraph 0005).
Regarding Claim 8, MacLachlan in view of Andersen discloses the modular conveyor belt link of claim 7, as seen above. Andersen further discloses wherein, when the link is assembled with other links to form a conveyor belt, a first surface of said rib blocking structure is flush with the underside or load carrying surface of the conveyor belt.(Figure 6: Bottom surface of Projecting part 36 flush with bottom of belt)
Regarding Claim 9, MacLachlan in view of Andersen discloses the modular conveyor belt link of claim 8, as seen above. Andersen further discloses wherein, when the link is assembled with other links to form a conveyor belt, a second surface of the rib blocking structure is disposed part way between a load carrying surface of the belt and an underside of the belt, such that the second surface of the rib blocking structure is recessed from the load carrying surface or the underside of the belt.(Figure 6: Top surface of projecting part 36 is disposed between the load carrying surface and underside surface of the belt)
Regarding Claim 10, MacLachlan in view of Andersen discloses the modular conveyor belt link of claim 7, as seen above. Andersen further discloses wherein the rib blocking structure includes a horizontally oriented flange.(Figure 6: Forward projecting part 36)
Regarding Claim 11, MacLachlan in view of Andersen discloses the modular conveyor belt link of claim 10, as seen above. MacLachlan further discloses wherein the first end portion of the link includes a recess configured to receive a horizontally oriented flange of a rib blocking structure of an adjacent link when the link and the adjacent link are arranged in a collapsed belt condition.(Column 5, lines 43-65: "The first side edge of the module is formed by a zigzag edge member 84 with a first arm 86 extending along an outermost hinge member 60' from a central junction 88 of the zigzag member toward the first end 76 of the module and a second arm 87 in the form of a projection extending longitudinally toward the second end 77 of the module. The first arm is in a position occluding the hinge rod passageway along the first end of the belt to hinder the migration of a hinge rod out of the passageway. A lower surface of the projection is preferably coplanar with the bottom side 23 of the module. The two arms are vertically offset. The first arm has a lower sloped surface 90 defining a lower notch 92 narrowing toward its termination at the central junction. The second projecting arm has an upper sloped surface 91 defining an upper notch 93 narrowing toward its termination at the central junction. The second arm of a leading belt row nestles in the lower notch of the trailing belt row at the inside of a turn, while the first arm of a trailing row nestles in the upper notch of a leading row. Outside surfaces of the two arms define a flush edge 94 along the first side edge of the module. When, as in FIG. 1, a belt constructed of these edge modules collapses at the inside of a turn, the zigzag edge members of consecutive belt rows mesh to form a generally flush belt edge.")
Regarding Claim 12, MacLachlan in view of Andersen discloses the modular conveyor belt link of claim 11, as seen above. MacLachlan further discloses wherein the recess is located in a bottom portion or a top portion of the first end portion.(Column 5, lines 43-65: "The first side edge of the module is formed by a zigzag edge member 84 with a first arm 86 extending along an outermost hinge member 60' from a central junction 88 of the zigzag member toward the first end 76 of the module and a second arm 87 in the form of a projection extending longitudinally toward the second end 77 of the module. The first arm is in a position occluding the hinge rod passageway along the first end of the belt to hinder the migration of a hinge rod out of the passageway. A lower surface of the projection is preferably coplanar with the bottom side 23 of the module. The two arms are vertically offset. The first arm has a lower sloped surface 90 defining a lower notch 92 narrowing toward its termination at the central junction. The second projecting arm has an upper sloped surface 91 defining an upper notch 93 narrowing toward its termination at the central junction. The second arm of a leading belt row nestles in the lower notch of the trailing belt row at the inside of a turn, while the first arm of a trailing row nestles in the upper notch of a leading row. Outside surfaces of the two arms define a flush edge 94 along the first side edge of the module. When, as in FIG. 1, a belt constructed of these edge modules collapses at the inside of a turn, the zigzag edge members of consecutive belt rows mesh to form a generally flush belt edge.")
Regarding Claim 13, MacLachlan discloses A modular conveyor belt, comprising; a first link comprising: a first main body extending laterally across a width of the conveyor belt;(Figure 2: Conveyor belt 10) and a first end portion having a first thickness, extending in a first direction from said first main body along a conveying path of the conveyor belt, (Figure 23: Module 24 with a thickness defining the belt thickness)
However, MacLachlan does not disclose providing an engagement surface for engaging a driving rib of a drive element; and a second link configured to be assembled in interfitting relationship with the first link, the second link comprising: a second main body extending laterally across the width of the conveyor belt; and a second end portion extending in a second direction from the main body along the conveying path opposite the first direction, the second end portion including a rib blocking structure having a reduced material thickness as compared to the first end portion; wherein, when the first link and the second link are assembled together and the conveyor belt is in an expanded condition, the rib blocking structure extends between the first link and the second link to prevent a driving rib of a drive element from getting lodged between the first link and the second link, wherein the rib blocking structure has a lateralmost edge that is disposed laterally inward from an outermost surface of the first end eye part.
Andersen discloses a similar modular conveyor belt comprising providing an engagement surface for engaging a driving rib of a drive element; (Paragraph 0027: "The edge element 20 together form an outwardly predominantly closed guide surface 34 as the edge elements 20 at the front, i.e. in the direction of movement, has a lower forward projecting part 36 and at the rear a upper rearward projecting part 38 such that, as seen from above, a predominantly closed guide surface 34 is formed, which e.g. will prevent the sharp edges of the vertical curve guides 8 from interfering with the lateral apertures 18 which are now well out of the way behind the edge elements 20.", wherein Figure shows inner side part 24 of edge element 20, which forms a first end eye part on the right side of the link)and a second link configured to be assembled in interfitting relationship with the first link, the second link comprising: a second main body extending laterally across the width of the conveyor belt; and a second end portion extending in a second direction from the main body along the conveying path opposite the first direction, the second end portion including a rib blocking structure having a reduced material thickness as compared to the first end portion;(Figure54: Lower forward projecting part 36) wherein, when the first link and the second link are assembled together and the conveyor belt is in an expanded condition, the rib blocking structure extends between the first link and the second link to prevent a driving rib of a drive element from getting lodged between the first link and the second link.(Paragraph 0027: "The edge element 20 together form an outwardly predominantly closed guide surface 34 as the edge elements 20 at the front, i.e. in the direction of movement, has a lower forward projecting part 36 and at the rear a upper rearward projecting part 38 such that, as seen from above, a predominantly closed guide surface 34 is formed, which e.g. will prevent the sharp edges of the vertical curve guides 8 from interfering with the lateral apertures 18 which are now well out of the way behind the edge elements 20.") wherein the rib blocking structure has a lateralmost edge that is disposed laterally inward from an outermost surface of the first end eye part. (Figure 4: Lower forward projecting part 36 has upper support surface disposed laterally inward)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MacLachlan to include the engagement surface for a rib, as well as a rib blocking structure as taught by Andersen. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a substantially closed guide surface to counteract issues of lateral incisions or apertures at the belt edges (Paragraph 0005).
Regarding Claim 14, MacLachlan in view of Andersen discloses the modular conveyor belt of claim 13, as seen above. Andersen further discloses wherein the rib blocking structure includes a horizontally oriented flange.(Figure 6: Forward projecting part 36)
Regarding Claim 15, MacLachlan in view of Andersen discloses the modular conveyor belt of claim 14, as seen above. MacLachlan further discloses wherein the first end portion of the first link includes a recess configured to receive the horizontally oriented flange of the rib blocking structure when the conveyor belt is in a collapsed condition.(Column 5, lines 43-65: "The first side edge of the module is formed by a zigzag edge member 84 with a first arm 86 extending along an outermost hinge member 60' from a central junction 88 of the zigzag member toward the first end 76 of the module and a second arm 87 in the form of a projection extending longitudinally toward the second end 77 of the module. The first arm is in a position occluding the hinge rod passageway along the first end of the belt to hinder the migration of a hinge rod out of the passageway. A lower surface of the projection is preferably coplanar with the bottom side 23 of the module. The two arms are vertically offset. The first arm has a lower sloped surface 90 defining a lower notch 92 narrowing toward its termination at the central junction. The second projecting arm has an upper sloped surface 91 defining an upper notch 93 narrowing toward its termination at the central junction. The second arm of a leading belt row nestles in the lower notch of the trailing belt row at the inside of a turn, while the first arm of a trailing row nestles in the upper notch of a leading row. Outside surfaces of the two arms define a flush edge 94 along the first side edge of the module. When, as in FIG. 1, a belt constructed of these edge modules collapses at the inside of a turn, the zigzag edge members of consecutive belt rows mesh to form a generally flush belt edge.")
Regarding Claim 16, MacLachlan in view of Andersen discloses the modular conveyor belt of claim 14, as seen above. Andersen further discloses wherein a first surface of the horizontally oriented flange of the rib blocking structure is flush with an underside or a load carrying surface of the conveyor belt.(Figure 6: Bottom surface of Projecting part 36 flush with bottom of belt)
Regarding Claim 17, MacLachlan in view of Andersen discloses the modular conveyor belt of claim 16, as seen above. Andersen further discloses wherein a second surface of the horizontally oriented flange of the rib blocking structure is disposed part way between the load carrying surface of the belt and the underside of the belt, such that the second surface of the rib blocking structure is recessed from the underside or the load carrying surface of the belt.(Figure 6: Top surface of projecting part 36 is disposed between the load carrying surface and underside surface of the belt)
Regarding Claim 18, MacLachlan in view of Andersen discloses the modular conveyor belt of claim 13, as seen above. MacLachlan further discloses wherein the first end portion and the second end portion include apertures that extend parallel to a load carrying surface of the belt.(Figure 1: Holes 70)
Regarding Claim 19, MacLachlan in view of Andersen discloses the modular conveyor belt of claim 18, as seen above. MacLachlan further discloses wherein, when the first link and the second link are disposed in interfitting arrangement, the apertures overlap with one another; and wherein the belt further includes a connection pin inserted through the overlapping apertures.(Figure 2: Hinge rod 46)
Regarding Claim 20, MacLachlan in view of Andersen discloses the modular conveyor belt of claim 19, as seen above. MacLachlan further discloses wherein the apertures are oblong with a long axis of each aperture oriented along the path of travel of the belt; and wherein the oblong configuration of the apertures enables expansion and collapse of the belt along the conveying path.(Column 4, lines 49-58: "The holes in the hinge members 60, 61 along each end of the row are aligned with the holes in the hinge eyes 42, 43. A hinge rod 46 is received in the lateral passageway formed by the aligned holes of the leading hinge eyes and hinge members of a row interleaved with the trailing hinge eyes and hinge members of the adjacent leading row. Hinge rods connect consecutive rows together at hinge joints. The elongated holes in the hinge eyes allow the inside edge of the belt to collapse in a turn.")
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651