DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1, 2, 4 and 5 of prior U.S. Patent No. US 12104721. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 15-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. US 12104721. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim the same subject matter.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 12 recites the limitation "the tube stub". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “it”; however, it is not clear the Examiner exactly what “it” is referencing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5, 6 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5106169, Barefoot.
In regards to claim 5, in Figures 2 and 5 along with paragraphs detailing said figures, Barefoot discloses a fluid substrate comprising: a manifold (41) including a circular opening (45); a tube stub plug (41) coupled with the manifold at the circular opening, wherein the tube stube plug is inserted into the circular opening, wherein: an anti-rotation feature (see Figure 5 below) prevents the tube stub plug from rotating with respect to the manifold, and an anti-rotation hole is defined in the tube stub plug and the manifold, such that it extends through the tube stub plug and the manifold.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Anti-rotation hole)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (Anti-rotation feature)]
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 2 and 5 along with paragraphs detailing said figures, Barefoot discloses the anti-rotation feature is included in the tube stub plug.
In regards to claim 9, in Figures 2 and 5 along with paragraphs detailing said figures, Barefoot discloses the tube stub plug further comprises a circular shape and a tube stub plug through hole, and the anti-rotation feature comprises an element coupled with the tube stub plug through hole and couples the manifold and the tube stub plug.
In regards to claim 10, in Figures 2 and 5 along with paragraphs detailing said figures, Barefoot discloses the anti-rotation feature runs through the tube stub plug.
In regards to claim 11, in Figures 2 and 5 along with paragraphs detailing said figures, Barefoot discloses the tube stub plug is secured to the manifold using a threaded connection (via the anti-rotation feature).
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679