DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communications filed on August 29, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 2/27/2025 and 3/21/2025 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kumagai et al. (WO 2023/079662 A1, see corresponding English publication EP 4429357 A1 for citations).
Regarding Claim 10, Kumagai teaches a communication method, wherein the method is applied to a network device or a chip in a network device, comprising:
determining indication information based on a configuration of a non-cell defining synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (NCD-SSB) frequency of a second cell, wherein the indication information indicates to a terminal device to use a first NCD-SSB frequency and/or a cell defining synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) frequency to measure the second cell, and the terminal device camps on a first cell in an idle state or an inactive state (“For example, the NCD-SSB may be available for measurements that are performed in serving and non-serving cells, and are performed in idle, inactive and/or connected modes, with respect to all or part of RRM (Radio Resource Monitoring), RLM (Radio Link Monitoring), BFD (Beam Failure Detection), link recovery, RO (RACH occasion) selection, mobility, time and/or frequency tracking and AGC (Auto gain control)” – See [0084]; “in a case where DL-BWP#0* does not include CD-SSB and/or CORESET#0 (NO in S21), proceeds to step S23” – See [0097]; “the terminal 20 receives NCD-SSB in step S23” – See [0098]; “It is to be noted that the terminal 20 may receive CD-SSB in both step S22 and step S23” – See [0099]; “whether CD-SSB is to be received or NCD-SSB is to be received may be the same between UE operations in measurements in the serving cell and non-serving cell” – See [0104]; The network device determines, for a UE in an idle/inactive mode, an NCD-SSB in an initial BWP/DL-BWP#0 (first NCD-SSB frequency) in a serving cell (first cell) and an NCD-SSB in the initial BWP/DL-BWP#0 in a non-serving cell (neighboring cell). The CD-SSB may also be determined for measurement in the non-serving cell in addition to the NCD-SSB); and
sending the indication information to the terminal device (“the configuration related to the NCD-SSB reception may be indicated by upper layer signaling” – See [0116]; The NCD-SSB measurement configuration is indicated by upper layer signaling from the network device).
Regarding Claim 11, Kumagai teaches the method according to Claim 10. Kumagai further teaches that the indication information indicates to the terminal device to use the first NCD-SSB frequency to measure the second cell comprises:
the indication information indicates that the first NCD-SSB frequency can be used for neighboring cell measurement (“the configuration related to the NCD-SSB reception may be indicated by upper layer signaling” – See [0116]; The indication indicates the configuration for receiving the NCD-SSB on the initial BWP/first NCD-SSB frequency);
that the indication information indicates to the terminal device to use the first NCD-SSB frequency and the CD-SSB frequency to measure the second cell comprises: the indication information indicates that a neighboring cell is to be measured based on the CD-SSB frequency (“the terminal 20 may determine whether to receive CD-SSB or perform configured DL/UL transmission and reception according to the upper layer signaling” – See [0126]; The indication indicates to measure the second/neighbor cell on the CD-SSB); or
that the indication information indicates to the terminal to use the CD-SSB frequency to measure the second cell comprises: the indication information indicates that neighboring cell measurement can be performed only based on the CD-SSB frequency (“the terminal 20 may determine whether to receive CD-SSB or perform configured DL/UL transmission and reception according to the upper layer signaling” – See [0126]; The indication indicates to measure the second/neighbor cell on the CD-SSB).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 13, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai et al. (WO 2023/079662 A1, see corresponding English publication EP 4429357 A1 for citations) in view of Venugopal et al. (US 2022/0225249).
Regarding Claim 1, Kumagai teaches a communication method, wherein the method is applied to a terminal device or a chip in a terminal device, the terminal device camps on a first cell in an idle state or an inactive state, and the method comprises:
measuring, the first cell based on a first non-cell defining synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (NCD-SSB) frequency and measuring, a second cell based on the first NCD-SSB frequency and/or a cell defining synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) frequency, wherein the second cell is one of one or more neighboring cells (“For example, the NCD-SSB may be available for measurements that are performed in serving and non-serving cells, and are performed in idle, inactive and/or connected modes, with respect to all or part of RRM (Radio Resource Monitoring), RLM (Radio Link Monitoring), BFD (Beam Failure Detection), link recovery, RO (RACH occasion) selection, mobility, time and/or frequency tracking and AGC (Auto gain control)” – See [0084]; “in a case where DL-BWP#0* does not include CD-SSB and/or CORESET#0 (NO in S21), proceeds to step S23” – See [0097]; “the terminal 20 receives NCD-SSB in step S23” – See [0098]; “It is to be noted that the terminal 20 may receive CD-SSB in both step S22 and step S23” – See [0099]; “whether CD-SSB is to be received or NCD-SSB is to be received may be the same between UE operations in measurements in the serving cell and non-serving cell” – See [0104]; The UE in an idle/inactive mode measures an NCD-SSB in an initial BWP/DL-BWP#0 (first NCD-SSB frequency) in a serving cell (first cell) and measures an NCD-SSB in the initial BWP/DL-BWP#0 in a non-serving cell (neighboring cell). The CD-SSB may also be measured in the non-serving cell in addition to the NCD-SSB).
Although Kumagai suggests performing cell reselection based on the measurements (“For example, the NCD-SSB may be available for measurements that are performed in serving and non-serving cells, and are performed in idle, inactive and/or connected modes, with respect to all or part of RRM (Radio Resource Monitoring), RLM (Radio Link Monitoring), BFD (Beam Failure Detection), link recovery, RO (RACH occasion) selection, mobility, time and/or frequency tracking and AGC (Auto gain control)” – See [0084]; “f) Mobility (handover)” – See [0106]; The measurements are used for mobility/handover (cell reselection)), Kumagai does not explicitly teach performing cell reselection based on a measurement result of the first cell and a measurement result of the second cell.
However, Venugopal teaches performing cell reselection based on a measurement result of the first cell and a measurement result of the second cell (“UE 115-a may include SSB measurements in the one or more reports based on the SSB measurements being above a threshold, or based on the SSB measurements, such as SSB measurements associated with neighboring base station 105-b, being higher than the SSB measurements from serving base station 105-a. In some cases, UE 115-a may request a handover procedure based on the SSB measurements, such as if UE 115-a receives a higher measured SSB from neighboring base station 105-b than from serving base station 105-a” – See [0064]; The UE performs handover/cell reselection based on the measurements of a serving cell/base station and neighboring cell/base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumagai to perform cell reselection based on a measurement result of the first cell and a measurement result of the second cell. Motivation for doing so would be to connect to a cell with a stronger/higher signal quality (See Venugopal, [0064]).
Regarding Claim 2, Kumagai in view of Venugopal teaches the method of Claim 1. Kumagai further teaches that the measuring, a second cell based on the first NCD-SSB frequency comprises: measuring, based on first information from a network device, the second cell based on the first NCD-SSB frequency, wherein the first information indicates that the first NCD-SSB frequency can be used for neighboring cell measurement (“the configuration related to the NCD-SSB reception may be indicated by upper layer signaling” – See [0116]; As shown above with respect to claim 1, the UE measures the second/neighboring cell on the first NCD-SSB frequency. Furthermore, the NCD-SSB measurement is performed based on upper layer signaling (first information) from the network device).
Regarding Claim 5, Kumagai in view of Venugopal teaches the method of Claim 1. Kumagai further teaches that the measuring of the second cell based on the CD-SSB frequency comprises: measuring, based on third information from a network device, the second cell based on the CD-SSB frequency, wherein the third information indicates that neighboring cell measurement can be performed only based on the CD-SSB frequency (“the terminal 20 may determine whether to receive CD-SSB or perform configured DL/UL transmission and reception according to the upper layer signaling” – See [0126]; The UE receives third information indicating to measure the second/neighbor cell on the CD-SSB).
Claim 13 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 1.
Claim 14 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 2.
Claim 17 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 5.
Claims 3, 4, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai et al. (WO 2023/079662 A1, see corresponding English publication EP 4429357 A1 for citations) in view of Venugopal et al. (US 2022/0225249) and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2021/0235342).
Regarding Claim 3, Kumagai in view of Venugopal teaches the method of Claim 1. Kumagai further teaches that the measuring of the second cell based on the first NCD-SSB frequency and the CD-SSB frequency comprises: measuring, the second cell based on the first NCD-SSB frequency; and measuring, the second cell based on the CD-SSB frequency (“For example, the NCD-SSB may be available for measurements that are performed in serving and non-serving cells, and are performed in idle, inactive and/or connected modes, with respect to all or part of RRM (Radio Resource Monitoring), RLM (Radio Link Monitoring), BFD (Beam Failure Detection), link recovery, RO (RACH occasion) selection, mobility, time and/or frequency tracking and AGC (Auto gain control)” – See [0084]; “in a case where DL-BWP#0* does not include CD-SSB and/or CORESET#0 (NO in S21), proceeds to step S23” – See [0097]; “the terminal 20 receives NCD-SSB in step S23” – See [0098]; “It is to be noted that the terminal 20 may receive CD-SSB in both step S22 and step S23” – See [0099]; The UE measures the second cell on the NCD-SSB frequency and the CD-SSB frequency).
Kumagai and Venugopal do not explicitly teach determining, based on a measurement result of the second cell, that the second cell cannot be used as a target cell for reselection.
However, Zhu teaches determining, based on a measurement result of the second cell, that the second cell cannot be used as a target cell for reselection (“One or more trigger events also may include a minimum threshold of a signal metric for a target BS. If the signal metric for a target BS is less than the minimum threshold, a potential communication link between the UE 750 and the target BS may be unacceptable. For example, if the received signal strength of a signal from a target BS to the UE 750 is less than a minimum threshold signal strength, the UE 750 may temporarily prevent cell reselection associated with the target BS” – See [0112]; When the measurement result of the target/second cell is below a threshold, the second cell is prevented from being a cell reselection target).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumagai to determine, based on a measurement result of the second cell, that the second cell cannot be used as a target cell for reselection. Motivation for doing so would be to prevent handover to a target cell that may be unacceptable (See Zhu, [0112]).
Regarding Claim 4, Kumagai in view of Venugopal teaches the method of Claim 3. Kumagai further teaches that before measuring the second cell based on the first NCD-SSB frequency, the method further comprises: receiving, second information from a network device, wherein the second information indicates that a neighboring cell in the one or more neighboring cells is to be measured based on the CD-SSB frequency (“the terminal 20 may determine whether to receive CD-SSB or perform configured DL/UL transmission and reception according to the upper layer signaling” – See [0126]; The UE receives second information indicating to measure the neighbor cell on the CD-SSB).
Claim 15 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 3.
Claim 16 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 4.
Claims 6-9 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai et al. (WO 2023/079662 A1, see corresponding English publication EP 4429357 A1 for citations) in view of Venugopal et al. (US 2022/0225249) and further in view of Li (US 2024/0389014).
Regarding Claim 6, Kumagai in view of Venugopal teaches the method of Claim 1. Kumagai and Venugopal do not explicitly teach that before the measuring of the second cell based on the first NCD-SSB frequency and/or the CD-SSB frequency, the method further comprises: determining, that the measurement result of the first cell satisfies a threshold corresponding to the first NCD-SSB frequency, wherein the threshold corresponding to the first NCD-SSB frequency is configured by the network device, or the threshold corresponding to the first NCD-SSB frequency is determined based on a threshold corresponding to the CD-SSB frequency and a power compensation value of the first cell.
However, Li teaches before the measuring of the second cell based on the first NCD-SSB frequency and/or the CD-SSB frequency, determining, that the measurement result of the first cell satisfies a threshold corresponding to the first NCD-SSB frequency, wherein the threshold corresponding to the first NCD-SSB frequency is configured by the network device, or the threshold corresponding to the first NCD-SSB frequency is determined based on a threshold corresponding to the CD-SSB frequency and a power compensation value of the first cell (“the network device may transmit indication information to indicate one or more cell reselection parameters configured for the terminal” – See [0053]; “The parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying the criterion S includes parameters for calculating the cell selection level (Srxlev) and the cell selection quality (Squal), and a signal quality threshold value of the serving cell” – See [0054]; “in a case where R>Rx and Srxlev≤SIntraSearchP, the terminal measures the neighboring cell” – See [0112]; Before measuring the neighbor/second cell, the UE determines that the measurement value of the first/serving cell satisfies a threshold (e.g., SIntraSearchP), wherein the threshold is configured by the network device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumagai such that before the measuring of the second cell based on the first NCD-SSB frequency and/or the CD-SSB frequency, the method further comprises: determining, that the measurement result of the first cell satisfies a threshold corresponding to the first NCD-SSB frequency, wherein the threshold corresponding to the first NCD-SSB frequency is configured by the network device, or the threshold corresponding to the first NCD-SSB frequency is determined based on a threshold corresponding to the CD-SSB frequency and a power compensation value of the first cell. Motivation for doing so would be to provide the terminal with parameters necessary for determining whether to perform cell reselection (See Li, [0054]).
Regarding Claim 7, Kumagai in view of Venugopal teaches the method of Claim 1. Kumagai and Venugopal do not explicitly teach that the performing of cell reselection based on the measurement result of the first cell and the measurement result of the second cell comprises: determining, an R value of the first cell based on the measurement result of the first cell; determining, an R value of the second cell based on the measurement result of the second cell; and performing, cell reselection based on the R value of the first cell and the R value of the second cell.
However, Li teaches that the performing of cell reselection based on the measurement result of the first cell and the measurement result of the second cell comprises: determining, an R value of the first cell based on the measurement result of the first cell; determining, an R value of the second cell based on the measurement result of the second cell; and performing, cell reselection based on the R value of the first cell and the R value of the second cell (“Criterion R refers to that Rs=Qmeas,s+Qhyst−Qoffsettemp, Rn=Qmeas,n−Qoffset−Qoffsettemp, where Rs is an R value of the serving cell, Rn is an R value of the neighboring cell, Qmeas,s is an RSRP measurement value of the serving cell, Qmeas,n is an RSRP measurement value of the neighboring cell, Qhyst is a cell reselection hysteresis value, and Qoffsettemp is a temporary offset value; Qoffse is a offset value” – See [0045]; “cell reselection performed by applying criterion R” – See [0053]; The UE performs cell reselection based on the R value of the serving/first cell and the R value of the neighbor/second cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumagai such that the performing of cell reselection based on the measurement result of the first cell and the measurement result of the second cell comprises: determining, an R value of the first cell based on the measurement result of the first cell; determining, an R value of the second cell based on the measurement result of the second cell; and performing, cell reselection based on the R value of the first cell and the R value of the second cell. Motivation for doing so would be to determine a rank for a plurality of neighbor cells and select from the best ranked neighbor cells as the target cell for the reselection (See Li, [0097]).
Regarding Claim 8, Kumagai in view of Venugopal and Li teaches the method of Claim 7. Li further teaches that the determining of the R value of the first cell based on the measurement result of the first cell comprises: determining, the R value of the first cell based on the measurement result of the first cell and the power compensation value of the first cell (“Criterion R refers to that Rs=Qmeas,s+Qhyst−Qoffsettemp, Rn=Qmeas,n−Qoffset−Qoffsettemp, where Rs is an R value of the serving cell, Rn is an R value of the neighboring cell, Qmeas,s is an RSRP measurement value of the serving cell, Qmeas,n is an RSRP measurement value of the neighboring cell, Qhyst is a cell reselection hysteresis value, and Qoffsettemp is a temporary offset value; Qoffse is a offset value” – See [0045]; Rs (R value of the serving/first cell) is determined based on Qmeas,s (measurement result of the first cell) and Qoffsettemp (power compensation value of the first cell)).
Regarding Claim 9, Kumagai in view of Venugopal and Li teaches the method of Claim 7. Li further teaches that the determining of the R value of the second cell based on the measurement result of the second cell comprises: determining, the R value of the second cell based on the measurement result of the second cell and a power compensation value of the second cell (“Criterion R refers to that Rs=Qmeas,s+Qhyst−Qoffsettemp, Rn=Qmeas,n−Qoffset−Qoffsettemp, where Rs is an R value of the serving cell, Rn is an R value of the neighboring cell, Qmeas,s is an RSRP measurement value of the serving cell, Qmeas,n is an RSRP measurement value of the neighboring cell, Qhyst is a cell reselection hysteresis value, and Qoffsettemp is a temporary offset value; Qoffse is a offset value” – See [0045]; Rn (R value of the neighbor/second cell) is determined based on Qmeas,n (measurement result of the first cell) and Qoffsettemp (power compensation value of the second cell)).
Claim 18 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 6.
Claim 19 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 7.
Claim 20 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 8.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai et al. (WO 2023/079662 A1, see corresponding English publication EP 4429357 A1 for citations) in view of Li (US 2024/0389014).
Regarding Claim 12, Kumagai teaches the method according to Claim 10. Kumagai does not explicitly teach that the method further comprises: sending, fourth information and/or fifth information to the terminal device, wherein the fourth information indicates a power compensation value of the first cell, and the fifth information indicates a power compensation value of the second cell.
However, Li teaches sending, fourth information and/or fifth information to the terminal device, wherein the fourth information indicates a power compensation value of the first cell, and the fifth information indicates a power compensation value of the second cell (“Criterion R refers to that Rs=Qmeas,s+Qhyst−Qoffsettemp, Rn=Qmeas,n−Qoffset−Qoffsettemp, where Rs is an R value of the serving cell, Rn is an R value of the neighboring cell, Qmeas,s is an RSRP measurement value of the serving cell, Qmeas,n is an RSRP measurement value of the neighboring cell, Qhyst is a cell reselection hysteresis value, and Qoffsettemp is a temporary offset value; Qoffse is a offset value” – See [0045]; “the network device may transmit indication information to indicate one or more cell reselection parameters configured for the terminal” – See [0053]; “The parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying the criterion S includes parameters for calculating the cell selection level (Srxlev) and the cell selection quality (Squal), and a signal quality threshold value of the serving cell. For example, the parameters for calculating the Srxlev may include Qrxlevmeas, Qrxlevmin, Qrxlevminoffset, Pcompensation and Qoffsettemp” – See [0054]; The fourth/fifth information includes Qoffsettemp, which is a power compensation value corresponding to the first/serving cell and second/neighbor cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kumagai to include sending, fourth information and/or fifth information to the terminal device, wherein the fourth information indicates a power compensation value of the first cell, and the fifth information indicates a power compensation value of the second cell. Motivation for doing so would be to provide the terminal with parameters necessary for determining whether to perform cell reselection (See Li, [0054]).
Conclusion
/SCOTT M SCIACCA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478