DETAILED ACTION
Claim 4 has been cancelled.
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are currently pending.
The previous rejections to claims 1-3 and 5-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
The previous rejections to claims 5-11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues on pages 17 and 18 of the response in essence that: However, the process corresponding to the check box 1614 fails to meet the claimed "second mode," because although the setting screen including the check box 1614 has fewer boxes than those of the setting screen including the buttons 1705-1708, these setting screens do not have "a same configuration" as required by the above limitations.
Toriyabe discloses that the process of initiating the color management process begins with the TOP screen of the site management application (paragraph 143). Because both the first mode and the second mode begin with the TOP screen of FIG. 13, the second mode has a same configuration as the at least one of the setting screen of the first mode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-13, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toriyabe US Publication 2019/0260911 (hereafter “Toriyabe”).
Referring to claim 1, Toriyabe discloses a color management apparatus connected to a printing apparatus via a network, the color management apparatus comprising
a hardware processor; and
a display device, wherein
the hardware processor includes a first mode executor and a second mode executor (paragraph 76, A CPU 451 deploys a control program stored in a ROM 452 or a hard disk (HDD) 454 into a RAM 453 and executes the deployed program),
the first mode executor executes a first mode by:
causing the display device to display a plurality of setting screens each including a plurality of setting items,
in response to user operations via the setting screens, executing color management setting including setting of the setting items regarding a color management function for the printing apparatus through a plurality of steps (paragraph 166, Buttons 1705 through 1708 are buttons used to edit, delete, create, and save a reference setting, respectively), and
causing the printing apparatus to execute the color management function (paragraph 108, Upon receiving an operation of the color expert, the site management terminal 211 transmits an execution request of color verification processing of the specific printing apparatuses 203 and 205), and
the second mode executor executes a second mode by:
based on information on color management setting, causing the display device to display a smaller number of the setting screens than the setting screens for the first mode (paragraph 161, A check box 1614 is an automatic reference generation check box. The color expert is caused to designate whether or not to automatically calculate a reference for a patch chart newly created by the above-described method),
with user operations via the smaller number of the setting screens, simplifying at least one step among the steps to execute the color management setting, and
causing the printing apparatus to execute the color management function (paragraph 108, Upon receiving an operation of the color expert, the site management terminal 211 transmits an execution request of color verification processing of the specific printing apparatuses 203 and 205), wherein
in the second mode, a number of the setting items in at least one of the setting screens is set to be smaller than a number of the setting items in a setting screen for the first mode, among the setting screens (paragraph 161, A check box 1614 is an automatic reference generation check box. The color expert is caused to designate whether or not to automatically calculate a reference for a patch chart newly created by the above-described method), that has a same configuration as the at least one of the setting screens (paragraph 143, FIG. 13 depicts a view showing an example of the TOP screen of the site management application according to the first embodiment), and the hardware processor further:
in the second mode, automatically reduces a number of items of color management functions selectable by a user based on function restriction data registered in advance (paragraph 161, A check box 1614 is an automatic reference generation check box. The color expert is caused to designate whether or not to automatically calculate a reference for a patch chart newly created by the above-described method), and
transmits, to the printing apparatus, the color management setting set in the first mode or the second mode to cause the printing apparatus to output a printed product based on the color management setting (paragraph 108, Upon receiving an operation of the color expert, the site management terminal 211 transmits an execution request of color verification processing of the specific printing apparatuses 203 and 205).
Referring to claim 2, Toriyabe discloses wherein the second mode executor selects the color management setting executed by the first mode executor, changes one or more of the setting items included in the selected color management setting, and causes the printing apparatus to execute the color management function (paragraph 194, If the automatic reference generation designation check box 1614 is validated, the process advances to step S2505. After that, the process advances to step S2507, and the CPU 401 refers to the designated input profile setting, and obtains input profile data from the printer controller 500).
Referring to claim 3, Toriyabe discloses wherein the color management function includes a plurality of color management functions which include color verification, profile creation (paragraph 129, A color verification profile DB 1200 is a color verification profile DB (database) collecting information that should be set for performing the color management operation), calibration (paragraph 98, Color adjustment processing is a so-called known calibration function), maximum density adjustment (paragraph 135, A maximum 1264 is the maximum value in the difference amounts of all patches), and density balance adjustment (paragraph 135, An average 1263 is the average of the difference amounts of all patches).
Referring to claim 5, Toriyabe discloses wherein the first mode executor executes the color management setting for each of the color management functions and the color management setting for each of a plurality of printing apparatuses (paragraph 108, Upon receiving an operation of the color expert, the site management terminal 211 transmits an execution request of color verification processing of the specific printing apparatuses 203 and 205).
Referring to claim 6, Toriyabe discloses wherein the second mode executor automatically sets a selectable printing apparatus among the printing apparatuses based on printer restriction data registered in advance (paragraph 147, In an area 1401, the printing apparatus 203 (PRINTER 001) as the target of the environment setting is selectively displayed), and automatically sets a selectable color management function among the color management functions based on the function restriction data registered in advance (paragraph 194, If a value that is valid as the input profile setting is already set in the input profile 1273, the CPU 401 determines that the setting is already done, and advances the process to step S2507).
Referring to claim 7, Toriyabe discloses wherein the second mode executor automatically sets a selectable color management function among the color management functions for each of the printing apparatuses based on the function restriction data (paragraph 194, If a value that is valid as the input profile setting is already set in the input profile 1273, the CPU 401 determines that the setting is already done, and advances the process to step S2507), and automatically sets a selectable printing apparatus among the printing apparatuses for each of the color management functions (paragraph 147, In an area 1401, the printing apparatus 203 (PRINTER 001) as the target of the environment setting is selectively displayed).
Referring to claim 8, Toriyabe discloses wherein the second mode executor is capable of automatically setting a selectable color management function among the color management functions for each of model numbers of the printing apparatuses and automatically setting a selectable color management function among the color management functions for each of serial numbers of the printing apparatuses, based on the printer restriction data (paragraph 147, In an area 1401, the printing apparatus 203 (PRINTER 001) as the target of the environment setting is selectively displayed [each printer inherently has a model and serial number, and is set automatically in the displayed list]).
Referring to claim 9, Toriyabe discloses wherein the second mode executor automatically sets, based on colorimeter restriction data registered in advance, a selectable colorimeter that performs colorimetry on a printed product output by each of the printing apparatuses (paragraph 118, The operating information of color adjustment processing includes the patch arrangement of an adjustment chart, a colorimetric device, a chart print condition, and the like) (paragraph 152, A color verification setting 1501 selectively displays the list of color verification settings linked with the printing apparatus 203 selected in the screen shown in FIG. 14).
Referring to claim 10, Toriyabe discloses wherein the second mode executor automatically sets, for each type of the colorimeter, a selectable color measurement chart and the number of patches of the color measurement chart based on color management setting restriction data registered in advance (paragraph 118, The operating information of color adjustment processing includes the patch arrangement of an adjustment chart, a colorimetric device, a chart print condition, and the like) (paragraph 156, A list 1601 of patch chart settings selectively displays the list of patch chart settings linked with the printing apparatus 203 selected in the screen shown in FIG. 14).
Referring to claim 11, Toriyabe discloses wherein the first mode executor displays a dependency relationship among the color management setting, a setting for the profile creation and the color verification, a setting for the printing apparatus, and a setting for a profile to be used in the profile creation (paragraph 145-148, FIG. 14 depicts a view showing an example of the environment setting screen of the color management application. In an area 1401, the printing apparatus 203 (PRINTER 001) as the target of the environment setting is selectively displayed. Columns 1404 through 1406 display names corresponding to the color verification setting 1204 to the color adjustment setting 1206 in the color verification profile DB 1200, respectively, and saved in the setting DBs).
Referring to claim 12, Toriyabe discloses wherein the color management setting includes settings of an item that affects a color of a printed product output by the printing apparatus and an item that does not affect the printed product (paragraph 132, The color adjustment setting DB 1230 includes an ID 1231 used to identify saved information, a name 1232 to be displayed on a UI to be described later, and following information).
Referring to claim 13, Toriyabe discloses wherein the first mode can be switched to the second mode by a predetermined operation (paragraph 161, A check box 1614 is an automatic reference generation check box. The color expert is caused to designate whether or not to automatically calculate a reference for a patch chart newly created by the above-described method).
Referring to claim 19, Toriyabe discloses a color management system comprising:
a printing apparatus that forms an image on at least one or more recording media (paragraph 60, The site management server 102 is a server that manages printing apparatuses 203 and 205 operating in the print site 105); and
a color management apparatus that is connected to the printing apparatus via a network, and comprises a hardware processor (paragraph 76, A CPU 451 deploys a control program stored in a ROM 452 or a hard disk (HDD) 454 into a RAM 453 and executes the deployed program) and a display device, wherein
the hardware processor includes a first mode executor and a second mode executor,
the first mode executor executes a first mode by:
causing the display device to display a plurality of setting screens each including a plurality of setting items,
in response to user operations via the setting screens, executing color management setting including setting of the setting items regarding a color management function for the printing apparatus through a plurality of steps (paragraph 166, Buttons 1705 through 1708 are buttons used to edit, delete, create, and save a reference setting, respectively), and
causing the printing apparatus to execute the color management function (paragraph 108, Upon receiving an operation of the color expert, the site management terminal 211 transmits an execution request of color verification processing of the specific printing apparatuses 203 and 205), and
the second mode executor executes a second mode by:
based on information on color management setting, causing the display device to display a smaller number of the setting screens than the setting screens for the first mode (paragraph 161, A check box 1614 is an automatic reference generation check box. The color expert is caused to designate whether or not to automatically calculate a reference for a patch chart newly created by the above-described method),
with user operations via the smaller number of the setting screens, simplifying at least one step among the steps to execute the color management setting, and
causing the printing apparatus to execute the color management function (paragraph 108, Upon receiving an operation of the color expert, the site management terminal 211 transmits an execution request of color verification processing of the specific printing apparatuses 203 and 205), wherein
in the second mode, a number of the setting items in at least one of the setting screens is set to be smaller than a number of the setting items in a setting screen for the first mode, among the setting screens (paragraph 161, A check box 1614 is an automatic reference generation check box. The color expert is caused to designate whether or not to automatically calculate a reference for a patch chart newly created by the above-described method), that has a same configuration as the at least one of the setting screens (paragraph 143, FIG. 13 depicts a view showing an example of the TOP screen of the site management application according to the first embodiment), and the hardware processor further:
in the second mode, automatically reduces a number of items of color management functions selectable by a user based on function restriction data registered in advance (paragraph 161, A check box 1614 is an automatic reference generation check box. The color expert is caused to designate whether or not to automatically calculate a reference for a patch chart newly created by the above-described method), and
transmits, to the printing apparatus, the color management setting set in the first mode or the second mode to cause the printing apparatus to output a printed product based on the color management setting (paragraph 108, Upon receiving an operation of the color expert, the site management terminal 211 transmits an execution request of color verification processing of the specific printing apparatuses 203 and 205).
Referring to claim 20, Toriyabe discloses a non-transitory recording medium storing a computer readable color management program for a color management apparatus that is connected to a printing apparatus via a network, and comprises a hardware processor and a display device, the program causing the color management apparatus to execute:
a first mode by:
causing the display device to display a plurality of setting screens each including a plurality of setting items,
in response to user operations via the setting screens, executing color management setting including setting of the setting items regarding a color management function for the printing apparatus through a plurality of steps (paragraph 166, Buttons 1705 through 1708 are buttons used to edit, delete, create, and save a reference setting, respectively), and
causing the printing apparatus to execute the color management function (paragraph 108, Upon receiving an operation of the color expert, the site management terminal 211 transmits an execution request of color verification processing of the specific printing apparatuses 203 and 205), and
a second mode by:
based on information on color management setting, causing the display device to display a smaller number of the setting screens than the setting screens for the first mode (paragraph 161, A check box 1614 is an automatic reference generation check box. The color expert is caused to designate whether or not to automatically calculate a reference for a patch chart newly created by the above-described method),
with user operations via the smaller number of the setting screens, simplifying at least one step among the steps to execute the color management setting, and
causing the printing apparatus to execute the color management function (paragraph 108, Upon receiving an operation of the color expert, the site management terminal 211 transmits an execution request of color verification processing of the specific printing apparatuses 203 and 205), wherein
in the second mode, a number of the setting items in at least one of the setting screens is set to be smaller than a number of the setting items in a setting screen for the first mode, among the setting screens (paragraph 161, A check box 1614 is an automatic reference generation check box. The color expert is caused to designate whether or not to automatically calculate a reference for a patch chart newly created by the above-described method), that has a same configuration as the at least one of the setting screens (paragraph 143, FIG. 13 depicts a view showing an example of the TOP screen of the site management application according to the first embodiment), and the program causes the color management apparatus to further execute:
in the second mode, automatically reduces a number of items of color management functions selectable by a user based on function restriction data registered in advance (paragraph 161, A check box 1614 is an automatic reference generation check box. The color expert is caused to designate whether or not to automatically calculate a reference for a patch chart newly created by the above-described method), and
transmitting, to the printing apparatus, the color management setting set in the first mode or the second mode to cause the printing apparatus to output a printed product based on the color management setting (paragraph 108, Upon receiving an operation of the color expert, the site management terminal 211 transmits an execution request of color verification processing of the specific printing apparatuses 203 and 205).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toriyabe US Publication 2019/0260911 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maruyama US Publication 2023/0065985 (hereafter “Maruyama”).
Referring to claim 14, Toriyabe discloses wherein the second mode can be switched to the first mode by a predetermined operation (paragraph 161, A check box 1614 is an automatic reference generation check box. The color expert is caused to designate whether or not to automatically calculate a reference for a patch chart newly created by the above-described method), but does not disclose expressly wherein the second mode can be switched to the first mode by a predetermined operation when the switching is permitted by the first mode.
Maruyama discloses wherein the second mode can be switched to the first mode by a predetermined operation when the switching is permitted by the first mode (paragraph 165, When it is determined in step S44 that the instruction for the permission has been input (in a case where a determination in step S44 is YES), the printer color tracking management information management part 107 grants the user account added in step S41 the execution authority of the operation related to the printer color tracking management information (step S45)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to authenticate whether a user can use a color management mode. The motivation for doing so would have been to only allow desired users to use certain functions of the system to prevent misuse. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Maruyama with Toriyabe to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
Referring to claim 16, Toriyabe discloses wherein, when an error occurs during execution of the color management function, the second mode executor notifies a detail of the error when an error occurs (paragraph 204, In step S2707, the CPU 401 determines that the color state of the image printed by the printing apparatus 203 is not improved from the inappropriate state although all the preset color adjustment processes are executed. The CPU 401 then notifies the user that the color state of the image printed by the printing apparatus 203 is inappropriate, and advances to step S2709).
Toriyabe does not disclose expressly setting a notification method in the first mode.
Maruyama discloses a notification method set in the first mode (paragraph 150, Next, the printer color tracking management information management part 107 determines whether there is printer color tracking management information that has not been acquired and has been granted the execution authority (step S43)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to authenticate whether a user is notified of color management. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow an administrator enable whether users can track management information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Maruyama with Toriyabe to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16.
Referring to claim 17, Toriyabe discloses wherein the second mode executor notifies completion of execution of the color management function in accordance with a notification method in a case where the color management function is executed, and notifies non-execution of the color management function in accordance with the notification method in a case where the color management function is not executed (paragraph 204, Next, the process advances to step S2705, and the CPU 401 determines whether or not the result of determination in step S2703 is NG).
Toriyabe does not disclose expressly setting a notification method in the first mode or executing the color management function in accordance with a predetermined schedule.
Maruyama discloses wherein the second mode executor notifies completion of execution of the color management function in accordance with a notification method set in the first mode (paragraph 150, Next, the printer color tracking management information management part 107 determines whether there is printer color tracking management information that has not been acquired and has been granted the execution authority (step S43)) in a case where the color management function is executed in accordance with a predetermined schedule, and notifies non-execution of the color management function in accordance with the notification method in a case where the color management function is not executed in accordance with the schedule (paragraph 178, Then, the printer color tracking management information management part 107 sends the tendency notification message to the email address of the user account in which the tendency notification flag is on at any timing before the start of the operation on a day of the week on which the tendency notification should be performed).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to authenticate whether a user is notified of color management, and to execute color management in accordance with a predetermined schedule. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow an administrator enable whether users can track management information, and to routinely calibrate printing devices to ensure accurate settings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Maruyama with Toriyabe to obtain the invention as specified in claim 17.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toriyabe US Publication 2019/0260911 and Maruyama US Publication 2023/0065985 as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Uruma US Publication 2016/0041865 (hereafter “Uruma”).
Referring to claim 15, Toriyabe discloses wherein, when the second mode is switched to the first mode, the second mode executor notifies the switching of the mode (paragraph 161, A check box 1614 is an automatic reference generation check box. The color expert is caused to designate whether or not to automatically calculate a reference for a patch chart newly created by the above-described method), but does not disclose expressly that the notification method is set in the first mode.
Okayama discloses notifying the switching of the mode in accordance with a notification method set in the first mode (paragraph 35, Table 3 illustrates examples of the function logs 302 for a user authentication function).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide notification of user logon activity. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow an administrator to track user activity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Maruyama with Okayama to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toriyabe US Publication 2019/0260911 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of well known prior art.
Referring to claim 18, Toriyabe discloses wherein the second mode executor changes in accordance with a shortcut for activating each of the color management function, a setting for the printing apparatus, and the color management setting (paragraph 85, A UI (user interface) control module 623 mainly executes processing concerning UI screen display of the centralized management application and acceptance of an input operation of the user).
Toriyabe does not disclose expressly a background color of each activated setting screen to a different color.
Official Notice is taken that it is well known and obvious in the art to change a background color of each activated setting screen (See MPEP 2144.03). The motivation for doing so would have been to provide simple notification for the user to determine which setting screen the interface is currently using. Furthermore, changing the color of a setting screen is a matter of design choice. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine well known prior art with Toriyabe to obtain the invention as provided in claim 18.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER K HUNTSINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682