DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5 and 8 contain the trademark/trade name Kevlar. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe material and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. (USPN 12239890)
Regarding claim 16, Johnson et al. discloses a club head having a body with a recessed ledge and a crown insert wherein the crown body is made of metals such as titanium and steel and the crown insert made of a composite or polymeric material such as FRP, PPS, etc. (See Column 15, line 42, to Column 16, line 45, and Column 17, lines 25 through 51). Based on the material of the crown insert, the elastic modulus of the material is considered to be inherent. Johnson et al. also discloses the club head having a striking face wherein the striking face is attached to the front of the body which includes the sole.
Regarding claim 18, see the above regarding claim 16.
Regarding claim 19, Johnson et al. discloses the crown insert formed of PPS material and composite material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (USPN 12239890).
Regarding claim 1, Johnson et al. discloses a club head having a body with a recessed ledge and a crown insert wherein the crown body is made of metals such as titanium and steel and the crown insert made of a composite or polymeric material such as FRP, PPS, etc. (See Column 15, line 42, to Column 16, line 45, and Column 17, lines 25 through 51). Based on the material of the crown insert, the elastic modulus of the material is considered to be inherent. The summary of the invention notes that the crown insert has a density of 1 to 2 g/cc (See Paragraph bridging columns 2 and 3). Steel inherently has a density of 7.8 g/cc and titanium inherently has a density of 4.5 g/cc. Considering the above, the crown insert has a density less than the density of the body. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the second material of a density less than the first material, as taught by Johnson et al., in order to lower the center of gravity of the club head. Johnson et al. also discloses the club head having a striking face wherein the striking face is attached to the front of the body which includes the sole. Applicant does not disclose why having a crown insert coverage of 85% is critical in order to attain the invention. According to paragraph 0065 of applicant specification the coverage can be 50% to 100% in which Johnson et al. shows the crown insert coverage of greater than 50% (See Figure 2). Johnson et al. uses the crown insert construction to lower the center of gravity, in which more coverage would appear to further reduce the center of gravity. Absent any showing of unexpected result, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found the amount of coverage from the crown insert to be mere routine optimization.
Regarding claim 3, see the above regarding claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12102890 in view of Johnson et al. (USPN 12239890). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of US 12102890 does not claim the density of the second material being less than the first material. Johnson et al. discloses a club head having a body with a recessed ledge and a crown insert wherein the crown body is made of metals such as titanium and steel and the crown insert made of a composite or polymeric material such as FRP, PPS, etc. (See Column 15, line 42, to Column 16, line 45, and Column 17, lines 25 through 51). The summary of the invention notes that the crown insert has a density of 1 to 2 g/cc (See Paragraph bridging columns 2 and 3). Steel inherently has a density of 7.8 g/cc and titanium inherently has a density of 4.5 g/cc. Considering the above, the crown insert has a density less than the density of the body. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the second material of a density less tan the first material, as taught by Johnson et al., in order to lower the center of gravity of the club head.
Claims 16-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11497971. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application does not claim a cover. Though a cover is not claimed in the instant application, claim 1 of US Patent 11497971 encompasses the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application. In light of the above, claim 1 of the instant application is anticipated by claim 1 of US Patent 11497971.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-6, and 9-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11077340 in view of Johnson et al. (USPN 12239890). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of US 11077340 does not claim the density of the second material being less than the first material. Johnson et al. discloses a club head having a body with a recessed ledge and a crown insert wherein the crown body is made of metals such as titanium and steel and the crown insert made of a composite or polymeric material such as FRP, PPS, etc. (See Column 15, line 42, to Column 16, line 45, and Column 17, lines 25 through 51). The summary of the invention notes that the crown insert has a density of 1 to 2 g/cc (See Paragraph bridging columns 2 and 3). Steel inherently has a density of 7.8 g/cc and titanium inherently has a density of 4.5 g/cc. Considering the above, the crown insert has a density less than the density of the body. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the second material of a density less than the first material, as taught by Johnson et al., in order to lower the center of gravity of the club head.
Claims 1, 6, 16, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7- 9 of U.S. Patent No. 10583334 in view of Johnson et al. (USPN 12239890). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of US 10583334 does not claim the density of the second material being less than the first material. Johnson et al. discloses a club head having a body with a recessed ledge and a crown insert wherein the crown body is made of metals such as titanium and steel and the crown insert made of a composite or polymeric material such as FRP, PPS, etc. (See Column 15, line 42, to Column 16, line 45, and Column 17, lines 25 through 51). The summary of the invention notes that the crown insert has a density of 1 to 2 g/cc (See Paragraph bridging columns 2 and 3). Steel inherently has a density of 7.8 g/cc and titanium inherently has a density of 4.5 g/cc. Considering the above, the crown insert has a density less than the density of the body. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the second material of a density less than the first material, as taught by Johnson et al., in order to lower the center of gravity of the club head.
Conclusion
/ALVIN A HUNTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711