DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks Regarding Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I) in the reply filed on 05/01/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 8 has been to This is found persuasive and in light of Applicant’s amendment to claim 8, the restriction has been withdrawn.
Status of Claims
The following is a Non-Final Office Action in response to Applicant’s amendments filed on 05/01/2026.
a. Claim 8 is amended
Overall, claims 1-18 are pending and have been considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/29/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, such IDS is being considered by Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 USC 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter. The claimed matter is directed to a judicial exception, i.e. an abstract idea, not integrated into a practical application, and without significantly more.
Per Step 1 of the multi-step eligibility analysis, claims 1-7 are directed to a computer implemented method, claims 8-17 are directed to a system, and claim 18 is directed to computer executable instructions stored on a non-transitory storage medium.
Thus, on its face, each independent claim and the associated dependent claims are directed to a statutory category of invention.
Per Step 2A.1. The limitations of independent claim 8 (which is representative of Claims 1, 18) shown in bold recite an abstract idea as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a). The non-bolded language are additional elements addressed further below.
[A] A system for blockchain-based communication, the system comprising:
[B] a blockchain network comprising one or more blockchain nodes having a smart contract deployed thereon, the smart contract being adapted to create and manage communications among a plurality of participants, each communication having a communication identifier (ID) and a payload key associated therewith; and
[C] a user device in operative communication with the blockchain network, the user device being adapted to:
[D] requesting, by a user device, creation of a communication by submitting an initial transaction to a blockchain network and addressed to a smart contract deployed thereon, the transaction including a communication identifier (ID) and a list of participants, the smart contract being adapted to create and manage communications;
[E] upon receiving confirmation of the creation of the communication by the smart contract, transmitting, using the user device, a payload key to the participants prior to a first exchange in the communication; and
[F] submitting, by the user device, a transaction to the blockchain network and addressed to the smart contract, the transaction including the communication ID, a payload, and a proof indicative of the payload key, the payload being stored in the blockchain network in association with the communication ID upon a determination, by the smart contract, that the user device is in possession of the payload key based on the proof.
Claim 8 (which is representative of claims 1, 18) recites: create a communication and identifying participant ([A]-[D]); distributing credentials, ([E]); and submitting a transaction ([F]), which, based on the claim language and in view of the application disclosure, represents a process aimed at managing communication and controlling access to information exchanged between people.
The overall claim elements in combination, sharing, and granting access to communication information to specified entities. Such limitations cover interactions between people because an entity can identify participants to an event, send out proper credentials to the respective participant, and allow access only if the said participant has proper credentials. Which falls under the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, i.e., Managing Personal Behavior or Relationships, or Interactions Between People grouping of abstract ideas (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
Accordingly, it is reasonable to conclude that claim 8 (which is representative of claims 1, 18) sets forth or describes a judicial exception.
Per Step 2A.2. The identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements in the independent claims only amount to instructions to apply the judicial exception to a computer or are a general link to a technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(f); MPEP 2106.05(h)).
For example, in the independent claims shown not bolded above, recite: blockchain ([B]), blockchain network ([D], [F]), smart contract ([B], [D]-[F]), user device ([C]-[F]), a blockchain network comprising one or more blockchain nodes having a smart contract deployed thereon, the smart contract being adapted ([B]), and a user device in operative communication with the blockchain network, the user device being adapted to ([C]). When considered individually, the additional elements are recited at high level of generality. They perform only generic computer functions such as submitting transactions, verifying data, and storing and transmitting the data. Applicant’s specification [0028], recites, “The blockchain network, which can include a number of blockchain nodes, such as servers and/or personal computers adapted to maintain the network,” and at [0029], recites “user devices, such as smartphones and personal computers.” The specification further describes the proof only as one as one that “Such a proof can be a zero knowledge proof (ZKP) generated, for example, using any suitable cryptographic technique.” ([0052]). The claims do not recite any particular way in which the smart contract verifies the proof or determines that the user device is in possession of the payload key; they recite only the result. These additional elements therefore amount to no more than instructions to implement the abstract idea “on a computer,” or merely use as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Therefore, the additional steps of claim 8 (which is representative of claims 1 and 18) do not integrate the identified abstract idea into a practical application and the claims remain a judicial exception.
Per Step 2B. Claim 8 (which is representative of claims 1, 18) does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when the independent claim is reevaluated as a whole, as an ordered combination under the considerations of Step 2B, the outcome is the same as under Step 2A.2. The additional elements such as, blockchain ([B]), blockchain network ([D], [F]), smart contract ([B], [D]-[F]), user device ([C]-[F]), a blockchain network comprising one or more blockchain nodes having a smart contract deployed thereon, the smart contract being adapted ([B]), and a user device in operative communication with the blockchain network, the user device being adapted to ([C]), amount to instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer or a general link to technological environment MPEP 2106.05(f); MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Additionally, Applicant’s specification on [0006], recites, “entities can include text payloads in transaction messages, and transmit the messages by submitting a transaction on the blockchain network.” One skilled in the art would conclude the Applicant acknowledges the messaging system already exists. Considered as an ordered combination, a user device submitting a transaction to a smart contract, which validates the transaction and records the data, is the conventional manner of transacting on a blockchain (see [0006], [0049]. The smart contract’s proof-based determination is recited only as a result, as discussed under step 2A.2. The claim as a whole, as an ordered combination therefore does not change how the transactions are submitted, validated, or recorded on the blockchain. Therefore, it is concluded that independent claims 1, 8, 18 are deemed ineligible.
Dependent Claims: Claims 2-7, 9-17 are analyzed for subject matter eligibility. However, these claims fail to recite patent eligible subject matter for following reasons:
Claim 2 (which is representative of claim 11), recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract idea as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a). The non-bolded language are additional elements addressed further below. The claim further recites:
[A] encrypting, by the user device, the payload using a payload key before submitting the transaction;
[B] generating, by the user device, a notification package including encrypted instances of the payload key, each encrypted instance of the payload key being encrypted with a unique user key associated with one of the participants; and
[C] transmitting the notification package to the user devices associated with the participants.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of managing communications and controlling access to information identified in the independent claims 1, and 8. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, dependent claims 2, and 11 are deemed ineligible.
Claim 3 (which is representative of claim 15), recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract idea as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a). The non-bolded language are additional elements addressed further below. The claim further recites:
[A] retrieving, by a receiving user device associated with one of the participants, the payload stored on the blockchain network;
[B] decrypting, by the receiving user device, an encrypted instance of the payload key associated with the receiving user device; and
[C] decrypting the payload stored on the blockchain network using the payload key.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of managing communications and controlling access to information identified in the independent claims 1, and 8. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, dependent claims 3, and 15 are deemed ineligible.
Claim 4 (which is representative of claim 16), recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract idea as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a). The non-bolded language are additional elements addressed further below. The claim further recites:
[A] wherein the payload includes a file storage location associated with a shared file stored outside of the blockchain network, and
[B] wherein the method further comprises retrieving, by the receiving user device, the shared file stored at the file storage location included in the payload.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of managing communications and controlling access to information identified in the independent claims 1, and 8. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, dependent claims 4, and 16 are deemed ineligible.
Claim 5 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract idea as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a). The non-bolded language are additional elements addressed further below. The claim further recites:
[A] wherein the file is encrypted with the payload key, and wherein the method further comprises decrypting, by the receiving user device, the file with the payload key.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of managing communications and controlling access to information identified in the independent claims 1, and 8. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, dependent claim 5 is deemed ineligible.
Claim 6 (which is representative of claim 10) recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract idea as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a). The non-bolded language are additional elements addressed further below. The claim further recites:
[A] concurrently to submitting the transaction to the blockchain network, transmitting, by the user device, the payload to the user devices via a channel external to the blockchain network.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of managing communications and controlling access to information identified in the independent claims 1, and 8. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, dependent claims 6, and 10 are ineligible.
Claim 6 (which is representative of claim 10) recite the additional elements “user device,” “blockchain network,” and “channel external to the blockchain network”. The Examiner has considered the additional element as an ordered combination, the Applicant’s specification [0062] recites, “In parallel, or concurrently, with submitting the blockchain package transaction 522 to the blockchain network 120, the data portion of the transaction 522, or alternatively the encrypted payload 516, is sent in real time, using other channels, to the user devices 114 of the participants of the communication.” The claims (i.e., 6 and 10) recites the external channel use for concurrent submission to the blockchain, however, the claims recite the external channel only generically. The claims do not change how the blockchain network processes, validates, or records transactions. Therefore, considered individually and as an ordered combination, those additional elements do not integrate the identified abstract idea into practical application. And the additional element in the claim amounts to instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer. Therefore, it is concluded that dependent claims 6 and 10 are deemed ineligible.
Claim 7 (which is representative of claim 17) recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract idea as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a). The non-bolded language are additional elements addressed further below. The claim further recites:
[A] identifying, by a back-end server, a new user prior to allowing interactions between a user device associated with the new user and the smart contract.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of managing communications and controlling access to information identified in the independent claims 1, and 8. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, dependent claims 7, and 17 are ineligible.
Claim 7 (which is representative of claim 17) recite the additional elements “new user,” “user device,” “smart contract,” and “back-end server”. However, the computing elements at a high level of generality, which is equivalent to instructions to implement the abstract idea “by a computer” or “on a computer.” Applicant’s specification describes the back-end server as comprising “one or more servers each having a storage medium and one or more processors” (see [0030]). Therefore, the additional elements do not serve to integrate the identified abstract idea into practical application. And the additional element in the claim amounts to instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer. Therefore, it is concluded that dependent claims 7 and 17 are deemed ineligible.
Claim 9 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract idea as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a). The non-bolded language are additional elements addressed further below. The claim further recites:
[A] wherein the payload key associated with the communication is provided to all participants of the communication.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of managing communications and controlling access to information identified in the independent claim 8. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Therefore, dependent claim 9 is ineligible.
Claim 12 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract idea as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a). The non-bolded language are additional elements addressed further below. The claim further recites:
[A] a back-end server in operative communication with user devices associated with the participants, wherein the user device is further configured to generate a notification package when submitting the transaction, the notification package including the payload key, transaction-related information for identifying the transaction on the blockchain network, and participant-related information for identifying the participants to the communication, the notification package being transmitted to the back-end server.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of managing communications and controlling access to information identified in the independent claim 8. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, dependent claim 12 is ineligible.
Claim 12 recite the additional elements “a back-end server in operative communication with user devices associated with the participants, wherein the user device,” “blockchain network,” and “back-end server”. However, the computing elements at a high level of generality, which is equivalent to instructions to implement the abstract idea “by a computer” or “on a computer.” Applicant’s specification describes the back-end server as comprising “one or more servers each having a storage medium and one or more processors” (see [0030]). And the “blockchain network” is a general link to a technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Therefore, the additional elements do not serve to integrate the identified abstract idea into practical application. And the additional element in the claim amounts to instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer. Therefore, it is concluded that dependent claim 12 is deemed ineligible.
Claim 13 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract idea as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a). The non-bolded language are additional elements addressed further below. The claim further recites:
[A] wherein the notification package includes instances of the payload key encrypted with unique user keys, each instance of the payload key being encrypted with one unique user key such that each user device associated with one of the participants is adapted to decrypt a respective instance of the payload key.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of managing communications and controlling access to information identified in the independent claim 8. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, dependent claim 13 is ineligible.
Claim 13 recite the additional elements “user,” and “user device,” however, the computing elements at a high level of generality, which is equivalent to instructions to implement the abstract idea “by a computer” or “on a computer.” The additional elements do not preclude from carrying out the identified abstract idea of completing transaction by following rules. Therefore, those additional elements do not serve to integrate the identified abstract idea into practical application. And the additional element in the claim amounts to instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer. Therefore, it is concluded that dependent claim 13 is deemed ineligible.
Claim 14 recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract idea as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a). The non-bolded language are additional elements addressed further below. The claim further recites:
[A] wherein the back-end server is configured to generate a notification when a new notification package is received, the notification being transmitted to the user devices associated with the participants of the communication associated with the new notification package.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of managing communications and controlling access to information identified in the independent claim 8. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Therefore, dependent claim 14 is ineligible.
Claim 14 recite the additional elements “user devices,” and “back-end server”. However, the computing elements at a high level of generality, which is equivalent to instructions to implement the abstract idea “by a computer” or “on a computer.” Applicant’s specification describes the back-end server as comprising “one or more servers each having a storage medium and one or more processors” (see [0030]). Therefore, the additional elements do not serve to integrate the identified abstract idea into practical application. And the additional element in the claim amounts to instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer. Therefore, it is concluded that dependent claim 14 is deemed ineligible.
When the dependent claims are considered as a whole, as an ordered combination, the claim elements noted above appear to merely apply the abstract concept to a technical environment in a very general sense, i.e., a computer receives information from another computer, processes that information and then sends a response based on processing results. The most significant elements of the claims, that is the elements that really outline the inventive elements of the claims, are set forth in the elements identified in the independent claims as an abstract idea. The fact that the computing devices are facilitating the abstract concept is not enough to confer subject matter eligibility. Overall, the further elements do not confer subject matter eligibility to the invention since their individual and combined significance are not changing the nature of the abstract concepts at the core of the claimed invention. Therefore, it is concluded that the dependent claims of the instant application do not amount to significantly
more. (See MPEP 2106.05).
In sum, claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2-6, 11-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “encrypting, by the user device, the payload using a payload key before submitting the transaction;” Claim 1 recites the limitations “transmitting, using the user device, a payload key to the participants prior to a first exchange in the communication;” In these instances a payload key is being transmitted (claim 1), and a payload key is used to encrypt the payload (encrypt). However, one skilled in the art cannot determine if the Applicant is referring to the payload key used for encryption in claim 2 is the same payload key that was transmitted in claim 1. Although claim 2 does depend on claim 1, claim 1 does not recite any limitation where different payload keys are transmitted. Claim 1 only recites a singular key is transmitted.
Claim 11 recites similar limitations to claim 2 and claim 8 recites similar limitations to claim 1 and thus are rejected for the same reason.
The remainder of the claims are rejected by virtue of dependency.
The reference is provided for the purpose of compact prosecution.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the user devices.” There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 (which claim 6 depend on) recites only “a user device,” and it is unclear whether “the user devices” refers to the user device of claim 1, to user devices associated with the participants, or to other devices. For examination purposes, “the user devices” is interpreted as “user devices associated with the participants.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-9, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathen (US 20200052880 A1), in view of Ferenczi (US20210406878A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 8, 18. Bathen discloses:
(claim 8) a blockchain network comprising one or more blockchain nodes having a smart contract deployed thereon, the smart contract being adapted to create and manage communications among a plurality of participants, each communication having a communication identifier (ID) and a payload key associated therewith; and; [see at least Fig. 4, and (0045) The blockchain 430 may store a smart contract with operations required to form a group, a list of trusted parties for a particular group, the nonce used by the keys of the group and all the groups keys and assigned address information 416]
(claim 8) a user device in operative communication with the blockchain network, the user device being adapted to: [see at least Fig. 5A, and (0046) the method 500 includes identifying a group of blockchain member devices attempting to establish a trusted group communication channel 512, assigning each of the blockchain member devices public/private key pairs 514, publishing the public keys of the blockchain member devices in a list 516, identifying a request from a first blockchain member device requesting a private key]
(claim 1, 8, 18) requesting, by a user device, creation of a communication by submitting an initial transaction to a blockchain network and addressed to a smart contract deployed thereon, the transaction including a communication identifier (ID) and a list of participants, the smart contract being adapted to create and manage communications; [see at least Fig. 4, and (0045) The blockchain 430 may store a smart contract with operations required to form a group, a list of trusted parties for a particular group, the nonce used by the keys of the group and all the groups keys and assigned address information 416. The keys are exchanged among members to verify 418 the trusted parties. The members may exchange communications once the parties are trusted and the unique keys are verified. The member 410 may create a group key that members can use to encrypt messages 422.]
(claim 1, 8, 18) upon receiving confirmation of the creation of the communication by the smart contract, transmitting, using the user device, a payload key to the participants prior to a first exchange in the communication; and [see at least (Figs., 1D, 4, and (0030) A’ will then generate either a group key GSK (private/public key pair) 172, and/or an access token, such as a web token (e.g., symmetric key with expiration date properties among other metadata). This token/key pair is then used to encrypt future messages exchanged among the group. The messages are part of the blockchain transactions. The messages may be exchanged by sending the group key with encrypted (GSK and signature A′SK), B PK 174 for user B and encrypted (GSK and signature A′SK), C′PK 176. The public key will work only during a pre-determined time window for which the group needs to communicate and will expire after the time window has matured. Once the group completes its communications, the members can discard the keys. The next time the user devices attempt to communicate, a new group will be created and the process will repeat.]
(claim 1, 8, 18) submitting, by the user device, a transaction to the blockchain network and addressed to the smart contract, the transaction including the communication ID, a payload, … the payload being stored in the blockchain network in association with the communication ID … [see at least Figs. 4-5, and (0030) The messages (i.e., the payload) are part of the blockchain transactions (i.e., the transaction submitted to the blockchain network). (0045) The exchanges of messages 424 may be forwarded to the blockchain 430 for ledger commitment as a medium to share the information. (0048) adding an identifier (i.e., the communication ID) to the message 558 (i.e., payload), storing the identifier and the message in a blockchain 562 (i.e., the payload being stored in the blockchain network in association with the communication ID. (0049) The identifier (i.e., the communication ID) is stored in the blockchain with the message contents (i.e., the payload) so the intended recipient may reference the identifier to retrieve the message. This enables private messaging by requiring the identifier be known and queried in order to find the message.]
The Bathen reference discloses forming a trusted group with specific participants and distributing keys; however, Bathen does not expressly disclose:
(claim 1, 8, 18) the transaction including … a proof indicative of the payload key, … upon a determination, by the smart contract, that the user device is in possession of the payload key based on the proof.
Nonetheless, Ferenczi discloses:
(claim 1, 8, 18) the transaction including … a proof indicative of the payload key, … upon a determination, by the smart contract, that the user device is in possession of the payload key based on the proof. [see at least Fig. 5, and (0014) The algorithm enables the customer to prove knowledge, or possession of certain information (e.g., the transaction account data), and the merchant to verify knowledge or possession of the information (i.e., a determination of possession based on the proof), without the actual information needing to be disclosed or exchanged between the parties. (0055) Customer device 110 (i.e., user device) generates a proof (Step 508) using the proof function from the zero-knowledge proof algorithm … Customer device 110 may input the proving key pk, the customer hash, and the purchase hash into the proof function to generate the proof. (0056) merchant system 120 invokes ZKP smart contract 145 (i.e., smart contract) (Step 512) by passing the proof, the customer hash, the purchase amount, the verification key vk, and the merchant hash (i.e., the transaction including the proof). In response to being invoked, ZKP smart contract 145 executes the validate function (Step 514) (i.e., the determination, by smart contract, based on the proof) from the zero-knowledge proof algorithm … In response to the validation passing (i.e., upon the determination), ZKP smart contract 145 may proceed with processing the payment. (0058) ZKP smart contract 145 writes a success notification to the blockchain (Step 522) in response to successfully adjusted the account balance of customer 115 and merchant 125 (i.e., storing in the blockchain network upon the determination).]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the group communication and key distribution of Bathen to include the validating smart contract of Ferenczi to provide additional security by making sure only specified user with the correct key is able access and communicate in the group. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Bathen in view of Ferenczi.
Regarding Claim 7, 17. Bathen, Ferenczi discloses the claim limitations of claims 1, 8. Bathen further discloses:
identifying, by a back-end server, a new user prior to allowing interactions between a user device associated with the new user and the smart contract. [(0046) identifying a request from a first blockchain member device requesting a private key, associated with a second blockchain member device, be applied to a predetermined nonce value 518, responsive to identifying a response to the request, verifying, via a public key assigned to the first blockchain member device, that the second blockchain member device is a trusted member of the group of blockchain member devices 522, and responsive to verifying the second blockchain member device is a trusted member of the group of blockchain member devices, permitting communication between the first blockchain member device and the second blockchain member device on the trusted group communication channel 524]
Regarding Claim 9. Bathen, Ferenczi discloses the claim limitations of claim 8. Bathen further discloses:
wherein the payload key associated with the communication is provided to all participants of the communication. [(0027) each member device may have been assigned a unique private/public key pair (e.g., 112, 114, 116 and 118). In order of be able to communicate among themselves, the members need to exchange public keys, so that they may encrypt data that can only be decrypted by the intended party with knowledge of those keys, verify that the public keys being presented to them are valid, and then learn which members are trusted parties in this communication event, or at least, who they could trust for purposes of communication.]
Claims 2-3, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathen, in view of Ferenczi, as applied to claims [1, 8] above, in further view of Ben-Ari (US 20180343114 A1).
Regarding Claims 2, 11-13. Bathen, Ferenczi discloses the claim limitations of claims 1, 8. Bathen further discloses:
(claims 2, 11) encrypting, by the user device, the payload … [(0027) each member device may have been assigned a unique private/public key pair (e.g., 112, 114, 116 and 118). In order of be able to communicate among themselves, the members need to exchange public keys, so that they may encrypt data that can only be decrypted by the intended party with knowledge of those keys, verify that the public keys being presented to them are valid, and then learn which members are trusted parties in this communication event, or at least, who they could trust for purposes of communication.]
(claims 2, 12) generating, by the user device, a notification package including … [see at least Fig. 1C, and (0029) the configuration 150 for building a trusted group includes device 102 generating a unique public/private key pair and address A 152, sending communication requests 154 and 162 to B 104 and C 106, respectively. The requests include encrypted address ‘A’, a signature ASK, and public keys BPK and CPK. The requests have the necessary information to verify that A owns the address and is trusted. For instance, it will transmit its public key APK, which is stored in the trusted list.]
(claim 12) wherein the user device is further configured to generate a notification package when submitting the transaction, the notification package including the payload key, transaction-related information for identifying the transaction on the blockchain network, and participant- related information for identifying the participants to the communication, …[see at least Fig. 1C, and (0029) the configuration 150 for building a trusted group includes device 102 generating a unique public/private key pair and address A 152, sending communication requests 154 and 162 (i.e., notification package) to B 104 and C 106, respectively. The requests include encrypted address ‘A’, a signature ASK, and public keys BPK and CPK. The requests have the necessary information to verify that A owns the address and is trusted. For instance, it will transmit its public key APK, which is stored in the trusted list.]
(claims 2, 12) transmitting the notification package to the user devices associated with the participants. [(0029) sending communication requests 154 and 162 to B 104 and C 106, respectively.]
The combination of Bathen in view of Ferenczi discloses group communication, however the above of combination of Bathen, Ferenczi does not expressly disclose:
(claims 2, 11) encrypting, by the user device, the payload using a payload key before submitting the transaction;
(claims 2,13) generating, by the user device, a notification package including encrypted instances of the payload key, each encrypted instance of the payload key being encrypted with a unique user key associated with one of the participants; and
Nonetheless, Ben-Ari discloses:
(claims 2, 11) encrypting, by the user device, the payload using a payload key before submitting the transaction; [see at least Fig. 3 and (0063) At step 3.12, the initiator device encrypts the private data using the shared key]
(claims 2, 13) generating, by the user device, a notification package including encrypted instances of the payload key, each encrypted instance of the payload key being encrypted with a unique user key associated with one of the participants; and [see at least Fig. 3 and (0063) step 3.14 it posts the transaction including all the needed additional information (addresses, encrypted shared keys, encrypted private data and public data if any).]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the shared key and validation scheme of Bathen in view of Ferenczi to include the encryption scheme of Ben-Ari to generate encrypted key instance. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Bathen in view of Ferenczi, in further view of Ben-Ari.
Regarding Claims 3, 15. Bathen, Ferenczi, Ben-Ari discloses the claim limitations of claims 2, 8. Ben-Ari further discloses:
(claims 3, 15) retrieving, by a receiving user device associated with one of the participants, the payload stored on the blockchain network; [see Fig. 4 (0064) At step 4.04, the device with the role of recipient, receives the transaction.]
(claims 3, 15) decrypting, by the receiving user device, an encrypted instance of the payload key associated with the receiving user device; and [(0064) At step 4.08, it uses its private key to decrypt first the encrypted shared key after retrieving it from shared smart contract, using any asymmetric cryptographic algorithm]
(claims 3, 15) decrypting the payload stored on the blockchain network using the payload key. [(0064) At step 4.10, it used the decrypted shared key to decrypt the encrypted private data]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the shared key and validation scheme of Bathen in view of Ferenczi, in further view of Ben-Ari to include the additional features of encryption scheme of Ben-Ari to generate encrypted key instance. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Bathen in view of Ferenczi, in further view of Ben-Ari.
Regarding Claim 14. Bathen, Ferenczi, Ben-Ari discloses the claim limitations of claim 12. Bathen further discloses:
wherein the back-end server is configured to generate a notification when a new notification package is received, the notification being transmitted to the user devices associated with the participants of the communication associated with the new notification package. [see at least 5B, and (0048) identifying a group of blockchain member devices attempting to establish a trusted group communication channel 552, identifying a request from a first blockchain member device to communicate with a second blockchain member device 554, identifying a message sent from the first blockchain member intended for the second blockchain member 556, adding an identifier to the message 558, storing the identifier and the message in a blockchain 562, notifying the second blockchain member device of the message and the identifier 564, querying the blockchain for the identifier 566, and retrieving the message based on the identifier 568.]
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathen (US 20200052880 A1) in view of Ferenczi (US20210406878A1), in further view of Ben-Ari (US 20180343114 A1), as applied to claim 3 above, in further view of Ow (US 20200311721 A1).
Regarding Claim 4. Bathen, Ferenczi, Ben-Ari discloses the claim limitations of claim 3. The combination of Bathen in view of Ferenczi, in further view of Ben-Ari discloses establishing a secure group for communication, however, the above combination of Bathen, Ferenczi, Ben-Ari does not expressly disclose:
wherein the payload includes a file storage location associated with a shared file stored outside of the blockchain network, and
wherein the method further comprises retrieving, by the receiving user device, the shared file stored at the file storage location included in the payload.
Nonetheless, Ow discloses offline storage:
wherein the payload includes a file storage location associated with a shared file stored outside of the blockchain network, and [(0335) the file has been uploaded to the decentralized storage system 1315, the system creates a hash 1360 that points to the file location in the storage repository. The hash 1360 also contains information about the file size, storage duration, keywords, and other metadata pertinent to the identification of the file being stored. This hash 1360 from the decentralized storage 1315 is shared with the distributed database 1310. The distributed database 1310 records 1365 the transaction hash it has received from the decentralized storage 1315.]
wherein the method further comprises retrieving, by the receiving user device, the shared file stored at the file storage location included in the payload. [see at least (0343) The decentralized storage 1413 initiates the file transfer/share 1465. The decentralized storage 1413 notifies the AXEL network gateway/UI 1405 that the file transfer/share has been initiated. The AXEL network gateway/UI 1405 notifies 1470 the recipient 1415 of the pending file share/transfer waiting. This notification is sent to the recipient 1415 in the manner selected by the user 1401 in step 1430. The AXEL network gateway/UI 1405 also notifies 1475 the user 1401 that the file transfer/share has been initiated. (0344) The recipient 1415 now has access to the shared/transferred file 1180.]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the payload of Bathen in view of Ferenczi, in further view of Ben-Ari to include the off-chain hash scheme of Ow to improve the cost efficiency of storage by storing the record offline. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Bathen in view of Ferenczi, in further view of Ben-Ari, in further view of Ow.
Regarding Claim 5. Bathen, Ferenczi, Ben-Ari, Ow discloses the claim limitations of claim 4. Ben-Ari further discloses:
wherein the file is encrypted with the payload key, and [see at least Fig. 3 and (0063) At step 3.12, the initiator device encrypts the private data using the shared key]
wherein the method further comprises decrypting, by the receiving user device, the file with the payload key. [(0064) At step 4.08, it uses its private key to decrypt first the encrypted shared key after retrieving it from shared smart contract, using any asymmetric cryptographic algorithm]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the shared key and validation scheme of Bathen in view of Ferenczi, in further view of Ben-Ari, in further view of Ow to include the additional features of encryption scheme of Ben-Ari to generate encrypted key instance. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Bathen in view of Ferenczi, in further view of Ben-Ari.
Claims 6, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathen (US 20200052880 A1) in view of Ferenczi (US20210406878A1), as applied to claims [1, 8] above, in further view of Boyraz (WO 2024218683 A1).
Regarding Claims 6, 10. Bathen, Ferenczi discloses the claim limitations of claims 1, 8. The combination of Bathen in view of Ferenczi discloses establishing a secure group for communication, however, the above combination of Bathen, Ferenczi does not expressly disclose:
concurrently to submitting the transaction to the blockchain network, transmitting, by the user device, the payload to the user devices via a channel external to the blockchain network.
Nonetheless, Boyraz discloses concurrently performing action:
concurrently to submitting the transaction to the blockchain network, transmitting, by the user device, the payload to the user devices via a channel external to the blockchain network. [(pg. 9, lines 8-10) the POS can look for a transaction written the blockchain with the unique transaction ID that was generated for that transaction and that was sent to the user’s device along with other data.]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the payload of Bathen in view of Ferenczi, to include concurrent action of Boyraz to increase the efficiency of submitting to the blockchain. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Bathen in view of Ferenczi, in further view of Ow.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathen (US 20200052880 A1), in view of Ferenczi, as applied to claim 8 above, in further view of Ow (US 20200311721 A1).
Regarding Claim 16. Bathen, Ferenczi discloses the claim limitations of claim 8. The combination of Bathen in view of Ferenczi discloses establishing a secure group for communication, however, the above combination of Bathen, Ferenczi does not expressly disclose:
wherein when the payload includes a file storage location, and wherein the user device is configured to download a file located at the file location.
Nonetheless, Ow discloses offline storage:
wherein when the payload includes a file storage location, and [(0335) the file has been uploaded to the decentralized storage system 1315, the system creates a hash 1360 that points to the file location in the storage repository. The hash 1360 also contains information about the file size, storage duration, keywords, and other metadata pertinent to the identification of the file being stored. This hash 1360 from the decentralized storage 1315 is shared with the distributed database 1310. The distributed database 1310 records 1365 the transaction hash it has received from the decentralized storage 1315.]
wherein the user device is configured to download a file located at the file location. [see at least (0343) The decentralized storage 1413 initiates the file transfer/share 1465. The decentralized storage 1413 notifies the AXEL network gateway/UI 1405 that the file transfer/share has been initiated. The AXEL network gateway/UI 1405 notifies 1470 the recipient 1415 of the pending file share/transfer waiting. This notification is sent to the recipient 1415 in the manner selected by the user 1401 in step 1430. The AXEL network gateway/UI 1405 also notifies 1475 the user 1401 that the file transfer/share has been initiated. (0344) The recipient 1415 now has access (i.e., download) to the shared/transferred file 1180.]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the payload of Bathen in view of Ferenczi, to include the off-chain hash scheme of Ow to improve the cost efficiency of storage by storing the record offline. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Bathen in view of Ferenczi, in further view of Ow.
Relevant Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon which, however, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20200169557 A1 Liu; Zheng et al. DATA PROCESSING METHOD AND DEVICE, BLOCKCHAIN CLIENT, AND BLOCKCHAIN NODE - [0005] In the previous related technologies, the plurality of blockchain clients of the same institution separately send transaction data to the blockchain nodes of the institution. Because transaction data is processed in series in the blockchain, a transaction conflict can occur when the plurality of blockchain clients of the same institution concurrently send transaction data to the blockchain node (e.g., the plurality of blockchain clients of the same institution concurrently send transaction data to the same blockchain node or a plurality of blockchain nodes of the institution).
US 20190123895 A1 BLAKE; Shaun Keith et al. METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR VERIFYING A USER TRANSACTION - A method of verifying a user transaction at a blockchain node is provided, the method including receiving at a communication device information provided by a user in a user transaction, generating a message in dependence on the received information and signing the generated message with a private key of a public-private key pair. The method including transmitting the signed message to a server, calling an execution function for executing code of the execution function, the execution function being for verifying that a public key of the public-private key pair matches the private key with which the message was signed, and passing the signed message to the execution function, executing the code to determine whether the signed message was signed with the private key matching the public key, and, based on the determination, verifying the user transaction so as to permit the user transaction to be recorded at a blockchain node
US 20210311924 A1 Tian; Shikun BLOCKCHAIN TRANSACTION PROCESSING SYSTEMS AND METHODS – [0006] a system for processing blockchain transactions includes a storage subsystem including one or more storage devices that store blockchain data, and one or more one or more processors configured to support a first thread pool and a second thread pool that is dedicated to the storage subsystem. The system further includes one or more computer-readable memories coupled to the one or more processors and having instructions stored thereon. The instructions are executable by the one or more processor to perform operations including receiving M blockchain transactions to be executed, where M is an integer greater than one. The operations further include executing the M blockchain transactions. Specifically, N blockchain transactions out the M blockchain transactions are identified, where N is smaller than or equal to M. The N blockchain transactions are distributed to be executed by K threads of the first thread pool in parallel, where a respective number of N.sub.K blockchain transactions out of the N blockchain transactions is distributed to a respective K.sup.th thread. Then, the N blockchain transactions are executed by the K threads in parallel. Executing the N blockchain transactions by the K threads in parallel includes identifying P.sub.1 coroutines for N.sub.1 blockchain transactions out of the N blockchain transactions that are distributed to a first thread in the first thread pool, where P.sub.1 is larger than or equal to N.sub.1. The N.sub.1 blockchain transactions are executed by executing the P.sub.1 coroutines asynchronously. Executing the P.sub.1 coroutines asynchronously includes accessing blockchain data stored in the storage subsystem using the second thread pool. After executing the M blockchain transactions, a blockchain block including the M blockchain transactions is generated and added to a blockchain in the storage subsystem.
US 11489672 B2 Linton; Jeb R. et al. Verification of conditions of a blockchain transaction - An example operation may include one or more of connecting, by a multi-party smart contract server, to a blockchain network configured to store cryptographic proofs, generating, by the multi-party smart contract server, a proposed transaction, providing, by the multi-party smart contract server, the proposed transaction to a plurality of participant nodes, receiving, by the multi-party smart contract server, responses to the proposed transaction from the participant nodes, executing, by the multi-party smart contract server, a smart contract to request from respondent participant nodes attestations of required conditions of the smart contract, receiving and verifying, by the multi-party smart contract server, the attestations from the respondent participant nodes, and executing the proposed transaction and posting a cryptographic proof of a successful execution to the blockchain, by the multi-party smart contract server, in response to a satisfaction of the required conditions of the smart contract.
Conclusion
/M.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/PATRICK MCATEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3698