Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,039,606 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that claims 1-20 are included in and can be gleaned from claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent no. 11,039,606 B2.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,971 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims are broader and all of the current claim limitations are found in the patented claims.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,758,892 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims are broader and all of the current claim limitations are found in the patented claims.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,102,074 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims are broader and all of the current claim limitations are found in the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by White (US2150088A).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 20, White discloses a fishing apparatus (“fishing rod assembly” claim 11) (“fishing reel” claim 20), comprising: a rod (page 1, column 1, lines 36-44); a reel (Figure 1) coupled with the rod, a body (1, 2); Figure 1) defining a first end (2) and a second end (1); a spool (21) extending between the first end (1) and the second end (2); a drive (“spool drive mechanism” claim 11) (32, 8) configured to receive an input torque at the first end (1), and drive the spool (21) through a coupling at the second end (2), wherein the drive (32, 8) comprises a gear (“gear set” claim 20) (39, 37) positioned at least partially within an inner volume of the spool (21); and an output shaft (8), wherein the output shaft (8) is configured to receive an output torque from the gear (8).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, White discloses wherein the spool (21) comprises a spool shaft (22-24; Figure 1) having a central bore, the spool shaft (22-24) positioned centrally within the spool (21).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, White discloses wherein the output shaft (8) extends through the central bore of the spool shaft (22-24), the output shaft (8) selectably rotatably coupled with the spool (21; page 1, column 2, lines 38-52; page 2, column 2, lines 32-50).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, White discloses wherein the drive (“spool drive mechanism”) (32, 8) comprises a spool engagement mechanism (14, 19, 27, 28) at an end of the spool shaft (22-24) that is proximate the second end (2) of the body (1, 2), the spool engagement mechanism (14, 19, 27, 28) configured to transition between a first state (page 2, column 2, lines 32-50, positive connection) to fixedly couple the spool (21) with the output shaft (8) so that the spool (21) and the output shaft (8) rotate in unison and a second state (page 2, column 2, lines 32-50, slippage connection) to de-couple the spool (21) from the output shaft (8) so that the spool (21) and the output shaft (8) are configured to rotate relative to each other.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, White discloses wherein the spool engagement mechanism (14, 19, 27, 28) comprises: an engagement member (14, 19) configured to translate along the output shaft (8) between a first position (positive connection) and a second position (slippage connection), the engagement member (14, 19) fixedly coupled with the output shaft (8) and comprising an interfacing portion (27, 28) configured to engage an interfacing portion (23) of the spool shaft (22-24), wherein the interfacing portion (27, 28) of the engagement member (14, 19) and the interfacing portion (23) of the spool shaft (22-24) are configured to interlock with each other to rotatably fixedly couple the output shaft (22-24) with the spool (21) so that the output shaft (8) and the spool (21) rotate in unison when the engagement member (14, 19) is in the first position (positive connection position).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, White discloses wherein the drive (“spool drive mechanism” claim 19) (32, 8) receives the input torque from an input shaft (32) rotatably coupled to the spool (21).
Regarding claim 10, White discloses wherein the input shaft (32) is rotatably coupled with a handle (33; Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White in view of Long (US1980345A).
Regarding claims 6-8 and 16-18, White discloses the fishing apparatus and fishing rod assembly above, but fails to teach wherein the engagement member comprises an annular groove configured to receive a corresponding portion of a linkage; wherein the spool engagement mechanism further comprises a spring configured to bias the engagement member into the first position; wherein the linkage is positioned at the second end of the body, the linkage configured to receive a user input to transition the engagement member between the first position and the second position.
Long teaches a similar fishing reel and further teaches wherein the engagement member (12; Figure 1) comprises an annular groove (12b) configured to receive a corresponding portion of a linkage (14); wherein the spool engagement mechanism (5a, 12a, 12b, 12) further comprises a spring (13) configured to bias the engagement member (12) into the first position; wherein the linkage (14) is positioned at the second end (left side in Figure 1) of the body (1), the linkage (14) configured to receive a user input to transition the engagement member (12) between the first position (page 1, line 38-66 engaged) and the second position (release). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fishing apparatus and fishing rod assembly of White to include the spring and linkage as taught by Long in order to allow the engagement member to normally maintain pressure against the spool shaft without the need of making adjustments to a screw member to permit rotation of the spool and to further allow the engagement member to be released from the spool shaft to permit free spool with a quick response of the user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619