Status of Claims
2. This is a final action on the merits in response to the reply received 7/9/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Li, Urasawa, and Zhang does not disclose that at least one
parameter of the set of affine model parameters is calculated based on a calculation precision and horizontal motion vector components or vertical motion vector components of a pair of corner control points of the current block, where the pair of corner control points of the current block comprises a top-left corner control point of the current block and a top-right corner control point of the current block, or where the pair of corner control points of the current block comprises the top-left corner control point of the current block and a bottom-left corner control point of the current block. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Li discloses an affine parameter that is based on a calculation precision (see formula) and horizontal vector component in [0114-0115], wherein the Vx are horizontal values for the respective motion vectors. In addition, Li discloses where the pair of corner control points of the current block comprises a top-left corner control point of the current block and a top-right corner control point of the current block, or where the pair of corner control points of the current block comprises the top-left corner control point of the current block and a bottom-left corner control point of the current block in [0114-0115], wherein Fig 7 shows a top left corner control pint and a top right corner control point. Rejection is maintained.
On page 12, Applicant argues regarding the implementation details of storing parameters depending on the color format, the Applicants respectfully submit that "color format" is a well-known technical term in the art, and the specific implementation manner dependent on the color format can be determined according to practical requirements by those skilled in the art. Regardless of the specific implementation manner adopted, it falls within the protection scope of claim 21 as long as the storing operation is associated with the color format. Therefore, claim 21 complies with the enablement requirement and thus meets the requirement of 35 U.S.C. § 112. As such, claim 21 is also allowable at least by virtue of its dependency, as well as the merits it recites. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The issue is not whether the term “color format” itself would understand by one of ordinary skilled in the art. Rather, the claimed limitation requires that “whether separate affine model parameters are stored for different color components of the current block depends on the color format”. The specification does not disclose the relationship between color format and the determination of whether separate affine model parameters are stored for different color components. In particular, the specification fails to identify what aspects of the color format causes the claimed determination, which color formats result in separate affine model parameters being stored, which color formats do not, or otherwise provide an algorithm, criterion, or other implementation for making the claimed determination based on the color format. Just because the applicant asserts that one skilled in the art could determine an implementation “according to practical requirements,” does not supply the missing disclosure. Enablement requires that the specification enables the claimed invention without undue experimentation. It is not sufficient that an ordinary skilled artisan could devise an implementation of an undisclosed feature based on general knowledge. As a result, the specification fails to enable the full scope of the claimed limitation. Rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim 21 disclose wherein whether to store separate affine model parameters for different color components of the current block depends on color format. The specification is not enabling because the specification does not disclose any detail on storing parameters being dependent on color formats. In fact, the specification makes no mention of a particular type of color format. Therefore, there would be undue experimentation required to enable the full scope of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180270500 A1-Li et al (Hereinafter referred to as Li”).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a method of processing video data (Fig. 14-15), comprising:
checking, during a conversion between a current block and a bitstream of the current block ([0146], at the encoder), neighboring blocks of the current block in order to select a set of affine model parameters ([00106-0107], [0118] wherein neighboring blocks are being checked)
selecting, during a current affine calculation step in the conversion ([0158]), one or more parameters of the set of affine model parameters [0155], wherein set of affine parameters can be selected)
storing the one or more parameters for the current block ([0187], storing
acquiring motion information of the current block, wherein the motion information of the current block is based on at least one affine model parameter of a neighboring block of the current block ([0117], wherein affine parameters describes the motion vectors); and
performing, based on the one or more parameters and the motion information, the conversion between the current block and the bitstream of the current block ([0021], wherein encoding is interpreted as a conversion between the current block and the bitstream of the current block).
at least one parameter of the set of affine model parameters is calculated based on a calculation precision and horizontal motion vector components or vertical motion vector components of a pair of corner control points of the current block (0114-0115], wherein the Vx are horizontal values for the respective motion vectors), where the pair of corner control points of the current block comprises a top-left corner control point of the current block and a top-right corner control point of the current block, or where the pair of corner control points of the current block comprises the top-left corner control point of the current block and a bottom-left corner control point of the current block (In addition, Li discloses where the pair of corner control points of the current block comprises a top-left corner control point of the current block and a top-right corner control point of the current block, or where the pair of corner control points of the current block comprises the top-left corner control point of the current block and a bottom-left corner control point of the current block in [0114-0115], wherein Fig 7 shows a top left corner control pint and a top right corner control point).
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the selecting of the one or more parameters depends on at least one of: affine modes, inter or merge mode, block size, picture type ([0155], selected as affine model).
Regarding claim 8, Li disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the current block comprises a luma component and a chroma component ([0074]), wherein affine model parameters stored for the luma component are also stored for the chroma component of the current block ([0008], storing video data; [0187], storing), and wherein during the conversion on the chroma component, affine model parameters for the chroma component are inherited or derived from the affine model parameters stored for the luma component ([0008], deriving affine parameters).
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the set of affine model parameters for the current block is predicted or inherited from one or more collocated blocks in one or multiple pictures ([0135], wherein he affine template can include reconstructed pixels in one or more reference pictures of the current block (e.g., the collocated picture used for temporal MV prediction; the initial motion vector points to the reference affine template 1112, and thus can be used to identify which reference picture, and where in that reference picture (corresponding to the reference affine template 1112), to search for the information needed to derive the affine motion parameters for the current block 1102. The search for the affine motion parameters in the reference block 1110 of the reference picture is performed around the pixel referenced by the initial motion vector).
Regarding clam 11, Li discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the set of affine model parameters are associated with one temporal neighboring block of a plurality of temporal neighboring blocks ([0174]).
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the one temporal neighboring block is identified based on neighboring motion information ([0104, temporal neighboring blocks)].
Regarding claim 13, Li disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the one temporal neighboring block is from a collocated picture ([0135], the collocated picture used for temporal MV prediction.
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses the method of claim 13, wherein temporal motion vector prediction (TMVP) ([0135]) or alternative temporal motion vector prediction (ATMVP) for the current block is based on the collocated picture ([0104]).
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the collocated picture is signaled in a video parameter set (VPS), a sequence parameter set (SPS), a picture parameter set (PPS), a slice header or a tile group header ([0167]).
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses the method of claim 10, wherein affine model parameters associated with the one or more collocated blocks in one or multiple pictures are used to predict the set of affine model parameters of the current block, or used to predict control point motion vectors (CPMVs) for the current block ([0169], wherein affine parameters are used to predict control point motion vectors).
Regarding claim 17, Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion comprises encoding the current block into the bitstream ([0024], encoding).
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion comprises decoding the current block from the bitstream ([0024], decoding).
Regarding claim 19, arguments are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 20.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180270500 A1-Li et al (Hereinafter referred to as Li”), in further view of US 20190230361 A1-Zhang et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses the method of claim 1 (see claim 1),
Li fails to disclose wherein a width of the current block is noted as w and is equal to 2B and a height of the current block is noted as h and is equal to 2hb, where WB and HB are integers greater than one
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses wherein a width of the current block is noted as w and is equal to 2B and a height of the current block is noted as h and is equal to 2hb, where WB and HB are integers greater than one ([0152]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Li to disclose wherein a width of the current block is noted as w and is equal to 2B and a height of the current block is noted as h and is equal to 2hb, where WB and HB are integers greater than one as taught by Zhang, to improve overall coding quality ([0237], Zhang).
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180270500 A1-Li et al (Hereinafter referred to as Li”), in view of Patent 6608702 B1-Urasawa.
Regarding claim 21, Li discloses the method of claim 1 (see claim 1),
Li fails to explicitly disclose in detail whether to store separate affine model parameters for different color components of the current block depends on color format.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ursawa discloses whether to store separate affine model parameters for different color components of the current block depends on color format (column 9, lines 30-50, wherein a parameter storing section stores parameters required for affine transformation for every color component).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Li to disclose wherein whether to store separate affine model parameters for different color components of the current block depends on color format as taught by Ursawa, to improve overall coding quality (Ursawa).
.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LERON . BECK
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/LERON BECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487