DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communications filed on August 29, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Elshafie et al. (US 2024/0244537).
Regarding Claim 1, Elshafie teaches a communication method comprising:
obtaining information of an energy state of a first device (“For example, the described techniques provide for reporting and requesting of energy information using a PHR or CSI. In some examples, an energy harvesting device may detect a trigger for transmitting a PHR, CSI, or both. The trigger may include an energy event, such as a rapid change in an energy charging or discharging rate, or explicit signaling from a network entity. The energy harvesting device may transmit a message including the PHR, the CSI, or both. In some examples, the message may include control information such as a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE). The message may indicate that energy status information for the energy harvesting device is multiplexed with the PHR, the CSI, or both. That is, the energy harvesting device may report its energy status information with the PHR or CSI, which may increase resource utilization and improve energy efficiency for the energy harvesting device, among other benefits” – See [0004]; “At 1205, the method may include detecting one or more changes in the energy information that trigger transmission of the message, wherein the one or more changes are associated with a discharging rate, a charging rate, a pathloss, or any combination thereof” – See [0165]; “The energy information may include a charging rate profile, a discharging rate profile, or an energy level profile, among other energy information” – See [0092]; An energy harvesting device (first device) obtains information of its energy state); and
sending to a second device an indication for indicating the information of the energy state (“At 420 and 425, the energy harvesting device 405 may transmit the message including one or more of the PHR or the CSI, where the message includes an indication that energy information (e.g., an energy report, an energy request, or both) for the energy harvesting device 405 is multiplexed with one or more of the PHR or the CSI. In some cases, the message may include control information such as a MAC-CE, which may include one or more bits used to indicate the energy information and that the energy information is multiplexed with the PHR or the CSI” – See [0118]; “At 1210, the method may include transmitting a message including one or more of the PHR or the CSI, wherein the message includes an indication that energy information for the energy harvesting wireless device is multiplexed with one or more of the PHR or the CSI” – See [0166]; The energy harvesting device transmits a report (indication) to the network entity (second device), wherein the report includes the information of the energy state of the energy harvesting device).
Regarding Claim 2, Elshafie teaches the method of Claim 1. Elshafie further teaches that said sending to the second device the indication comprises: sending to the second device a first frame, the first frame comprising the indication, or comprising the indication and non-energy-state-related data (“At 420 and 425, the energy harvesting device 405 may transmit the message including one or more of the PHR or the CSI, where the message includes an indication that energy information (e.g., an energy report, an energy request, or both) for the energy harvesting device 405 is multiplexed with one or more of the PHR or the CSI. In some cases, the message may include control information such as a MAC-CE, which may include one or more bits used to indicate the energy information and that the energy information is multiplexed with the PHR or the CSI. In some examples, the CSI may include an RI and a CQI” – See [0118]; The MAC-CE frame (first frame) includes the energy state information/indication as well as a power headroom report and CSI (non-energy-state-related data)).
Regarding Claim 3, Elshafie teaches the method of Claim 1. Elshafie further teaches that the first frame comprises: a first media access control (MAC) header (“a MAC header of the MAC-CE 300 may indicate how many bits may be used to report a PHR or CSI and the energy report/request 320. In addition, the MAC header what information is being reported in the bits (e.g., an energy request, an energy report, or a PHR, or all of these components)” – See [0114]; The MAC-CE frame includes a MAC header);
a first category field indicating that the first frame is related to the information of the energy state (“In some examples, a MAC-CE 220-a may include eight bits (e.g., an octet). Two bits may be reserved bits 225 (e.g., a reserved bit 225-a and a reserved bit 225-b) and the remaining six bits may indicate a PHR 235, an energy report/request 230 (e.g., an energy request, an energy report, or both)” – See [0095]; “a first reserved bit 225 may indicate an energy request” – See [0100]; See also Fig. 2; The first frame includes a first reserved bit (first category field) indicating that the first frame includes an energy request (i.e., the first frame is related to the information of the energy state));
a first action field indicating reporting of the information of the energy state (“a second reserved bit 225 may indicate the energy report (e.g., the energy information)” – See [0100]; The first frame includes a second reserved bit (first action field) indicating that the first frame includes an energy report (i.e., the first frame includes reporting of the information of the energy state)); and
the indication (“one or more of an energy report or an energy request (e.g., an energy report/request 230)” – See [0093]; Field 230 carries the actual energy report/indication).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10, Elshafie teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage devices of Claim 9. Elshafie further teaches that said sending to the second device the indication comprises: sending to the second device the indication when one or more conditions are met, when one or more events occur, or a combination thereof (“Accordingly, the energy harvesting device 205 may be triggered to transmit the PHR 235 or the CSI based on detecting one or more changes in the energy information, where the changes may be associated with a discharging rate, a charging rate, a pathloss, or any combination thereof. For example, the energy harvesting device 205 may detect that a discharging rate has dropped relatively quickly or fallen below a delta value (e.g., measured in decibels (dB)) from a reference value, that a charging rate is above (e.g., Delta_up in dB) or below (e.g., Delta_down in dB) a reference value or threshold” – See [0092]; “The trigger may include a change in an energy metric (e.g., a sudden change in an energy charging or discharging rate), or explicit signaling from a network entity 105” – See [0087]; The indication is sent when one or more events/conditions occur (e.g., energy above a threshold or below a threshold, explicit signaling from the second device, etc.)).
Claim 12 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 2.
Claim 13 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshafie et al. (US 2024/0244537) in view of Cherian et al. (US 2025/0338115) and Yu et al. (US 2022/0386238).
Regarding Claim 4, Elshafie teaches the method of Claim 2. Elshafie further teaches that the first frame comprises a first MAC header (“a MAC header of the MAC-CE 300 may indicate how many bits may be used to report a PHR or CSI and the energy report/request 320. In addition, the MAC header what information is being reported in the bits” – See [0114]).
Elshafie does not explicitly teach that the first frame comprises a first frame check sequence (FCS); wherein the first MAC header comprises a first frame control field, a first destination identifier (ID) field, a first source ID field, and a first type-dependent control field; wherein the first frame control field comprises a first type subfield indicating reporting of the information of the energy state; wherein the first destination ID field indicating one or more devices including the second device; wherein the first source ID field indicating the first device; and wherein the first type-dependent control field comprises the indication.
However, Cherian teaches that the first frame comprises a first MAC header and a first frame check sequence (FCS) (“The wake-up signal frame format 702 may include a MAC header 704, a frame body field 706, and/or optionally a frame check sequence (FCS) 708” – See [0152]);
wherein the first MAC header comprises a first frame control field (“The MAC header field format 710 may, for example, include a frame control field 712” – See [0153]),
a first destination identifier (ID) field (“The wake-up signal frame format 702 may include a MAC header 704” – See [0152]; “the MAC header 314 may include a combination of a source address, a transmitter address, a receiver address or a destination address” – See [0075]),
a first source ID field (“The wake-up signal frame format 702 may include a MAC header 704” – See [0152]; “the MAC header 314 may include a combination of a source address” – See [0075]), and
a first type-dependent control field (“The MAC header field format 710 may, for example, include a frame control field 712, a first identifier field 714, and a type dependent control field 716” – See [0153]);
wherein the first frame control field comprises a first type subfield indicating reporting of the information of the energy state (“The type field 720 may indicate a type of the wake-up signal frame, where the type may correspond to one frame type from a set of two or more frame types” – See [0156]; The type subfield within the frame control field indicates a type of the frame (e.g., an energy state report, as disclosed by Elshafie));
wherein the first destination ID field indicating one or more devices including the second device (“the MAC header 314 may include a combination of a source address, a transmitter address, a receiver address or a destination address” – See [0075]; The destination address indicates the device receiving the frame/report (e.g., the Elshafie’s network entity/second device));
wherein the first source ID field indicating the first device (“the MAC header 314 may include a combination of a source address, a transmitter address, a receiver address or a destination address” – See [0075]; The source address indicates the device transmitting the frame/report (e.g., the Elshafie’s energy harvesting device/first device)); and
wherein the first type-dependent control field comprises the indication (“The type dependent control field 716 may include some control information that may be based on the frame type” – See [0153]; When the frame type is indicated as an energy state report, the type dependent control field carries control information associated with the frame type (e.g., energy state information/indication, which is associated with the energy report frame type)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshafie such that the first frame comprises a first frame check sequence (FCS); wherein the first MAC header comprises a first frame control field, a first destination identifier (ID) field, a first source ID field, and a first type-dependent control field; wherein the first frame control field comprises a first type subfield indicating reporting of the information of the energy state; wherein the first destination ID field indicating one or more devices including the second device; wherein the first source ID field indicating the first device; and wherein the first type-dependent control field comprises the indication. Elshafie discloses that the described techniques can be applied to wireless communications systems such as IEEE 802.11/Wi-Fi (See Elshafie, [0203]). Cherian’s MAC frame deals with transmitting energy related information for energy harvesting devices in IEEE 802.11 system (See Cherian, [0049] and [0051]). Thus, using Cherian’s MAC frame format to transmit information which indicates that the type of frame is for reporting information of the energy state as well as the indication of the energy state uses well-known MAC frame fields and applies known methods of formatting information in MAC frames to Elshafie’s energy state report in order to achieve predictable results.
Elshafie and Cherian do not explicitly teach that the frame control field comprises a first frame-body-present subfield indicating non-presence of a first frame body.
However, Yu teaches that the frame control field comprises a first frame-body-present subfield indicating non-presence of a first frame body (“The frame control field 2402 may include a type field 2406, a protected field 2408, a frame body present field 2410” – See [0133]; “The frame body present field 2410 may be used to indicate whether the frame body field 1712 is present or not. In an embodiment, if the frame body field is present, the wake-up receiver frame has variable length. Otherwise, the wake-up receiver frame has a fixed length” – See [0135]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshafie-Sherian such that the frame control field comprises a first frame-body-present subfield indicating non-presence of a first frame body. Motivation for doing so would be to establish whether the frame has a fixed or variable length (See Yu, [0135]).
Regarding Claim 5, Elshafie teaches the method of Claim 2. Elshafie further teaches that the first frame comprises a first MAC header (“a MAC header of the MAC-CE 300 may indicate how many bits may be used to report a PHR or CSI and the energy report/request 320. In addition, the MAC header what information is being reported in the bits” – See [0114]).
Elshafie does not explicitly teach that the first frame comprises a first frame body and a first FCS; wherein the first MAC header comprises a first frame control field, a first destination identifier (ID) field, a first source ID field, and a first type-dependent control field; wherein the first frame control field comprises a first type subfield indicating reporting of the information of the energy state; wherein the first destination ID field indicating one or more devices including the second device; wherein the first source ID field indicating the first device; wherein the first type-dependent control field comprises the indication; and wherein the frame body comprises non-energy-state-related data.
However, Cherian teaches that the first frame comprises a first MAC header, a first frame body, and a first FCS (“The wake-up signal frame format 702 may include a MAC header 704, a frame body field 706, and/or optionally a frame check sequence (FCS) 708” – See [0152]);
wherein the first MAC header comprises a first frame control field (“The MAC header field format 710 may, for example, include a frame control field 712” – See [0153]),
a first destination identifier (ID) field (“The wake-up signal frame format 702 may include a MAC header 704” – See [0152]; “the MAC header 314 may include a combination of a source address, a transmitter address, a receiver address or a destination address” – See [0075]),
a first source ID field (“The wake-up signal frame format 702 may include a MAC header 704” – See [0152]; “the MAC header 314 may include a combination of a source address” – See [0075]), and
a first type-dependent control field (“The MAC header field format 710 may, for example, include a frame control field 712, a first identifier field 714, and a type dependent control field 716” – See [0153]);
wherein the first frame control field comprises a first type subfield indicating reporting of the information of the energy state (“The type field 720 may indicate a type of the wake-up signal frame, where the type may correspond to one frame type from a set of two or more frame types” – See [0156]; The type subfield within the frame control field indicates a type of the frame (e.g., an energy state report, as disclosed by Elshafie));
wherein the first destination ID field indicating one or more devices including the second device (“the MAC header 314 may include a combination of a source address, a transmitter address, a receiver address or a destination address” – See [0075]; The destination address indicates the device receiving the frame/report (e.g., the Elshafie’s network entity/second device));
wherein the first source ID field indicating the first device (“the MAC header 314 may include a combination of a source address, a transmitter address, a receiver address or a destination address” – See [0075]; The source address indicates the device transmitting the frame/report (e.g., the Elshafie’s energy harvesting device/first device));
wherein the first type-dependent control field comprises the indication (“The type dependent control field 716 may include some control information that may be based on the frame type” – See [0153]; When the frame type is indicated as an energy state report, the type dependent control field carries control information associated with the frame type (e.g., energy state information/indication, which is associated with the energy report frame type)); and
wherein the frame body comprises non-energy-state-related data (“the data portion (“payload” or “frame body”) of the MPDU frame 310” – See [0074]; The frame body includes payload data (i.e., non-energy-state-related data)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshafie such that the first frame comprises a first frame body and a first FCS; wherein the first MAC header comprises a first frame control field, a first destination identifier (ID) field, a first source ID field, and a first type-dependent control field; wherein the first frame control field comprises a first type subfield indicating reporting of the information of the energy state; wherein the first destination ID field indicating one or more devices including the second device; wherein the first source ID field indicating the first device; wherein the first type-dependent control field comprises the indication; and wherein the frame body comprises non-energy-state-related data for the same reasons as those given with respect to Claim 4.
Elshafie and Cherian do not explicitly teach that the frame control field comprises a first frame-body-present subfield indicating presence of the first frame body.
However, Yu teaches that the frame control field comprises a first frame-body-present subfield indicating presence of the first frame body (“The frame control field 2402 may include a type field 2406, a protected field 2408, a frame body present field 2410” – See [0133]; “The frame body present field 2410 may be used to indicate whether the frame body field 1712 is present or not. In an embodiment, if the frame body field is present, the wake-up receiver frame has variable length. Otherwise, the wake-up receiver frame has a fixed length” – See [0135]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshafie-Sherian such that the frame control field comprises a first frame-body-present subfield indicating presence of the first frame body for the same reasons as those given with respect to Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 6, Elshafie teaches the method of Claim 2. Elshafie further teaches that the first frame comprises a first MAC header (“a MAC header of the MAC-CE 300 may indicate how many bits may be used to report a PHR or CSI and the energy report/request 320. In addition, the MAC header what information is being reported in the bits” – See [0114]).
Elshafie does not explicitly teach that the first frame comprises a first FCS; wherein the first MAC header comprises a first frame control field, a first ID field, and a first type-dependent control field; wherein the first frame control field comprises a first type subfield indicating reporting of the information of the energy state; wherein the first ID field indicating the first device; and wherein the first type-dependent control field comprises the indication.
However, Cherian teaches that the first frame comprises a first MAC header and a first FCS (“The wake-up signal frame format 702 may include a MAC header 704, a frame body field 706, and/or optionally a frame check sequence (FCS) 708” – See [0152]);
wherein the first MAC header comprises a first frame control field (“The MAC header field format 710 may, for example, include a frame control field 712” – See [0153]),
a first ID field (“The wake-up signal frame format 702 may include a MAC header 704” – See [0152]; “the MAC header 314 may include a combination of a source address” – See [0075]), and
a first type-dependent control field (“The MAC header field format 710 may, for example, include a frame control field 712, a first identifier field 714, and a type dependent control field 716” – See [0153]);
wherein the first frame control field comprises a first type subfield indicating reporting of the information of the energy state (“The type field 720 may indicate a type of the wake-up signal frame, where the type may correspond to one frame type from a set of two or more frame types” – See [0156]; The type subfield within the frame control field indicates a type of the frame (e.g., an energy state report, as disclosed by Elshafie));
wherein the first ID field indicating the first device (“the MAC header 314 may include a combination of a source address, a transmitter address, a receiver address or a destination address” – See [0075]; The source address indicates the device transmitting the frame/report (e.g., the Elshafie’s energy harvesting device/first device)); and
wherein the first type-dependent control field comprises the indication (“The type dependent control field 716 may include some control information that may be based on the frame type” – See [0153]; When the frame type is indicated as an energy state report, the type dependent control field carries control information associated with the frame type (e.g., energy state information/indication, which is associated with the energy report frame type)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshafie such that the first frame comprises a first FCS; wherein the first MAC header comprises a first frame control field, a first ID field, and a first type-dependent control field; wherein the first frame control field comprises a first type subfield indicating reporting of the information of the energy state; wherein the first ID field indicating the first device; and wherein the first type-dependent control field comprises the indication for the same reasons as those given with respect to Claim 4.
Elshafie and Cherian do not explicitly teach that the first frame is a wake-up radio (WUR) frame, wherein the frame control field comprises a first frame-body-present subfield indicating non-presence of a first frame body.
However, Yu teaches that the first frame is a wake-up radio (WUR) frame (“FIG. 24 is a diagram showing a frame format for a wake-up receiver frame, according to some embodiments” – See [0034]),
wherein the frame control field comprises a first frame-body-present subfield indicating non-presence of a first frame body (“The frame control field 2402 may include a type field 2406, a protected field 2408, a frame body present field 2410” – See [0133]; “The frame body present field 2410 may be used to indicate whether the frame body field 1712 is present or not. In an embodiment, if the frame body field is present, the wake-up receiver frame has variable length. Otherwise, the wake-up receiver frame has a fixed length” – See [0135]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshafie-Sherian such that the first frame is a wake-up radio (WUR) frame and the frame control field comprises a first frame-body-present subfield indicating non-presence of a first frame body for the same reasons as those given with respect to Claim 4.
Claim 14 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 4.
Claim 15 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 5.
Claim 16 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 6.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshafie et al. (US 2024/0244537) in view of Cherian et al. (US 2025/0338115) and Yu et al. (US 2022/0386238) and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2016/0285834).
Regarding Claim 7, Elshafie teaches the method of Claim 2. Elshafie further teaches that the first frame comprises a first MAC header (“a MAC header of the MAC-CE 300 may indicate how many bits may be used to report a PHR or CSI and the energy report/request 320. In addition, the MAC header what information is being reported in the bits” – See [0114]).
Elshafie does not explicitly teach that the first frame comprises a first frame body and a first FCS; wherein the first MAC header comprises a first frame control field, a first ID field, and a first type-dependent control field; wherein the first frame control field comprises a first type subfield indicating reporting of the information of the energy state; wherein the first ID field indicating one or more devices including the second device; and wherein the first type-dependent control field comprises the indication.
However, Cherian teaches that the first frame comprises a first MAC header, a first frame body, and a first FCS (“The wake-up signal frame format 702 may include a MAC header 704, a frame body field 706, and/or optionally a frame check sequence (FCS) 708” – See [0152]);
wherein the first MAC header comprises a first frame control field (“The MAC header field format 710 may, for example, include a frame control field 712” – See [0153]),
a first ID field (“The wake-up signal frame format 702 may include a MAC header 704” – See [0152]; “the MAC header 314 may include a combination of a source address, a transmitter address, a receiver address or a destination address” – See [0075]), and
a first type-dependent control field (“The MAC header field format 710 may, for example, include a frame control field 712, a first identifier field 714, and a type dependent control field 716” – See [0153]);
wherein the first frame control field comprises a first type subfield indicating reporting of the information of the energy state (“The type field 720 may indicate a type of the wake-up signal frame, where the type may correspond to one frame type from a set of two or more frame types” – See [0156]; The type subfield within the frame control field indicates a type of the frame (e.g., an energy state report, as disclosed by Elshafie));
wherein the first ID field indicating one or more devices including the second device (“the MAC header 314 may include a combination of a source address, a transmitter address, a receiver address or a destination address” – See [0075]; The destination address indicates the device receiving the frame/report (e.g., the Elshafie’s network entity/second device));
wherein the first type-dependent control field comprises the indication (“The type dependent control field 716 may include some control information that may be based on the frame type” – See [0153]; When the frame type is indicated as an energy state report, the type dependent control field carries control information associated with the frame type (e.g., energy state information/indication, which is associated with the energy report frame type)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshafie such that the first frame comprises a first frame body and a first FCS; wherein the first MAC header comprises a first frame control field, a first ID field, and a first type-dependent control field; wherein the first frame control field comprises a first type subfield indicating reporting of the information of the energy state; wherein the first ID field indicating one or more devices including the second device; and wherein the first type-dependent control field comprises the indication for the same reasons as those given with respect to Claim 4.
Elshafie and Cherian do not explicitly teach that the first frame is a wake-up radio (WUR) frame, wherein the frame control field comprises a first frame-body-present subfield indicating presence of the first frame body.
However, Yu teaches that the first frame is a WUR frame (“FIG. 24 is a diagram showing a frame format for a wake-up receiver frame, according to some embodiments” – See [0034]),
wherein the frame control field comprises a first frame-body-present subfield indicating presence of the first frame body (“The frame control field 2402 may include a type field 2406, a protected field 2408, a frame body present field 2410” – See [0133]; “The frame body present field 2410 may be used to indicate whether the frame body field 1712 is present or not. In an embodiment, if the frame body field is present, the wake-up receiver frame has variable length. Otherwise, the wake-up receiver frame has a fixed length” – See [0135]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshafie-Sherian such that the first frame is a wake-up radio (WUR) frame, wherein the frame control field comprises a first frame-body-present subfield indicating presence of the first frame body for the same reasons as those given with respect to Claim 4.
Elshafie, Cherian and Yu do not explicitly teach that the first frame body comprises an ID of the first device.
However, Lee teaches that the first frame body comprises an ID of the first device (“The method further includes inserting the extracted source address, the extracted destination address, or any combination thereof in a frame body of the data frame” – See [0009]; The source address is included in the frame body, wherein the source address indicates the device transmitting the frame/report (e.g., the Elshafie’s energy harvesting device/first device)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshafie such that the first frame body comprises an ID of the first device. Motivation for doing so would be to provide enhanced privacy for the source of the frame (See Lee, Abstract and [0007]).
Claim 17 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 7.
Claims 11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshafie et al. (US 2024/0244537) in view of Vejlgaard et al. (US 2025/0056261).
Regarding Claim 11, Elshafie teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage devices of Claim 9. Elshafie does not explicitly teach that said sending to the second device the indication comprises: sending to the second device the indication when one of a plurality of events occurs; and wherein the plurality of events comprise: an energy of the first device having increased and passed a first energy-level threshold, and the energy of the first device having decreased and passed a second energy-level threshold, the second energy-level threshold being smaller than the first energy-level threshold; and receiving from the second device a request for reporting the information of the energy state.
However, Vejlgaard teaches that said sending to the second device the indication comprises: sending to the second device the indication when one of a plurality of events occurs; and wherein the plurality of events comprise: an energy of the first device having increased and passed a first energy-level threshold, and the energy of the first device having decreased and passed a second energy-level threshold, the second energy-level threshold being smaller than the first energy-level threshold; and receiving from the second device a request for reporting the information of the energy state (“the first apparatus 110 may perform the monitoring of the device available energy. If the first apparatus 110 determines the available energy is below the second energy level threshold, the first apparatus 110 may determine (430) that an emergency low energy event occurs at the first apparatus 110” – See [0138]; “The first energy level threshold may be higher than the second energy level threshold” – See [0132]; “At block 520, the first apparatus 110 receives, from the second apparatus, a configuration of a low energy event report of the first apparatus” – See [0153]; “At block 530, the first apparatus 110 transmits, to the second apparatus, the low energy event report to the second apparatus at least based on the configuration” – See [0154]; The first device sends the indication when an event occurs. The event may include sending the indication when the energy level is below a second energy level threshold, wherein the second threshold is smaller than a first threshold. Additionally, the event may include transmitting the indication based on a configuration received from the second device, wherein the configuration is a request for reporting the energy state information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshafie such that the sending to the second device the indication comprises: sending to the second device the indication when one of a plurality of events occurs; and wherein the plurality of events comprise: an energy of the first device having increased and passed a first energy-level threshold, and the energy of the first device having decreased and passed a second energy-level threshold, the second energy-level threshold being smaller than the first energy-level threshold; and receiving from the second device a request for reporting the information of the energy state. Motivation for doing so would be to enable the first device to indicate that an emergency low power event has occurred (See Vejlgaard, [0139]).
Regarding Claim 18, Elshafie teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage devices of Claim 9. Elshafie does not explicitly teach that the indication is for indicating a high-energy level of the first device, an alert level of the first device, or a low-energy level of the first device; wherein the indication comprises a percentage of remaining energy of the first device with respect to a first reference energy level; wherein the indication comprises a measurement of the remaining energy of the first device; or wherein the indication comprises a relative energy level with respect to a second reference energy level.
However, Vejlgaard teaches that the indication is for indicating a high-energy level of the first device, an alert level of the first device, or a low-energy level of the first device; wherein the indication comprises a percentage of remaining energy of the first device with respect to a first reference energy level; wherein the indication comprises a measurement of the remaining energy of the first device; or wherein the indication comprises a relative energy level with respect to a second reference energy level (“In this case, if the first apparatus 110 determines the available energy is below the first energy level threshold but above the second energy level threshold, the first apparatus 110 may determine (230) that a low energy event occurs at the first apparatus 110” – See [0090]; “Then the first apparatus 110 may transmit (235) a low energy event report indicating the low energy event to the second apparatus 120” – See [0091]; “In addition to the low energy event, the first apparatus 110 may also determine information associated with an energy state of the first apparatus 110 that is required by the second apparatus for the low energy event, which may include an amount of time (i.e., timeline) until to enter a low energy state based on a current energy consumption and the available energy at the first apparatus 110. The determined information may also be transmitted from the first apparatus 110 to the second apparatus 120 along with the low energy event report” – See [0092]; The indication indicates a low energy event, wherein the indication further includes a measurement of the available energy (remaining energy) at the first device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshafie such that the indication is for indicating a high-energy level of the first device, an alert level of the first device, or a low-energy level of the first device; wherein the indication comprises a percentage of remaining energy of the first device with respect to a first reference energy level; wherein the indication comprises a measurement of the remaining energy of the first device; or wherein the indication comprises a relative energy level with respect to a second reference energy level. Motivation for doing so would be to enable the second device to determine a corresponding operation for the UE to handle the low energy state, such as by initiating emergency charging by at the first device (See Vejlgaard, [0146] and [0150]).
Regarding Claim 19, Elshafie teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage devices of Claim 9. Elshafie does not explicitly teach that the indication comprises a status level and a status reference; wherein the status level is for indicating a high-energy level of the first device, an alert level of the first device, or a low-energy level of the first device; and wherein the status reference comprises a metric used for interpreting the status level.
However, Velgaard teaches that the indication comprises a status level and a status reference; wherein the status level is for indicating a high-energy level of the first device, an alert level of the first device, or a low-energy level of the first device; and wherein the status reference comprises a metric used for interpreting the status level (“In this case, if the first apparatus 110 determines the available energy is below the first energy level threshold but above the second energy level threshold, the first apparatus 110 may determine (230) that a low energy event occurs at the first apparatus 110” – See [0090]; “Then the first apparatus 110 may transmit (235) a low energy event report indicating the low energy event to the second apparatus 120” – See [0091]; “In addition to the low energy event, the first apparatus 110 may also determine information associated with an energy state of the first apparatus 110 that is required by the second apparatus for the low energy event, which may include an amount of time (i.e., timeline) until to enter a low energy state based on a current energy consumption and the available energy at the first apparatus 110. The determined information may also be transmitted from the first apparatus 110 to the second apparatus 120 along with the low energy event report” – See [0092]; “As a consequence of receiving the emergency low energy event indication, the second apparatus may determine (440) the DL resources to use to provide transmissions directed to first apparatus 110 that will allow it to charge. For example, this determination in terms of time can be based on the “Timeline (i.e., amount of time until) until the first apparatus 110 will power off due to lack of energy based on current energy consumption” indicated in the emergency low energy event report” – See [0146]; The indication comprises a status level indicating a low energy event, wherein the indication further includes a metric (e.g., amount of time until entering a low energy state based on a current energy consumption or the available energy at the first device) required by the second device for interpreting the low energy event status level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshafie such that the indication comprises a status level and a status reference; wherein the status level is for indicating a high-energy level of the first device, an alert level of the first device, or a low-energy level of the first device; and wherein the status reference comprises a metric used for interpreting the status level for the same reasons as those given with respect to Claim 18.
Regarding Claim 20, Elshafie in view of Vejlgaard teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage devices of Claim 19. Elshafie further teaches that the indication further comprises a status type having a value for indicating that the indication is for indicating the status level (“a second reserved bit 225 may indicate the energy report” – See [0100]; The indication includes a bit indicating that the indication includes a report on the energy status level).
Conclusion
/SCOTT M SCIACCA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478