DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3, 9-10, 16, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, Jang teaches the mounted clothes may also create a waveform. That is, when one end of the clothes T is held and shaken, a wave proceeds along the clothes. In this case, the other end of the clothes is a free end, and the wave is reflected from the free end. Thus, a standing wave may be created, so that a node may be formed. Referring to FIG. 18D, a plurality of nodes may be formed in the clothes according to the size of the wave, that is, the wavelength thereby by suggesting the reference frequency is selected from a frequency range that is predetermined based on a sample hung on the laundry hanger having (i) a first shape of a first waveform in a first state in which the sample is biased to a first side of the laundry hanger support portion and (ii) a second shape of a second waveform in a second state in which the sample is biased to a second side of the laundry hanger support portion.
However, Jang is silent to the frequency range is defined based on overlap points of the first waveform and the second waveform.[0349]
Claim 3 is dependent upon claim 2.
Regarding claim 9, Jang teaches the hanger bar may be configured to, in the first mode, reciprocate at a first frequency and a first amplitude, the first frequency being smaller than a resonance frequency of the driver, and the first amplitude being determined based on the first frequency. The hanger bar may be configured to, in the second mode, reciprocate at a second frequency and a second amplitude, the second frequency being greater than the resonance frequency, and the second amplitude being determined based on the second frequency. The hanger bar may be configured to reciprocate in one of the first mode, the second mode, and a third mode. The hanger bar is configured to, in the third mode, reciprocate at a third frequency and a third amplitude, the third frequency being between the first and second frequencies, and the third amplitude being determined based on the third frequency. The third amplitude is greater than the first amplitude and the second amplitude. The hanger bar may be configured to reciprocate in one of the first mode, the second mode, the third mode, and a fourth mode. The hanger bar is configured to, in the fourth mode, reciprocate at a fourth frequency and a fourth amplitude, the fourth frequency being greater than the third frequency, and the fourth amplitude being determined based on the fourth frequency thereby reading on the controller is configured to, during the period in the second motion mode, vary the frequency of the reciprocating motion among a first frequency, a second frequency, and a third frequency, wherein the first frequency is greater than or equal to the reference frequency, wherein the second frequency is greater than the first frequency, wherein the third frequency is (i) greater than or equal to the second frequency and (ii) less than or equal to a maximum frequency corresponding to a frequency generated by a maximum output of the driver.[0021]
However, Jang is silent to wherein the period includes a first sub-period and a second-sub period, wherein the controller is configured to, in the first sub-period, vary the frequency from the first frequency to the third frequency, wherein the controller is configured to, in the second sub-period, vary the frequency from the third frequency to the first frequency, and wherein the second sub-period is shorter than the first sub-period.
Regarding claim 10, Jang teaches the mounted clothes may also create a waveform. That is, when one end of the clothes T is held and shaken, a wave proceeds along the clothes. In this case, the other end of the clothes is a free end, and the wave is reflected from the free end. Thus, a standing wave may be created, so that a node may be formed. Referring to FIG. 18D, a plurality of nodes may be formed in the clothes according to the size of the wave, that is, the wavelength thereby by suggesting the laundry hanger support portion is configured to vary a shape of the laundry hung on the laundry hanger based on vibration of the laundry in response to the reciprocating motion of the laundry hanger support portion, the shape of the laundry defining (i) a first waveform in a first state in which the laundry is biased to a first side of the laundry hanger support portion and (ii) a second waveform in a second state in which the laundry is biased to a second side of the laundry hanger support portion.
However, Jang is silent to a position of an overlap point of the first waveform and the second waveform varies in the second motion mode.
Regarding claim 16, Jang teaches the frequency varies in the third motion mode over a period ranging from 20 seconds to 1 minute to be an obvious modification through routine experimentation and optimization as Jang teaches if the first mode is executed for 30 seconds and then the second mode is performed for 5 minutes, the hanger bar 693 may operate (reciprocate) alternately in the first mode for 30 seconds and in the second mode for 5 minutes for one hour.[0351](MPEP 2144.05)
Figure 19A teaches a drying cycles where during the period in the third motion mode, the frequency varies among a first frequency, a second frequency, and a third frequency, wherein the first frequency is greater than or equal to the reference frequency, wherein the second frequency is greater than the first frequency, and wherein the third frequency is (i) greater than the second frequency and (ii) less than or equal to a maximum frequency corresponding to a frequency generated by a maximum output of the driver.
However, Jang is silent to the period includes a first sub-period and a second sub-period, wherein the controller is configured to, in the first sub-period, vary the frequency from the first frequency to the third frequency, and wherein the controller is configured to, in the second sub-period, vary the frequency from the third frequency to the first frequency, and wherein the second sub-period is shorter than the first sub-period.
Regarding claim 19, Regarding claim 2, Jang teaches the mounted clothes may also create a waveform. That is, when one end of the clothes T is held and shaken, a wave proceeds along the clothes. In this case, the other end of the clothes is a free end, and the wave is reflected from the free end. Thus, a standing wave may be created, so that a node may be formed. Referring to FIG. 18D, a plurality of nodes may be formed in the clothes according to the size of the wave, that is, the wavelength thereby by suggesting the reference frequency is selected from a frequency range that is predetermined based on a sample hung on the laundry hanger having (i) a first shape of a first waveform in a first state in which the sample is biased to a first side of the laundry hanger support portion and (ii) a second shape of a second waveform in a second state in which the sample is biased to a second side of the laundry hanger support portion.
However, Jang is silent to the frequency range is defined based on overlap points of the first waveform and the second waveform.[0349]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 11-15, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by over Jang (US 2022/0074123).
Regarding claim 1, Jang figures 1-6, 15, 18, 20, and 22 teach a laundry treating apparatus comprising:
a treatment chamber (100 first chamber) that is defined within the laundry treating apparatus and that is configured to accommodate a laundry hanger (639 hanger bar), the laundry hanger being configured to hang laundry; [0091]
a laundry hanger support portion (690 hanger part, 694 slot) that is disposed at the treatment chamber and that is configured to receive the laundry hanger, wherein the laundry hanger support portion is configured to repeat a reciprocating motion between a first position and a second position (figure 6 teaches the hanger part 690 may further include a slot 694 positioned on the hanger bar 693 and configured to convert the reciprocation of the motion converter 680 into reciprocation in the movement direction); [0180]
a driver (610) configured to provide driving force to the laundry hanger support portion; [0091]
a moisture removal module (drying by heat pump 230) configured to remove moisture from air in the treatment chamber; [0092, 0336]
a steam supply portion (250 steamer) configured to generate steam and to supply the steam to the treatment chamber; [0104] and
a controller (270) configured to control the driver to control a frequency of the reciprocating motion of the laundry hanger support portion, [0138]
wherein the controller is configured to:
in a first motion mode (mode A), control the driver to maintain the frequency of the reciprocating motion at a reference frequency (first frequency), [0021, 26-27, 0324-325] and
in a second motion mode (mode D), control the driver to vary the frequency of the reciprocating motion to be greater than or equal to the reference frequency (first frequency),
wherein the laundry treating apparatus is configured to perform:
a steam cycle (S300) to increase a moisture content of the laundry by operating the steam supply portion, [0460] and
a drying cycle (S900) to reduce the moisture content of the laundry by operating the moisture removal module,[0464]
wherein the laundry treating apparatus is configured to perform a plurality of laundry treatment courses including a first treatment course (shown in figure 22),
wherein the first treatment course includes the steam cycle and the drying cycle that is performed after the steam cycle (shown in figure 22),
wherein, in the first treatment course, the laundry hanger support portion is configured to:
operate in the first motion mode while the drying cycle is being performed (it may be seen that mode A (first mode) is specialized for clothes drying),[0340] and
operate in the second motion mode (mode D, fourth mode) while the steam cycle is being performed (hanger bar may be configured to reciprocate in the fourth mode for at least part of the steam supply time).[0021][0328]
Regarding claim 4, Jang teaches hanger part 690 may be connected to the driver 610 to receive the vibration of the driver 610. The vibration generated by the driver 610 may be converted by the motion converter 680 into arc reciprocation and then converted into linear reciprocation of the hanger bar 693 thereby reading on the laundry hanger support portion is configured to, based on the laundry hanger support portion reciprocating between the first position and the second position, reciprocate ends of the laundry hanger along an arc with respect to a central axis of the laundry hanger.[0167]
Regarding claim 5, Jang teaches the frequency of the hanger bar may be between 120 RPM (revolutions per minute or rounds per minute) to 200 RPM thereby reading on the reference frequency is selected from a range of 200rpm to 250rpm.[0411]
Regarding claim 6, Jang figure 15E teaches the controller is configured to, in the second motion mode, control the driver to vary the frequency of the reciprocating motion to be (i) greater than or equal to the reference frequency (first mode) and (ii) less than or equal to a maximum frequency.[0411]
Regarding claim 7, Jang teaches a driver 610 configured to reciprocate the hanger bar 693 based on the torque of a motor 620. In particular, the hanger bar 693 may reciprocate with different amplitudes and periods according to the number of times that the motor 620 rotates thereby suggesting the maximum frequency is a frequency generated by a maximum output of the driver.[0091]
Regarding claim 11, Jang figure 20A teaches preheating process may be executed during a steam preheating time P1 thereby reading on the laundry treating apparatus is configured to perform a pre-steam cycle before the steam cycle.[0414] Jang further teaches to remove dust from clothes through the preheating process, the hanger bar 693 needs to reciprocate in mode C, which is the second mode specialized for dust removal thereby reading on the pre-steam cycle includes an operation of dusting the laundry while the steam supply portion generates steam for the steam cycle.[0419] Figure 20A teaches the controller is configured to, in a third motion mode, maintain the frequency of the laundry hanger support portion at a maximum frequency that corresponds to a frequency generated by a maximum output of the driver, and wherein, in the first treatment course, the laundry hanger support portion is configured to operate in the third motion mode while the pre-steam cycle is being performed.
Regarding claim 12, figure 20A teaches when the steam supply process is completed, the controller 270 may be configured to perform the standby process for a predetermined standby time P22. In the standby process, the inside of the first chamber 100 may be filled with wet steam (wet vapor or wet saturated vapor) due to the steam supply process thereby suggesting the laundry treating apparatus is configured to perform a stay cycle after the steam cycle, wherein the stay cycle includes an operation of stopping steam supply and maintaining the moisture removal module in a non-operating state, and wherein, the laundry hanger support portion is configured to, in the first treatment course, operate in the second motion mode while the pre-steam cycle is being performed.[0423-424]
Regarding claim 13, FIG. 19A shows an example of a drying motion. The drying motion refers to a motion for drying wet clothes, and in general, the clothes treatment apparatus 1000 may provide steam to the first chamber 100 through the steamer 250 for wrinkle removal, deodorization, and sterilization. Accordingly, when the steam penetrates the clothes in the first chamber 100, the clothes are changed from the dry state to the wet state. The drying motion may be used to dry the wet clothes thereby reading on the plurality of laundry treatment courses include a second treatment course, wherein the second treatment course includes the steam cycle and the drying cycle that is performed after the steam cycle.[0390] Jang further teaches at the early stage of the drying motion, the clothes may be strongly shaken by the second mode because the clothes are wet. At the middle of the drying motion, the clothes may be shaken by the third mode because the clothes are somewhat dried. At the last stage of the drying motion, the clothes may be gently shaken by the first mode thereby reading on the laundry hanger support portion is configured to, in the second treatment course, operate: at a frequency lower than the reference frequency while the steam cycle is being performed, and at a frequency lower than the reference frequency while the drying cycle is being performed.[0391]
Regarding claim 14, figure 19A teaches At the last stage of the drying motion, the clothes may be gently shaken by the first mode thereby reading on the controller is configured to, in a third motion mode, control the driver to vary the frequency to be less than or equal to the reference frequency, and wherein the laundry hanger support portion is configured to operate in the third motion mode while the drying cycle is being performed in the second treatment course.[0391]
Regarding claim 15, Jang teaches alternatively, after the steamer 250 supplies steam to the first chamber 100 for the predetermined steam supply time, the hanger bar 693 may reciprocate in the second mode for a predetermined first drying time TD1 while the air blower 220 and the heat pump 230 are driven to dry the clothes in the first chamber 100. After expiration of the first drying time TD1, the hanger bar 693 may reciprocate in the third mode for a predetermined second drying time TD2. After expiration of the second drying time TD2, the hanger bar 693 may reciprocate in the first mode for a predetermined third drying time TD3 thereby suggesting the controller is configured to, in a third motion mode, to vary the frequency of the laundry hanger support portion to be less than or equal to the reference frequency, wherein the plurality of laundry treatment courses include a third treatment course, wherein the third treatment course includes the drying cycle, wherein the laundry hanger support portion is configured to operate in the third motion mode while the drying cycle is being performed in the third treatment course.[0393]
Regarding claim 17, Jang teaches hanger bar may be configured to reciprocate in one of the first mode, the second mode, the third mode, and a fourth mode that allows the hanger bar to reciprocate at a predetermined fourth frequency greater than the third frequency and a fourth amplitude depending on the fourth frequency, where the fourth amplitude may be smaller than the first amplitude, the second amplitude, and the third amplitude thereby reading on the controller is configured to control the driver to maintain an amplitude of a displacement of the laundry hanger support portion based on the reciprocating motion of the laundry hanger support portion in the first motion mode, the second motion mode, and the fourth motion mode.[0028]
Regarding claim 18, Jang figures 1-6, 15, 18, 20, and 22 teach a laundry treating apparatus comprising:
a treatment chamber (100 first chamber) that is defined within the laundry treating apparatus and that is configured to accommodate a laundry hanger (639 hanger bar), the laundry hanger being configured to hang laundry; [0091]
a laundry hanger support portion (690 hanger part, 694 slot) that is disposed at the treatment chamber and that is configured to receive the laundry hanger, wherein the laundry hanger support portion is configured to repeat a reciprocating motion between a first position and a second position (figure 6 teaches the hanger part 690 may further include a slot 694 positioned on the hanger bar 693 and configured to convert the reciprocation of the motion converter 680 into reciprocation in the movement direction); [0180]
a driver (610) configured to provide a driving force to the laundry hanger support portion; [0091]
a moisture removal module (drying by heat pump 230) configured to remove moisture from air in the treatment chamber; [0092,0336] and
a controller (270) configured to control the driver to control a frequency of the reciprocating motion of the laundry hanger support portion, [0138]
wherein the controller is configured to:
in a first motion mode (mode A), control the driver to maintain the frequency of the reciprocating motion at a reference frequency (first frequency), [0021, 26-27, 0324-325] and
in a second motion mode (mode D), control the driver to vary the frequency of the reciprocating motion to be greater than or equal to the reference frequency (first frequency) , and
wherein the laundry treating apparatus is configured to perform:
a drying cycle (S900) to reduce a moisture content of the laundry by operating the moisture removal module.[0464]
Regarding claim 20, Jang teaches hanger part 690 may be connected to the driver 610 to receive the vibration of the driver 610. The vibration generated by the driver 610 may be converted by the motion converter 680 into arc reciprocation and then converted into linear reciprocation of the hanger bar 693 thereby reading on the laundry hanger support portion is configured to, based on the laundry hanger support portion reciprocating between the first position and the second position, reciprocate ends of the laundry hanger along an arc with respect to a central axis of the laundry hanger.[0167]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 2022/0074123).
Regarding claim 8, Jang is silent to the controller is configured to, in the second motion mode, vary the frequency over a period ranging from 20 seconds to 1 minute.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention for the controller to be configured to, in the second motion mode, vary the frequency over a period ranging from 20 seconds to 1 minute through routine experimentation and optimization as Jang teaches if the first mode is executed for 30 seconds and then the second mode is performed for 5 minutes, the hanger bar 693 may operate (reciprocate) alternately in the first mode for 30 seconds and in the second mode for 5 minutes for one hour.[0351](MPEP 2144.05)
Conclusion
CRISTI J. TATE-SIMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/CRISTI J TATE-SIMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711