DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8-29-24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Topliss et al. (US20100074607) in view of Lee et al. (US20230176318).
Re claim 1, Topliss et al. teaches for example in fig. 2, 3, 5, 7, and 11a-11d, a lens driving device, comprising: a fixed member (2) including a base member (3); a lens holder (20, 21) including a cylindrical portion configured to hold a lens body (fig. 1, 2, 5); and a plurality of shape memory alloy wires (30; para. 0121) configured to move the lens holder with respect to the fixed member (para. 0064), the fixed member including a fixed contact (44), that forms a stopper configured to restrict movement of the lens holder (para. 0082), a synthetic resin material forming the cylindrical portion of the lens holder (para. 0051), and including a movable contact that faces the fixed contact of the stopper so as to be able to contact the fixed contact of the stopper (para. 0082).
But, Topliss et al. fails to explicitly teach the lens holder including an elastic portion formed of a material that is softer than that of a synthetic resin material forming the cylindrical portion.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Lee et al. teaches for example an elastic portion formed of a material that is softer than that of a synthetic resin material forming the cylindrical portion (para. 0339-0340, 0343).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Topliss et al. with Lee et al. in order to absorb shock, as taught by Lee et al. (para. 0343).
Re claim 2, Topliss et al. further teaches for example in fig. 2, 3, 5, 7, and 11a-11d, the stopper includes a first stopper (44) configured to restrict the movement of the lens holder toward a subject side (para. 0082), and a second stopper (3) configured to restrict the movement of the lens holder toward an imaging element side (para. 0082), a first movable contact that faces a first fixed contact of the first stopper so as to be able to contact the first fixed contact of the first stopper (para. 0082), and a second movable contact that faces a second fixed contact of the second stopper so as to be able to contact the second fixed contact of the second stopper (para. 0082).
Re claim 3, Topliss et al. further teaches for example in fig. 2, 3, 5, 7, and 11a-11d, the first movable contact and the second movable contact (para. 0082) are continuously formed integrally (fig. 5).
Re claim 11, Topliss et al. further teaches for example in fig. 2, 3, 5, 7, and 11a-11d, a camera module (abstrtact), comprising: the lens driving device (fig. 5); the lens body (fig. 5); and an imaging element (4) facing the lens body (fig. 5).
Re claim 12, Topliss et al. further teaches for example in fig. 2, 3, 5, 7, and 11a-11d, a camera module (abstrtact), comprising: the lens driving device (fig. 5); the lens body (fig. 5); and an imaging element (4) facing the lens body (fig. 5).
Re claim 13, Topliss et al. further teaches for example in fig. 2, 3, 5, 7, and 11a-11d, a camera module (abstrtact), comprising: the lens driving device (fig. 5); the lens body (fig. 5); and an imaging element (4) facing the lens body (fig. 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art taken alone or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the claims, in such a manner that a rejection would be proper. The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in dependent claims 4, 7, 9, and 10.
Specifically regarding claim 4, Topliss et al. (US20100074607) teaches the state of the art of a lens driving device.
But, Topliss fails to explicitly teach a combination of all the claimed features including an upper wall through which a penetrating portion penetrates in a direction of an optical axis, and a width of the first connection portion in a cut plane thereof perpendicular to the optical axis is smaller than that of the first movable contact and smaller than that of the second movable contact, as claimed.
Specifically regarding claim 7, Topliss et al. (US20100074607) teaches the state of the art of a lens driving device.
But, Topliss fails to explicitly teach a combination of all the claimed features including a pair of projections at positions facing each other across an optical axis, the pair of projections projecting outward from the cylindrical portion, the elastic portion includes the first movable contact provided at upper surfaces of the projections, the second movable contact provided at lower surfaces of the projections, and a second connection portion that is provided at side surfaces of the projections and connects the first movable contact and the second movable contact, as claimed.
Specifically regarding claim 9, Topliss et al. (US20100074607) teaches the state of the art of a lens driving device.
But, Topliss fails to explicitly teach a combination of all the claimed features including a synthetic resin spacer that is disposed between the lens holder and the upper plate and is fixed to the cover member, and the first fixed contact of the first stopper is provided at the spacer, as claimed.
Specifically regarding claim 10, Topliss et al. (US20100074607) teaches the state of the art of a lens driving device.
But, Topliss fails to explicitly teach a combination of all the claimed features including the elastic portion is integrated with the lens holder through double molding, and a gate mark formed upon the double molding is in a recess at the movable contact, as claimed.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, Brown et al. (US20220357557).
/Joseph P Martinez/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 9-11-26