DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 07/27/2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 remain pending in the application. The amendments overcome the drawing objections set forth in the previous office action dated 02/12/2026. The claim objections have not been addressed and are therefore repeated below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 25 of claim 1, “the occluders” should be changed to “the proximal and distal occluders” to maintain consistent terminology.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 2, filed 07/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102 in view of Ruiz have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ruiz further in view of Chin in order to teach the newly reciting limitations regarding the delivery tube having a sharp distal tip and being adapted to pierce walls of a blood vessel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruiz (US 2011/0082495) in view of Chin et al. (US 7,947,062).
Regarding claim 1, Ruiz discloses an apparatus (Device 70 and 45 as shown in FIGS 3-5C) for controlling blood loss from a blood vessel of a mammalian patient comprising (Although the device is shown being used to collapse and occlude an LAA, the device is at least capable of being used to collapse and occlude a blood vessel, thereby achieving the function of controlling blood loss from said blood vessel. Further, the device of Ruiz comprises all of the claimed structure and therefore is understood to be at least configured to achieve the same function as what is disclosed in the claim): a handle (Not shown, [0044] discloses outer sheath 100 comprises “a suitable proximal end (not shown) for manipulation by a clinician”. This is understood to be a handle); a delivery tube (100) attached to the handle ([0044]) and having proximal (Suitable proximal end not shown) and distal ends (Distal end shown in FIGs 4A-5C) and a lumen (101, [0044]) with an axis (Longitudinal axis of the device as shown in FIGS 4A-5C), the delivery tube being adapted to be advanced transversely through the opposed walls of the blood vessel (The delivery tube is at least sized and shaped such that it could pass through the walls of a blood vessel if the blood vessel had apertures of an appropriate size); a proximal occluder (60, FIG 3, [0038, 0047, 0049-0052]) having an axis and being disposed coaxially within the lumen of the delivery tube in a low-profile configuration (FIG 5A), the proximal occluder being configurable to have at least a portion thereof assume a configuration oriented radially of the delivery tube axis when ejected out of the delivery tube (deployed shape of FIG 5C); a distal occluder (50, FIG 3, [0040, 0046-0047, 0049-0051]) having an axis and being disposed coaxially in a low-profile configuration within the lumen of the delivery tube distally of the proximal occluder (FIG 5A shows the low profile delivery configuration aligned with the longitudinal axis and distal of the proximal occluder), the distal occluder being configurable to have at least a portion thereof assume a configuration oriented radially of the delivery tube axis when ejected out of the delivery tube (Deployed shape of FIG 5B and 5C); an elongate tensioning member (80) being detachably connected to the distal occluder ([0042 and 0047]) and extending proximally through the delivery tube (FIG 4A-5C, [0044]); the distal occluder being ejectable from the delivery tube separately from (Because movement of 80 is separate from 90, which deploys the proximal occluder) and before ejection of the proximal occluder (FIGs 5A-5B show distal occluder 50 is deployed prior to 60, [0046]); an elongate member (90) extending through the delivery tube (FIG 4A-5C, [0044]) and operatively associated with the proximal occluder to urge the proximal occluder in a distal direction ([0046, 0050]); whereby, the occluders may be deployed, sequentially (FIGs 5A-5C, [0048-0050]), and traversely on opposite sides of the vessel (FIG 5B-5C show the occluders being deployed on transversely opposite sides of wall 34 of the LAA, therefore they are at least capable of being deployed on opposite sides of a vessel) and may be urged toward each other to draw opposing vessel walls transversely towards each other (FIGs 4B and 5C shows the step where 50 and 60 are brought closer together, [0046 and 0050], resulting in a transverse force on the tissue walls. This movement is at least configured to draw opposing vessel walls towards each other) to at least partially and controllably occlude the vessel in response to manipulation of the tensioning and elongate members (Manipulation of the tensioning and elongate members draws the proximal and distal occluder closer towards one another, to achieve the position of FIGs 4C and 5C. This position is shown to occlude the LAA and is at least configured to occlude a blood vessel if the occluders were deployed on opposed sides of a vessel. The occlusion is also controllably occluded because the user manages the placement and relative movement of the distal and proximal occluders).
Ruiz discloses the use of sharpened tip 111 (FIG 5A-5C, [0048]) to pierce the tissue wall and allow for the distal occluder to pass to an opposed side thereof (FIG 5C) but is silent regarding the delivery tube having a sharp distal tip and being adapted to pierce through opposed walls of the blood vessel.
Chin teaches in the same field of endeavor of delivering an expandable implant (70/66, FIG 22B-22C) to an opposed side of a vessel wall (FIG 22B-22C, col 7 lines 28-34) wherein the implant is delivered through the wall in the lumen of a delivery tube having a sharp distal end (insertion tube 72) which is adapted to pierce through opposed walls of a blood vessel (Col 7 lines 30-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the delivery tube of Ruiz to comprise a sharp distal tip adapted to pierce through opposed walls of the blood vessel, as taught by Chin, for the purpose of substituting a commonly known technique for piercing a vessel wall for another (sharpened tip insertion tube vs. sharpened tip guide wire) to achieve the predictable result of creating an opening in the vessel wall sufficient to deliver the distal occluder to an opposed side thereof.
Regarding claim 2, Ruiz/Chin disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Ruiz further discloses the tensioning member (80) is separable from the distal occluder (FIG 4C and 5C).
Regarding claim 4, Ruiz/Chin disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Ruiz further discloses the elongate member (90) having a distal end engageable with the proximal occluder to enable the rotational position of the deployed proximal occluder to be adjusted relative to the distal occluder in response to rotation of the elongate member ([0047] the distal end of elongate member 90 comprises a projection 91 which mates with slot 67 of the proximal occluder, thereby permitting the rotational position to be adjusted via rotation of the elongate member).
Regarding claim 5, Ruiz/Chin disclose the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1. Ruiz further discloses the tensioning member (80) having a distal end engageable with the distal occluder to enable the rotational position of the deployed distal occluder to be adjusted relative to the proximal occluder in response to rotation of the tensioning member ([0046-0047] the distal end of tensioning member 80 comprises threads 82 which mate with threads 58 of the distal occluder, thereby permitting the rotational position to be adjusted via rotation of the tensioning member).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BROOKE LABRANCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771