DETAILED ACTION
This FINAL action is in response to Application No. 18/819,425 originally filed 08/29/2024. The amendment presented on 04/23/2026 which provides amendments to claims 1, 13, and 19 is hereby acknowledged.
Currently Claim(s) 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0388205 A1 hereinafter Bae in view of Kong et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0309219 A1 hereinafter Kong.
Consider Claim 1:
Bae discloses a display driving device, comprising: (Bae, See Abstract.)
a plurality of first source amplifiers, each configured to generate a first channel signal corresponding to a first pixel of a first color, among a plurality of first pixels, and a second channel signal corresponding to a second pixel of a second color, among a plurality of second pixels; (Bae, [0065], “In the first pixel 161, the source driver 206 may include, for example, a first amplifier 311 supplying a signal to a first channel and a second amplifier 312 supplying a signal to a second channel among the pentile source lines. In addition, the source driver 206 may include a first switch 311a that is connected to an output terminal of the first amplifier 311 and a second switch 312a that is connected to an output terminal of the second amplifier 312.”)
a plurality of second source amplifiers, each configured to generate a third channel signal corresponding to a third pixel of a third color, among a plurality of third pixels; (Bae, [0067], “In the third pixel 163, the source driver 206 may include, for example, a first amplifier 321 supplying the signal to the first channel and a second amplifier 322 supplying the signal to the second channel among the pentile source lines. In addition, the source driver 206 may include a first switch 321a that is connected to an output terminal of the first amplifier 321 and a second switch 322a that is connected to an output terminal of the second amplifier 322.”)
a plurality of first output pads configured to output the first channel signal and the second channel signal; a plurality of second output pads configured to output the third channel signal; (Bae, [0064], “Pads connected to the output terminals of the amplifiers of the source driver 206 may be disposed on one side of the display panel 160, for example, at one end of each channel of the pentile source lines.”)
a plurality of first channel lines connected between the plurality of first output pads and the plurality of first source amplifiers; and a plurality of second channel lines connected between the plurality of second output pads and the plurality of second source amplifiers, (Bae, [0065], “In the first pixel 161, the source driver 206 may include, for example, a first amplifier 311 supplying a signal to a first channel and a second amplifier 312 supplying a signal to a second channel among the pentile source lines. In addition, the source driver 206 may include a first switch 311a that is connected to an output terminal of the first amplifier 311 and a second switch 312a that is connected to an output terminal of the second amplifier 312.”)
wherein a first first channel line and a second first channel line among the plurality of first channel lines are connected to each other, and a first second channel line and a second second channel line among the plurality of second channel lines are connected to each other; wherein the display driving device further comprises: a driving controller configured to … drive a first third pixel, a second third pixel, a third third pixel and a fourth third pixel, among the plurality of third pixels of the third color based on … a selection signal that are generated to alternately have an enable level. (Bae, [0069], “According to various embodiments, the source driver 206 may include first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b. The first sharing switch 311b may be disposed between the output terminal of the first amplifier 311 of the first pixel 161 and the output terminal of the first amplifier 321 of the third pixel 163. The second sharing switch 312b may be disposed between the output terminal of the second amplifier 312 of the first pixel 161 and the output terminal of the second amplifier 322 of the third pixel 163. The third sharing switch 313b may be disposed between the output terminal of the third amplifier 313 of the second pixel 162 and the output terminal of the third amplifier 323 of the fourth pixel 164. The fourth sharing switch 314b may be disposed between the output terminal of the fourth amplifier 314 of the second pixel 162 and the output terminal of the fourth amplifier 324 of the fourth pixel 164.”)
Bae however does not appear to disclose to sequentially drive sequentially drive a first third pixel, a second third pixel, a third third pixel and a fourth third pixel, among the plurality of third pixels of the third color based on a first switch selection signal and a second switch selection signal that are generated to alternately have an enable level, and wherein a first second source amplifier, among the plurality of second source amplifiers, is configured to generate a channel signal to sequentially drive the first third pixel, the second third pixel, the third third pixel and the fourth third pixel without changing a voltage of the channel signal.
Kong however teaches a known technique to those of skill in the art to sequentially drive sequentially drive a first third pixel, a second third pixel, a third third pixel and a fourth third pixel, among the plurality of third pixels of the third color based on a first switch selection signal and a second switch selection signal that are generated to alternately have an enable level, and (Kong, [0071-0080], [0076], “Referring to FIGS. 4 and 6A to 6C, in the low power mode, the first gamma voltage generator 311 may be enabled, and the second gamma voltage generator 312 and the third gamma voltage generator 313 may be disabled (indicated by shaded out boxes in FIG. 6A). Also, the first channel driver 11 corresponding to the first gamma voltage generator 311 may be enabled, and the second and third channel drivers 12 and 13 corresponding to the second and third gamma voltage generators 312 and 313 may be disabled (indicated by shaded out boxes in FIG. 6A). Outputs GM2 and GM3 of the second and third gamma voltage generators 312 and 313 and the second and third channel amplifier outputs SO2 and SO3 may be floated (for example, a high impedance state).”)
wherein a first second source amplifier, among the plurality of second source amplifiers, is configured to generate a channel signal to sequentially drive the first third pixel, the second third pixel, the third third pixel and the fourth third pixel without changing a voltage of the channel signal. (Kong, [0071-0080], [0080], “In the low power mode, the low power enable signal LPMEN may be at a logic high level, and the first to third output enable signals OEN1 to OEN3 may be sequentially shifted to a logic high level. Therefore, the connection switches CSW1 and CSW2 may be turned on, and the output switches OSW1 to OSW3 may be sequentially turned on during the first to third periods T1 to T3.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to sequentially drive the pixel as this was a known technique in view of Kong and would have been utilized for the purpose of to provide a data driver and a display driving circuit, in which consumption power is reduced. (Kong, [0004])
Consider Claim 2:
Bae in view of Kong discloses the display driving device of claim 1, further comprising: a first connection switch provided between the first first channel line and the second first channel line, which are adjacent among the plurality of first channel lines, and a second connection switch provided between the first second channel line and the second second channel line, which are adjacent among the plurality of second channel lines. (Bae, [0069], “According to various embodiments, the source driver 206 may include first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b.”)
Consider Claim 3:
Bae in view of Kong discloses the display driving device of claim 2, further comprising: a first output switch provided between one of the plurality of first channel lines and one of a plurality of first source lines, and a second output switch provided between one of the plurality of second channel lines and one of a plurality of second source lines. (Bae, [0065], “In the first pixel 161, the source driver 206 may include, for example, a first amplifier 311 supplying a signal to a first channel and a second amplifier 312 supplying a signal to a second channel among the pentile source lines. In addition, the source driver 206 may include a first switch 311a that is connected to an output terminal of the first amplifier 311 and a second switch 312a that is connected to an output terminal of the second amplifier 312.”)
Consider Claim 4:
Bae in view of Kong discloses the display driving device of claim 3, wherein the driving controller configured to: control the first output switch by the first switch selection signal, control the second output switch by the second switch selection signal, and control the first and second connection switches by a third switch selection signal. (Bae, [0070-0074], [0070], “According to various embodiments, the display driving circuit 200, when the output data of adjacent pixels are the same or within a specified threshold value (hereinafter, a shared threshold value), may drive other pixels together using the first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b, by using source amplifiers corresponding to one pixel. For example, in FIG. 3A, the display driving circuit 200 may supply the output of the source amplifier supplied to the first pixel 161 and the second pixel 162 to the third pixel 163 and the fourth pixel 164 by using the first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b.”)
Consider Claim 5:
Bae in view of Kong discloses the display driving device of claim 4, wherein the driving controller is further configured to generate the first switch selection signal and the second switch selection signal to alternately have an enable level during an image output period, and generate the third switch selection signal has an enable level during the image output period. (Bae, [0070-0074], [0070], “According to various embodiments, the display driving circuit 200, when the output data of adjacent pixels are the same or within a specified threshold value (hereinafter, a shared threshold value), may drive other pixels together using the first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b, by using source amplifiers corresponding to one pixel. For example, in FIG. 3A, the display driving circuit 200 may supply the output of the source amplifier supplied to the first pixel 161 and the second pixel 162 to the third pixel 163 and the fourth pixel 164 by using the first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b.”)
Consider Claim 6:
Bae in view of Kong discloses the display driving device of claim 1, further comprises: among the plurality of first channel lines, a 2k-1th first channel line is one of third channel lines, the 2kth first channel line is one of fourth channel lines, two of the third channel lines adjacent to each other are connected to each other, and two of the fourth channel lines adjacent to each other are connected to each other, k being an integer equal to or greater than 1, and among the plurality of second channel lines, a 2k-1th second channel line is one of fifth channel lines, the 2kth second channel line is one of sixth channel lines, two of the fifth channel lines adjacent to each other are connected to each other, and two of the sixth channel lines adjacent to each other are connected to each other. (Bae, [0069], “According to various embodiments, the source driver 206 may include first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b. The first sharing switch 311b may be disposed between the output terminal of the first amplifier 311 of the first pixel 161 and the output terminal of the first amplifier 321 of the third pixel 163. The second sharing switch 312b may be disposed between the output terminal of the second amplifier 312 of the first pixel 161 and the output terminal of the second amplifier 322 of the third pixel 163. The third sharing switch 313b may be disposed between the output terminal of the third amplifier 313 of the second pixel 162 and the output terminal of the third amplifier 323 of the fourth pixel 164. The fourth sharing switch 314b may be disposed between the output terminal of the fourth amplifier 314 of the second pixel 162 and the output terminal of the fourth amplifier 324 of the fourth pixel 164.”)
Consider Claim 7:
Bae in view of Kong discloses the display driving device of claim 6, further comprising: a first output switch provided between one of a plurality of first channel lines and one of the plurality of first source lines; and a second output switch provided between one of a plurality of second channel lines and one of the plurality of second source lines. (Bae, [0069], “According to various embodiments, the source driver 206 may include first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b. The first sharing switch 311b may be disposed between the output terminal of the first amplifier 311 of the first pixel 161 and the output terminal of the first amplifier 321 of the third pixel 163. The second sharing switch 312b may be disposed between the output terminal of the second amplifier 312 of the first pixel 161 and the output terminal of the second amplifier 322 of the third pixel 163. The third sharing switch 313b may be disposed between the output terminal of the third amplifier 313 of the second pixel 162 and the output terminal of the third amplifier 323 of the fourth pixel 164. The fourth sharing switch 314b may be disposed between the output terminal of the fourth amplifier 314 of the second pixel 162 and the output terminal of the fourth amplifier 324 of the fourth pixel 164.”)
Consider Claim 8:
Bae in view of Kong discloses the display driving device of claim 7, further comprising: a driving controller configured to generate a first switch control signal to control the first output switch and the second output switch connected to a channel line having a same k value among the third channel lines, the fourth channel lines, the fifth channel lines, and the sixth channel lines. (Bae, [0070-0074], [0070], “According to various embodiments, the display driving circuit 200, when the output data of adjacent pixels are the same or within a specified threshold value (hereinafter, a shared threshold value), may drive other pixels together using the first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b, by using source amplifiers corresponding to one pixel. For example, in FIG. 3A, the display driving circuit 200 may supply the output of the source amplifier supplied to the first pixel 161 and the second pixel 162 to the third pixel 163 and the fourth pixel 164 by using the first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b.”)
Consider Claim 9:
Bae in view of Kong discloses the display driving device of claim 6, further comprising: a plurality of first connection switches, each provided between the two adjacent third channel lines, between the two adjacent fourth channel lines, between the two adjacent fifth channel lines, and between the two adjacent sixth channel lines. (Bae, [0069], “According to various embodiments, the source driver 206 may include first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b. The first sharing switch 311b may be disposed between the output terminal of the first amplifier 311 of the first pixel 161 and the output terminal of the first amplifier 321 of the third pixel 163. The second sharing switch 312b may be disposed between the output terminal of the second amplifier 312 of the first pixel 161 and the output terminal of the second amplifier 322 of the third pixel 163. The third sharing switch 313b may be disposed between the output terminal of the third amplifier 313 of the second pixel 162 and the output terminal of the third amplifier 323 of the fourth pixel 164. The fourth sharing switch 314b may be disposed between the output terminal of the fourth amplifier 314 of the second pixel 162 and the output terminal of the fourth amplifier 324 of the fourth pixel 164.”)
Consider Claim 10:
Bae in view of Kong discloses the display driving device of claim 9, further comprising: a driving controller configured to generate a third switch selection signal to control the plurality of first connection switches, wherein, during an image output period, the third switch selection signal has an enable level. (Bae, [0070-0074], [0070], “According to various embodiments, the display driving circuit 200, when the output data of adjacent pixels are the same or within a specified threshold value (hereinafter, a shared threshold value), may drive other pixels together using the first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b, by using source amplifiers corresponding to one pixel. For example, in FIG. 3A, the display driving circuit 200 may supply the output of the source amplifier supplied to the first pixel 161 and the second pixel 162 to the third pixel 163 and the fourth pixel 164 by using the first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b.”)
Consider Claim 11:
Bae in view of Kong discloses the display driving device of claim 1, wherein the first color is blue, the second color is red, and the third color is green. (Bae, [0034], “The display driving circuit 200 may change the image data transmitted from the processor 140 into a form that can be transmitted to the display panel 160, and may transmit the changed image data to the display panel 160. The changed image data (hereinafter, output data) may be supplied in units of pixels. In this case, a pixel is a structure in which sub-pixels Red, Green, and Blue are adjacently arranged in associated with a specified color display, and one pixel may include an RGB sub-pixel (RGB stripe layout structure) or RGGB sub-pixels (pentile layout structure). In this case, the layout structure of the RGGB sub-pixels may be replaced with the layout structure of the RGBG sub-pixels. Alternatively, the pixel may be replaced with an RGBW sub-pixel layout structure.”)
Consider Claim 12:
Bae in view of Kong discloses the display driving device of claim 1, wherein two adjacent first channel lines among the plurality of first channel lines are connected to each other, and two adjacent second channel lines among the plurality of second channel lines are connected to each other. (Bae, [0069], “According to various embodiments, the source driver 206 may include first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b. The first sharing switch 311b may be disposed between the output terminal of the first amplifier 311 of the first pixel 161 and the output terminal of the first amplifier 321 of the third pixel 163. The second sharing switch 312b may be disposed between the output terminal of the second amplifier 312 of the first pixel 161 and the output terminal of the second amplifier 322 of the third pixel 163. The third sharing switch 313b may be disposed between the output terminal of the third amplifier 313 of the second pixel 162 and the output terminal of the third amplifier 323 of the fourth pixel 164. The fourth sharing switch 314b may be disposed between the output terminal of the fourth amplifier 314 of the second pixel 162 and the output terminal of the fourth amplifier 324 of the fourth pixel 164.”)
Consider Claim 13:
Bae discloses a display device, comprising: (Bae, See Abstract.)
a pixel array comprising: (Bae, [0006], “An electronic device according to various embodiments of the disclosure includes a processor, a display panel that includes a plurality of pixels (the plurality of pixels include a first pixel and a second pixel), and a display driving circuit that drives the display panel and receives image data to be displayed through the display panel from the processor, and the display driving circuit may be composed to identify output data of the first pixel and output data of the second pixel to display the image data, and, when the output data of the first pixel and the output data of the second pixel have more than a specified similarity, may be composed to drive the first pixel and the second pixel by using a source amplifier specified in relation to the first pixel.”)
a plurality of first pixels of a first color, a plurality of second pixels of a second color, and a plurality of third pixels of a third color, the plurality of first pixels of the first color and the plurality of third pixels of the third color are repeatedly provided on odd-numbered pixel rows and connected to one of a plurality of first source lines, and the plurality of second pixels of the second color and the plurality of third pixels of the third color are repeatedly provided on even-numbered pixel rows and connected to one of a plurality of second source lines; and (Bae, [0063], “The display panel 160 of the pentile type may be, for example, in a form in which the gate lines and pentile source lines are alternately arranged. In FIG. 3A, although the display panel 160 is illustrated mainly including a case in which a first pixel 161, a second pixel 162, a third pixel 163, and a fourth pixel 164 are disposed adjacent to one another, the disclosure is not limited thereto (refer to FIG. 3B).”)
a switching circuit comprising: a first connection switch provided between a plurality of first channel lines connected to corresponding first source line among the plurality of first source lines, a second connection switch provided between a plurality of second channel lines connected to corresponding second source line among the plurality of second source lines, a third connection switch between two first channel lines among the plurality of first channel lines, and a fourth connection switch between two second channel lines among the plurality of second channel lines, (Bae, [0070], “According to various embodiments, the display driving circuit 200, when the output data of adjacent pixels are the same or within a specified threshold value (hereinafter, a shared threshold value), may drive other pixels together using the first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b, by using source amplifiers corresponding to one pixel. For example, in FIG. 3A, the display driving circuit 200 may supply the output of the source amplifier supplied to the first pixel 161 and the second pixel 162 to the third pixel 163 and the fourth pixel 164 by using the first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b.”)
further comprises: a driving controller configured to … drive a first third pixel, a second third pixel, a third third pixel and a fourth third pixel, among the plurality of third pixels of the third color based on a first switch selection signal and a second switch selection signal that are generated to alternately have an enable level. (Bae, [0069], “According to various embodiments, the source driver 206 may include first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b. The first sharing switch 311b may be disposed between the output terminal of the first amplifier 311 of the first pixel 161 and the output terminal of the first amplifier 321 of the third pixel 163. The second sharing switch 312b may be disposed between the output terminal of the second amplifier 312 of the first pixel 161 and the output terminal of the second amplifier 322 of the third pixel 163. The third sharing switch 313b may be disposed between the output terminal of the third amplifier 313 of the second pixel 162 and the output terminal of the third amplifier 323 of the fourth pixel 164. The fourth sharing switch 314b may be disposed between the output terminal of the fourth amplifier 314 of the second pixel 162 and the output terminal of the fourth amplifier 324 of the fourth pixel 164.”)
Bae however does not appear to disclose to sequentially drive a first third pixel, a second third pixel, a third third pixel and a fourth third pixel, among the plurality of third pixels of the third color based on a first switch selection signal and a second switch selection signal that are generated to alternately have an enable level, and wherein a first second source amplifier, among the plurality of second source amplifiers, is configured to generate a channel signal to sequentially drive the first third pixel, the second third pixel, the third third pixel and the fourth third pixel without changing a voltage of the channel signal.
Kong however teaches a known technique to those of skill in the art to sequentially drive a first third pixel, a second third pixel, a third third pixel and a fourth third pixel, among the plurality of third pixels of the third color based on a first switch selection signal and a second switch selection signal that are generated to alternately have an enable level, and (Kong, [0071-0080], [0076], “Referring to FIGS. 4 and 6A to 6C, in the low power mode, the first gamma voltage generator 311 may be enabled, and the second gamma voltage generator 312 and the third gamma voltage generator 313 may be disabled (indicated by shaded out boxes in FIG. 6A). Also, the first channel driver 11 corresponding to the first gamma voltage generator 311 may be enabled, and the second and third channel drivers 12 and 13 corresponding to the second and third gamma voltage generators 312 and 313 may be disabled (indicated by shaded out boxes in FIG. 6A). Outputs GM2 and GM3 of the second and third gamma voltage generators 312 and 313 and the second and third channel amplifier outputs SO2 and SO3 may be floated (for example, a high impedance state).”)
wherein a first second source amplifier, among the plurality of second source amplifiers, is configured to generate a channel signal to sequentially drive the first third pixel, the second third pixel, the third third pixel and the fourth third pixel without changing a voltage of the channel signal. (Kong, [0071-0080], [0080], “In the low power mode, the low power enable signal LPMEN may be at a logic high level, and the first to third output enable signals OEN1 to OEN3 may be sequentially shifted to a logic high level. Therefore, the connection switches CSW1 and CSW2 may be turned on, and the output switches OSW1 to OSW3 may be sequentially turned on during the first to third periods T1 to T3.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to sequentially drive the pixel as this was a known technique in view of Kong and would have been utilized for the purpose of to provide a data driver and a display driving circuit, in which consumption power is reduced. (Kong, [0004])
Consider Claim 14:
Bae in view of Inokuchi discloses the display device of claim 13, further comprising: a first output switch provided between one of the plurality of first channel lines and the plurality of first source lines; and a second output switch provided between one of the plurality of second channel lines and the plurality of second source lines. (Bae, [0069], “According to various embodiments, the source driver 206 may include first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b. The first sharing switch 311b may be disposed between the output terminal of the first amplifier 311 of the first pixel 161 and the output terminal of the first amplifier 321 of the third pixel 163. The second sharing switch 312b may be disposed between the output terminal of the second amplifier 312 of the first pixel 161 and the output terminal of the second amplifier 322 of the third pixel 163. The third sharing switch 313b may be disposed between the output terminal of the third amplifier 313 of the second pixel 162 and the output terminal of the third amplifier 323 of the fourth pixel 164. The fourth sharing switch 314b may be disposed between the output terminal of the fourth amplifier 314 of the second pixel 162 and the output terminal of the fourth amplifier 324 of the fourth pixel 164.”)
Consider Claim 15:
Bae in view of Inokuchi discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein the driving controller is further configured to: the first output switch is controlled by the first switch selection signal, the second output switch is controlled by the second switch selection signal, and during the image output period, the first switch selection signal and the second switch selection signal alternately have enable levels. (Bae, [0070-0074], [0070], “According to various embodiments, the display driving circuit 200, when the output data of adjacent pixels are the same or within a specified threshold value (hereinafter, a shared threshold value), may drive other pixels together using the first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b, by using source amplifiers corresponding to one pixel. For example, in FIG. 3A, the display driving circuit 200 may supply the output of the source amplifier supplied to the first pixel 161 and the second pixel 162 to the third pixel 163 and the fourth pixel 164 by using the first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b.”)
Consider Claim 16:
Bae in view of Inokuchi discloses the display device of claim 13, wherein among the plurality of first channel lines, a 2k-1th first channel line is one of third channel lines, the 2kth first channel line is one of fourth channel lines, two of the third channel lines adjacent to each other are connected to each other, and two of the fourth channel lines adjacent to each other are connected to each other, k being an integer equal to or greater than 1, and among the plurality of second channel lines, a 2k-1th second channel line is one of fifth channel lines, the 2kth second channel line is one of sixth channel lines, two of the fifth channel lines adjacent to each other are connected to each other, and two of the sixth channel lines adjacent to each other are connected to each other. (Bae, [0069], “According to various embodiments, the source driver 206 may include first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b. The first sharing switch 311b may be disposed between the output terminal of the first amplifier 311 of the first pixel 161 and the output terminal of the first amplifier 321 of the third pixel 163. The second sharing switch 312b may be disposed between the output terminal of the second amplifier 312 of the first pixel 161 and the output terminal of the second amplifier 322 of the third pixel 163. The third sharing switch 313b may be disposed between the output terminal of the third amplifier 313 of the second pixel 162 and the output terminal of the third amplifier 323 of the fourth pixel 164. The fourth sharing switch 314b may be disposed between the output terminal of the fourth amplifier 314 of the second pixel 162 and the output terminal of the fourth amplifier 324 of the fourth pixel 164.”)
Consider Claim 17:
Bae in view of Inokuchi discloses the display device of claim 16, further comprising: a first output switch provided between one of the plurality of first channel lines and the plurality of first source lines; and a second output switch provided between one of the plurality of second channel lines and one of the plurality of second source lines. (Bae, [0069], “According to various embodiments, the source driver 206 may include first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b. The first sharing switch 311b may be disposed between the output terminal of the first amplifier 311 of the first pixel 161 and the output terminal of the first amplifier 321 of the third pixel 163. The second sharing switch 312b may be disposed between the output terminal of the second amplifier 312 of the first pixel 161 and the output terminal of the second amplifier 322 of the third pixel 163. The third sharing switch 313b may be disposed between the output terminal of the third amplifier 313 of the second pixel 162 and the output terminal of the third amplifier 323 of the fourth pixel 164. The fourth sharing switch 314b may be disposed between the output terminal of the fourth amplifier 314 of the second pixel 162 and the output terminal of the fourth amplifier 324 of the fourth pixel 164.”)
Consider Claim 18:
Bae in view of Inokuchi discloses the display device of claim 17, further comprising: the driving controller is further configured to generate a first switch control signal to control the first output switch and the second output switch connected to a channel line having a same k value among the third channel lines, the fourth channel lines, the fifth channel lines, and the sixth channel lines. (Bae, [0070-0074], [0070], “According to various embodiments, the display driving circuit 200, when the output data of adjacent pixels are the same or within a specified threshold value (hereinafter, a shared threshold value), may drive other pixels together using the first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b, by using source amplifiers corresponding to one pixel. For example, in FIG. 3A, the display driving circuit 200 may supply the output of the source amplifier supplied to the first pixel 161 and the second pixel 162 to the third pixel 163 and the fourth pixel 164 by using the first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b.”)
Consider Claim 19:
Bae discloses a display device, comprising: (Bae, See Abstract.)
a pixel array comprising (Bae, [0006], “An electronic device according to various embodiments of the disclosure includes a processor, a display panel that includes a plurality of pixels (the plurality of pixels include a first pixel and a second pixel), and a display driving circuit that drives the display panel and receives image data to be displayed through the display panel from the processor, and the display driving circuit may be composed to identify output data of the first pixel and output data of the second pixel to display the image data, and, when the output data of the first pixel and the output data of the second pixel have more than a specified similarity, may be composed to drive the first pixel and the second pixel by using a source amplifier specified in relation to the first pixel.”)
a plurality of first pixels of a first color, a plurality of second pixels of a second color, and a plurality of third pixels of a third color, the plurality of first pixels of the first color and the plurality of third pixels of the third color repeatedly provided in odd-numbered pixel rows, and the plurality of second pixels of the second color and the plurality of third pixels of the third color repeatedly provided in even-numbered pixel rows; (Bae, [0063], “The display panel 160 of the pentile type may be, for example, in a form in which the gate lines and pentile source lines are alternately arranged. In FIG. 3A, although the display panel 160 is illustrated mainly including a case in which a first pixel 161, a second pixel 162, a third pixel 163, and a fourth pixel 164 are disposed adjacent to one another, the disclosure is not limited thereto (refer to FIG. 3B).”)
a plurality of first source amplifiers connected to each of a plurality of first source lines to drive the plurality of first pixels and the plurality of second pixels; and (Bae, [0065], “In the first pixel 161, the source driver 206 may include, for example, a first amplifier 311 supplying a signal to a first channel and a second amplifier 312 supplying a signal to a second channel among the pentile source lines. In addition, the source driver 206 may include a first switch 311a that is connected to an output terminal of the first amplifier 311 and a second switch 312a that is connected to an output terminal of the second amplifier 312.”)
a plurality of second source amplifiers connected to each of a plurality of second source lines to drive the plurality of third pixels, (Bae, [0067], “In the third pixel 163, the source driver 206 may include, for example, a first amplifier 321 supplying the signal to the first channel and a second amplifier 322 supplying the signal to the second channel among the pentile source lines. In addition, the source driver 206 may include a first switch 321a that is connected to an output terminal of the first amplifier 321 and a second switch 322a that is connected to an output terminal of the second amplifier 322.”)
wherein each of the plurality of first source lines and each of the plurality of second source lines are alternately provided, and two adjacent second source lines among the plurality of second source lines are connected to a corresponding second source amplifier among the plurality of second source amplifiers, wherein the display device further comprises: a driving controller configured to … drive a first third pixel, a second third pixel, a third third pixel and a fourth third pixel, among the plurality of third pixels of the third color. (Bae, [0070-0074], [0070], “According to various embodiments, the display driving circuit 200, when the output data of adjacent pixels are the same or within a specified threshold value (hereinafter, a shared threshold value), may drive other pixels together using the first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b, by using source amplifiers corresponding to one pixel. For example, in FIG. 3A, the display driving circuit 200 may supply the output of the source amplifier supplied to the first pixel 161 and the second pixel 162 to the third pixel 163 and the fourth pixel 164 by using the first to fourth sharing switches 311b, 312b, 313b, and 314b.”)
Bae however does not appear to disclose to sequentially drive a first third pixel, a second third pixel, a third third pixel and a fourth third pixel, among the plurality of third pixels of the third color based on a first switch selection signal and a second switch selection signal that are generated to alternately have an enable level, and wherein a first second source amplifier, among the plurality of second source amplifiers, is configured to generate a channel signal to sequentially drive the first third pixel, the second third pixel, the third third pixel and the fourth third pixel without changing a voltage of the channel signal.
Kong however teaches a known technique to those of skill in the art to sequentially drive a first third pixel, a second third pixel, a third third pixel and a fourth third pixel, among the plurality of third pixels of the third color based on a first switch selection signal and a second switch selection signal that are generated to alternately have an enable level, and (Kong, [0071-0080], [0076], “Referring to FIGS. 4 and 6A to 6C, in the low power mode, the first gamma voltage generator 311 may be enabled, and the second gamma voltage generator 312 and the third gamma voltage generator 313 may be disabled (indicated by shaded out boxes in FIG. 6A). Also, the first channel driver 11 corresponding to the first gamma voltage generator 311 may be enabled, and the second and third channel drivers 12 and 13 corresponding to the second and third gamma voltage generators 312 and 313 may be disabled (indicated by shaded out boxes in FIG. 6A). Outputs GM2 and GM3 of the second and third gamma voltage generators 312 and 313 and the second and third channel amplifier outputs SO2 and SO3 may be floated (for example, a high impedance state).”)
wherein a first second source amplifier, among the plurality of second source amplifiers, is configured to generate a channel signal to sequentially drive the first third pixel, the second third pixel, the third third pixel and the fourth third pixel without changing a voltage of the channel signal. (Kong, [0071-0080], [0080], “In the low power mode, the low power enable signal LPMEN may be at a logic high level, and the first to third output enable signals OEN1 to OEN3 may be sequentially shifted to a logic high level. Therefore, the connection switches CSW1 and CSW2 may be turned on, and the output switches OSW1 to OSW3 may be sequentially turned on during the first to third periods T1 to T3.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to sequentially drive the pixel as this was a known technique in view of Kong and would have been utilized for the purpose of to provide a data driver and a display driving circuit, in which consumption power is reduced. (Kong, [0004])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Prior art made of record and not relied upon which is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited in a current or previous PTO-892. The prior art cited in a current or previous PTO-892 reads upon the applicants claims in part, in whole and/or gives a general reference to the knowledge and skill of persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Applicant, when responding to this Office action, should consider not only the cited references applied in the rejection but also any additional references made of record.
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests support be shown for any new or amended claims. More precisely, indicate support for any newly added language or amendments by specifying page, line numbers, and/or figure(s). This will assist The Office in compact prosecution of this application. The Office has cited particular columns, paragraphs, and/or line numbers in the applied rejection of the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within each claim, however other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing a response, should fully consider the cited reference(s) in its entirety and not only the cited portions as other sections of the reference may expand on the teachings of the cited portion(s).
Applicant Representatives are reminded of CFR 1.4(d)(2)(ii) which states “A patent practitioner (§ 1.32(a)(1) ), signing pursuant to §§ 1.33(b)(1) or 1.33(b)(2), must supply his/her registration number either as part of the S-signature, or immediately below or adjacent to the S-signature. The number (#) character may be used only as part of the S-signature when appearing before a practitioner’s registration number; otherwise the number character may not be used in an S-signature.” When an unsigned or improperly signed amendment is received the amendment will be listed in the contents of the application file, but not entered. The examiner will notify applicant of the status of the application, advising him or her to furnish a duplicate amendment properly signed or to ratify the amendment already filed. In an application not under final rejection, applicant should be given a two month time period in which to ratify the previously filed amendment (37 CFR 1.135(c) ).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Granting of After Final Interviews: “Interviews merely to restate arguments of record or to discuss new limitations which would require more than nominal reconsideration or new search should be denied.” See MPEP § 713.09.
/Michael J Jansen II/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626