DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Receipt is acknowledged of RCE, filed on 03/16/2026, which has been placed of record and entered in the file.
Status of the claims:
Claims 1-5, and 8-10 are pending for examination.
Claims 6-7 is canceled.
Claims 1 is currently amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bodin et al. (US 20220112638 A1) in view of Persson et al. (US 20180255826 A1).
Attention is directed to Applicants use of alternative language, “or” which means that only one of the requirements (A or B) is needed to meet the claim, In this instance case, the office is only required to meet the requirement of option A - ranges of 2-3mm and 140-155 °C.
Regarding claim 1, Bodin discloses a method of packaging a nicotine pouch (Abstract: “a packaging material for use in an oral pouched snuff product”) by forming a longitudinal seal and a cross seal ([0094]-[0095]: “longitudinal seal and the transverse seals”) of a packaging material ([0074]), the method comprising:
wherein the packaging material comprises pulp ([0050]: “The fibres of the first type, which may be dispensed with, may be natural cellulose fibres or a man-made cellulose-based fibres), and a thermoplastic resin fiber ([0033]: “The fibres of the second type are thermoplastic fibres”),
a sealing temperature at which the longitudinal seal and the cross seal are formed ranges from 140℃ to 155℃ ([0095]: Bodin teaches a broader range of longitudinal and transversal seals set at 160 °C).
Bodin doesn’t teach the longitudinal seal, and the cross seal have a width of 2 millimeters (mm) to 3 mm.
Persson in a related invention teaches the longitudinal seal and the cross seal have a width of 2 millimeters (mm) to 3 mm ([0033] “each pouch comprising a first elongated seal and a second elongated seal, each of said first elongated seal and a second elongated seal having a seal length extending along the transverse direction of the product and a seal width extending along the longitudinal direction of the product, the seal width being equal to or less than 2 mm, such as within the range of from 0.1 mm to 2 mm” which falls in the range of 2-3mm and therefore meets the limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bodin by incorporating sealing widths as taught by Persson in order to allow for the formation of strong, reliable seals without unnecessarily widening the seal area, and the pouch will thus lack protruding unsealed edges which may affect how densely the products spontaneously will pack when randomly filled into an interior container space (Perrson: [0032]).
Bodin in view of Persson does not disclose the specific range of sealing temperature are formed ranges from 140℃ to 155℃.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sealing temperature at which the longitudinal seal and the cross seal are formed ranges from 140℃ to 155℃, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The 160℃ is adjacent to the claimed range (<=5℃); routine optimization to the precise claimed range is obvious and an obvious matter of design choice since applicant has not disclosed that the specific range of 140℃ to 155℃, solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a range of 140℃ to 160℃ given applicants own data and former claimed ranges.
Bodin in view of Persson further teaches:
Regarding claim 2, wherein the pulp comprises soft pulp ([0038] of Bodin), and the thermoplastic resin fiber comprises polypropylene (PP)/polyethylene (PE) ([0063] of Bodin).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the packaging material comprises 50 to 80% by weight (wt%) of soft pulp, and 20 to 50 wt% of PP/PE ([0046]-[0048] of Bodin teaches ranges that all fall within the range as required by the claim and therefore meets the limitation).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the packaging material comprises 55 to 65 wt% of soft pulp, and 35 to 45 wt% of PP/PE ([0048] of Bodin teaches ranges that all fall within the range as required by the claim and therefore meets the limitation).
Regarding claim 5, Bodin discloses the longitudinal seal but is silent regarding wherein the longitudinal seal is sealed by a lap seal method.
Persson in a related invention teaches the longitudinal seal being sealed by a lap seal method ([0061], [0174] and [0063]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bodin by incorporating sealing widths as taught by Persson in order to allow for reduced film consumption and improved aesthetics.
Regarding claim 8, wherein the longitudinal seal and the cross seal have a seal strength of 0.2 newtons per millimeter (N/mm) or greater ([0069] of Bodin).
Regarding claim 9, A nicotine pouch manufactured by the method of packaging a nicotine pouch of claim 1 (Abstract of Bodin: “packaging material for use in an oral pouched snuff product”).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the longitudinal seal and the cross seal have a width of 2 mm to 3 mm ([0033] of Persson), but Bodin as modified does not teach the sealing temperature at which the longitudinal seal and the cross seal are formed ranges from 140°C to 150C (Note: Bodin teaches a range up to 160).
However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sealing temperature at which the longitudinal seal and the cross seal are formed ranges from 140℃ to 150℃, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The 160℃ is adjacent to the claimed range; routine optimization to the precise claimed range is obvious and an obvious matter of design choice through routine experimentation and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a range of 140℃ to 160℃ given applicants own data and former claimed ranges.
Response to Arguments
Rejection under 35 USC 103:
Applicant's arguments, see pages 4-5 of the Remarks, filed on 09/03/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
(a) Applicant argues that the Bodin does not teach the numerical ranges of sealing temperature of 140-155 degrees, and that it would have been based on improper hindsight to do so.
This is not found persuasive because It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sealing temperature at which the longitudinal seal and the cross seal are formed ranges from 140℃ to 155℃, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The 160℃ is adjacent to the claimed range (<=5℃); routine optimization to the precise claimed range is obvious and an obvious matter of design choice since applicant has not disclosed that the specific range of 140℃ to 155℃, solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a range of 140℃ to 160℃ given applicants own data and former claimed ranges. This is not hindsight because A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to form the longitudinal and cross seals of the PP/PE-containing nonwoven material disclosed in Bodin at a sealing temperature of 140–155°C (instead of the exemplified 160°C) because: the reference expressly teaches selecting temperature with reference to the melting point of the thermoplastic fibres (see atleast [0039], [0059]-[0061] and [0095]); 160°C is disclosed as a working example for the identical PP/PE material and not rigid, critical value but rather a practical operating temperature chosen to ensure adequate seal strength; optimizing temperature slightly lower is a routine adjustment to ensure melting/softening for seal strength, as recognized in the reference and confirmed by applicant’s own results at the range upto 155°C.
Thus, the claimed temperature range of 140–155°C for the 2–3 mm seal embodiment is rendered obvious by the 160°C teaching in Bodin.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS E IGBOKWE/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/ANDREW M TECCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731