DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 08/12/2026 has been considered and entered. The amendment changes Ar1 to be benzene with 3 or 4 methyl groups attached which Zhang et al. (CN 114797507A) does not teach, thus overcoming the previous rejections, now withdrawn. However, the rejections in view of Wang et al. (CN 117018896A) are not overcome and thus maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 – 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Wang et al. (CN 117018896A) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wang et al. (CN 117018896A)
In regard to claim 1, Wang teaches polyimide membrane (abstract). The polyimide polymer has a structure of a formula a), wherein in the structure, R1 can be a trimethyl phenyl structure, R2 can be a phenyl benzimidazole structure, with m and n each ranging from 1 to 1000 [0013 – 0017; claim 3]. The structure is analogous to the claimed structures, when in the structures of the claim, Ra is CH3 or CF3, m is 1 or 3, X is O and Ar1 to Ar5 are selected from the groups provided in the claims. [0013 – 0017]. The structures are analogous which would make the claims quickly envisaged or would at least be obvious.
In regard to claims 2 – 20, 22, Wang teaches the polymer having he claimed limitations as previously stated.
In regard to claim 21, Wang teaches the polymer having a similar structure with 3 methyl groups attached to the bridging phenyl ring rather than 4 methyl groups as claimed. Due to structural similarity, the claimed structural variation would have been obvious. A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In rePayne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In rePapesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) and In reDillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
In regard to claim 23, Wang teaches the polymer having the m and n repeat units each of from 1 to 1000 which would provide molecular weights of the claim. Wang teaches molecular weights of 90,000 to 150,000 g/mol [0023].
In regard to claim 24, Wang teaches the membrane having the polymer as previously stated.
In regard to claim 25, Wang teaches the membrane which comprises the polymer and a metal organic framework at a ratio of from 1:0.05-0.4 and thus allows for the presence of the polymer in the claimed amounts [0010].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 26 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Zhang et al. (CN 114797507A) teaches membrane separation process having the claimed polymer but fails to particularly recite the combination of the claimed monomers or the concentration of the monomeric compounds as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Wang provides no teaching or guidance to combine the claimed structures to provide membrane materials exhibiting the properties of the claimed membrane. The argument is not persuasive.
Wang teach membranes having the structures of formulas 1 and 2 of the claims and would be expected to have similar properties of the claimed polymer.
Applicant argues that the claimed membrane recites superior and unexpectedly improved properties of permeability and selectivity over the prior art. The argument is not persuasive.
The inventive examples are not commensurate in scope with the claims.
While the claims, except for claim 26, do not limit the ratio of the monomers of formulas I and II, the inventive examples are drawn to ratios of 1:3 which does not support the breadth of the claims.
While the claims allow for myriads of compounds providing the limitations of each of formulas I and II, the inventive examples are drawn to specific compounds, which does not support the breadth of the claims.
While the claims, except for claim 26, are drawn to polymers, the inventive examples are drawn to membranes, which does not support the breadth of the claims.
While the method of claim 26 allows for natural gas having 1 to 30% of CO2 and 1 to 40% of H2S, the inventive examples are drawn to process requiring specific unspecified concentrations of the CO2 and the H2S which does not support the breadth of the claims.
The results are not persuasive.
The results provide diffusivity values and solubility values for the comparative examples that overlap those of the inventive examples in Tables 3 and 4 and thus fail to demonstrate the alleged superior and unexpected results.
Thus, applicant fails to provide inventive examples that are commensurate in scope with the claims and demonstrates unexpected results sufficient to rebut the case of obviousness.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771