DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. Amendments filed on 11/25/2025 have been entered. Claims 1 and 9 have been amended and claims 4 and 11 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant contends that, “Feng fails to teach or suggest "wherein the controller is configured to supply a fixed data voltage to the first area and the second area, adjust the low voltage applied to the first area and the low voltage applied to the second area, and detect low voltages at which preset luminance is measured in the areas as the first low voltage and the second low voltage," as recited in claim 1”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In paragraph [0068], Feng discloses that the second power supply includes a low voltage, ELVSS. Paragraph [0113] of Feng further discusses that adjusting the second power supply in the first pixel region 10 and the second pixel region 20 in order to provide a uniform luminance in both the first pixel region 10 and the second pixel region 20. Note that providing the uniform luminance could be a uniform luminance for a background image formed by a fixed data voltage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feng et al (US 2022/0157236).
As to claim 1, Feng teaches an optical compensation system comprising:
a display device including a plurality of pixels ([0045] the display region includes a first pixel region 10 and a second pixel region 20, fig. 5) configured to emit light by controlling a driving current flowing from a high voltage to a low voltage according to a data voltage ([0060] Drive current generated based on the gate-source voltage flows to the anode of the corresponding light-emitting element EL, and the corresponding light-emitting element EL is driven to emit light.);
a first measurement unit configured to measure optical characteristics from an image displayed in a first area of the display device ([0045] obtaining first light-emitting luminance information of the first pixel region 10, [0063] The driver IC uses a certain sampling circuit to sample actual pixel current I.sub.M of the first pixel region 10 and the second pixel region 20);
a second measurement unit configured to measure optical characteristics from an image displayed in a second area of the display device ([0045] obtaining… second light-emitting luminance information of the second pixel region 20, [0063] The driver IC uses a certain sampling circuit to sample actual pixel current I.sub.M of the first pixel region 10 and the second pixel region 20);
a driver configured to control at least one of the data voltage, the high voltage, and the low voltage of the display device to display an image ([0045] adjusting a power supply signal of the first pixel region 10 and/or a power supply signal of the second pixel region 20, [0077]-[0078]); and
a controller configured to detect a first low voltage optimized for pixels in the first area and a second low voltage optimized for pixels in the second area on the basis of optical characteristics input to the first measurement unit and the second measurement unit and to detect optical compensation values on the basis of an image displayed by supplying the first low voltage to the pixels in the first area and by supplying the second low voltage to the pixels in the second area ([0045] adjusting a power supply signal of the first pixel region 10 and/or a power supply signal of the second pixel region 20, respectively, according to the first light-emitting luminance information of the first pixel region 10 and the second light-emitting luminance information of the second pixel region 20, [0077]-[0078]), wherein the controller is configured to supply a fixed data voltage to the first area and the second area (Examiner’s Note: there are times when both the first pixel and the second pixel regions display the same background image such as a white or a blue color background), adjust the low voltage applied to the first area and the low voltage applied to the second area, and detect low voltages at which preset luminance is measured in areas as the first low voltage and the second low voltage ([0113] when the power supply signal includes the second power supply signal, the driver IC is further configured to: increase a voltage value of the second power supply signal of the first pixel region 10 and/or decrease a voltage value of the second power supply signal of the second pixel region 20 when it is determined that light-emitting luminance of the first pixel region 10 is higher than light-emitting luminance of the second pixel region 20 according to the first light-emitting luminance information of the first pixel region 10 and the second light-emitting luminance information of the second pixel region 20; decrease a voltage value of the second power supply signal of the first pixel region 10 and/or increase a voltage value of the second power supply signal of the second pixel region 20 when it is determined that light-emitting luminance of the first pixel region 10 is lower than light-emitting luminance of the second pixel region 20 according to the first light-emitting luminance information of the first pixel region 10 and the second light-emitting luminance information of the second pixel region 20, [0109], [0129]).
As to claim 2, Feng teaches the optical compensation system, wherein the first area includes a general area having a general subpixel arrangement, and the second area includes an optical area in which a transmission part for an optical device is formed ([0046] display region includes a first pixel region 10 and a second pixel region 20. The second pixel region 20 has a lower pixel density than the first pixel region 10, and the second pixel region 20 is used to set up structures such as a camera module or an infrared light sensor in the display device, fig. 5).
As to claim 3, Feng teaches the optical compensation system, wherein the controller is configured to detect black data values by supplying the first low voltage to the pixels in the first area and supplying the second low voltage to the pixels in the second area, and then to detect optical compensation values of the first area and the second area ([0101] In the luminance compensation method provided in the foregoing embodiment, three parameters of the data signal(s), ELVDD and ELVSS of the first pixel region 10 and/or the second pixel region 20 may be controlled at the same time according to the first light-emitting luminance information of the first pixel region 10 and the second light-emitting luminance information of the second pixel region 20. Examiner notes that if the supplied voltage is a low voltage, low data value or black data would be detected).
4. (Canceled)
As to claim 8, Feng teaches the optical compensation system, wherein the second area includes an optical area in which a transmission part for an optical device is formed ([0046] display region includes a first pixel region 10 and a second pixel region 20. The second pixel region 20 has a lower pixel density than the first pixel region 10, and the second pixel region 20 is used to set up structures such as a camera module or an infrared light sensor in the display device, fig. 5), and the second measurement unit has an aperture small enough to measure optical characteristics of the second area ([0062] the first light-emitting luminance information includes actual pixel current of each pixel in the first pixel region 10, and the second light-emitting luminance information includes actual pixel current of each pixel in the second pixel region 20, [0063] The driver IC uses a certain sampling circuit to sample actual pixel current I.sub.M of the first pixel region 10 and the second pixel region 20).
As to claim 9, Feng teaches an optical compensation method for a display device including a plurality of pixels ([0045] the display region includes a first pixel region 10 and a second pixel region 20, fig. 5) configured to emit light by controlling a driving current flowing from a high voltage to a low voltage according to a data voltage ([0060] Drive current generated based on the gate-source voltage flows to the anode of the corresponding light-emitting element EL, and the corresponding light-emitting element EL is driven to emit light), the optical compensation method comprising:
measuring optical characteristics of a first area having a general subpixel arrangement in the display device through a first measurement unit ([0045] obtaining first light-emitting luminance information of the first pixel region 10, [0063] The driver IC uses a certain sampling circuit to sample actual pixel current I.sub.M of the first pixel region 10 and the second pixel region 20), and simultaneously measuring optical characteristics of a second area including an optical area through a second measurement unit ([0045] obtaining… second light-emitting luminance information of the second pixel region 20, [0063] The driver IC uses a certain sampling circuit to sample actual pixel current I.sub.M of the first pixel region 10 and the second pixel region 20 ); detecting a first low voltage optimized for pixels in the first area and a second low voltage optimized for pixels in the second area on the basis of optical characteristics input to the first measurement unit and the second measurement unit ([0045] adjusting a power supply signal of the first pixel region 10 and/or a power supply signal of the second pixel region 20, respectively, according to the first light-emitting luminance information of the first pixel region 10 and the second light-emitting luminance information of the second pixel region 20, [0077]-[0078]); and detecting optical compensation values on the basis of an image displayed by supplying the first low voltage to the pixels in the first area and supplying the second low voltage to the pixels in the second area ([0045], [0077]-[0078]), wherein the detecting a first low voltage optimized for pixels in the first area and a second low voltage optimized for pixels in the second area comprises supplying a fixed data voltage to the first area and the second area (Examiner’s Note: there are times when both the first pixel and the second pixel regions display the same background image), adjusting the low voltage applied to the first area and the low voltage applied to the second area, and detecting low voltages at which preset luminance is measured in areas as the first low voltage and the second low voltage ([0113] when the power supply signal includes the second power supply signal, the driver IC is further configured to: increase a voltage value of the second power supply signal of the first pixel region 10 and/or decrease a voltage value of the second power supply signal of the second pixel region 20 when it is determined that light-emitting luminance of the first pixel region 10 is higher than light-emitting luminance of the second pixel region 20 according to the first light-emitting luminance information of the first pixel region 10 and the second light-emitting luminance information of the second pixel region 20; decrease a voltage value of the second power supply signal of the first pixel region 10 and/or increase a voltage value of the second power supply signal of the second pixel region 20 when it is determined that light-emitting luminance of the first pixel region 10 is lower than light-emitting luminance of the second pixel region 20 according to the first light-emitting luminance information of the first pixel region 10 and the second light-emitting luminance information of the second pixel region 20, [0109], [0129]).
As to claim 10, Feng teaches the optical compensation method, further comprising detecting black data values by supplying the first low voltage to the pixels in the first area and supplying the second low voltage to the pixels in the second area ([0101] In the luminance compensation method provided in the foregoing embodiment, three parameters of the data signal(s), ELVDD and ELVSS of the first pixel region 10 and/or the second pixel region 20 may be controlled at the same time according to the first light-emitting luminance information of the first pixel region 10 and the second light-emitting luminance information of the second pixel region 20. Examiner notes that if the supplied voltage is a low voltage, low data value or black data would be detected).
11. (Canceled)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al (US 2022/0157236) in view of Lee (US 2022/0208090).
As to claim 7, Feng does not teach the optical compensation system as claimed.
However, Lee teaches the optical compensation system, wherein the controller is configured to store the optical compensation values in an internal memory of the display device through the driver ([0044] The deterioration compensating unit 150 modulates the input image data Idata of each sub pixel SP at present frame based on gain value of a look-up table stored in the memory 160 and then supplies the modulated image data Mdata to the timing controlling unit 120. Further, the deterioration compensating unit 150 writes the look-up table LUT and supplies the written look-up table LUT to the memory 160 to update the look-up table of the memory 160).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Feng to teach storing the optical compensation values, as suggested by Lee. The motivation would have been in order to “provide a display device capable of improving the efficiency of image compensation by measuring the luminance of an actual image and updating a lookup table” ([0006]).
As to claim 14, Feng does not teach the optical compensation method as claimed.
However, Lee teaches the optical compensation method, further comprising storing the optical compensation values in an internal memory of the display device ([0044] The deterioration compensating unit 150 modulates the input image data Idata of each sub pixel SP at present frame based on gain value of a look-up table stored in the memory 160 and then supplies the modulated image data Mdata to the timing controlling unit 120. Further, the deterioration compensating unit 150 writes the look-up table LUT and supplies the written look-up table LUT to the memory 160 to update the look-up table of the memory 160).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Feng to teach storing the optical compensation values, as suggested by Lee. The motivation would have been in order to “provide a display device capable of improving the efficiency of image compensation by measuring the luminance of an actual image and updating a lookup table” ([0006]).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 5-6, 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMEN W BOGALE/Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/NITIN PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628