DETAILED ACTION
1.This action is response to application filed on 08/29/2024. Claims 1-8 are pending.
Allowable Subject Matter
2. Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The allowable subject matter in claim 8 is “causing the recursive DNS resolver to host the virtual authoritative DNS server”.
Claim rejections-35 USC § 112
3. Claim 1 recites the limitation "the recursive DNS resolver" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim rejections-35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joe et al. (US 20140006577) in view of Treuhaft et al. (US 20190342260)
Regarding claim 1:
A method, comprising:
passively capturing domain name system (DNS) data: (Jeo teaches DNS network devices include an authoritative name server which stores virtual DNS records (a virtual DNS record may include one or multiple criteria fields that identify one or multiple criteria correlated or mapped to an IP address provides a domain name system service that includes URI to IP address translation: Jeo [0021]; [0027]).
However, Jeo does not explicitly teach detecting a trigger event associated with an authoritative DNS server.
In similar art, Treuhaft teaches receiving a request for the DNS information associated with domain name, then issue the DNS request to authoritative nameservers (Treuhaft figure 9, item 758; asbstract);
in response to detecting the trigger event: causing the recursive DNS resolver to retrieve last known valid information associated with a zone from an observer system, the last known valid information being associated with the passively captured DNS data: (Treuhaft teaches an authoritative nameserver maintains a master list for a zone which is a group of computing devices. The recursive DNS nameserver obtains domain name information such as IP of the requested resource from authoritative DNS nameservers. Treuhaft also teaches finding if matching record is found with a valid (not expired) TTL field, the name server returns the cached domain name information to the client (Treuhaft, figure 9; [0006]; [0008] abstract); and
causing the recursive DNS resolver to use the passively captured DNS data to provide an answer to a query received from a remote computing device: (finding if matching record is found with a valid (not expired) TTL field, the nameserver returns the cached domain name information to the client: Treuhaft, astract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention time was made to combine Treuhaft’s ideas into Jeo’s system in order to provide better resolution processes for domain name system (see, Treuhaft [0009]).
Regarding claim 2:
In addition to the rejection claim 1, Jeo-Treuhaft further teaches storing the passively captured DNS data at the observer system: (storing previously retrieved domain information in a local cache of DNS nameserver: Treuhaft [0010]; [0045]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention time was made to combine Treuhaft’s ideas into Jeo’s system in order to provide better resolution processes for domain name system (see, Treuhaft [0009]).
Regarding claim 3:
In addition to the rejection claim 1, Jeo-Treuhaft further teaches detecting the trigger event comprises detecting a change in an address record associated with the authoritative DNS server (modifying the domain name information at the recursive nameserver in response to a failure to receive a response to the DNS request from the one or more authoritative nameserver for the domain name: Treuhaft [0015]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention time was made to combine Treuhaft’s ideas into Jeo’s system in order to provide better resolution processes for domain name system (see, Treuhaft [0009]).
Regarding claim 4:
In addition to the rejection claim 1, Jeo-Treuhaft further teaches receiving a notification from an entity associated with the authoritative DNS server: (a DNS nameserver may first issue a DNS request to one of the root servers for generic top level domain information, followed by one or more DNS requests to various ones of the authoritative name servers to determine the requested domain name information. Treuhaft, [0046]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention time was made to combine Treuhaft’s ideas into Jeo’s system in order to provide better resolution processes for domain name system (see, Treuhaft [0009]).
Regarding claim 5:
In addition to the rejection claim 1, Jeo-Treuhaft further teaches determining that an internet protocol (IP) address associated with an answer to a received query is identified in a database of known IP address threats: (Treuhaft teaches recursive DNS nameservers obtain domain name information such as the IP address of a requested resource from authoritative nameservers. Treuhaft also teaches receiving DNS requests from the Internet and resolving the DNS requests based on domain name records, such as a DNS record including a domain name, which is used as a key to lookup a corresponding IP address: Treuhaft [0007]-[0008]; [0064]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention time was made to combine Treuhaft’s ideas into Jeo’s system in order to provide better resolution processes for domain name system (see, Treuhaft [0009]).
Regarding claim 6:
In addition to the rejection claim 1, Jeo-Treuhaft further teaches the passively captured DNS data is associated with a geographic area (recursive DNS server clusters are distributed in different physical geographic locations to resolve requests. The recursive DNS server stores cached domain name information or later using: Treuhaft [0037]; [0039]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention time was made to combine Treuhaft’s ideas into Jeo’s system in order to provide better resolution processes for domain name system (see, Treuhaft [0009]).
Regarding claim 7:
In addition to the rejection claim 1, Jeo-Treuhaft further teaches generating a virtual authoritative DNS server using the passively captured DNS data: (Jeo teaches DNS network devices include an authoritative name server which stores virtual DNS records that provide a virtual domain name system service. For example, a virtual DNS record may include one or multiple criteria fields that identify one or multiple criteria correlated or mapped to an IP address provides a domain name system service that includes URI to IP address translation: Jeo [0021]; [0027]).
Conclusions
/LAN DAI T TRUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444