DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/398733, filed on 02/08/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 2-3 recite “the at least one character strings”, which Examiner suggests amending to “the at least one character string”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “character recognition device” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "selects the at least one character string from among the character strings recognized by the recognizer" in Lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there is no earlier mention of character strings recognized by the recognizer, only that the recognizer recognizes at least one character string (which is the at least one character string that is selected by the selector). Examiner has interpreted the limitation to be where the selector selects character strings from among the at least one character string recognized by the recognizer and suggests amending the limitation to clarify what is meant.
Claims 3 and 4 depend on claim 2 and thus are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) steps of recognizing at least one character string from a plurality of character strings in an image including a trailer and selecting the at least one character string as the trailer ID/container ID based on the at least one character string having a similarity to a master data of a previously held trailer ID/container ID equal to or larger than a predetermined threshold value, which may be performed practically in the human mind as a mental process by mentally observing an image and identifying at least one character string in the image of the trailer and mentally observing and comparing the at least one character string and a previously held trailer ID/container ID to see how many characters are the same, where if the number of characters that are the same is larger than a predetermined value, determining that the at least one character string is the trailer ID/container ID. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements of capturing an image of a trailer amounts to mere data gathering and output recited at a high level of generality and thus is insignificant extra-solution activity. The additional elements of a processor, a character recognition device, and at least one imaging device are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer and camera.
The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, the additional elements of a processor, a character recognition device, and at least one imaging device are at best mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and generic camera component. The additional element of capturing an image of a trailer is recited at a high level of generality that amounts to obtaining and receiving data over a network and is well-understood, routine, conventional activity. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. Thus, claims 1, 6, and 7 are not patent eligible.
The dependent claims 2-5 also do not include elements that amount to significantly more than just the abstract idea or integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, claims 2-5 are also not patent eligible.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-8, 10, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,142,064. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
With regards to claim 1, it is met by claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,142,064.
With regards to claim 2, it is met by claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,142,064.
With regards to claim 3, it is met by claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,142,064.
With regards to claim 4, it is met by claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,142,064.
With regards to claim 5, it is met by claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,142,064.
With regards to claim 6, it is met by claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,142,064.
With regards to claim 7, it is met by claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,142,064.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lee et al. (US 2009/0180683) in view of Matsumoto et al. (US 2024/0169750) and Luo (CN 109615910, see translated version).
The applied reference Matsumoto et al. (US 2024/0169750) has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
With regards to claim 1, Lee et al. discloses a character recognition device comprising a processor (Para. 0030 lines 24-29, "processor") configured to implement:
a recognizer that recognizes at least one character string in an image including a container handler captured by an imaging device (Para. 0027 lines 1-6, 0035 lines 19-25, 0036 lines 28-39, 0037 lines 1-17, "capture images" "container"); and
a selector that selects one of the at least one character string as the trailer ID / container ID based on a master data of a held trailer ID / container ID (Para. 0036 lines 43-46, "compares" "manifest list" "result").
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach recognizing the at least one character string from a plurality of character strings and the image including a trailer.
However, Matsumoto et al. discloses the concept of recognizing at least one character string of a container ID from a plurality of character strings in an image including a trailer (Para. 0018 lines 1-5, 0027 lines1-2, 0032 lines 1-5, 0033 lines 1-7, "detects character strings" "image of a trailer") in order to accurately recognize the container ID since the image may include various characters not necessarily the ID related to the identification of the container (Para. 0004 lines 1-17, "not necessarily the ID"). In addition, while Lee et al. discloses recognizing a container ID from an image including a container handler, Matsumoto et al. discloses recognizing a container ID from a plurality of character strings in an image including a trailer. In both cases, a container ID is recognized from an image of some type of vehicle carrying the container.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee et al. to replace the technique of recognizing a character string in an image including a container handler with recognizing a character string from a plurality of character strings in an image including a trailer as taught by Matsumoto et al. since one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution and the results from the substitution would be predictable to recognize a character string and more accurately identify a container ID from an image including a vehicle carrying a container.
The combination of Lee et al. and Matsumoto et al. does not explicitly teach selecting one of the at least one character string based on the at least one character string having a similarity to a master data of a previously held trailer ID / container ID equal to or larger than a predetermined threshold value.
However, Luo discloses the concept of selecting a vehicle ID based on the vehicle ID having a similarity to master data of a previously registered or stored vehicle ID equal to or larger than a predetermined threshold value (Para. 0101 lines 1-9, 0103 lines 1-3, "in advance" "database" "match successfully" "greater than"). While the combination of Lee et al. and Matsumoto et al. discloses selecting one of the container IDs by comparing to master data of a held container ID and storing the results, Luo discloses the concept of selecting a vehicle ID based on the vehicle ID having a similarity to master data of a previously held vehicle ID larger than a predetermined threshold value. In both cases, a vehicle ID is selected by comparing to master data of a held vehicle ID.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Lee et al. and Matsumoto et al. to replace the technique of selecting a container ID by comparing to master data of a held container ID with selecting a container ID by comparing to master data of a previously held container ID, where the container ID has a similarity to the master data of the previously held container ID larger than a predetermined threshold value as taught by Luo since one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution and the results from the substitution would be predictable to select a container ID by comparing to master data of a held container ID.
With regards to claim 5, the combination of Lee et al., Matsumoto et al., and Luo discloses the character recognition device according to claim 1, wherein the selector calculates the similarity based on a Levenshtein distance between the at least one character strings and the master data (Luo: Para. 0101 lines 1-9, 0103 lines 1-3, "edit distance algorithm").
With regards to claim 6, it recites the functions of the apparatus of claim 1 as a process. Thus, the analysis in rejecting claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 6.
With regards to claim 7, Lee et al. discloses a character recognition system comprising:
at least one imaging device that captures an image of a container handler (Para. 0027 lines 1-6, 0035 lines 19-25, 0036 lines 28-39, “camera”); and
a processor (Para. 0030 lines 24-29, "processor") configured to implement:
a recognizer that recognizes at least one character string in the image of the container handler captured by the at least one imaging device (Para. 0027 lines 1-6, 0035 lines 19-25, 0036 lines 28-39, 0037 lines 1-17, "capture images" "container"); and
a selector that selects one of the at least one character string as the trailer ID / container ID based on a master data of a held trailer ID / container ID (Para. 0036 lines 43-46, "compares" "manifest list" "result").
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach recognizing the at least one character string from a plurality of character strings and the image including a trailer.
However, Matsumoto et al. discloses the concept of recognizing at least one character string of a container ID from a plurality of character strings in an image including a trailer (Para. 0018 lines 1-5, 0027 lines1-2, 0032 lines 1-5, 0033 lines 1-7, "detects character strings" "image of a trailer") in order to accurately recognize the container ID since the image may include various characters not necessarily the ID related to the identification of the container (Para. 0004 lines 1-17, "not necessarily the ID"). In addition, while Lee et al. discloses recognizing a container ID from an image including a container handler, Matsumoto et al. discloses recognizing a container ID from a plurality of character strings in an image including a trailer. In both cases, a container ID is recognized from an image of some type of vehicle carrying the container.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee et al. to replace the technique of recognizing a character string in an image including a container handler with recognizing a character string from a plurality of character strings in an image including a trailer as taught by Matsumoto et al. since one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution and the results from the substitution would be predictable to recognize a character string and more accurately identify a container ID from an image including a vehicle carrying a container.
The combination of Lee et al. and Matsumoto et al. does not explicitly teach selecting one of the at least one character string based on the at least one character string having a similarity to a master data of a previously held trailer ID / container ID equal to or larger than a predetermined threshold value.
However, Luo discloses the concept of selecting a vehicle ID based on the vehicle ID having a similarity to master data of a previously registered or stored vehicle ID equal to or larger than a predetermined threshold value (Para. 0101 lines 1-9, 0103 lines 1-3, "in advance" "database" "match successfully" "greater than"). While the combination of Lee et al. and Matsumoto et al. discloses selecting one of the container IDs by comparing to master data of a held container ID and storing the results, Luo discloses the concept of selecting a vehicle ID based on the vehicle ID having a similarity to master data of a previously held vehicle ID larger than a predetermined threshold value. In both cases, a vehicle ID is selected by comparing to master data of a held vehicle ID.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Lee et al. and Matsumoto et al. to replace the technique of selecting a container ID by comparing to master data of a held container ID with selecting a container ID by comparing to master data of a previously held container ID, where the container ID has a similarity to the master data of the previously held container ID larger than a predetermined threshold value as taught by Luo since one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution and the results from the substitution would be predictable to select a container ID by comparing to master data of a held container ID.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim(s) 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2009/0180683) in view of Zhu (CN 110942073, see translated version), Guo et al. (CN 113496212, see translated version), and Luo (CN 109615910, see translated version).
With regards to claim 1, Lee et al. discloses a character recognition device comprising a processor (Para. 0030 lines 24-29, "processor") configured to implement:
a recognizer that recognizes at least one character string in an image including a container handler captured by an imaging device (Para. 0027 lines 1-6, 0035 lines 19-25, 0036 lines 28-39, 0037 lines 1-17, "capture images" "container"); and
a selector that selects one of the at least one character string as the trailer ID / container ID based on a master data of a held trailer ID / container ID (Para. 0036 lines 43-46, "compares" "manifest list" "result").
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach the image including a trailer.
However, Zhu discloses identifying at least one character string of a container ID from an image including a trailer (Para. 0008 lines 1-2, 0010 lines 1-2, 0013 line 1, "image" "container trailer"). While Lee et al. discloses identifying a container ID from an image including a container handler, Zhu discloses identifying a container ID from an image including a trailer. In both cases, a container ID is determined from an image of some type of vehicle carrying the container.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee et al. to replace the technique of identifying a container ID from an image including a container handler with identifying a container ID from an image including a trailer as taught by Zhu since one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution and the results from the substitution would be predictable to recognize a character string and identify a container ID from an image including a vehicle carrying a container.
The combination of Lee et al. and Zhu does not explicitly teach recognizing the at least one character string from a plurality of character strings in an image.
However, Guo et al. discloses the concept of recognizing at least one character string of a container ID from a plurality of character strings in an image in order to accurately recognize the container ID since the image may include various character strings (Para. n0117 lines 1-12, "field areas" "lines of text").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the concept of recognizing at least one character string of a container ID from a plurality of character strings in an image as taught by Guo et al. into the character recognition device of the combination of Lee et al. and Zhu. The motivation for this would be to more accurately recognize the container ID since the image may include various character strings.
The combination of Lee et al., Zhu, and Guo et al. does not explicitly teach selecting one of the at least one character string based on the at least one character string having a similarity to a master data of a previously held trailer ID / container ID equal to or larger than a predetermined threshold value.
However, Luo discloses the concept of selecting a vehicle ID based on the vehicle ID having a similarity to master data of a previously registered or stored vehicle ID equal to or larger than a predetermined threshold value (Para. 0101 lines 1-9, 0103 lines 1-3, "in advance" "database" "match successfully" "greater than"). While the combination of Lee et al., Zhu, and Guo et al. discloses selecting one of the container IDs by comparing to master data of a held container ID and storing the results, Luo discloses the concept of selecting a vehicle ID based on the vehicle ID having a similarity to master data of a previously held vehicle ID larger than a predetermined threshold value. In both cases, a vehicle ID is selected by comparing to master data of a held vehicle ID.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Lee et al., Zhu, and Guo et al. to replace the technique of selecting a container ID by comparing to master data of a held container ID with selecting a container ID by comparing to master data of a previously held container ID, where the container ID has a similarity to the master data of the previously held container ID larger than a predetermined threshold value as taught by Luo since one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution and the results from the substitution would be predictable to select a container ID by comparing to master data of a held container ID.
With regards to claim 5, the combination of Lee et al., Zhu, Guo et al., and Luo discloses the character recognition device according to claim 1, wherein the selector calculates the similarity based on a Levenshtein distance between the at least one character strings and the master data (Luo: Para. 0101 lines 1-9, 0103 lines 1-3, "edit distance algorithm").
With regards to claim 6, it recites the functions of the apparatus of claim 1 as a process. Thus, the analysis in rejecting claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 6.
With regards to claim 7, Lee et al. discloses a character recognition system comprising:
at least one imaging device that captures an image of a container handler (Para. 0027 lines 1-6, 0035 lines 19-25, 0036 lines 28-39, “camera”); and
a processor (Para. 0030 lines 24-29, "processor") configured to implement:
a recognizer that recognizes at least one character string in the image of the container handler captured by the at least one imaging device (Para. 0027 lines 1-6, 0035 lines 19-25, 0036 lines 28-39, 0037 lines 1-17, "capture images" "container"); and
a selector that selects one of the at least one character string as the trailer ID / container ID based on a master data of a held trailer ID / container ID (Para. 0036 lines 43-46, "compares" "manifest list" "result").
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach the image including a trailer.
However, Zhu discloses identifying at least one character string of a container ID from an image including a trailer (Para. 0008 lines 1-2, 0010 lines 1-2, 0013 line 1, "image" "container trailer"). While Lee et al. discloses identifying a container ID from an image including a container handler, Zhu discloses identifying a container ID from an image including a trailer. In both cases, a container ID is determined from an image of some type of vehicle carrying the container.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lee et al. to replace the technique of identifying a container ID from an image including a container handler with identifying a container ID from an image including a trailer as taught by Zhu since one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution and the results from the substitution would be predictable to recognize a character string and identify a container ID from an image including a vehicle carrying a container.
The combination of Lee et al. and Zhu does not explicitly teach recognizing the at least one character string from a plurality of character strings in an image.
However, Guo et al. discloses the concept of recognizing at least one character string of a container ID from a plurality of character strings in an image in order to accurately recognize the container ID since the image may include various character strings (Para. n0117 lines 1-12, "field areas" "lines of text").
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the concept of recognizing at least one character string of a container ID from a plurality of character strings in an image as taught by Guo et al. into the character recognition device of the combination of Lee et al. and Zhu. The motivation for this would be to more accurately recognize the container ID since the image may include various character strings.
The combination of Lee et al., Zhu, and Guo et al. does not explicitly teach selecting one of the at least one character string based on the at least one character string having a similarity to a master data of a previously held trailer ID / container ID equal to or larger than a predetermined threshold value.
However, Luo discloses the concept of selecting a vehicle ID based on the vehicle ID having a similarity to master data of a previously registered or stored vehicle ID equal to or larger than a predetermined threshold value (Para. 0101 lines 1-9, 0103 lines 1-3, "in advance" "database" "match successfully" "greater than"). While the combination of Lee et al., Zhu, and Guo et al. discloses selecting one of the container IDs by comparing to master data of a held container ID and storing the results, Luo discloses the concept of selecting a vehicle ID based on the vehicle ID having a similarity to master data of a previously held vehicle ID larger than a predetermined threshold value. In both cases, a vehicle ID is selected by comparing to master data of a held vehicle ID.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Lee et al., Zhu, and Guo et al. to replace the technique of selecting a container ID by comparing to master data of a held container ID with selecting a container ID by comparing to master data of a previously held container ID, where the container ID has a similarity to the master data of the previously held container ID larger than a predetermined threshold value as taught by Luo since one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution and the results from the substitution would be predictable to select a container ID by comparing to master data of a held container ID.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, and 35 U.S.C. 101 set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With regards to claim 2, Luo discloses the concept of selecting a vehicle ID based on the vehicle ID having a similarity to master data of a previously registered or stored vehicle ID equal to or larger than a predetermined threshold value, however, there is no mention of selecting one of the candidates of the trailer ID/container ID as the trailer ID/container ID based on the candidates (plural) of the trailer ID/container ID having a similarity to the master data equal to or larger than the predetermined threshold value. Kang (KR 20170084463) discloses the concept of selecting a vehicle number based on the vehicle number having a similarity to master data of a previously held or registered vehicle number equal to or larger than a predetermined threshold value, however, there is no mention of selecting the vehicle number based on candidates of the vehicle number having a similarity to the master data. Matsumoto et al. (US 2024/0169750) discloses selecting a character string from among character strings recognized by the recognizer as candidates of the trailer ID/container ID, however, there is no mention of selecting one of the candidates of the trailer ID / container ID as the trailer ID / container ID based on the candidates of the trailer ID / container ID having a similarity to the master data equal to or larger than the predetermined threshold value. Guo et al. (CN 113496212)
With regards to claims 3 and 4, they are dependent on claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang (KR 20170084463) discloses the concept of selecting a vehicle number based on the vehicle number having a similarity to master data of a previously held or registered vehicle number equal to or larger than a predetermined threshold value.
Peach et al. (US 2005/0201592) discloses the concept of selecting a truck ID based on matching with master data of a previously held ID in a database.
Applicants are also directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith.
Contact Information
/CAROL W CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672