Status of Claims
Receipt is acknowledged of Claims, filed on 07/08/2026, which has been placed of record and entered in the file.
Status of the claims:
Claims 1, 5, and 8-11 are pending for examination.
Claims 2-4, and 6-7 is canceled.
Claims 1 is currently amended.
New claim 11 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bodin et al. (US 20220112638 A1) in view of Heinrich (US 5173154 A), and in further view of Aspgren et al. (US 20180271146 A9).
Attention is directed to Applicants use of alternative language, “or” which means that only one of the requirements (A or B) is needed to meet the claim, In this instance case, the office is only required to meet the requirement of option A - ranges of 2.2-3mm and 140-155 °C.
Regarding claim 1, Bodin discloses a method of packaging a nicotine pouch (Abstract: “a packaging material for use in an oral pouched snuff product”) comprising:
forming a longitudinal seal and a cross seal of a packaging material ([0094]-[0095]: “longitudinal seal and the transverse seals”) of a packaging material ([0074], [0082]),
wherein the packaging material comprises soft pulp ([0050]: “The fibres of the first type, which may be dispensed with, may be natural cellulose fibres or a man-made cellulose-based fibres….see also [0035] “fibres of the first type may be selected to be soft,…), and polypropylene (PP)/polyethylene (PE) ([0063], [0095]), and
a sealing temperature at which the longitudinal seal and the cross seal are formed ranges from 140°C to 155°C ([0095]: Bodin teaches a broader range of longitudinal and transversal seals set at 160 °C…and that seal temperature is chosen from the material’s melting point. PE melts at 110-150°C [0094] and “the second type may have a melting point within the range of 110-150° C.” [0060]),
Bodin does not expressly teach 55 to 65 wt% of soft pulp, and 35 to 45 wt% of polypropylene (PP)/polyethylene (PE)
Heinrich in a related invention teaches tea bag paper comprises a first phase of natural fibers in a weight percentage of from 60% to 85%, and a second phase of heat-sealable synthetic fibers with the remainder of the weight percentage of from 15% to 40% (Abstract and Col 2 lines 17-29; Heinrich teaches 60% to 85% which overlaps the claimed range of 55 to 65, and 15 to 40% for the PP/PE which overlaps the claimed range of 35 to 45). Heinrich further teaches natural fibers, such as hemp, Manila hemp, jute, sisal and others, as well as long-fiber wood pulp may be used for the first layer. Preferred materials for the second layer of heat-sealable fibers are polyethylene, polypropylene or copolymers of vinyl chloride and vinyl acetate (Col 2 lines 42-47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bodin by incorporating the percent weight of the pulp and PP/PE as taught by Heinrich in order to obtain a light weight, heat-sealable web with substantially enhanced diffusion that can be processed on high-speed automatic machines (Abstract). Additionally, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 55 to 65 wt% of soft pulp, and 35 to 45 wt% of polypropylene (PP)/polyethylene (PE), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Routine optimization to the precise claimed range is obvious and an obvious matter of design choice since applicants have not disclosed that the specific ranges solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well given applicants own data and claimed ranges.
Bodin as modified by Heinrich does not teach the longitudinal seal and the cross seal have a width of 2.2 mm to 3 mm.
Aspgren teaches a longitudinal seal and the cross seal have a width of 2.2 mm to 3 mm ([0108]-[0109]; “transverse fin seams each one having a width of about 2 to 3 mm…. a longitudinal fin seam having a width of 2 to 4 mm” which falls in the range of 2-3mm and therefore meets the limitation…see also [0101] and [0105]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bodin as modified by incorporating sealing widths as taught by Aspgren in order to allow for more tidier, more visually appealing and more discrete seals ([0102]).
Bodin as modified further does not disclose the specific range of sealing temperature are formed ranges from 140℃ to 155℃.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sealing temperature at which the longitudinal seal and the cross seal are formed ranges from 140℃ to 155℃, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The 160℃ is adjacent to the claimed range (<=5℃); routine optimization to the precise claimed range is obvious and an obvious matter of design choice since applicant has not disclosed that the specific range of 140℃ to 155℃, solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a range of 140℃ to 155℃ given applicants own data and former claimed ranges.
Bodin as modified further teaches:
Regarding claim 5, Bodin discloses the longitudinal seal but is silent regarding wherein the longitudinal seal is sealed by a lap seal method.
Aspergen in a related invention teaches the longitudinal seal being sealed by a lap seal method ([0086], [0101], [0104] and [0105]; Fig. 2a-2c).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bodin as modified by incorporating a lap seal method as taught by Aspergen in order to allow for reduced film consumption and improved aesthetics.
Regarding claim 8, wherein the longitudinal seal and the cross seal have a seal strength of 0.2 newtons per millimeter (N/mm) or greater ([0069] of Bodin).
Regarding claim 9, A nicotine pouch manufactured by the method of packaging a nicotine pouch of claim 1 (Abstract of Bodin: “packaging material for use in an oral pouched snuff product”).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the longitudinal seal and the cross seal have a width of 2.2 mm to 3 mm (Aspergen-[0108]-[0109]; “transverse fin seams each one having a width of about 2 to 3 mm…. a longitudinal fin seam having a width of 2 to 4 mm” which falls in the range of 2-3mm and therefore meets the limitation…see also [0101] and [0105]) but Bodin as modified does not teach the sealing temperature at which the longitudinal seal and the cross seal are formed ranges from 140°C to 150C (Note: Bodin teaches a range up to 160°C and teaches that seal temperature is set to material melting point. PE melts at 110-150°C, preferably 120-140°C [0063]-[0063], [0094]-[0095]).
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sealing temperature at which the longitudinal seal and the cross seal are formed ranges from 140℃ to 150℃, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The 160℃ is adjacent to the claimed range; routine optimization to the precise claimed range is obvious and an obvious matter of design choice through routine experimentation and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a range of 140℃ to 150℃ given applicants own data and former claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 11, wherein the longitudinal seal and the cross seal have a width of 2.5 mm to 3 mm (Aspergen-[0108]-[0109]; “transverse fin seams each one having a width of about 2 to 3 mm…. a longitudinal fin seam having a width of 2 to 4 mm” which falls in the range of 2-3mm and therefore meets the limitation…see also [0101] and [0105]) but Bodin as modified does not teach the sealing temperature at which the longitudinal seal and the cross seal are formed ranges from 140°C to 155°C (Note: Bodin teaches a range up to 160 and teaches that seal temperature is set to material melting point. PE melts at 110-150 [0063]-[0064], [0094]-[0095]).
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sealing temperature at which the longitudinal seal and the cross seal are formed ranges from 140℃ to 155℃, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The 160℃ is adjacent to the claimed range; routine optimization to the precise claimed range is obvious and an obvious matter of design choice through routine experimentation and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a range of 140℃ to 155℃ given applicants own data and former claimed ranges.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination used in the current rejection that is due to the newly added claim amendments.
Applicant has amended claim 1 and therefore the Bodin in view of Persson reference for the 103 rejection no longer applies. Application of Bodin in view of Heinrich and Aspgren is now relied upon for teaching the newly added subject matter of claim 1. Please see the new rejection above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sebastian et al. (US 20220386689 A1) shows a method of packaging a nicotine pouch ([0017], [0073]) of a packaging material ([0026]-[0027]), wherein the packaging material comprises soft pulp and polypropylene (PP)/polyethylene (PE) ([0009], [0012], [0044] [0050]), and a sealing temperature at which the longitudinal seal and the cross seal ([0073], [0067])
Williams (US 9820507 B2) shows a method of packaging a nicotine pouch (10) includes a pouch wrapper formed of a web having a longitudinal integrated fin and lap seal. The pouch wrapper contains a filling material including tobacco material and optional additives.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS IGBOKWE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/ANDREW M TECCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731