DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to initial filing on 08/29/2024.
Claim 1-9 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/27/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 08/29/2024. These drawings are reviewed and accepted by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11139852. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant claim 1 is broader in scope and thus encompasses the subject of conflicting claim 1. Instant claim 1 does not require the “selecting step” of conflicting claim 1 and each of the other steps are more broadly written.
Instant claim 1 only differs from conflicting claim 1 by reciting a different statutory class, however it is well understood in the art for a device to produce a method and vice versa. Therefore, given the method/CRM recited in instant claim 1, it is considered that it would have been obvious to produce the device of conflicting claim 1 in order to perform the method contained on the CRM.
Regarding claim 1, the table below shows that claim 1 of the patent contains the elements of claim 1 of the instant application, and therefore, is an obvious variant thereof.
Instant Application 18/819218
Patent 11139852
1.A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a message handler, the one or more programs including instructions for:
receiving packets with a positional information from one or more assets over a low bandwidth network;
storing the positional information in a memory; and
via a transmitter configured to send one or more situational awareness packets to said one or more assets:
converting the positional information to converted positional information;
including the converted positional information in the one or more situational awareness packets; and
sending one or more of the one or more situational awareness packets to said one or more assets
A message handler
for
receiving and transmitting a positional information over a low bandwidth network, the message handler comprising:
a receiver for receiving packets with the positional information from one or more assets over the network;
a memory for storing the positional information; a transmitter for sending one or more situational awareness packets to said one or more assets said transmitter:
selects the positional information based on parameters for the situational awareness packets, the selected positional information comprising at least a longitude and a latitude, a heading and an altitude for at least one mobile device
converts the selected information based on predetermined criteria and combine the selected information to send in the situational awareness packets based on rules; and sends the situational awareness packets to the one or more asset.
Instant claim 2 and patent claim 2 correspond.
Instant claim 3 and patent claim 3 correspond.
Instant claim 4 and patent claim 4 correspond.
Instant claim 5 and patent claim 5 correspond.
Instant claim 6 and patent claim 6 correspond.
Instant claim 7 and patent claim 7 correspond.
Instant claim 8 and patent claim 8 correspond.
Instant claim 9 and patent claim 9 correspond.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tavner et al (US 20200287619).
Regarding claim 1, Tavner discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a message handler (Figure 1, Remotely Piloted Aircraft 10), the one or more programs including instructions for:
receiving packets with a positional information (i.e., “position data”) from one or more assets over a low bandwidth network ([0021] An indirect control link 14 via low earth orbit satellites 16, … receive command signals from the ground control station and to send position data from a GPS inside the RPA back to the ground control station. Applicant defines “… assets” as including “… GPS receivers” in [0036] of the Applicant’s application);
storing the positional information in a memory ([0159] The aircraft carries inspection …. may send information directly back to the control center or store it onboard to send back when landed); and
via a transmitter configured to send one or more situational awareness packets ([0021] … to send position data from a GPS inside the RPA back to the ground control station. The “situational awareness packets” must be given a broadest reasonable interpretation of GPS position data) to said one or more assets ([0021] to send position data from a GPS inside the RPA back to the ground control station. Given a broadest reasonable interpretation, the term “assets” is interpreted as a “ground station” or GPS receiver):
converting the positional information to converted positional information ([0006] send back position data from a different GPS or other satellite-based position receiver in the device);
including the converted positional information in the one or more situational awareness packets ([0006] send back position data from a different GPS or other satellite-based position receiver in the device. Thus, system includes position data from a different GPS. The POSITA would understand this a disclosure that converted positional information in the one or more situational awareness packets. Thus, GPS position data); and
sending one or more of the one or more situational awareness packets to said one or more assets (Abstract, an indirect control link with the ground control station, via satellites, that is used to send command signals to the device and to send back flight information and position data from a GPS or other satellite-based position receiver in the device; [0006] send command signals to the device and to send back flight information and position data from a GPS or other satellite-based position receiver in the device).
Regarding claim 2, Tavner discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1, wherein the positional information comprises a heading converted by a fraction of 360 degrees ([0006] send back position data from a different GPS or other satellite-based position receiver in the device. Thus, system includes position data from a different GPS. The POSITA would understand this a disclosure that positional information in GPS containg heading information. Thus, GPS position data).
Regarding claim 3, Tavner discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1, wherein the positional information comprises a longitude and the latitude are converted to 22 bits each based on predetermined ranges (Tavner discloses ([0006] send back position data from a different GPS or other satellite-based position receiver in the device. The Examiner submits that plurality of first antenna elements are configured to have equal or unequal phases and to form a beam, is a design choice, and one of skilled in the art could have chosen a desired range as it is common practice in order to provide practical grid representation of the earth with more precision).
Regarding claim 4, Tavner discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 3, wherein the altitude is converted to 8 bits based on predetermined ranges (Tavner discloses ([0006] send back position data from a different GPS or other satellite-based position receiver in the device. The Examiner submits that plurality of first antenna elements are configured to have equal or unequal phases and to form a beam, is a design choice, and one of skilled in the art could have chosen a desired range as it is common practice in order to provide practical grid representation of the earth with more precision).
Regarding claim 5, Tavner discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 4, wherein the altitude is converted based on 3 predetermined ranges Tavner discloses ([0006] send back position data from a different GPS or other satellite-based position receiver in the device. The Examiner submits that plurality of first antenna elements are configured to have equal or unequal phases and to form a beam, is a design choice, and one of skilled in the art could have chosen a desired range as it is common practice in order to provide practical grid representation of the earth with more precision.
Regarding claim 6, Tavner discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 5, wherein said ranges are not linear (Tavner discloses ([0006] send back position data from a different GPS or other satellite-based position receiver in the device.).
Regarding claim 7, Tavner discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1, wherein a most recent positional information is sent first in the situational awareness packets (([0021] … to send position data from a GPS inside the RPA back to the ground control station.).
Regarding claim 8, Tavner discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1, wherein the positional information is received from an asset only at predetermined intervals (Abstract, an indirect control link with the ground control station, via satellites, that is used to send command signals to the device and to send back flight information and position data from a GPS or other satellite-based position receiver in the device; [0006] send command signals to the device and to send back flight information and position data from a GPS or other satellite-based position receiver in the device).
Regarding claim 9, Tavner discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 1, wherein the positional information is received from an asset if said asset has moved more than a predetermined distance (([0159] The aircraft carries inspection …. may send information directly back to the control center or store it onboard to send back when landed).
Conclusion
/JULIO R PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644