DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claimed subject matter does not have support in the specification or figures for at least the “without a heterogeneous material interface” language. It is noted that Applicant did not cite support in the response.
Claims 1-12, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 17 are rejected for the language “relative thick(er)” for being a relative term with no basis for determining the scope of such language. The remaining claims are merely rejected due to dependency
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-12, 14-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nassar (US 20070163355) in view of Johnson (US 2016/0235564).
Claims 1, 5-12, 15-17, 19-20:
Nassar teaches a method for forming an integrated, flexible diaphragm by providing a mandrel (Fig. 2) and applying a metal layer by sputtering [0029]. The metal layer is applied to the body portion of the mandrel and the diaphragm portion (Fig. 3). Thereafter, at least a portion of the mandrel is removed by etching [0030].
Nassar does not teach specific details related to the sputtering process.
However, Johnson teaches a method for depositing metal layers by sputtering. This includes performing the process in a vacuum [0026], applying sequential sputtered layer to achieve the desired thickness [0041], and masking to control which areas are coated and which are not [0042].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Nassar and incorporate the steps of Johnson because they represent conventional steps in a routine sputtering process.
Claims 2-3:
Johnson teaches it is known to use a laser for material removal [0010].
Claims 14:
Johnson teaches sputtering nitinol, a superelastic nickel titanium material [0004].
Claim 18:
Johnson teaches the use of sacrificial layers [0039].
Claim 21:
The sensor implant shell structure is considered inherent based on the formation on a mandrel and without specific structure recited.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to for depending from a rejected claim, but otherwise represents allowable subject matter.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited prior art is the closest prior art and does not teach the structure where the diaphragm portion has an oval shape and is positioned on a sidewall of the mandrel form with a major axis of the oval shape aligning with an axis of the mandrel form.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Arguments rely on the assertion that none of the prior art references teach vapor deposition. However, all the prior art references utilize sputtering, which is a type of physical vapor deposition. Applicant further asserts that the particular vapor deposition process disclosed in the specification enables the formation of the particular structure, however the independent claims are not found to contain patentably distinct vapor deposition processes or resulting structure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759