DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-9 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
2. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claim(s) 1-9 does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because of the reasons set forth below.
Claims 1-9 recite a “computer-readable medium.” Applicant’s specification, in pages 4-5 paragraphs [0014]-0015], discloses: Computer storage media includes, but is not limited to, RAM, ROM, EEPROM, flash memory or other memory technology, CD-ROM, digital versatile disks (DVD) or other optical storage, magnetic cassettes, magnetic tape, magnetic disk storage or other magnetic storage devices, or any other medium which can be used to store the desired information and which can be accessed by device 100. Therefore, “machine-readable media” may be transitory, which is nonstatutory…The term computer-readable media as used herein includes both storage media and communication media. As such, “computer-readable medium” recited in claims 1-9 is not limited to a non-transitory embodiment or statutory subject matter.
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No.11,665,249 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant application claim 1-9 are anticipated by patent claims 1-9.
Claim 1 of the above patent recites every element of claim 1 of the instant application.
Claim 1 of the above patent recites every element of claim 1 of the instant application.
Claim 2 of the above patent recites every element of claim 2 of the instant application.
Claim 3 of the above patent recites every element of claim 3 of the instant application.
Claim 4 of the above patent recites every element of claim 4 of the instant application.
Claim 5 of the above patent recites every element of claim 5 of the instant application.
Claim 6 of the above patent recites every element of claim 6 of the instant application.
Claim 7 of the above patent recites every element of claim 7 of the instant application.
Claim 8 of the above patent recites every element of claim 8 of the instant application.
Claim 9 of the above patent recites every element of claim 9 of the instant application.
Therefore, claims 1-9 of the above patent are in essence a “species” of the generic invention of claims 1-9 of the instant application. It has been held that a generic invention is anticipated by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clemenson, US 2012/0316930 A1, in view of Zanghi et al. (hereafter, “Zanghi”), US 10,423,934 B1.
Regarding claim 1, Clemenson teaches at least one computer-readable medium on which are stored instructions that, when executed by one or more processing devices, enable the one or more processing devices to perform a method (i.e., computer instructions are executed using one or more processors and can be stored in non-volatile storage medium, Fig. 4 and page 7 paragraph [0148]), the method comprising the steps of:
providing over a network a request for first information from a second service provider at a job site characterizing a first service provided by a first service provider at the job site (i.e., once their work is completed on a room, the owner or general contractor 108 may request an inspection of the work a subcontractor performed, Fig. 1 and page 6 paragraph [0118]);
receiving over the network from the second service provider the first information (i.e., for each of the plurality of areas, receiving, from an inspector that inspected the respective area, an inspection status associated with each inspection, Fig. 2 and page 6 paragraph [0126]).
Clemenson does not explicitly teach providing over the network a request for second information from a third service provider at the job site characterizing a second service provided by the second service provider at the job site; and receiving over the network from the third service provider the second information.
Zanghi teaches providing over the network a request for second information from a third service provider at the job site characterizing a second service provided by the second service provider at the job site (i.e., upon completion of a serving task by a first technician, the auditing module 218 can instruct/request a second technician to review the vehicle after servicing to evaluate the performance of the first technician, Fig. 2 and col. 9 lines 60-63); and receiving over the network from the third service provider the second information (i.e., receive a third indication associated with the performance of the technician, col. 23 lines 31-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Clemenson to provide over the network a request for second information from a third service provider at the job site characterizing a second service provided by the second service provider at the job site; and receive over the network from the third service provider the second information, as taught by Zanghi. One would be motivated to allow the performance of the service provider(s) to be evaluated to determine a quality of the service performed by the service provider(s).
Regarding claim 2, Clemenson teaches the medium of claim 1, wherein the request for first information comprises one or more requests to characterize the provided first service (i.e., Inspection type, e.g., {Foundation, In Wall Closure, Framing, Pluming}, pages 3 paragraph [0050]-page 4 paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claim 3, Clemenson teaches the medium of claim 1, wherein the request for second information comprises one or more requests to characterize the provided second service (i.e., pages 3 paragraph [0050]-page 4 paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claim 8, Clemenson teaches the medium of claim 1, further comprising comparing the first information with previously received information characterizing the first service (i.e., Fig.2 and page 6 paragraphs [0121]- [0122]).
Regarding claim 9, Clemenson teaches the medium of claim 1, further comprising comparing the second information with previously received information characterizing the second service (i.e., Fig. 2 and page 6 paragraphs [0121]- [0122]).
.
5. Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clemenson as applied to claims 1, 2, and/or 3 above, and further in view of Jackson et al. (hereafter, “Jackson”), US 2018/0293669 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Clemenson teaches the medium of claim 2.
The combination of teachings of Clemenson and Zanghi does not explicitly teach further comprising selecting the one or more requests based on a reference code identifying the first service.
Jackson teaches selecting the one or more requests based on a reference code identifying the first service (i.e., Fig. 12 and page 11 paragraphs [0103]- [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combination of teachings of Clemenson and Zanghi, to select the one or more requests based on a reference code identifying the first service, as taught by Jackson. One would be motivated to do so to allow user to choose to categorize a review when the review is submitted (i.e., Jackson, page11 paragraph [0106]).
Regarding claim 5, Clemenson teaches the medium of claim 3.
The combination of teachings of Clemenson and Zanghi does not explicitly teach selecting the one or more requests based on a reference code identifying the second service.
Jackson teaches selecting the one or more requests based on a reference code identifying the second service (i.e., Fig. 12 and page 11 paragraphs [0103]- [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combination of teachings of Clemenson and Zanghi, selectin the one or more requests based on a reference code identifying the second service, as taught by Jackson. One would be motivated to do so to allow user to choose to categorize a review when the review is submitted (i.e., Jackson, page11 paragraph [0106]).
Regarding claim 6, Clemenson teaches the medium of claim 1.
The combination of teachings of Clemenson and Zanghi does not explicitly teach wherein the first information comprises one or more photographs of the job site.
Jackson teaches wherein the first information comprises one or more photographs of the job site (i.e., an area for the user to input images, page 11 paragraph [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combination of teachings of Clemenson and Zanghi, to comprise one or more photographs of the job site, as taught by Jackson because it was conventionally employed in the art for a completed work to be visually reviewed.
Regarding claim 7, Clemenson teaches the medium of claim 1.
The combination of teachings of Clemenson and Zanghi does not explicitly teach wherein the first information comprises one or more photographs of the job site.
Jackson teaches wherein the second information comprises one or more photographs of the job site (i.e., an area for the user to input images, page 11 paragraph [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combination of teachings of Clemenson and Zanghi, to comprise one or more photographs of the job site, as taught by Jackson because it was conventionally employed in the art for a completed work to be visually reviewed.
/OANH DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2441