DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 9-10, Applicant argues that,
“[…]
Pribula describes "when a template specified shot durations, a progress bar could be displayed on the video recording UI to show the current length of a shot being recorded, and how much longer it needs to continue in order to follow the template guidelines." (Pribula, paragraph [0052]). Pribula's "shot duration" is a duration-based parameter, not "an identifier of a specific filter," "an identifier of a specific audio track," or "a string of characters of a text" as required by claim 1. Pribula also describes: ""when the template specifies special effects, such as slow motion or fading out, the video management system may automatically apply such special effects to appropriate shots or present reminders to video shooters for doing so." (Pribula, paragraph [0052]). These are generic effect type names (e.g., "slow motion or fading out"), not "an identifier of a specific filter". Pribula's template specifies categories of effects, not identifiers that identify specific filters, specific audio tracks, or specific text, as claimed in claim 1 as amended.
Pribula also does not teach "the at least one feature is applied based on the constraint to a video clip being recorded for the second video item." Pribula describes "the video management system may automatically apply such special effects to appropriate shots" (Pribula, paragraph [0052]). This describes automatic application of generic template-specified effects, not application of a feature based on a constraint (such as an identifier of a specific filter, an identifier of a specific audio track, or a string of characters of a text) that identifies the feature to be inherited from the first video item.
(original with added emphases)
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Pribula teaches during recording the first video item, a corresponding template defining at least one feature representation placeholder for each shot, e.g., at least defining a specific color filter such as “sepia” or “black and white” (Pribula, [0050]) or a specific soundtrack “Harlem Shake” (Pribula, [0047]) is derived to be used when a second video item is recorded using the template (Pribula, Fig. 5 - steps 504 and 510). Each of “sepia” or “black and white” filters has a corresponding specific identifier such as “sepia” or “black and white”, etc. and each of the soundtracks has a specific identifier such as “Harlem Shake”, “What a Wonderful World”, etc.
Further, Examiner respectfully submits that feature representation placeholder for that filter comprises a corresponding constraint, e.g. “sebia” filter is associated with a constraint that limits the colors to sebia color while “black and white” filter is associated with a constraint that the colors are limited to only black and white, etc., or defining a specific soundtrack (thus specifying an identifier for the soundtrack such as “What a Wonderful World” or “Harlem Shake”, etc. Then, during recording the second video item, in response to the user selecting at least one UI element to keep the color filter or the soundtrack specified by the template for a particular shot, thus making the color filter or the soundtrack of the shot inherited from the first video item, then the color filter is applied to limit the colors based on the constraint, e.g. if inheriting “black and white” color filter, the filter is applied such as the colors of the shot are limited to black and white or the soundtrack with its constraints is kept.
On page 10, Applicant further argues that,
Pribula further does not teach inheriting features from the first video item. Pribula describes: "Each newly recorded shot could automatically be inserted into the template structure, which would already contain all pre-determined video editing information." (Pribula, paragraph [0051]). This describes inserting new shots into a template structure, not inheriting specific features from the first video item into the second video item.
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that the emphasized text above clearly shows Pribula teaches inheriting specific features from the first video item into the second video item because the pre-determined video editing information are specified in the template generated from the first video item as shown in step 504 of Fig. 5. If the user selects to keep original editing information, the editing information is inherited in step 510 while the second video item is recorded.
As such, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pribula (US 2015/0318020 A1 – hereinafter Pribula).
Regarding claim 1, Pribula discloses a method comprising: obtaining a feature template of a first video item, the feature template identifying a plurality of features of the first video item (Fig. 5 – step 504 – obtaining and storing a template comprising, metadata identifying a plurality of features of a first video montage as further described at least in [0048]); receiving a user request to create a second video item based on the first video item ([0054]; Fig. 5 – step 506 receiving a user request to use the template to create a second video montage, thus based on the first video montage); and in response to the user request to create the second video item based on the first video item, presenting, in a video creation user interface (UI), one or more feature representation placeholders each corresponding to a UI element displaying information about a feature of the plurality of features identified by the feature template of the first video item ([0051]-[0052] – in response to the user request to create the second video montage, presenting a user interface, one or more feature representation placeholders, e.g. one or more shots that the user can interacts with during recording, wherein each shot displays information about at least a length of the shot identified by the template); while the second video item is being recorded, receiving user input selecting at least one feature representation placeholder of the one or more feature representation placeholders ([0043] – while the second video item, i.e. the video montage being created, is being recorded, receiving a user selecting at least one feature representation placeholder representing a corresponding shot to add or modify background music, effects, etc.), and that displays information about at least one respective feature identified by the feature template of the first video item (Fig. 8; [0051]-[0052]; [0072] – displaying at least a length of the shot); and in response to the user selecting at least one UI element, causing the second video item to inherit, from the first video item, at least one feature corresponding to the at least one feature representation placeholder associated with the selected at least one UI element, wherein the at least one feature representation placeholder comprises a constraint that identifies the at least one feature to be inherited from the first video item, wherein the at least one feature is applied based on the constraint to a video clip being recorded for the second video item ([0050]-[0052]; [0072]; Fig. 8 – the template defines at least one feature representation placeholder for each shot, e.g., at least defining a specific color filter such as “sepia” or “black and white” derived from recording of the first video item, comprising a corresponding constraint, e.g. “sebia” filter is associated with a constraint that limits the colors to sebia color while “black and white” filter is associated with a constraint that the colors are limited to only back and white, etc., or defining a specific soundtrack, etc. and during recording the second video item, in response to the user selecting at least one UI element to keep the color filter specified by the template for a particular shot, thus making the color filter of the shot inherited from the first video item, then the color filter is applied to limit the colors based on the constraint, e.g. if inheriting “black and white” color filter, the filter is applied such as the colors of the shot are limited to black and white), and wherein the constraint comprises at least one of: an identifier of a specific filter, an identifier of a specific audio track, or a string of characters of a text ([0045]; [0048]; [0050]-[0052] – at least the constraint comprises at least a specific filter such as “sepia” or “black and white” or a specific sound track, the identifier of which corresponds to the identifier of a specific audio track).
Regarding claim 2, Pribula also discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of features includes at least one of: an audio of the first video item, a text of the first video item, a segment characteristic of the first video item, or a visual effect of the first video item ([0045]; [0051]-[0052]; [0072] – song and background music, title or subtitle, length of a segment, visual effect of the first video montage).
Regarding claim 3, Pribula also discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each of the one or more feature representation placeholders comprises attributes of a corresponding feature ([0051]-[0052]; [0072] – comprising attributes of a corresponding feature inherited from the first video montage).
Regarding claim 4, Pribula also discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the attributes of the corresponding feature comprise an identifier of the corresponding feature, a constraint of the corresponding feature, a designated location for the corresponding feature, and information to be displayed about the corresponding feature ([0051]-[0052]; [0072] – at least identifier of a sound track or a specific color filter, length constraint of the feature such as length of the shot during which the color filter is applied, length of the sound track, current recorded location of the specific sound track, and information displayed to inform user of which color filter or sound track is to be applied).
Regarding claim 5, Pribula also discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the video creation UI presents a thumbnail of the first video item along with the one or more feature representation placeholders ([0038] - displaying a small video thumbnail bar and continuously updating and highlighting the region of thumbnails representing shots being kept for a montage).
Regarding claim 6, Pribula also discloses the method of claim 1, wherein causing the second video item to inherit, from the first video item, at least one feature corresponding to the at least one feature representation placeholder comprises: recording, for a duration associated with the at least one feature representation placeholder, the video clip for the second video item ([0052] – recording a shot for the second video montage for a duration indicated by the progress bar); and adding the corresponding at least one feature to the recorded video clip ([0051]-[0052] – adding visual effects).
Regarding claim 7, Pribula also discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising: presenting the recorded video clip with the corresponding at least one feature to be inherited from the first video item ([0051]-[0052] – presenting the recorded video clip with a feature being inherited from the first video montage as identified in the template); and allowing a user to modify the corresponding at least one feature for the recorded video clip ([0051]-[0052] – allowing a user to modify by replacing or adding the feature, i.e. adding a visual effect otherwise the effect of the first video montage is kept, or replacing a shot otherwise, the shot is kept).
Claim 8 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 above in view of Pribula also disclosing a system comprising: a processing device to perform the operations (Fig. 2; Fig. 9; [0087]-[0091] – a computer system comprising one or more processors executing code stored in a memory to perform the operations).
Claim 9 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 2 above.
Claim 10 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 3 above.
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 4 above.
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 5 above.
Claim 13 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 6 above.
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 7 above.
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 above in view of Pribula also disclosing a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, responsive to execution by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform the operations (Fig. 2; Fig. 9; [0087]-[0091] – a memory storing code to be executed by one or more processors to perform the operations).
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 2 above.
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 3 above.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 4 above.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 5 above.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 6 above.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484