Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Claims 3-4 and 6-9 are deemed to contain allowable subject matter and are objected to.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 8/29/2024 and 5/7/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 29 August 2024. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “a control unit” in claims 1-8.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The present specification describes the control unit as including a processing unit such as a CPU and a primary storage unit such as a DRAM or other volatile memory (see paragraph [0012]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hilldore et al. (US 2020/0164807) made of record in the IDS filed 5/7/2025 (hereafter Hilldore).
Regarding claim 1, Hilldore discloses a controller for performing processes related to a mirror which is provided in a vehicle cabin and configured to be capable of changing reflectance (see at least the abstract), comprising: a control unit configured to acquire a captured image based on a result of imaging by a camera configured to capture an image of a view behind the vehicle (see at least Figs. 1 and 2 and paragraph [0018], where controller 50 is a control unit); and to determine a mirror reflectance, which is the reflectance of the mirror, based on a state of luminance of the captured image (see at least Figs. 2 and 3 and paragraphs [0028]-[0029]).
Regarding claim 2, Hilldore discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Hilldore also discloses that the control unit is configured to: derive a degree of locality, which is a degree to which a portion of a view behind the vehicle is locally bright, based on the state of luminance of the captured image (see at least Fig. 3 and paragraph [0028]); and determine the mirror reflectance so that the larger the degree of locality, the smaller the reflectance (see at least paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 5, Hilldore discloses all of the limitations of claim 2.
Hilldore also discloses that the control unit is configured to: derive a degree of darkness, which is a degree of overall darkness of a scenery recorded in the captured image, based on the state of luminance of the captured image; and determine the mirror reflectance so that the greater the degree of darkness, the smaller the reflectance, for the same degree of locality (see at least paragraph [0032], where an average pixel value is a degree of darkness).
Regarding claim 10, Hilldore discloses a control system comprising: a mirror provided in a vehicle cabin and configured to be capable of changing a reflectance (see at least Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0018]-[0019], where 12 is a variable transmittance mirror); and a controller configured to perform processes relating to the mirror, wherein the controller is further configured to acquire a captured image based on a result of imaging by a camera configured to capture an image of a view behind the vehicle; and to determine a mirror reflectance, which is a reflectance of the mirror, based on a state of luminance of the captured image (see at least Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs [0018]-[0019] and [0028]-[0029], where 50 is a controller).
Regarding claim 11, Hilldore discloses a control method using a controller configured to perform processes related to a mirror provided in a vehicle cabin and configured to be capable of changing reflectance (see at least Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs [0018]-[0019] and [0028]-[0029]), comprising: a step of acquiring a captured image based on a result of imaging by a camera configured to capture an image of a view behind the vehicle (see at least Fig. 3 and paragraph [0028]); and a step of determining a mirror reflectance, which is the reflectance of the mirror, based on a state of luminance of the captured image (see at least paragraph [0029]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 3 is objected to for at least the reason that the prior art fails to teach or suggest that the control unit is configured to derive, as the degree of locality, a difference in luminance between a pixel having largest luminance and a pixel having smallest luminance among pixels on an attention line, which is a line extending in a predetermined direction on the captured image, as generally set forth in claim 3, the invention including the totality of the particular limitations recited in claims 1 and 2, from which claim 3 depends.
Claim 4 is objected to for at least the reason that the prior art fails to teach or suggest that the control unit is configured to: derive an average value of luminance of respective pixels in a plurality of blocks arranged side by side in a predetermined direction on a group of attention lines, which are lines extending in the predetermined direction in the captured image; and derive a difference in average values between a block having a largest average value and a block having a smallest average value as the degree of locality, as generally set forth in claim 4, the invention including the totality of the particular limitations recited in claims 1 and 2, from which claim 4 depends.
Claim 6 is objected to for at least the reason that the prior art fails to teach or suggest that relation definition information defining a relation between the degree of locality and the mirror reflectance is prepared for each level of the degree of darkness; and the control unit is configured to derive a level of the degree of darkness, and to determine the mirror reflectance using the relation definition information corresponding to the derived level, as generally set forth in claim 6, the invention including the totality of the particular limitations recited in claims 1, 2, and 5, from which claim 6 depends.
Claim 7 is objected to for at least the reason that the prior art fails to teach or suggest that the control unit is configured to utilize a calculation formula to determine the mirror reflectance, the calculation formula having the degree of darkness and the degree of locality as input parameters, and outputting the mirror reflectance, as generally set forth in claim 7, the invention including the totality of the particular limitations recited in claims 1, 2, and 5, from which claim 7 depends.
Claim 8 is objected to for at least the reason that the prior art fails to teach or suggest that the control unit is configured to derive an average value of luminance of pixels composing an attention line, which is a line extending in a predetermined direction on the captured image as the degree of darkness, as generally set forth in claim 8, the invention including the totality of the particular limitations recited in claims 1, 2, and 5, from which claim 8 depends.
Claim 9 is objected to for at least the reason that the prior art fails to teach or suggest that the controller is configured to derive, as the degree of darkness an average value of luminance of pixels composing a group of attention lines, which are a plurality of lines extending in a predetermined direction in the captured image, as generally set forth in claim 9, the invention including the totality of the particular limitations recited in claims 1, 2, and 5, from which claim 9 depends.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2023/0022541 to Uken et al. discloses a vehicular rearview mirror control system wherein image data from a rear backup camera is used to control the dimming of a mirror (see at least the abstract).
/A.W.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872