DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/27/26; 11/10/25; 09/19/25; & 11/27/24 has been acknowledged and considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Raguin et al (US 2022/0207909 hereinafter “Raguin” submitted IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 10; Raguin discloses a frustrated total internal refraction (FTIR) based scanning device (21 @ figure 1 and paragraph [0054]: e.g., an apparatus 10 for capturing one or more fingerprints of one or more fingers is illustrated. FIG. 1 depicts a fingerprint scanner as a schematic of an optical scanner operating based on bright-field illumination and using the principle of frustrated total internal reflection (FTIR) to capture and record the presented fingerprints) comprising:
a transparent media (platen 21 @ figure 1 and paragraph [0053]: e.g., The platen may be configured to be optically transparent, but otherwise may be made of any material, including air, as in the case for a non-contact fingerprint scanner) having a sample contact surface (8, 9 @ figure 1), wherein the transparent media (21 @ figures 1-2) have a first surface (21a @ figure 2);
one or more LEDs or electromagnetic wave emitters (13, 17 @ figure 1) operable to provide a scanning light (18a @ figure 1) into the transparent media (21 @ figures 1-2) during a sample scanning procedure (8, 9 @ figure 1); and
one or more electromagnetic wave sensors (23 @ figure 1), cameras, or microscopes, directed at a detection surface or a second surface (11 @ figure 1) of the transparent media (21 @ figure 1), wherein one or more electromagnetic wave sensors (23 @ figure 1) is operable to receive scattered light (paragraph [0058]: e.g., projecting light, denoted by rays 19a and 19b such that scattered light (not drawn in FIG. 1) from an object touching platen 21 may re-enter the prism, propagate at substantially the same angle as ray 18b, and be imaged by sensor 23) passing from the sample contact surface (8, 9 @ figure 1) through the detection surface or the second surface (11 @ figure 1) of the transparent media (21 @ figure 1), the scattered light being used to represent a surface topology (paragraph [0055]: e.g., The reflected light (one ray of which is represented by ray 18b) represents an image of the surface topology of the skin or the finger(s) presented to platen 21 at or about the fingertips as typical of fingerprints) or a material composition of a sample (finger 8 @ figure 1) contacting the sample contact surface (fingerprint 9 @ figure 1) during the sample scanning procedure (8,9 @ figure 1). See figures 1-24
It is noted that the term “one or more electromagnetic wave sensors, cameras, or microscopes” is alternative. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is considered to be “one or more electromagnetic wave sensors”.
Regarding claim 2; Raguin discloses the one or more electromagnetic wave emitters include a plurality of LEDs or electromagnetic wave emitters (13, 17 @ figure 1) corresponding to a plurality of different wavelengths (paragraph [0040]: e.g., different colors of illumination from the first illumination module simultaneously, the system may still obtain multiple images (e.g., different images captured at different wavelength sets of illumination). By way of example, the first illumination module may project white light at the platen and the first optical imaging system may be able to detect red, green, and/or blue image data. The first illumination module may switch to one or more other wavelength sets, such as ultraviolet (UV), violet, orange, yellow, deep red, and/or near infrared (NIR)).
Regarding claim 3; Raguin discloses further comprising: wherein, providing the scanning light includes individually illuminating the plurality of LEDS (13, 17 @ figure 1) to scan the sample (8 @ figure 1) with a sequence of different frequencies (paragraph [0040]: e.g., different colors of illumination from the first illumination module simultaneously, the system may still obtain multiple images (e.g., different images captured at different wavelength sets of illumination “different wavelengths imply different frequency in the same medium”). By way of example, the first illumination module may project white light at the platen and the first optical imaging system may be able to detect red, green, and/or blue image data. The first illumination module may switch to one or more other wavelength sets, such as ultraviolet (UV), violet, orange, yellow, deep red, and/or near infrared (NIR)).
Regarding claim 4; Raguin discloses the transparent media (21 @ figure 1) includes a glass sheet (prism 16 @ figure 1), and the one or more electromagnetic wave emitters (13, 17 @ figure 1) are positioned at one or more side surfaces (14 @ figure 1) of the glass sheet (16 @ figure 1) for transmitting the scanning light into the glass sheet (21 @ figure 1).
Regarding claim 5; Raguin discloses the glass sheet (16 @ figure 1) is a flat glass sheet (figures 1 and 4) or a curved glass sheet.
It is noted that the term “or” is alternative.
Regarding claims 7 and 18; Raguin discloses the transparent media (21 @ figure 1) is formed into a handheld device (10 @ figures 1, 7 and paragraph [0074]: e.g., the fingerprint scanning apparatus 10 incorporating one or more embodiments of the current disclosure may be more compact and conducive to mobile or handheld applications) with the sample contact surface (8, 9 @ figure 1) defining an end of the handheld device (10 @ figure 1), and the one or more electromagnetic wave sensors (23 @ figure 1), cameras, or microscopes are disposed in an interior portion of the handheld device (10 @ figure 1).
It is noted that the term “or” is alternative.
Regarding claim 8; Raguin discloses a computing device (30 @ figure 1) having at least a display operable for presenting an image of a 3D topology (paragraph [0004]: e.g., the mold may be printed using a high-resolution 3D plotter based upon a photograph of a real finger, photograph of a latent fingerprint, or based upon a synthetic fingerprint created in software. In these mold-cast fabrication scenarios, the PAI may have three-dimensional topology) generated from the scattered light (paragraph [0068]: e.g., different amounts of light illuminating the platen, the scatter of light by the platen object to the left and to the right of each of these illuminated blocks will have different intensity).
Regarding claim 11; Raguin discloses the one or more LEDs or electromagnetic wave emitters (LED array 153 @ figure 15) include a plurality of different frequency LEDs or electromagnetic wave emitters (paragraphs [0063] and [0040]: e.g., different colors of illumination from the first illumination module simultaneously, the system may still obtain multiple images (e.g., different images captured at different wavelength sets of illumination). By way of example, the first illumination module may project white light at the platen and the first optical imaging system may be able to detect red, green, and/or blue image data. The first illumination module may switch to one or more other wavelength sets, such as ultraviolet (UV), violet, orange, yellow, deep red, and/or near infrared (NIR)) and generating the surface topology (paragraphs [0102] and [0055]: e.g., The reflected light (one ray of which is represented by ray 18b) represents an image of the surface topology of the skin or the finger(s) presented to platen 21 at or about the fingertips as typical of fingerprints) or the material composition includes aggregating different frequencies of the scattered light (figures 14a-i and paragraph [0084]: e.g., FIGS. 14a-i illustrate additional examples of light scatter for sample red, green, and blue spotlight illumination “It is inherent to be different frequencies of the scatter light” for a fingerprint spoof on paper (FIGS. 14a-c), a fingerprint spoof (impression) using a hydrophilic impression material, such as vinyl polysiloxane (VPS), and conductive graphite (FIGS. 14d-f), and a real finger (FIGS. 14g-i)), and generated one-by-one by the plurality of different frequency LEDs or electromagnetic wave emitters (LEDs array 153 @ figure 15 and paragraph [0085]) into a profilometry (paragraphs [0102] and [0055]: e.g., the reflected light (one ray of which is represented by ray 18b) represents an image of the surface topology of the skin or the finger(s) “profilometry” presented to platen 21 at or about the fingertips as typical of fingerprints) for at least the portion of the sample (8 @ figure 15) contacting the first surface (21 @ figure 15).
Regarding claim 13; Raguin discloses providing the scanning light (10 @ figure 1 and paragraph [0054]: e.g., a fingerprint scanner as a schematic of an optical scanner operating based on bright-field illumination) into the transparent media (16, 21 @ figure 1) includes activating a plurality of LEDs or electromagnetic wave emitters (13, 15 @ figure 1) positioned adjacent to a third surface (14 @ figure 1) of the transparent media (16, 21 @ figure 1).
Regarding claim 14; Raguin discloses the transparent media includes a glass sheet (163 @ figure 16b and paragraph [0088]: e.g., illuminated platen object 9 (for example, a finger) is shown on a platen 21, but now in a 3D schematic and where the platen is part of a prism-based system 163 ); the first surface (figure 1 disposed platen finger 8 on the platen 21) is an exposed top surface of the glass sheet (163 @ figure 16b); the second surface (figure 16b disposed close to lens and image sensor 164a) is an unexposed bottom surface of the glass sheet opposite the exposed top surface (figure 16b); and the third surface is a side surface (two side in figure 16b) of the glass sheet (163 @ figure 16b).
Regarding claim 15; Raguin discloses the force on the first surface (21 @ figure 16b) of the transparent media (163 @ figure 16b) caused by at least the portion of the sample (finger 8 @ figure 16b) creates the scattered light by using frustrated total internal refraction (FTIR) based scanning device (10 @ figure 1 and paragraph [0054]: e.g., a fingerprint scanner as a schematic of an optical scanner operating based on bright-field illumination and using the principle of frustrated total internal reflection (FTIR) to capture and record the presented fingerprints).
Regarding claim 16; Raguin discloses a system (10 @ figure 1) for generating a surface topology or composition analysis, the system comprising:
a transparent media (21 @ figure 1) having a sample contact surface (8, 9 @ figure 1);
a plurality of LEDs (13, 17 @ figure 1) with different frequencies (paragraph [0040]: e.g., different colors of illumination from the first illumination module simultaneously, the system may still obtain multiple images (e.g., different images captured at different wavelength sets of illumination “different wavelengths imply different frequency in the same medium”). By way of example, the first illumination module may project white light at the platen and the first optical imaging system may be able to detect red, green, and/or blue image data. The first illumination module may switch to one or more other wavelength sets, such as ultraviolet (UV), violet, orange, yellow, deep red, and/or near infrared (NIR)) operable to provide scanning light into a side of the transparent media (21 @ figure 1-2) during a sample scanning procedure;
one or more light sensors (23 @ figure 1), directed at a detection surface (11, 16 @ figure 1) of the transparent media (21 @ figure 1) and operable to receive scattered light (paragraph [0058]: e.g., projecting light, denoted by rays 19a and 19b such that scattered light (not drawn in FIG. 1) from an object touching platen 21 may re-enter the prism, propagate at substantially the same angle as ray 18b, and be imaged by sensor 23) resulting from a force at the sample contact surface (8, 9 @ figures 1-2) and
a surface topology (paragraph [0055]: e.g., The reflected light (one ray of which is represented by ray 18b) represents an image of the surface topology of the skin or the finger(s) presented to platen 21 at or about the fingertips as typical of fingerprints) or a material composition of a sample (finger 8 @ figure 1) contacting the sample contact surface (fingerprint 9 @ figure 1) during the sample scanning procedure, the surface topology or the material composition being generated from the scattered light (paragraphs [0051], [0053], and [0055]). See figures 1-24
Regarding claim 17; Raguin discloses a profilometry of a portion of the sample (paragraphs [0102] and [0055]: e.g., the reflected light (one ray of which is represented by ray 18b) represents an image of the surface topology of the skin or the finger(s) “profilometry” presented to platen 21 at or about the fingertips as typical of fingerprints) contacting the sample contact surface (21 @ figure 1) during the sample scanning procedure, the profilometry including an aggregation of different frequencies of the scattered light (figures 14a-i and paragraphs [0063] and [0084]: e.g., FIGS. 14a-i illustrate additional examples of light scatter for sample red, green, and blue spotlight illumination “It is inherent to be different frequencies of the scatter light” for a fingerprint spoof on paper (FIGS. 14a-c), a fingerprint spoof (impression) using a hydrophilic impression material, such as vinyl polysiloxane (VPS), and conductive graphite (FIGS. 14d-f), and a real finger (FIGS. 14g-i)), the surface topology being a three-dimensional representation of the profilometry (paragraphs [0102] and [0055]: e.g., the reflected light (one ray of which is represented by ray 18b) represents an image of the surface topology of the skin or the finger(s) “profilometry” presented to platen 21 at or about the fingertips as typical of fingerprints).
Regarding claim 19; Raguin discloses the system (10 @ figure 1) includes the material composition (22 @ figure 1 and 11 and paragraph [0080]: e.g., a patterned film at the platen can be used to create a spatially varying illumination pattern. As illustrated in FIG. 11, neither a patterned object 33 nor a film 22 at the platen 21 is required to create a spatially varying intensity pattern); and the different frequencies are selectively activated to correspond to a target component of the material composition (8, 21, 22 @ figures 1 and 11 and paragraphs [0063] and [0040]: e.g., different colors of illumination from the first illumination module simultaneously, the system may still obtain multiple images (e.g., different images captured at different wavelength sets of illumination). By way of example, the first illumination module may project white light at the platen and the first optical imaging system may be able to detect red, green, and/or blue image data. The first illumination module may switch to one or more other wavelength sets, such as ultraviolet (UV), violet, orange, yellow, deep red, and/or near infrared (NIR)).
Regarding claim 20; Raguin discloses the sample includes a living body part of a human (finger tissue 8 @ figures 1 and 11), a living body part of an animal, or a plant; or the surface topology includes a tumor surface topography, a human organ surface topology (paragraph [0055]: e.g., an image of the surface topology of the skin or the finger(s) presented to platen 21 at or about the fingertips as typical of fingerprints), or a plant leaf surface topology.
It is noted that the term “or” is alternative.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raguin et al (US 2022/0207909 hereinafter “Raguin” submitted IDS) in view of Antonelli et al (US Patent No. 6,259,108 hereinafter “Antonelli”).
Regarding claim 6; Raguin discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the sample contact surface includes a raised portion operable to indent the sample during the sample scanning procedure. However, Antonelli teaches that it is known in the art to provide the sample contact surface (5 @ figure 2) includes a raised portion (col.5 lines 19-23: e.g., The top surface of platen 1 of the fingerprint sensor protrudes “raised portion or stepped portion” slightly through a hole in cover surface 12, which may be part of an enclosure for the sensor...col.5 lines 39-43: e.g., The top of platen 1 has a slightly raised strip 1b which provides increased pressure of the fingerprint on the platen, improving image quality by causing the skin to contact the platen more firmly) operable to indent the sample during the sample scanning procedure. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine device of Raguin with limitation above as taught by Antonelli for the purpose of increased optical contact between the fingerprint and the flexible top of the platen, improving image quality.
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raguin et al (US 2022/0207909 hereinafter “Raguin” submitted IDS) in view of Han (US Patent No. 8,441,467 submitted by IDS).
Regarding claim 9; Raguin discloses the sensor (23 @ figure 1) disposed in the scanning device (10 @ figure 1) and directed at the transparent media (16, 21 @ figure 1).
Raguin discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the one or more electromagnetic wave sensors, cameras, or microscopes includes one or more of an infrared camera, a visible light camera, or an ultraviolet light camera. However, Han teaches that it is known in the art to provide the one or more electromagnetic wave sensors (imaging sensors 20, 22 @ figure 2), cameras, or microscopes includes one or more of an infrared camera (col.16 lines 12-15: e.g., the imaging sensor (e.g., infrared camera)), a visible light camera, or an ultraviolet light camera. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine device of Raguin with limitation above as taught by Han for the purpose of enabling high-resolution multi-touch sensing displays based on frustrated total internal reflection.
It is noted that the term “or” is alternative.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1) Raguin et al (US Patent No. 11,531,756) discloses an apparatus for biometric security having a biometric scanner for capturing over a first field of view image data representative of one or more biometric objects associated with a subject.
2) Vilenskii et al (US 2018/0018492) discloses the method of identifying a user includes: detecting a portion of a user's finger in contact with a touch-sensitive region of a device; and collecting data relating to a fingerprint of the user from the user's finger for a period of time and obtaining a plurality of frames from the data.
/SN/
March 19, 2026
/SANG H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877