Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable
over Claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,039,606 B2 (hereinafter ‘606) in view of King (US2162726A);
over Claims 3-9, 12-18, 21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,971 B2 (hereinafter ‘971) in view of King (US2162726A);
over Claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,758,892 B2 (hereinafter ‘892) in view of King (US2162726A);
over Claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,102,074 B2 (hereinafter ‘074) in view of King (US2162726A);
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 20,
claims 1, 8, and 15 of patent ‘606 recites;
claims 3 (which depends on claims 1 and 2), 12 (which depends on claims 10 and 11), and 21 of patent ‘971 recites;
claims 1, 8 and 15 of patent ‘892 recites;
claims 1 and 11 of patent ‘074 recites;
(claims 1, 11, and 20) recites a fishing apparatus, fishing rod assembly, a fishing reel, comprising: a body defining a first (“proximate”; “handle”) end and a second (“distal”) end; a spool extending between the first end and the second end; a drive (“spool drive mechanism”) configured to receive an input torque at the first end, and drive the spool through a coupling at the second end, wherein the drive comprises a (“gear set”) positioned at least partially within an inner volume of the spool; and an output shaft, wherein the output shaft is configured to receive an output torque from the (“gear set”), but lacks a plurality of planet gears positioned at least partially within an inner volume of the spool; and wherein the output shaft is configured to receive an output torque from the plurality of planet gears. King teaches a similar fishing reel and further teaches a plurality of planet gears (39; Figures 1-2) positioned at least partially within an inner volume of the spool (7, 10); and wherein the output shaft (43) is configured to receive an output torque from the plurality of planet gears (39). It would have been obvious to modify claims 1, 8, and 15 of patent ‘606; claims 3, 12, and 21 of patent ‘971; claims 1, 8, and 15 of patent ‘892; and claims 1 and 11 of patent ‘074 to include the plurality of planet gears as taught by King in order to evenly and efficiently distribute the torque from the crank to the output shaft, allow for higher torque, and provide smoother operation.
Regarding claims 2-10 and 12-19,
claims 1-14 of patent ‘606 recites;
claims 3-9, 12-18 and 21 of patent ‘971 recites;
claims 1-20 of patent ‘892 recites;
claims 2-10 and 12-20 of patent ‘074 recites;
(claims 2 and 12) wherein the spool comprises a spool shaft having a central bore, the spool shaft positioned centrally within the spool.
(claims 3 and 13) wherein the output shaft extends through the central bore of the spool shaft, the output shaft selectably rotatably coupled with the spool.
(claims 4 and 14) wherein the drive comprises a spool engagement mechanism at an end of the spool shaft that is proximate the second end of the body, the spool engagement mechanism configured to transition between a first state to fixedly couple the spool with the output shaft so that the spool and the output shaft rotate in unison and a second state to de-couple the spool from the output shaft so that the spool and the output shaft are configured to rotate relative to each other.
(claims 5 and 15) wherein the spool engagement mechanism comprises: an engagement member configured to translate along the output shaft between a first position and a second position, the engagement member fixedly coupled with the output shaft and comprising an interfacing portion configured to engage an interfacing portion of the spool shaft, wherein the interfacing portion of the engagement member and the interfacing portion of the spool shaft are configured to interlock with each other to rotatably fixedly couple the output shaft with the spool so that the output shaft and the spool rotate in unison when the engagement member is in the first position.
(claims 6 and 16) wherein the engagement member comprises an annular groove configured to receive a corresponding portion of a linkage.
(claims 7 and 17) wherein the spool engagement mechanism further comprises a spring configured to bias the engagement member into the first position.
(claims 8 and 18) wherein the linkage is positioned at the second end of the body, the linkage configured to receive a user input to transition the engagement member between the first position and the second position.
(claims 9 and 19) wherein the spool drive mechanism receives the input torque from an input shaft rotatably coupled to the spool.
(claim 10) wherein the input shaft is rotatably coupled with a handle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US2150088A) in view of King (US2162726A).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 20, White discloses a fishing apparatus (“fishing rod assembly” claim 11) (“fishing reel” claim 20), comprising: a rod (page 1, column 1, lines 36-44); a reel (Figure 1) coupled with the rod, a body (1, 2); Figure 1) defining a first end (2) and a second end (1); a spool (21) extending between the first end (1) and the second end (2); a drive (“spool drive mechanism” claim 11) (32, 8) configured to receive an input torque at the first end (2), and drive the spool (21) through a coupling at the second end (1), wherein the drive (32, 8) comprises a gear (“gear set” claim 20) (39, 37) positioned at least partially within an inner volume of the spool (21); and an output shaft (8), wherein the output shaft (8) is configured to receive an output torque from the gear (8), but fails to teach a plurality of planet gears positioned at least partially within an inner volume of the spool; and wherein the output shaft is configured to receive an output torque from the plurality of planet gears.
King teaches a similar fishing reel and further teaches a plurality of planet gears (39; Figures 1-2) positioned at least partially within an inner volume of the spool (7, 10); and wherein the output shaft (43) is configured to receive an output torque from the plurality of planet gears (39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fishing apparatus and fishing rod assembly of White to include the plurality of planet gears as taught by King in order to evenly and efficiently distribute the torque from the crank to the output shaft, allow for higher torque, and provide smoother operation.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, White discloses wherein the spool (21) comprises a spool shaft (22-24; Figure 1) having a central bore, the spool shaft (22-24) positioned centrally within the spool (21).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, White discloses wherein the output shaft (8) extends through the central bore of the spool shaft (22-24), the output shaft (8) selectably rotatably coupled with the spool (21; page 1, column 2, lines 38-52; page 2, column 2, lines 32-50).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, White discloses wherein the drive (“spool drive mechanism”) (32, 8) comprises a spool engagement mechanism (14, 19, 27, 28) at an end of the spool shaft (22-24) that is proximate the second end (1) of the body (1, 2), the spool engagement mechanism (14, 19, 27, 28) configured to transition between a first state (page 2, column 2, lines 32-50, positive connection) to fixedly couple the spool (21) with the output shaft (8) so that the spool (21) and the output shaft (8) rotate in unison and a second state (page 2, column 2, lines 32-50, slippage connection) to de-couple the spool (21) from the output shaft (8) so that the spool (21) and the output shaft (8) are configured to rotate relative to each other.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, White discloses wherein the spool engagement mechanism (14, 19, 27, 28) comprises: an engagement member (14, 19) configured to translate along the output shaft (8) between a first position (positive connection) and a second position (slippage connection), the engagement member (14, 19) fixedly coupled with the output shaft (8) and comprising an interfacing portion (27, 28) configured to engage an interfacing portion (23) of the spool shaft (22-24), wherein the interfacing portion (27, 28) of the engagement member (14, 19) and the interfacing portion (23) of the spool shaft (22-24) are configured to interlock with each other to rotatably fixedly couple the output shaft (22-24) with the spool (21) so that the output shaft (8) and the spool (21) rotate in unison when the engagement member (14, 19) is in the first position (positive connection position).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, White discloses wherein the drive (“spool drive mechanism” claim 19) (32, 8) receives the input torque from an input shaft (32) rotatably coupled to the spool (21).
Regarding claim 10, White discloses wherein the input shaft (32) is rotatably coupled with a handle (33; Figure 1).
Claim(s) 6-8 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White, in view of King, and in further view of Long (US1980345A).
Regarding claims 6-8 and 16-18, modified White discloses the fishing apparatus and fishing rod assembly above, but fails to teach wherein the engagement member comprises an annular groove configured to receive a corresponding portion of a linkage; wherein the spool engagement mechanism further comprises a spring configured to bias the engagement member into the first position; wherein the linkage is positioned at the second end of the body, the linkage configured to receive a user input to transition the engagement member between the first position and the second position.
Long teaches a similar fishing reel and further teaches wherein the engagement member (12; Figure 1) comprises an annular groove (12b) configured to receive a corresponding portion of a linkage (14); wherein the spool engagement mechanism (5a, 12a, 12b, 12) further comprises a spring (13) configured to bias the engagement member (12) into the first position; wherein the linkage (14) is positioned at the second end (left side in Figure 1) of the body (1), the linkage (14) configured to receive a user input to transition the engagement member (12) between the first position (page 1, line 38-66 engaged) and the second position (release). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fishing apparatus and fishing rod assembly of White to include the spring and linkage as taught by Long in order to allow the engagement member to normally maintain pressure against the spool shaft without the need of making adjustments to a screw member to permit rotation of the spool and to further allow the engagement member to be released from the spool shaft to permit free spool with a quick response of the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 with respect to claims 1, 11, and 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the nonstatutory double patenting rejection of claims 1-20, in paragraphs 4-5 of page 6, the applicant argued that amendments made to claims 1, 11, and 20 overcome the double patenting rejection.
The examiner construed that the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is maintained by the obviousness double patenting rejection in view of the disclosure of King to teach the deficiencies of patent ‘606, ‘971, ‘892, and ‘074 as described above.
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 20, in the last two lines of page 6, in page 7, and in the first three paragraphs of page 8, the applicant argued the disclosures of White and Long fail to teach a drive configured to receive an input torque at the first end, and drive the spool through a coupling at the second end, wherein the drive comprises a plurality of planet gears positioned at least partially within an inner volume of the spool.
The examiner construed that the disclosure of White teaches a drive configured to receive an input torque at the first end (crank handle side; Figure 1) through a set of gears, and drive the spool through a friction coupling at the second end (left side of reel). The examiner agrees that the disclosures of White and Long fail to teach wherein the drive comprises a plurality of planet gears positioned at least partially within an inner volume of the spool. However, the disclosure of King teaches the deficiencies of White as described above. Thus, contradicting to applicant’s assertions, such amendment does not overcome the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654