DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the under body mounting unit and the under body are bolted together in . . . a length direction of the vehicle body,” (as recited in claims 3 and 19) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 13, Applicant recites, “the outer cross member disposed on both sides of the width direction of the vehicle body.” However, the specification defines the outer cross member as member 72. It appears that Applicant is intending to recite two outer cross members, one disposed on each side of the width direction of the vehicle body.
In claim 16, Applicant invokes 112(f) in this claim, however, the specification does not clearly define which structure is correlated with “means for selectively connecting the variable part. Is it structure 30 or 50 or both?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20-0251526).
With respect to claim 1 KR 20-0251526 discloses a connection structure of a vehicle body comprising:
an under body 50 with an under body mounting unit 52 mounted thereon (as shown in Fig. 4 of KR 20-0251526; and
a variable part 51 including a variable part mounting unit 57 selectively connected to the under body mounting unit 52 and an outer cross member 1 mounted on an upper portion of the variable part mounting unit 57 (as shown in Figs. 3-4 of KR 20-025156). Note, Applicant is only reciting a single variable part, thus there is no recited frame of reference that makes it variable within the claims. Thus, any part can be interpreted as a variable part.
With respect to claim 2, KR 20-025156 disclose an under body insert hole is in an upper part of the under body50, and wherein the under body mounting unit is inserted into the under body insert hole as shown below in the image taken from Fig. 3 of Kr 20-025156:
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (portion of under body mounting unit inserted in insert hole)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (insert hole)]
Claims 1, 5-6, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brandel et al. (EP 584576).
With respect to claim 1 Brandel et al. disclose a connection structure of a vehicle body comprising:
an under body 13 with an under body mounting unit 34/35 mounted thereon (as shown in Fig. 3 of Brandel et al.; and
a variable part 1 including a variable part mounting unit 16/17 selectively connected to the under body mounting unit 34/35 and an outer cross member 31 mounted on an upper portion of the variable part mounting unit (as shown in Figs. 1-3 of Brandel et al.). Note, Applicant is only reciting a single variable part, thus there is no recited frame of reference that makes it variable within the claims. Thus, any part can be interpreted as a variable part.
With respect to claim 5, Brandel et al. disclose that the variable part comprises a rear floor 7, wherein the variable part mounting unit 16/17 coupled to the rear floor (via sidewalls), and wherein the outer cross member 31 is coupled to an upper part of the rear floor (as shown in Fig. 1 of Brandel et al.).
With respect to claim 6, Brandel et al. disclose that the outer cross member 31 and the rear floor 7 form a cross member closed space along a length direction of the vehicle body as shown below in the image taken from Fig. 3 of Brandel et al.:
[AltContent: textbox (closed space along length of vehicle body)][AltContent: ]
With respect to claim 16, Brandel et al. disclose a vehicle body comprising:
an under body 13;
a variable part 1; and
means 16/17/34/35 for selectively connecting the variable part 1 to the under body 13,
(as shown in Fig. 3 of Brandel et al.).
With respect to claim 18, Brandel et al. discloses that the variable part 1 comprises means 31 for increasing strength of the vehicle body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandel et al. (EP 584576), as applied to claim 5 or 16 above, and further in view of Yamazaki (US 2019/0168810).
With respect to claim 10, Brandel et al. disclose the claimed structure except for a plurality of floor cross members that are connected to a lower part of the rear floor in a width direction of the vehicle body and disposed spaced apart along a length direction of the vehicle body.
However, Yamazaki teaches a similar structure including a plurality of floor cross members 32 that are connected to a lower part of a rear floor 28 in a width direction of the vehicle body and disposed spaced apart along a length direction of the vehicle body 14 (as shown in Fig. 1 of Yamazaki).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Yamazaki with the structure disclosed by Brandel et al. for the advantage of the additional support provided to the floor by the floor cross members.
With respect to claim 11, Yamazaki discloses that the plurality of floor cross members 32 comprises: a central cross member; a front cross member disposed at a front of the central cross member; and a rear cross member disposed at a rear of the central cross members shown below in the image taken from Fig. 1 of Yamazaki:
[AltContent: textbox (front cross member)][AltContent: textbox (rear cross member)][AltContent: textbox (central cross member)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
With respect to claim 17, Brandel et al. disclose the claimed vehicle body except for the under body comprising means for increasing strength of the vehicle body.
However, Yamazaki teaches a similar vehicle body including the under body means including means 32 for increasing strength of vehicle body (as shown in Fig. 1 of Yamazaki).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Yamazaki with the vehicle body disclosed by Brandel et al. for the advantage of the additional support provided to the floor by the floor cross members.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 7-9, 12 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 3-4 have been indicated as containing allowable subject matter primarily for the under body being bolded in a length direction of the vehicle body.
Claims 7-9 have been indicated as containing allowable subject matter primarily for the connection support mounted between the rear floor and the outer cross member.
Claims 12-15 have been indicated as containing allowable subject matter primarily for the plurality of seat cross members connected to the upper part of the rear floor in the length direction of the vehicle body and disposed spaced apart along the width direction of the vehicle body.
Claims 19-20 have been indicated as allowable subject matter primarily for the under body insert hole is in an upper part of the under body, wherein the under body mounting unit is inserted into the under body insert hole, wherein the under body mounting unit and the under body are bolted together in a length direction of the vehicle body, wherein an under body connection recess portion is on at least one side of the under body, and a connection support mounted between the rear floor and the outer cross member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Song et al. (US 2022/0194482), Reeves (GB 2178701) and Codron (EP3536584) are cited to show other examples of connection structures between an under body and a variable part.
/Daniel J Colilla/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612