DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by White (6,532152).
Regarding Claim 21: White teaches an electronic device comprising: a screen (212) that defines a front surface of the electronic device (fig. 2-3a); a case (fig. 2-3a) comprising; a lower housing structure (206) comprising a first side wall (fig. 2-3a) defining a first portion of an exterior side surface (fig. 2-3a) of the electronic device (fig. 2-3a); an upper housing structure (204) coupled to the screen (fig. 2-3a) and to the lower housing structure (fig. 2-3a) and comprising: a second side wall (fig. 2-3a) defining a second portion of the exterior side surface of the electronic device (fig. 2-3a), the first side wall and the second side wall form a continuous curved surface (fig. 2-3a) along a periphery of the screen (fig. 2-3a); and an attachment portion (208), extending toward the lower housing structure (fig. 2-3a, wherein portions extend towards the rear of the device) and coupling the upper housing structure to the lower housing structure (fig. 2-3a).
Regarding Claim 22: White teaches the screen defines substantially all of a front exterior surface of the electronic device (fig. 2-3a).
Regarding Claim 23: White teaches the lower housing structure defines a bottom surface that is substantially planar (fig. 2-3a); and the front surface is substantially planar (fig. 2-3a).
Regarding Claim 24: White teaches the continuous curved surface extends from the front surface to the bottom surface (fig. 2-3a).
Regarding Claim 25: White teaches the lower housing structure is coupled to the upper housing structure using an adhesive (col. 13 lines 10-52).
Regarding Claim 26: White teaches the attachment portion defines one or more internal surfaces (fig. 2-3a); and the adhesive is disposed at the one or more internal surfaces (col. 13 lines 10-15 fig. 2-3a).
Regarding Claim 27: White teaches the attachment portion extends along an inner portion of second wall segment (fig. 2-3a).
Regarding Claim 28: White teaches the upper housing structure comprises a metal material (col. 14 lines 61-67).
Regarding Claim 29: White teaches an electronic device comprising: a display (212) defining a front surface of the electronic device (fig. 2-3a); a bottom housing structure (206) defining a planar back surface (fig. 2-3a) and a lower portion of an external sidewall of the electronic device (fig. 2-3a); an upper housing structure (204) attached to the display and the bottom housing structure (fig. 2-3a), the upper housing structure surrounding the display (fig. 2-3a) and defining: an upper portion of the external sidewall (fig. 2-3a); and an attachment portion (208), extending toward the bottom housing structure (fig. 2-3a, wherein portions extend towards the rear of the device) and coupling the upper housing structure to the bottom housing structure (fig. 2-3a).
Regarding Claim 30: White teaches the external sidewall of the electronic device defines a continuous curved external surface (fig. 2-3a); and the continuous curved external surface extends from the front surface to the planar back surface (fig. 2-3a).
Regarding Claim 31: White teaches the attachment portion extends along an inner portion of upper housing segment (fig. 2-3a).
Regarding Claim 32: White teaches the attachment portion extends along at least a first side of the upper housing structure (fig. 2-3a) and a second side of the upper housing structure (fig. 2-3a).
Regarding Claim 33: White teaches the display defines a substantial entirety of the front surface (fig. 2-3a).
Regarding Claim 34: White teaches the upper housing structure and the bottom housing structure define a seam (fig. 2-3a); and the seam extends around a perimeter of the electronic device (fig. 2-3a).
Regarding Claim 35: White teaches the upper housing structure and the bottom housing structure are each formed from a metal material (col. 14 lines 61-67).
Regarding Claim 36: White teaches an electronic device, comprising: a screen (212) that defines a front surface of the electronic device (fig. 2-3a); a case (fig. 2-3a) comprising; a lower housing structure (206) comprising a first side wall (fig. 2-3a) defining a first exterior side surface of the electronic device (fig. 2-3a); an upper housing structure (204) coupled to the screen and the lower housing structure (fig. 2-3a), the upper housing structure surrounding the screen (fig. 2-3a) and comprising: a second side wall (fig. 2-3a) defining a second exterior side surface of the electronic device (fig. 2-3a) and that meets the first side wall to form a continuous curved surface around a periphery of the screen (fig. 2-3a); and an attachment portion (208), extending toward the lower housing structure (fig. 2-3a, wherein portions extend towards the rear of the device) and coupling the upper housing structure to the lower housing structure (fig. 2-3a).
Regarding Claim 37: White teaches the upper housing structure defines one or more openings in the second wall segment of the electronic device (fig. 2-3a).
Regarding Claim 38: White teaches the screen defines substantially all of the front surface of the electronic device (fig. 2-3a); and the upper housing structure extends around the periphery of the screen (fig. 2-3a).
Regarding Claim 39: White teaches the screen is coupled to the upper housing structure using an adhesive (col. 13 lines 10-52).
Regarding Claim 40: White teaches the upper housing structure and the lower housing structure are each constructed from a metal (col. 14 lines 61-67).
Conclusion
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841