DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 10,376,414 to Hallen et al.
In regards to claim 1, Hallen recites an optical fiber system (Figures 1-4), comprising: an aspiration tube (166); an optical fiber (202; Column 5, Lines 26-45) external to the aspiration tube; and a sleeve (154) surrounding the optical fiber and the aspiration tube, the sleeve comprising: a distal portion that defines a channel (186) extending between the aspiration tube and a distal opening of the sleeve, wherein the channel and the aspiration tube define an aspiration pathway, and the optical fiber is partially disposed within the channel.
In regards to claim 6, Hallen recites an optical fiber system (Figures 1-4), comprising: an aspiration tube (166); an optical fiber (202) external to the aspiration tube; and a distal cap (154), the distal cap comprising: a channel (186) extending between the aspiration tube and a distal opening, the channel and the aspiration tube defining an aspiration pathway, the optical fiber being partially disposed within the channel.
In regards to claim 7, Hallen recites the aspiration pathway is further defined by a hypotube (168) positioned at a distal end of the aspiration tube.
In regards to claim 8, Hallen recites an optical fiber port surrounds a distal portion of the optical fiber and terminates at the distal opening of the distal cap.
In regards to claim 11, Hallen recites an optical fiber system (Figures 1-4), comprising: an aspiration tube (166); an optical fiber (202) external to the aspiration tube; and a distal cap (154), the distal cap comprising: a hypotube (168) disposed at a distal end of the aspiration tube, the hypotube having a hypotube opening; and a channel (186) extending between the aspiration tube and the distal opening, the channel and the aspiration tube defining an aspiration pathway, the hypotube being disposed within the channel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 9, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 10,376,414 to Hallen et al as applied to claims 1, 6 and 11 above and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0281769 to Lopez et al.
In regards to claims 2, 9 and 12, Hallen recites all discussed above but fails to expressly recite the channel/hypotube is angled towards an optical fiber guide and terminates at the distal opening. However, Lopez also teaches an optical fiber system/vitrectomy probe. Lopez further teaches the distal end to be beveled, angled or flat for the purpose of directing the sample as desired. Since Hallen and Lopez are from the same field of endeavor and further since Lopez teaches a flat or angled surface to function equally as well, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the channel/hypotube is angled towards an optical fiber guide and terminates at the distal opening.
In regards to claims 3 and 13, Hallen recites the optical fiber guide partially surrounds the optical fiber and terminates at the distal opening.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 10, 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claims 4 and 5, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest the distal portion of the sleeve includes a flange extending away from the optical fiber guide in addition to the accompanying features of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 10, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest a distal portion of the distal cap includes a flange extending away from the optical fiber port in addition to the accompanying features of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claims 14 and 15, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest a distal portion of the distal cap includes a flange extending away from the optical fiber port in addition to the accompanying features of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
References Cited
The references cited made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. None of the documents cited by the Examiner discloses or reasonably suggests the allowable subject matter discussed above.
The documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements have been considered and made of record. Note attached copy of forms PTO-1449. None of the references submitted by Applicant discloses or reasonably suggest the allowable subject matter discussed above.
Inventorship
Conclusion
/TINA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874