DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1a and 2a in the reply filed on June 10, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitale (US 2022/0400196 A1) in view of Cotoros et al. (US 2022/0239811 A1) in view of Jo (US 2016/0065812 A1) and further in view of Weber (US 2013/0177302 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Vitale discloses an image capture device 100, 200 (see e.g. paragraphs [0025], [0076], Figures 1-2), comprising (see e.g. Figure 1-6):
a lens barrel (i.e. holding lenses 530, see e.g. Figure 4) disposed in a body (i.e. of optical system 402/502, see e.g. paragraph [0048] and Figures 4-5) of the image capture device 200; and
a lens module 404/504 (see e.g. paragraphs [0076], [0079], Figures 4-5) configured to be coupled to the image capture device 100, 200 (see e.g. paragraph [0076]) and that includes:
a housing that defines a cavity therein (see e.g. annotated Figure 5a below);
one or more lenses 510 (see e.g. paragraph [0079] and Figure 5a-b) disposed in the cavity of the housing (see e.g. annotated Figure 5a) and aligned along an optical axis of the lens module 404/504 (see e.g. paragraph [0076]), wherein the optical axis of the lens module 404/504 is configured to be aligned with an optical axis of the lens barrel (see e.g. paragraphs [0076], [0079] and Figure 5a); and
a cover glass 406, 506 (denoted “lens”, see e.g. paragraphs [0076], [0079], Figures 4, 5a) disposed in the housing (see e.g. annotated Figure 5a below) and positioned outward from the one or more lenses 510 along the optical axis of the lens module 404/504 such that an interior surface of the cover glass faces 406, 506 the one or more lenses 510 and an exterior surface of the cover glass 406, 506 forms at least a portion of an exterior surface of the lens module 404/504 (see e.g. Figures 4-5).
Vitale fails to disclose
an anamorphic lens module;
wherein the one or more lenses are plastic and the cover glass is a chemically strengthened glass.
However, Cotoros et al. discloses
an anamorphic lens module (see e.g. paragraph [0087] for anamorphic lens profile).
Given the teachings of Cotoros et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Vitale with an anamorphic lens module.
Using an anamorphic lens module as an attachable lens allows one to achieve a cinematic or large field of view with a large aspect ratio.
Vitale, in view of Cotoros et al., fails to disclose
wherein the one or more lenses are plastic and the cover glass is a chemically strengthened glass.
However, Jo discloses
wherein the one or more lenses are plastic (see e.g. paragraph [0030]).
Given the teachings of Jo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Vitale, in view of Cotoros et al., with wherein the one or more lenses are plastic.
Using plastic lenses would make the device lighter than those devices with glass lenses (see e.g. paragraph [0005] of Jo).
Vitale, in view of Cotoros et al. and Jo, fails to disclose
the cover glass is a chemically strengthened glass.
However, Weber discloses
the cover glass 104 is a chemically strengthened glass (see e.g. paragraph [0045] and Figure 1a).
Given the teachings of Weber, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Vitale, in view of Cotoros et al. and Jo, with the cover glass is a chemically strengthened glass.
Selecting chemically strengthen glass as a material for the cover glass would provide protection against unwanted damage.
In regard to claim 2, Vitale discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the interior surface and the exterior surface of the cover glass are contoured to increase a field of view of the image capture device.
However, Cotoros et al. discloses
wherein the interior surface and the exterior surface of the cover glass 472 (see e.g. paragraph [0089] and Figure 4b) are contoured to increase a field of view of the image capture device (see e.g. Figure 4b where both sides of 472 are curved).
Given the teachings of Cotoros et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Vitale with wherein the interior surface and the exterior surface of the cover glass are contoured to increase a field of view of the image capture device.
Doing so would provide an increased field of view for the image capture device.
In regard to claim 3, Vitale, in view of Cotoros et al., Jo, and Weber discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein a length of the cover glass measured perpendicular to the optical axis of the anamorphic lens module is greater than a width of the cover glass measured perpendicular to the optical axis of the anamorphic lens module and transverse to the length of the cover glass.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using wherein a length of the cover glass measured perpendicular to the optical axis of the anamorphic lens module is greater than a width of the cover glass measured perpendicular to the optical axis of the anamorphic lens module and transverse to the length of the cover glass, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Vitale, in view of Cotoros et al., Jo, and Weber, with wherein a length of the cover glass measured perpendicular to the optical axis of the anamorphic lens module is greater than a width of the cover glass measured perpendicular to the optical axis of the anamorphic lens module and transverse to the length of the cover glass.
Selecting/optimizing the size of the cover glass would allow for optimizing the image produced by the device.
In regard to claim 4, Vitale et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the lens module is removably coupled to the image capture device to form a waterproof seal therebetween (see e.g. paragraphs [0023]for removable lens assembly and [0024] water proof).
Vitale fails to disclose
an anamorphic lens module.
However, Cotoros et al. discloses
an anamorphic lens module (see e.g. paragraph [0087] for anamorphic lens profile).
Given the teachings of Cotoros et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Vitale with an anamorphic lens module.
Using an anamorphic lens module as an attachable lens allows one to achieve a cinematic or large field of view with a large aspect ratio.
In regard to claim 5, Vitale discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the anamorphic lens module further includes a trim ring coupled to the housing and that extends inward towards the optical axis of the anamorphic lens module to cover a peripheral edge of the cover glass.
However, Cotoros et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 4b):
wherein the anamorphic lens module 470 (see e.g. paragraph [0089]) further includes a trim ring 480 (denoted “retaining mechanism”, see e.g. paragraph [0089]) coupled to the housing 410 (denoted “lens barrel”, see e.g. paragraph [0085]) and that extends inward towards the optical axis 416 (see e.g. paragraph [0086]) of the anamorphic lens module 470 to cover a peripheral edge of the cover glass 472.
Given the teachings of Cotoros et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Vitale with wherein the anamorphic lens module further includes a trim ring coupled to the housing and that extends inward towards the optical axis of the anamorphic lens module to cover a peripheral edge of the cover glass.
Providing a trim ring would provide protection to the device and help prevent unwanted environmental damage from dust or other particulates.
In regard to claim 6, Vitale discloses the limitations as applied to claim 5 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the trim ring includes:
a base coupled to the housing; and
a flange integrally formed with the base and extending inward from the base towards the optical axis of the anamorphic lens module to cover the peripheral edge of the cover glass.
However, Cotoros et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 4b):
wherein the trim ring 480 includes:
a base (i.e. lower portion of 480 connected to 410) coupled to the housing 410; and
a flange (i.e. upper portion of 480) integrally formed with the base and extending inward from the base towards the optical axis 416 of the anamorphic lens module 470 to cover the peripheral edge of the cover glass 472.
Given the teachings of Vitale, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Vitale with wherein the trim ring includes: a base coupled to the housing; and a flange integrally formed with the base and extending inward from the base towards the optical axis of the anamorphic lens module to cover the peripheral edge of the cover glass.
Providing a trim ring would provide protection to the device and help prevent unwanted environmental damage from dust or other particulates.
In regard to claim 7, Vitale discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the cover glass 506 is bonded to the housing to form a waterproof seal therebetween (see e.g. paragraph [0091] for waterproof seals to the housing).
In regard to claim 8, Vitale, in view of Cotoros et al., Jo, and Weber, discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the cover glass includes a continuous profile extending along a length of the cover glass and the cover glass includes a contoured profile along a width of the cover glass.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select a configuration in which wherein the cover glass includes a continuous profile extending along a length of the cover glass and the cover glass includes a contoured profile along a width of the cover glass, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination (see e.g. MPEP 2144.04, In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Vitale, in view of Cotoros et al., Jo, and Weber, with wherein the cover glass includes a continuous profile extending along a length of the cover glass and the cover glass includes a contoured profile along a width of the cover glass.
Selecting the desired shape would allow for control of distortions and image quality.
Claims 9, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotoros et al. (US 2022/0239811 A1) in view of Vitale (US 2022/0400196 A1).
In regard to claim 9, Cotoros et al. discloses an anamorphic lens module (see e.g. paragraph [0087] for anamorphic) for an image capture device, the anamorphic lens module comprising (see e.g. Figure 4b):
an outer casing (see e.g. Figures 1-2 and note the outer casing of the device may satisfy the limitation);
a housing (i.e. at least upper portion of 410) at least partially disposed in the outer casing and that defines a cavity therein (see e.g. Figure 4b);
one or more lenses 420 disposed in the cavity of the housing(i.e. at least upper portion of 410) and aligned along an optical axis 416 of the anamorphic lens module (see e.g. Figure 4b);
a cover glass 472 coupled to the housing (i.e. at least upper portion of 410) and aligned with the one or more lenses 420 along the optical axis 416 of the anamorphic lens module,
wherein the cover glass 472 is positioned outward from the one or more lenses 420 (see e.g. Figure 4b).
Cotoros et al. fails to disclose
the cover glass is radially asymmetrical;
a mounting plate configured to removably couple the anamorphic lens module to the image capture device, wherein the mounting plate is configured to axially align the optical axis of the anamorphic lens module with an optical axis of a lens barrel of the image capture device.
However, Vitale disclose (see e.g. Figures 5a-b):
a mounting plate (i.e. surface of image capture device, see e.g. paragraph [0080]) configured to configured to removably couple the anamorphic lens module to the image capture device (see e.g. paragraph [0080]), wherein the mounting plate is configured to axially align the optical axis of the anamorphic lens module 502 with an optical axis of a lens barrel (see e.g. annotated Figure 5a below) of the image capture device (see e.g. paragraph [0080]).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select a configuration in which the cover glass is radially asymmetrical, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination (see e.g. MPEP 2144.04, In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Given the teachings of Vitale, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cotoros et al. with the cover glass is radially asymmetrical; a mounting plate configured to removably couple the anamorphic lens module to the image capture device, wherein the mounting plate is configured to axially align the optical axis of the anamorphic lens module with an optical axis of a lens barrel of the image capture device.
Selecting the desired shape of the cover glass would allow for control of distortions and image quality. Further, providing the mounting flange to align with the image device would prevent unwanted image distortion.
In regard to claim 18, Cotoros et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 9 above, and
wherein the one or more lenses 420 includes a first lens 420 positioned internal to the cover glass 472 along the optical axis 416 of the anamorphic lens module 470 such that an interior surface of the cover glass 472 is positioned adjacent to an exterior surface of the first lens 420, and a contour of the interior surface of the cover glass 472 is complementary in shape to a contour of the exterior surface of the first lens 420 (see e.g. Figure 4b).
In regard to claim 19, Cotoros et al., in view of Vitale, discloses the limitations as applied to claim 18 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the first lens is radially asymmetrical.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select a configuration in which wherein the first lens is radially asymmetrical, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination (see e.g. MPEP 2144.04, In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cotoros et al., in view of Vitale, with wherein the first lens is radially asymmetrical.
Selecting the desired shape of the lens would allow for control of distortions and image quality.
Claims 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotoros et al. (US 2022/0239811 A1) in view of Vitale (US 2022/0400196 A1) and further in view of Ettischer et al. (US 3,782,260).
In regard to claim 10, Cotoros et al., in view of Vitale, discloses the limitations as applied to claim 9 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the mounting plate includes: one or more lips configured to engage a bayonet of the lens barrel based upon rotation of the anamorphic lens module with respect to the bayonet about the optical axis of the lens barrel; and one or more hard stops configured to prevent further rotation of the anamorphic lens module about the optical axis of the lens barrel when the anamorphic lens module is rotationally aligned with the lens barrel.
However, Ettischer et al. discloses
wherein the mounting plate 16 includes (see e.g. Figures 1-2):
one or more lips (see e.g. annotated Figure 2, attached below) configured to engage a bayonet 30 of the lens barrel 72 based upon rotation of the lens module 70 with respect to the bayonet 30 about the optical axis of the lens barrel 72 (see e.g. Column 2, lines 45-57); and
one or more hard stops 38 configured to prevent further rotation of the lens module 70 about the optical axis of the lens barrel when the lens module 70 is rotationally aligned with the lens barrel 72 (see e.g. Column 2, lines 45-57).
Given the teachings of Ettischer et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cotoros et al., in view of Vitale, with wherein the mounting plate includes: one or more lips configured to engage a bayonet of the lens barrel based upon rotation of the anamorphic lens module with respect to the bayonet about the optical axis of the lens barrel; and one or more hard stops configured to prevent further rotation of the anamorphic lens module about the optical axis of the lens barrel when the anamorphic lens module is rotationally aligned with the lens barrel.
Providing the lens module with hard stops prevents mechanical overturning of the device.
In regard to claim 11, Cotoros et al., in view of Vitale and Ettischer et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 10 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the mounting plate further includes a gasket configured to be positioned between the mounting plate and the bayonet to form a waterproof seal between the mounting plate and the lens barrel.
However, Vitale does disclose a bayonet seal 538 between device components (see e.g. paragraph [0089]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize using such a seal between various components of the device to provide water proofing of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cotoros et al., in view of Vitale and Ettischer et al., with wherein the mounting plate further includes a gasket configured to be positioned between the mounting plate and the bayonet to form a waterproof seal between the mounting plate and the lens barrel.
Providing such a gasket or seal would provide water proofing between the device components.
In regard to claim 12, Cotoros et al., in view of Vitale and Ettischer et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 11 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the gasket is disposed along at least a portion of an exterior surface of the mounting plate.
However, Vitale does disclose
a bayonet seal 538 between device components (see e.g. paragraph [0089]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize using such a seal between various components of the device to provide water proofing of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cotoros et al., in view of Vitale and Ettischer et al., with wherein the gasket is disposed along at least a portion of an exterior surface of the mounting plate.
Providing such a gasket or seal would provide water proofing between the device components.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotoros et al. (US 2022/0239811 A1) in view of Vitale (US 2022/0400196 A1) and further in view of Hariguchi et al. (US 2015/0062316 A1).
In regard to claim 14, Cotoros et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 9 above, and
wherein the housing (i.e. upper portion of 410) defines a cover glass channel that extends adjacent to the cover glass 472 (see e.g. Figure 4b and note that the upper portion provides an area for the cover glass to attach).
Cotoros et al., in view of Vitale, fails to disclose
the cover glass channel is configured to receive an adhesive to couple the cover glass to the housing.
However, Hariguchi et al. discloses
the cover glass channel (i.e. of lens holder 16, see e.g. paragraph [0037], Figure 5) is configured to receive an adhesive to couple the cover glass 19 (see e.g. paragraph [0034], Figure 5) to the housing 16.
Given the teachings of Hariguchi et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cotoros et al., in view of Vitale, with the cover glass channel is configured to receive an adhesive to couple the cover glass to the housing.
Providing adhesive to secure the cover glass would prevent unwanted misalignment of the cover glass with the lenses of the device/the optical axis.
In regard to claim 15, Cotoros et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 14 above, and
a trim ring 480 coupled to the housing (i.e. upper portion of 410) that covers both a peripheral edge of the cover glass 472 and the cover glass channel from view from a viewpoint external to the anamorphic lens module 470 (see e.g. Figure 4b).
In regard to claim 16, Cotoros et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 15, and
wherein the trim ring 480 includes a base (i.e. lower portion of 480) that couples the trim ring 480 to the housing (i.e. upper portion of 410) and is at least partially received by the cover glass channel (see e.g. Figure 4b where the base of the trim ring is integral to the surface of the channel).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotoros et al. (US 2022/0239811 A1) in view of Vitale (US 2022/0400196 A1) and further in view of Hariguchi et al. (US 2015/0062316 A1) and further in view of Hirata (US 2021/0141291 A1).
In regard to claim 17, Cotoros et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 14 above, and
wherein the housing defines one or more lens channels for each of the one or more lenses 420 (see e.g. Figure 4b and note the lens channel is shared with the cover glass channel).
Cotoros et al., in view of Vitale and Hariguchi, fails to disclose
the one or more lens channels are configured to receive an adhesive to couple a respective one of the one or more lenses to the housing.
However, Hirata discloses
an adhesive 37 (see e.g. paragraph [0046]) coupling the lens to housing/lens barrel 11 (see e.g. paragraph [0046] and Figure 1).
Given the teachings of Hirata, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cotoros et al., in view of Vitale and Hariguchi, with the one or more lens channels are configured to receive an adhesive to couple a respective one of the one or more lenses to the housing.
Coupling the lens components to the housing/barrel via an adhesive or sealing/bonding agent is known in the art to prevent unwanted movement of the lenses.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitale (US 2022/0400196 A1) in view of Cotoros et al. (US 2022/0239811 A1).
In regard to claim 20, Vitale discloses an image capture device, comprising 100, 200 (see e.g. paragraphs [0025], [0076], Figures 1-2), comprising (see e.g. Figure 1-6):
a lens barrel (i.e. holding lenses 530, see e.g. Figure 5) disposed in a body (i.e. of optical system 402/502, see e.g. paragraph [0048] and Figures 4-5) of the image capture device 200;
one or more lens 530 disposed in the lens barrel (see e.g. Figure 4); and
a lens cover assembly 404/504 (see e.g. paragraphs [0076], [0079], Figures 4-5) configured to be coupled to the lens barrel (i.e. holding lenses 530, see e.g. Figure 4) and that includes:
a housing (see e.g. annotated Figure 5a below);
a cover glass a cover glass 406, 506 (denoted “lens”, see e.g. paragraphs [0076], [0079], Figures 4, 5a) disposed in the housing (see e.g. annotated Figure 5a below) and configured to be positioned external to the lens barrel (i.e. holding lenses 530, see e.g. Figure 5),
wherein the cover glass 406, 506 includes an interior surface that faces the lens barrel and an opposing exterior surface (see e.g. annotated Figure 5a below).
Vitale fails to disclose
a frame coupled to the housing and configured to couple the lens cover assembly to the lens barrel; and
wherein both the interior surface and the opposing exterior surface are contoured.
However, Cotoros et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 4b):
a frame coupled 480 to the housing (i.e. at least upper portion of 410) and configured to couple the lens cover 470 assembly to the lens barrel (i.e. portion of housing 410 holding the lenses); and
wherein both the interior surface and the opposing exterior surface are contoured (i.e. of 472, see e.g. Figure 4b).
Given the teachings of Cotoros et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Vitale with a frame coupled to the housing and configured to couple the lens cover assembly to the lens barrel; and wherein both the interior surface and the opposing exterior surface are contoured.
Providing the frame would keep the various components from shifting, while the contouring of the glass would provide an increased field of view for the image capture device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
In regard to claim 13, the closest prior art references fail to disclose or make obvious all of the limitations of claim 13, including the limitations, “wherein the one or more lips each include a rotation bump that is configured to create an angled contact between the mounting plate and the bayonet to compress the gasket between the mounting plate and the bayonet.”
Conclusion
/JESSICA M MERLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871