DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 5-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12104721. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim the same subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “the tube stub plug including a tube stub, a seal surface, and a flow path extending through the tube stub plug from the seal surface to the tube stub.” Claim 7 recites, “the tube stub plug includes a tube stub, a seal surface, and a flow path, wherein the flow path runs through the tube stub plug from the seal surface to the tube stub.” It is not clear to the Examiner whether one or more tube stub plugs including a tube stub, a seal surface, and a flow path are being claimed. The Examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim 12 recites, “the tube stub plug further comprises a stepped portion adjacent the tube stub plug.” It is unclear to the Examiner exactly what this means. How can the tube stub plug comprise a stepped portion adjacent the tube stub plug? The Examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-7, 9-12, 21, 22 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4519638, Yodoshi.
In regards to claim 5, in Figures 16-17 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Yodoshi discloses a fluid substrate comprising: a manifold (41) including a circular opening (42); a tube stub plug (50) coupled with the manifold at the circular opening, wherein the tube stube plug is inserted into the circular opening and defines a longitudinal axis, the tube stub plug including a tube stub(1), a seal surface (54), and a flow path extending through the tube stub plug from the seal surface to the tube stub, wherein: an anti-rotation feature (48) prevents the tube stub plug from rotating with respect to the manifold, and an anti-rotation hole is defined in the tube stub plug (52) and the manifold (49), such that the anti-rotation hole extends through the tube stub plug and the manifold and is spaced apart from the flow path in a direction that intersects the longitudinal axis.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 16-17 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Yodoshi discloses the anti-rotation feature is included in the tube stub plug.
In regards to claim 7, as best understood, in Figures 16-17 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Yodoshi discloses the tube stub plug includes a tube stub, a seal surface, and a flow path, wherein the flow path runs through the tube stub plug from the seal surface to the tube stub.
In regards to claim 9, in Figures 16-17 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Yodoshi discloses the tube stub plug further comprises a circular shape and a tube stub plug through hole, and the anti-rotation feature comprises an element coupled with the tube stub plug through hole and couples the manifold and the tube stub plug.
In regards to claim 10, in Figures 16-17 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Yodoshi discloses the anti-rotation feature runs through the tube stub plug.
In regards to claim 11, in Figures 16-17 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Yodoshi discloses the tube stub plug is secured to the manifold using a threaded connection (threads of 48).
In regards to claim 12, as best understood, in Figures 16-17 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Yodoshi discloses the tube stub plug further comprises a stepped portion adjacent the tube stub plug.
In regards to claim 21, in Figures 16-17 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Yodoshi discloses a fluid substrate comprising: a manifold including, a top surface, a bottom surface (see Fig. 16 below), and an opening; a tube stub plug comprising a seal surface, a tube stub, and a flow path, wherein the tube stub plug aligns with a top surface of the manifold ,wherein the flow path runs through the tube stub plug from the seal surface to the tube stub, and wherein the tube stub plug is coupled with the manifold at the opening, wherein the tube stub plug further comprises an anti-rotation feature configured to prevent the tube stub plug from rotating with respect to the manifold.
[AltContent: textbox (Bottom surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Top Surface)][AltContent: arrow]
In regards to claim 22, in Figures 16-17 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Yodoshi discloses the anti-rotation feature is included in the tube stub plug.
In regards to claim 24, in Figures 16-17 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Yodoshi discloses the tube stub plug further comprises a circular shape and a tube stub plug through hole, and the anti-rotation feature comprises an element coupled with the tube stub plug through hole and couples the manifold and the tube stub plug.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679