DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-17 are currently pending and examined on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
Two IDS were received on 1/13/25. All references have been considered; however, due to the voluminous number of references in the IDS they have been only briefly considered. It is noted that the cloaking of a relevant reference by inclusion in a long list of citations may not comply with the Applicant’s duty of disclosure. Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948 (S.D. Fla. 1972). Therefore, the applicant is encouraged to present a concise statement as to the relevance of any particular documents known to be material for patentability as defined by 37 C.F.R. § 1.56.
Claim Objections
When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Applicant is advised that should claim 5 be found allowable, claim 6 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof.
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 8 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof.
Applicant is advised that should claim 9 be found allowable, claim 12 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof.
Applicant is advised that should claim 16 be found allowable, claim 17 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-3, 8 recite the limitation "the materials comprising collagen-containing tissue matrix". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 4-6 recite the limitation "the collagen-containing tissue matrices". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shah et al (PCT Publication No. WO 2010/002799, cited on IDS dated 1/13/15, hereinafter Shah)
Regarding claims 1, 4, 8, Shah discloses a laminate construct comprising layers of extracellular matrix (ECM) which are adhered to one another with transglutaminase (p9 ln 17-24). Shah discloses obtaining a collagen-containing tissue sheet from the abdominal wall of an animal including the subserous fascia and subserous fat (p3 ln 14-23, p5 ln 11-p6 ln 12). At least some of the subserous fat is removed to produce a collagenous layer of tissue (p3 ln 14-23, p6 ln 14-29). The collagenous tissue is then decellularized and treated to remove remaining fat (p3 ln 14-23, claim 18). The resultant ECM material may retain certain bioactive components and retains the collagenous structure (p11 ln 9-p12 ln 2). In some embodiments, the ECM may be subjected to processes that expand the material, such as by partially denaturing the collagen (p14 ln 1-p15 ln 7, p15 ln 16-p17 ln 11).
Regarding claims 2-3, 7, Shah discloses that the ECM material may also be used to manufacture compositions or devices of any suitable form, such as porous solid foams (e.g., sponges), and sheets (p17 ln 11-14).
Therefore, every limitation of claims 1-4, 7-8 is present in Shah, and the subject matter is anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah as applied to claims 1-4, 7-8 above, and in view of Stachel et al (Cross-linking of type I collagen with microbial transglutaminase: identification of cross-linking sites. Biomacromolecules, Vol. 11, No. 3 (2011) pages 698-705., cited on IDS dated 6/14/21, hereinafter Stachel).
Regarding claims 9-10, 12, Shah discloses that in some embodiments, two or more layers of the ECM material may be laminated together, such as by treating the layers with transglutaminase (p9 ln 17-24, p18 ln 4-30). Shah explains that layers may advantageously overlap to form a sheet that has a larger surface area than the individual layers, and that the overlapping layers may form a region with improved strength and stability (p18 ln 4-30).
Regarding claim 11, Shah does not explicitly disclose that the layers are joined together by bonds formed between the gamma-carboxamide groups of glutamine residues with primary amino acids. However, Shah discloses that the layers may be bonded together with transglutaminase. Thus, it is implicit that the layers of Shah would likewise by joined together by bonds formed between the gamma-carboxamide groups of glutamine residues with primary amino acids.
Regarding claims 13-14, Shah discloses that the ECM material may also be used to manufacture compositions or devices of any suitable form, such as porous solid foams (e.g., sponges), and sheets (p17 ln 11-14).
Regarding claim 15, Shah discloses that the obtaining the collagen-containing tissue sheet from the abdominal wall (p3 ln 14-23, p5 ln 11-p6 ln 12).
Shah also does not explicitly disclose that the collagen tissue matrix is partially denatured prior to contact with the transglutaminase; that the two treatments may be combined.
Stachel examines the ability of transglutaminase to stabilize collagen-based materials (Abstract). Stachel explains that transglutaminase is able to cross-link collagen-based materials significantly better when the collagen-based material is at least partially denatured (Discussion, Conclusion).
As both Shah and Stachel are directed methods of treating collagen-based materials with transglutaminase it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the references could be combined. A skilled artisan would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Stachel into Shah to ensure sufficient cross-linking (i.e., adherence) of the first material to the second material in creating a laminated tissue graft.
Claim(s) 5-6, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah in view of Stachel as applied to claims 1-4, and 9-15 above, and in further view of Xu et al (US Publication No. 2015/0282925, hereinafter Xu)
Regarding claims 5-6, 16-17, the combination does not disclose that the tissue may be obtained from muscle tissue.
Xu discloses methods of making decellularized muscle matrices for therapeutic implants (Abstract). Xu discloses obtaining a sample of muscle tissue, and decellularizing (para 16, 40, 47, 56). Preferably, the muscle tissue contains collagen and other ECM components (para 30). In some embodiments, the decellularized muscle matrix may be joined to other decellularized matrices using methods known in the art (Abstract, para 5-6, 19, 36-37, 56-57). Xu explains that forming a bilayer or multilayer implant stabilizes and strengthens the resultant construct (para 19). The resultant construct may be used to treat a variety of muscle defects and related conditions, such as hernia (para 7, 20, 64).
As both Shah and Xu are directed to methods of making multi-layer decellularized ECM constructs for therapeutic purposes, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the references could be combined. A skilled artisan would be motivated to utilize the tissue types disclosed in Xu in the methods of the combination for more effective treatment of certain conditions, such as hernia
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
1/13/25/KARA D JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632