DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed on 07/16/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
“or container” on Page 5, Line 10 should be deleted.
“forms” on Page 9, Line 23 should read “form”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “switching device” in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “close to” in claim 1, Lines 5 and 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close to” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what is meant by the air inlet being disposed “close to” the door body or the air baffle unit whose top portion is disposed “close to” the air inlet. Unlike the other limitations in the claim of the air duct “extending in a direction close to” or the “bottom portion is extendable in a direction close to”, the limitations above are unclear as to what “close to” means.
The term “near the air inlet” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “near” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what is meant by the air baffle plate being “near” the air inlet.
Claims 3-11 are rejected due to their dependence upon rejected independent Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng (CN 109515293 A).
Regarding Claim 1: Zheng discloses a refrigerated transport container (Figure 1, No. 2), comprising a door body (5) disposed on a rear wall of the refrigerated transport container; an air duct (7) disposed on a top wall of the refrigerated transport container and extending in a direction close to or away from the door body (Figure 1); an air inlet (16) disposed at one end of the air duct close to the door body and configured to introduce conditioned air into the refrigerated transport container (Paragraph [0031]); and an air baffle unit (10, 11) whose top portion (10) is correspondingly disposed on one side of the air duct close to the air inlet and whose bottom portion (11) is extendable in a direction close to a bottom wall of the refrigerated transport container (Figures 2-3).
Regarding Claim 2: Zheng discloses the refrigerated transport container according to Claim 1, wherein the top portion of the air baffle unit is an air baffle plate disposed around the air duct near the air inlet (Figures 2-3).
Regarding Claim 5: Zheng discloses the refrigerated transport container according to Claim 1, wherein the air baffle unit is fixedly and detachably connected to the top wall of the refrigerated transport container (Figures 2-3).
Regarding Claim 6: Zheng discloses the refrigerated transport container according to Claim 1, wherein the bottom portion of the air baffle unit is a baffle plate rotatably connected to the top portion of the air baffle unit (Figures 2-3 & 5).
Regarding Claim 7: Zheng discloses the refrigerated transport container according to Claim 1, wherein the top portion of the air baffle unit abuts against the top wall (Figures 2-3).
Regarding Claim 9: Zheng discloses the refrigerated transport container according to Claim 1, further comprising a first air return port (8), wherein the first air return port is disposed on a front wall of the refrigerated transport container opposite to the door body and is disposed adjacent to the top wall in terms of height in a vertical direction (Figures 2-3), and the first air return port is configured to allow air to flow out of the refrigerated transport container (Paragraph [0031]).
Regarding Claim 11: Zheng discloses a refrigerated transport vehicle equipped with the refrigerated transport container according to Claim 1 (Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Mitsuo (JP 3212953 B2).
Regarding Claim 3: Zheng discloses the refrigerated transport container according to Claim 1; however, Zheng fails to disclose the bottom portion of the air baffle unit being a curtain.
Mitsuo teaches a refrigerated transport container (Figure 5, No. 2) comprising an air baffle unit (21), the air baffle unit comprising a bottom portion being a curtain (Figure 5; Paragraph [0013]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the bottom portion of the air baffle unit of Zheng a curtain, as taught by Mitsuo, for the purpose of making it possible to sort and load cargo into the container, thus enabling multiple deliveries (Paragraph [0013]).
Regarding Claim 4: Zheng, as modified by Mitsuo, discloses the refrigerated transport container according to Claim 3, wherein the curtain is coiled and stored at the top portion of the air baffle unit and is configured to be unfolded to extend toward the bottom wall of the refrigerated transport container (Mitsuo: Figure 5; Paragraph [0013]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Kleist (US Patent No: 2,534,272).
Regarding Claim 8: Zheng discloses refrigerated transport container according to Claim 1; however, Zheng fails to disclose a loading surface that allows gas to pass therethrough, wherein the loading surface is spaced apart from and parallel to the bottom wall of the refrigerated transport container.
Kleist teaches a refrigerated transport container (Figure 1) comprising a loading surface (85) that allows gas to pass therethrough (Column 5, Lines 7-15), wherein the loading surface is spaced apart from and parallel to a bottom wall (“C”) of the refrigerated transport container (Figure 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the refrigerated transport container of Zheng with a loading surface, as taught by Kleist, for the purpose of improving the ability to maintain different parts of the interior of the refrigerated transport container at different temperatures (Column 1, Lines 6-9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to disclose a refrigerated transport container as claimed in Claim 9, further comprising a second air return port and an air return port switching device, wherein the second air return port is disposed on the front wall of the refrigerated transport container opposite to the door body and is disposed adjacent to the bottom wall in terms of height in the vertical direction, and the air return port switching device is configured to alternatively open the first air return port or the second air return port. Zheng fails to disclose a second air return port, wherein the second air return port is disposed on the front wall of the refrigerated transport container opposite to the door body and is disposed adjacent to the bottom wall. Sato (US Patent No: 10,337,790) discloses a refrigerated transport container (Figure 2, No. 1) comprising multiple air return ports (4); however, Sato fails to disclose any of the air return ports disposed on the front wall of the refrigerated transport container opposite to a door body and disposed adjacent to a bottom wall in terms of height in the vertical direction or an air switching device. The prior art fails to disclose a refrigerated transport container as claimed in Claim 10; therefore, Claim 10 contains allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L SEHN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745