DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Examiner’s Notes
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, paragraph numbers, or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 8, 10-13, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2023/0087837 A1) hereinafter Hwang, in further view of Theimer et al. (US-PAT-NO: 10,986,013 B1) hereinafter Theimer.
As per claim 1, Hwang teaches a method, comprising: receiving, by a computer system, a fault injection payload that conforms to a template and identifies one or more faults to inject into a set of services of one or more target environments that are identified in the fault injection payload (see Hwang paragraph [0034], “In various embodiments, the fault-injection component of the computerized tool can electronically store, maintain, control, and/or otherwise access a fault-injection policy. In various aspects, the fault-injection policy can be any suitable mapping that electronically correlates a set of application-and-model states to a set of injectable faults. In various instances, an application-and-model state can be any suitable information pertaining to the computing application and/or to the set of machine learning models”); performing, by the computer system, a set of iterations to inject the one or more faults into the set of services (see Hwang paragraph [0051], “In various aspects, this procedure can iterate for any suitable number of times (e.g., until the update component determines that the reinforcement learning reward has satisfied any suitable threshold). Over such iterations, repeated execution of the reinforcement learning algorithm can cause the fault-injection policy to become iteratively and/or incrementally optimized for increasing the reinforcement learning reward”), wherein a particular one of the iterations includes: identifying, for a particular fault that corresponds to the particular iteration, a fault injection system from a plurality of fault injection systems that is capable of injecting the particular fault (see Hwang paragraph [0053], “Therefore, various embodiments described herein include a computerized tool that can iteratively inject faults into a computing application, which faults can be determined by a reinforcement learning algorithm, and that can train a set of machine learning models on data that is generated by the computing application in response to such injected faults”).
Hwang does not explicitly teach based on the fault injection payload, generating and providing a payload ingestible by the identified fault injection system to cause the identified fault injection system to inject the fault; and after performing the set of iterations to inject the one or more faults, the computer system performing a set of analyses associated with the set of services to determine whether one or more anomalies occurred as a result of the injected one or more faults. However, Theimer teaches based on the fault injection payload, generating and providing a payload ingestible by the identified fault injection system to cause the identified fault injection system to inject the fault (see Theimer [column 11, lines 6-15], “In at least some embodiments, as part of the information provided to the FIS regarding desired fault injection properties, a client may supply an indication of metrics sources that can be accessed from the FIS (e.g., by the resilience results generators 158) to determine the impacts of the injected faults. Such metrics sources may, for example, include response time metrics generators of the application, responsiveness/aliveness monitors of the application, throughput reporters of the applications, application-generated logs, and so on in different embodiments”); and after performing the set of iterations to inject the one or more faults, the computer system performing a set of analyses associated with the set of services to determine whether one or more anomalies occurred as a result of the injected one or more faults (see Theimer [column 11, lines 64-67 and column 12, lines 1-6], “FIG. 2 illustrates a high-level overview of the preparation of a catalog of fault categories at a fault injection service, according to at least some embodiments. A number of data sources may be analyzed by one or more catalog managers 251 of a fault injection service (FIS) (similar in features and functionality to FIS 150 of FIG. 1) in the depicted embodiment to identify or detect instances of occurrences of various types of faults which led to errors, failures, or undesired behaviors, and then to generate catalog entries indicating the faults and corresponding injection techniques”).
Hwang and Theimer are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavors of software development. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the claimed invention effective filing date to modify Hwang’s teaching of training data generation via reinforcement learning fault-injection with Theimer’s teaching of a fault injection service to inject faults into a target environment in accordance to a fault injection mode to incorporate a particular fault injection mode in which to detect faults which lead to undesired behaviors in the target environment.
As per claim 4, Hwang modified with Theimer teaches wherein at least one of the one or more faults is associated with another fault injection system than the identified fault injection system associated with the particular fault (see Hwang paragraph [0071], “In various embodiments, the fault-injection training system 102 can comprise a fault-injection component 114. In various aspects, the fault-injection component 114 can electronically store, maintain, and/or otherwise access a fault-injection policy. In various instances, the fault-injection policy can be a mapping between a set of application/model states and a set of computing faults. In various cases, the fault-injection component 114 can identify a current state of the computing application 104 and/or of the set of machine learning models 106. Accordingly, the fault-injection component 114 can leverage the fault-injection policy to identify a computing fault that corresponds to the current state, and the fault-injection component 114 can electronically inject the identified computing fault into the computing application 104”).
As per claim 5, Hwang modified with Theimer teaches wherein the fault injection payload specifies one or more injection times at which to inject the one or more faults into the set of services (see Hwang paragraph [0087], “] As those having ordinary skill in the art will appreciate, in various instances, the fault-injection component 114 can electronically inject the fault 306 into the computing application 104. In other words, the fault-injection component 114 can apply the fault 306 to the computing application 104, can implement the fault 306 in the computing application 104, and/or can otherwise subject the computing application 104 to the fault 306. In still other words, the fault 306 can specify a particular computing error (e.g., code insertion, code mutation, code deletion, memory corruption, software call corruption, network packet corruption), can specify a particular application component which is to be the target of the particular computing error, and can specify a particular time at which to inject the particular computing error into the particular application component, and the fault-injection component 114 can accordingly inject the particular computing error into the particular application component at the particular time”).
As per claim 8, Hwang modified with Theimer teaches wherein the set of services includes a database service and an application service capable of establishing a database connection with the database service, wherein the set of analyses includes a connection analysis to determine whether the database connection timed out and to determine impacts on the application service caused by a time out of the database connection, and wherein the method further comprises the computer system presenting a result of the connection analysis to a user (see Theimer [column 14, lines 46-63], “Some types of faults may represent failures 418 of entire subcomponents of a service—e.g., when the index management functionality for a database instance becomes unresponsive, unable to update indexes or respond to index-based queries. Resource of many provider network services may be logically subdivided into two categories: control plane resources, responsible primarily for administrative tasks (such as provisioning computing devices, monitoring performance and availability, etc.) and data plane resources (resource sued primarily for client applications and data). Scenarios in which portions of the data plane of a service gets disconnected (element 420) from the remaining data plane components, and/or from the control plane of the service, may represent another type of fault in the depicted embodiment. Similarly, another type of fault may involve the disconnection of a control plane of a service (element 422) from the remaining control plane components, and/or from the data plane of the service”).
As per claim 10, Hwang modified with Theimer teaches wherein the set of services is distributed across multiple computer zones, wherein a given computer zone provides an isolated network of systems such that a particular failure in the given computer zone does not cause the particular failure in other ones of the multiple computer zones (see Theimer [column 15, lines 44-63], “FIG. 5 illustrates example fault injection agents that may be configured at a provider network, according to at least some embodiments. Within a provider network, in some embodiments, groups of resources (including, for example, compute instances 517 of a virtualized computing service (VCS) 510) may be configured as isolated virtual networks on behalf of respective clients of the provider network. As indicated by the name, an isolated virtual network (IVN) such as IVN 515A or 515B may be logically isolated from the rest of the provider network (and other networks outside the provider network) with respect to various aspects of network configuration—for example, internal or “private” IP addresses may be assigned to resources of a given IVN independently of the addresses assigned within other networks, network security rules of a given IVN may restrict the sources and destinations with which resources of the IVN may communicate, and so on. In the example depicted in FIG. 5, IVN 515A has been configured for client C1, while IVN 515B has been established for a different client C2”).
As per claim 11, Hwang modified with Theimer teaches wherein the set of metrics includes log records generated by a database service of the set of services (see Theimer [column 12, lines 6-23], “Per-service internal records 202 of a number of different provider network services may be consumed as input by the catalog managers 251, including VCS operation and support records 210, OSS operation and support records 220, DBS operation and support records 230, and so on. The internal records may include, for example, log records generated at various software and hardware components of a given service during normal operation, as well as records generated by customer support personnel in response to customer complaints (e.g., defect reports entered into a support database, defect resolution records, etc.) pertaining to the services. Logs 240 of cross-service operations (operations involving messages sent between different provider network services, e.g., via service access endpoints, gateways and hubs of the kind discussed below in the context of FIG. 5) may also be examined by the catalog managers in at least some embodiments”).
As per claim 12 this is the non-transitory computer-readable medium (see Hwang paragraph [0069], “In various embodiments, the fault-injection training system 102 can comprise a processor 108 (e.g., computer processing unit, microprocessor) and a computer-readable memory 110 that is operably connected to the processor 108. The memory 110 can store computer-executable instructions which, upon execution by the processor 108, can cause the processor 108 and/or other components of the fault-injection training system 102 (e.g., transceiver component 112, fault-injection component 114, logging component 116, training component 118, reward component 120, and/or update component 122) to perform one or more acts. In various embodiments, the memory 110 can store computer-executable components (e.g., transceiver component 112, fault-injection component 114, logging component 116, training component 118, reward component 120, and/or update component 122), and the processor 108 can execute the computer-executable components”) claim to method claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons as above.
As per claim 13, Hwang modified with Theimer teaches wherein the set of services includes a database service and an application service capable of sending queries to the database service, wherein the set of analyses includes a query analysis to determine a response time associated with processing a query sent by the application service to the database service; and wherein the operations further comprise presenting a result of the query analysis to a user (see Theimer [column 14, lines 46-63], “Some types of faults may represent failures 418 of entire subcomponents of a service—e.g., when the index management functionality for a database instance becomes unresponsive, unable to update indexes or respond to index-based queries. Resource of many provider network services may be logically subdivided into two categories: control plane resources, responsible primarily for administrative tasks (such as provisioning computing devices, monitoring performance and availability, etc.) and data plane resources (resource sued primarily for client applications and data). Scenarios in which portions of the data plane of a service gets disconnected (element 420) from the remaining data plane components, and/or from the control plane of the service, may represent another type of fault in the depicted embodiment. Similarly, another type of fault may involve the disconnection of a control plane of a service (element 422) from the remaining control plane components, and/or from the data plane of the service”).
As per claims 17 and 19, these are the system, comprising: at least one processor, and memory having program instructions stored thereon that are executable by the at least one processor to cause the system to perform operations (see Hwang paragraph [0069], “In various embodiments, the fault-injection training system 102 can comprise a processor 108 (e.g., computer processing unit, microprocessor) and a computer-readable memory 110 that is operably connected to the processor 108. The memory 110 can store computer-executable instructions which, upon execution by the processor 108, can cause the processor 108 and/or other components of the fault-injection training system 102 (e.g., transceiver component 112, fault-injection component 114, logging component 116, training component 118, reward component 120, and/or update component 122) to perform one or more acts. In various embodiments, the memory 110 can store computer-executable components (e.g., transceiver component 112, fault-injection component 114, logging component 116, training component 118, reward component 120, and/or update component 122), and the processor 108 can execute the computer-executable components”) claims to method claims 1 and 5, respectively. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons as above.
Claim(s) 2, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US-PGPUB-NO: 2023/0087837 A1) and Theimer (US-PAT-NO: 10,986,013 B1), in further view of Sankaranarayanan et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2023/0153223 A1) hereinafter Sanka.
As per claim 2, Hwang modified with Theimer teaches further comprising: before performing the set of iterations, the computer system collecting topology information describing a topology of the set of services and metric information describing a set of metrics associated with the set of service (see Hwang paragraph [0034], “As some non-limiting examples, an application-and-model state can indicate: an amount, type, and/or content of error data that is generated by the computing application; can indicate values of variables (e.g., input variables, dummy variables, counter variables) that are initialized and/or manipulated by the computing application; can indicate a topology and/or dependency structure of the computing application; can indicate values of internal parameters (e.g., weight matrices, bias values) of the set of machine learning models; can indicate performance metrics (e.g., accuracy, precision, recall, area-under-curve, F1 score) of the set of machine learning models; and/or can indicate any suitable combination thereof”).
Hwang modified with Theimer do not explicitly teach after performing the set of iterations, the computer system determining a time to recover for one or more of the set of services based on the topology information and the metric information and an updated version of the topology information and the metric information acquired after the one or more faults have been injected into the set of services; and generating, by the computer system, an alert based on the time to recover exceeding a time threshold. However, Sanka teaches after performing the set of iterations, the computer system determining a time to recover for one or more of the set of services based on the topology information and the metric information and an updated version of the topology information and the metric information acquired after the one or more faults have been injected into the set of services; and generating, by the computer system, an alert based on the time to recover exceeding a time threshold (see Sanka paragraph [0061], “In another example, assume there is a web site login page which captures how long a login request takes and includes an alert that has a value of 20 milliseconds (“ms”). Therefore, if a request takes more than 20 ms, then something is wrong and an alert will be triggered. This alert configuration may be appropriate for general cases, but there may be a downstream system which has been affected. The information will be feed into the graph database. Embodiments then process this information and as a result a new threshold for the above login request is revised to 45 ms. The new threshold will be sent to the monitoring system via, for example, an API call and the alert will now be generated if the request takes more than 45 ms instead of 20 ms. After some time if the downstream system recovers, the same information will be fed into the graph database and then embodiments will generate a new threshold appropriate for that time and update the value again, all without human involvement”).
Hwang, Theimer and Sanka are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavors of software development. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the claimed invention effective filing date to modify Hwang’s teaching of training data generation via reinforcement learning fault-injection and Theimer’s teaching of a fault injection service to inject faults into a target environment in accordance to a fault injection mode with Sanka’s teaching of dynamic cloud based alert and threshold generation to incorporate a preset value for a timeout regarding requests placed and setting an alert when something is wrong and being able to increase the preset value to recover for the error using a revised time threshold.
As per claim 14, Hwang modified with Theimer do not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise: determining a time to recover for one or more of the set of services after performing the set of iterations; and generating an alert in response to determining that the time to recover is greater by a threshold amount of time than a time to recover for a previous software version of the one or more services. However, Sanka teaches wherein the operations further comprise: determining a time to recover for one or more of the set of services after performing the set of iterations; and generating an alert in response to determining that the time to recover is greater by a threshold amount of time than a time to recover for a previous software version of the one or more services (see Sanka paragraph [0061], “In another example, assume there is a web site login page which captures how long a login request takes and includes an alert that has a value of 20 milliseconds (“ms”). Therefore, if a request takes more than 20 ms, then something is wrong and an alert will be triggered. This alert configuration may be appropriate for general cases, but there may be a downstream system which has been affected. The information will be feed into the graph database. Embodiments then process this information and as a result a new threshold for the above login request is revised to 45 ms. The new threshold will be sent to the monitoring system via, for example, an API call and the alert will now be generated if the request takes more than 45 ms instead of 20 ms. After some time if the downstream system recovers, the same information will be fed into the graph database and then embodiments will generate a new threshold appropriate for that time and update the value again, all without human involvement”).
Hwang, Theimer and Sanka are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavors of software development. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the claimed invention effective filing date to modify Hwang’s teaching of training data generation via reinforcement learning fault-injection and Theimer’s teaching of a fault injection service to inject faults into a target environment in accordance to a fault injection mode with Sanka’s teaching of dynamic cloud based alert and threshold generation to incorporate a preset value for a timeout regarding requests placed and setting an alert when something is wrong and being able to increase the preset value to recover for the error using a revised time threshold.
As per claim 18, this is the system claim to method claim 2. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons as above.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US-PGPUB-NO: 2023/0087837 A1) and Theimer (US-PAT-NO: 10,986,013 B1), in further view of Papak et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2018/0285239 A1) hereinafter Papak.
As per claim 3, Hwang modified with Theimer do not explicitly teach wherein the particular iteration further includes updating a fault injection list to indicate that the particular fault has been requested to be injected, and wherein the method further comprises: after performing the set of iterations, the computer system issuing, based on the fault injection list, a set of requests to the fault injection system to determine statuses for faults requested to be injected by the fault injection system, wherein a given one of the statuses indicates whether a respective fault was successfully injected. However, Papak teaches wherein the particular iteration further includes updating a fault injection list to indicate that the particular fault has been requested to be injected, and wherein the method further comprises: after performing the set of iterations, the computer system issuing, based on the fault injection list, a set of requests to the fault injection system to determine statuses for faults requested to be injected by the fault injection system, wherein a given one of the statuses indicates whether a respective fault was successfully injected (see Papak paragraph [0071], “At 66, if the system performance does not fall below a predetermined threshold, the weak point of the target system is not yet found, and control determines whether a preset maximum iteration count is exhausted. At 68, if a preset maximum iteration count is not yet exhausted, control can update/vary fault parameters of the injected failure scenario, change the faults in the injected failure scenario, or select a next failure scenario from the prioritized failure scenarios. Additionally, control increments iteration count (which, while not shown, may be initialized at 60), and control returns to 62. Otherwise, if no weak point is found after the preset maximum iteration count is exhausted, control ends”).
Hwang, Theimer and Papak are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavors of software development. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the claimed invention effective filing date to modify Hwang’s teaching of training data generation via reinforcement learning fault-injection and Theimer’s teaching of a fault injection service to inject faults into a target environment in accordance to a fault injection mode with Papak’s teaching of scenario based fault injection in distributed software system to determine resiliency of the distributed software system to real world scenarios to incorporate being able to determine weak points in the system via the injections in order to update or modify the fault parameters of the injections for a more thorough check in resilience of the target system.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US-PGPUB-NO: 2023/0087837 A1) and Theimer (US-PAT-NO: 10,986,013 B1), in further view of Abuelela et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2022/0100599 A1) hereinafter Abuelela.
As per claim 6, Hwang modified with Theimer do not explicitly teach wherein the providing of the ingestible payload to the identified fault injection system to inject the particular fault is performed without waiting until an injection time in response to determining that the fault injection payload does not specify the injection time at which to inject the particular fault into the set of services. However, Abuelela teaches wherein the providing of the ingestible payload to the identified fault injection system to inject the particular fault is performed without waiting until an injection time in response to determining that the fault injection payload does not specify the injection time at which to inject the particular fault into the set of services (see Abuelela paragraph [0122], “Because the service proxy 112 is causing or injecting the faults, the cloud service provider 142 or object storage service 141 behind the service proxy 112 is protected from unintended or unanticipated consequences of simulating these faults. For example, the cloud provider service 142 or object storage service 141 may have to keep a connection open for longer than necessary if the cloud provider service 142 or object storage service 141 were waiting to respond to a service request in order to simulate latency. This could impact the ability of the cloud provider service 142 or object storage service 141 to respond to service requests from other clients, users, or applications”).
Hwang, Theimer and Abuelela are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavors of software development. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the claimed invention effective filing date to modify Hwang’s teaching of training data generation via reinforcement learning fault-injection and Theimer’s teaching of a fault injection service to inject faults into a target environment in accordance to a fault injection mode with Abuelela’s teaching of automated testing of systems and applications to incorporate leaving the connection open as to when the fault injection is delivered to reduce the impact to the responses of the service requests from the clients, users or applications.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US-PGPUB-NO: 2023/0087837 A1) and Theimer (US-PAT-NO: 10,986,013 B1), in further view of Shcherbakov et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2021/0224259 A1) hereinafter Shcherbakov.
As per claim 7, Hwang modified with Theimer do not explicitly teach wherein the fault injection payload specifies one or more metrics to collect and one or more values for configurable variables, including a namespace variable, that affect an injection of the one or more faults into the set of services. However, Shcherbavok teaches wherein the fault injection payload specifies one or more metrics to collect and one or more values for configurable variables, including a namespace variable, that affect an injection of the one or more faults into the set of services (see Shcherbavok paragraph [0967], “In certain embodiments, the monitor 4201 can include a data collector to collect the data. As described herein, the data can include log data, metadata, performance metrics data, etc. For example, if the component associated with the data is a container (one example an isolated execution environment 4214), the data can include log data generated by an application executing in the container, metadata indicating a status and/or a relationship with one or more other containers, a pod, one or more services, a namespace, and/or a node, and/or metrics data indicating the CPU utilization of or disk space available for use by the container. In some embodiments, the data collected by the monitor 4201 can be used to determine a (hierarchical) relationship between the components of the isolated execution environment system 4202”).
Hwang, Theimer and Shcherbavok are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavors of software development. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the claimed invention effective filing date to modify Hwang’s teaching of training data generation via reinforcement learning fault-injection and Theimer’s teaching of a fault injection service to inject faults into a target environment in accordance to a fault injection mode with Shcherbavok’s teaching of isolated execution environment system monitoring to incorporate collecting namespace data from a container for use as a system is being monitored.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US-PGPUB-NO: 2023/0087837 A1) and Theimer (US-PAT-NO: 10,986,013 B1), in further view of Heorhiadi et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2017/0242784 A1) hereinafter Heorhiadi.
As per claim 16, Hwang modified with Theimer do not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise: before performing the set of iterations, performing a validation operation to validate contents of the fault injection payload; and returning an error in response to the fault injection payload failing to pass the validation operation. However, Heorhiadi teaches wherein the operations further comprise: before performing the set of iterations, performing a validation operation to validate contents of the fault injection payload; and returning an error in response to the fault injection payload failing to pass the validation operation (see Heorhiadi paragraph [0070], “In one embodiment of the invention, the process (block 506) of comparing the asserted behavioral expectation of the at least one microservice with an observed behavior of the at least one microservice in response to the execution of the fault injection operations comprises persistently storing data associated with the observed behavior of the at least one microservice in an event log database (e.g., log data storage 228, FIG. 2), and analyzing the stored data associated with observed behavior to verify whether the observed behavior of the at least one microservice conforms to the asserted behavioral expectation of the at least one microservice. As noted above, FIG. 4 depicts an exemplary interface that can be implemented to fetch and analyze observed behavioral data that is persistently stored in event logs (in the log data storage 228) to validate assertions provided in a given recipe”).
Hwang, Theimer and Heorhiadi are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavors of software development. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the claimed invention effective filing date to modify Hwang’s teaching of training data generation via reinforcement learning fault-injection and Theimer’s teaching of a fault injection service to inject faults into a target environment in accordance to a fault injection mode with Heorhiadi’s teaching of failure recovery testing framework for microservice-based applications to incorporate collecting behavioral expectations for a microservice and using the data to analyze the fault injection operations to verify whether the observed behavior conforms with the asserted behavior.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 15 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Balachandran (US-PGPUB-NO: 2025/0097094 A1) teaches wireless communication systems for predicting faults.
Borthakur (US-PAT-NO: 9,356,883 B1) teaches allocating cloud-based application resources using end-user metrics.
/LENIN PAULINO/Examiner, Art Unit 2197