CTFR 18/819,192 CTFR 92213 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This communication is responsive to the correspondence filled on 04/03/2026. Claims 5-8 are presented for examination. IDS Considerations The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/24/25 and 8/29/24 is/are being considered by the examiner as the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Response to Arguments Applicant's arguments filed 04/03/2026 with respect to claims 5-8 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claims 5 and 7 is /are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bu dagavi (U.S. Pub. No. 20240236358 A1), in view of George (U.S. Pub. No. 20170142416 A1). Re garding to claim 5 and 7: Examiner’s note: Encoding and decoding are done using same opposite algorithm. 5. Budagavi teach a three-dimensional (3D) data decoding apparatus for decoding encoded data, (Budagavi Fig. 4, 5, 11, 12 and [0049] any of the client devices 106-116 or the server 104 can create a 3D point cloud or mesh, compress a 3D point cloud or mesh, transmit a 3D point cloud or mesh, receive a 3D point cloud or mesh, decode a 3D point cloud or mesh, render a 3D point cloud or mesh, or a combination thereof. For example, the server 104 can then compress 3D point cloud or mesh to generate a bitstream and then transmit the bitstream to one or more of the client devices 106-116. For another example, one of the client devices 106-116 can compress a 3D point cloud or mesh to generate a bitstream and then transmit the bitstream to another one of the client devices 106-116 or to the server 104. [0054] In certain embodiments, the processor 210 can encode a 3D point cloud or mesh stored within the storage devices 215. In certain embodiments, encoding a 3D point cloud also decodes the 3D point cloud or mesh to ensure that when the point cloud or mesh is reconstructed, the reconstructed 3D point cloud or mesh matches the 3D point cloud or mesh prior to the encoding.) the 3D data decoding apparatus comprising: an arithmetic decoder configured to arithmetically decode (Budagavi Fig. 6 [0086] The vertex motion vector information, for example, vertex motion vector or the vertex motion vector difference, may be transmitted using a combination of unary code and exponential-Golomb code in arithmetic coding process. In some embodiments, the vertex motion vector information may be first binarized using a combination of unary code and exponential-Golomb code before performing arithmetic coding.) a mesh motion vector from the encoded data, wherein: (Budagavi [0080] As shown in FIG. 5, the decoder 500 may comprise a demultiplexer 501, a base mesh decoder 510, a video decoder 521, an image unpacker 523, an inverse quantizer 525, an inverse wavelet transformer 527, a deformed mesh reconstructor 529, a video decoder 531, and a color space converter 533. The base mesh decoder 510 may include a switch 503, a static mesh decoder 505, a mesh buffer 507, a motion decoder 509, a base mesh reconstructor 511, a switch 513, and an inverse quantizer 515. [0081] The demultiplexer 501 may receive the compressed bitstream b(i) from the encoder 400 to extract the compressed motion bitstream, the compressed displacements bitstream, and the compressed attribute bitstream from the compressed bitstream b(i). The switch 503 may determine whether the compressed bitstream has an inter-coded mesh frame data or an intra-coded mesh frame data. If the compressed bitstream has the inter-coded mesh frame data, the switch 503 may transfer the inter-coded mesh frame data to the motion decoder 509.) the arithmetic decoder decodes prefix bins (Budagavi Fig. 8, Fig. 10 [0023] In some embodiments, the one or more components of the vertex motion vector information are binarized using a combination of unary code and exponential-Golomb code that comprises a prefix part and a suffix part.) of an absolute value (Budagavi Fig. 7 [0099] In Table 1, the syntax element ‘sismu_mv_residual_abs_rem[k]’ (k=0, 1, 2) represents the exponential-Golomb coded portion of vertex motion vector difference components. In some implementations, it may indicate the absolute value of the k-th component of a vertex motion vector prediction residual associated with the vertex with a submesh. TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 Syntax element CtxTbl CtxIdx Count sismu_mv_ 5 Prefix Bin 0 0 1 residual_abs_rem[k] Prefix Bin > 0 1 1 Suffix Bypass 0. [0101] The suffix of sismu_mv_residual_abs_rem[k] is coded using bypass mode. Name itself teach the concept) of a mesh motion vector prediction residual, (Budagavi [0085] In this disclosure, the delta difference between vertex motion vector and its predicted value may be referred to as ‘vertex motion vector difference’, ‘vertex motion vector residual’, or ‘vertex motion vector prediction residual.’ For simplicity of explanation, the vertex motion vector, the vertex motion vector difference, the vertex motion vector residual, vertex motion vector prediction residual may be, collectively, referred to as ‘vertex motion vector information’ in this disclosure. [0086] The vertex motion vector information, for example, vertex motion vector or the vertex motion vector difference, may be transmitted using a combination of unary code and exponential-Golomb code in arithmetic coding process. In some embodiments, the vertex motion vector information may be first binarized using a combination of unary code and exponential-Golomb code before performing arithmetic coding) Budagavi Fig. 10 [0102] In some implementations, the remaining bins of the prefix of sismu_mv_residual_abs_rem[k] may also be coded using bypass coding to further reduce the number of contexts. [0103] a maximum of first n bins of the prefix part may be coded using their dedicated contexts, while the remaining bins of the prefix part (>n) may be coded using the same context and the suffix bins are coded using bypass coding. TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 Syntax element CtxTbl CtxIdx Count sismu_mv_ 5 Prefix Bin 0 0 1 residual_abs_rem[k] Prefix Bin > 0 1 1 Suffix Bypass 0. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select n=2 in Budagavi. Budagavi teach first n bins context coded which is interpreted as bin 0 and 1 are context coded. Budagavi also teach remaining prefix bins may be bypass coded. This concept precisely yielding claim limitation: bin index 0 and 1 are context decoded and bin index > 1 are bypass decoded because Budagavi [0102] In some implementations, the remaining bins of the prefix of sismu_mv_residual_abs_rem[k] may also be coded using bypass coding to further reduce the number of contexts. So, the claimed limitations are obvious our combined teachin of different embodiments of Budagavi with predictable results. Budagavi do not explicitly teach n is tunable parameter. So instead of Budagavi’s obvious teaching of following limitation: the prefix bins are decoded by using a context in a case that a value of a prefix bin index is less than, or equal to, one, and the prefix bins are decoded by using a bypass process in a case that the value of the prefix bin index is greater than one. Rejection is based on explicit teaching of George. George teach the prefix bins are decoded by using a context in a case that a value of a prefix bin index is less than, or equal to, one, and the prefix bins are decoded by using a bypass process in a case that the value of the prefix bin index is greater than one. (George [0210] In the above outlined technique on coding of the mvd, up to 9 bins have to be coded with a context model, while the remaining value of an mvd can be coded in a low complexity bypass mode together with the sign information. This present embodiment describes a technique to reduce the number of bins coded with context models resulting in increased number of bypass and reduces the number of context models necessitated for the coding of mvd. For that, the cut-off value is decreased from 9 to 1 or 2. That means only the first bin specifying if the absolute mvd is greater than zero is coded using context model or the first and the second bin specifying if the absolute mvd is greater than zero and one is coded using context model, while the remaining value is coded in the bypass mode and/or using a VLC code. All bins resulting from the binarization using the VLC code—not using the unary or truncated unary code—are coded using a low complexity bypass mode) It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Budagavi, further incorporating George in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate the prefix bins are decoded by using a context in a case that a value of a prefix bin index is less than, or equal to, one, and the prefix bins are decoded by using a bypass process in a case that the value of the prefix bin index is greater than one. This functionality will improve efficiency with predictable results . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budagavi (U.S. Pub. No. 20240236358 A1), in view of Karczewicz (U.S. Pub. No. 20130182757 A1) . 6. Budagavi teach the 3D data decoding apparatus according to claim 5, Budagavi do not explicitly teach wherein the arithmetic decoder counts a number of the prefix bins decoded by using the context for each prediction group of the mesh motion vector, and decodes the prefix bins by switching from decoding using the context to decoding without using the context in a case that the number of the prefix bins is equal to or greater than, a prescribed value. However Karczewicz teach wherein the arithmetic decoder counts a number of the prefix bins decoded by using the context for each prediction group of the mesh motion vector, and decodes the prefix bins by switching from decoding using the context to decoding without using the context in a case that the number of the prefix bins is equal to or greater than, a prescribed value. (Karczewicz [0081] Among these symbols, the bins of sigMapFlag, gr1Flag and gr2Flag are encoded with adaptive context models. The signFlag and binarized bins of levelRem are encoded through bypass mode with fixed equal probability models (e.g., an exponential Golomb code). In the current HEVC design, three flag bins are encoded with adaptive context models for a coefficient with an amplitude larger than zero. It has been observed that context-based bin coding is one of the main bottlenecks of entropy coding. [0082] In view of this drawback, this disclosure presents techniques for improving CABAC throughput. In particular, this disclosure proposes techniques for improving CABAC throughput by reducing the number of context-coded bins, and increasing the number of bypass-coded bins. [0083] In the emerging HEVC standard, the coefficient level information is coded in an inverse scan order. This typically means that higher frequency transform coefficients (coefficients nearer the lower right corner of the block) are scanned first. In such a design, the initial coefficients in the inverse scan order tend to have small absolute values. If such coefficients are significant, they tend to have a higher possibility of having an absolute value of 1 or 2. For those coefficients, using the explicit symbols gr1Flag and gr2Flag can reduce the length of binarized bins to represent the coefficient level, and the gr1Flag and gr2Flag can be efficiently encoded by an arithmetic coding engine with an assigned context according to previously coded contents. [0085] One goal of this disclosure is to decrease the number of context-coded bins by adaptively switching the explicit gr1Flag and gr2Flag into levelRem syntax, which is coded using bypass mode with a fixed probability model. Bypass mode is handled by a bypass coding engine that operates differently than a CABAC engine. The bypass coding engine may use, for example, a Golomb or exponential Golomb code. The levelRem syntax is typically coded by binarizing the levelRem value (e.g., remaining level above 2) with a Golomb code and encoding the binarized value in bypass mode with an equal probability model. In summary, this disclosure proposes various example techniques for encoding the explicit sigMapFlag, gr1Flag and/or gr2Flag for only a subset of coefficients of a chunk or a TU) The motivation for combining Budagavi and George as set forth in claim 5 is equally applicable to claim 6. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Budagavi, further incorporating George and Karczewicz in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate wherein the arithmetic decoder counts a number of the prefix bins decoded by using the context for each prediction group of the mesh motion vector, and decodes the prefix bins by switching from decoding using the context to decoding without using the context in a case that the number of the prefix bins is equal to or greater than, a prescribed value. This functionality will improve quality with predictable results . Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NASIM N NIRJHAR whose telephone number is (571) 272-3792. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday, 8 am to 5 pm ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, William F Kraig can be reached on (571) 272-8660. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NASIM N NIRJHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/819,192 Page 2 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/819,192 Page 3 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/819,192 Page 4 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/819,192 Page 5 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/819,192 Page 6 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/819,192 Page 7 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/819,192 Page 8 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/819,192 Page 9 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/819,192 Page 10 Art Unit: 2896