DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang CN 115475345 A.
In regards to Independent Claim 1, Zhang teaches a fire-extinguishing agent spray device (figure 1) comprising: a spray container (14) for storing a fire-extinguishing agent (16), and comprising an inwardly convex container bottom surface (inwardly convex bottom surface of 14 shown in figure 1); and a siphon tube (13) in the spray container (13 shown within 14 in figure 1), and comprising a lower end adjacent to the container bottom surface and having an inclination angle with respect to a reference line based on a center of an inner surface of the container bottom surface (lower end of 13 shown in figure 1 below with an inclination angle of 0 degrees relative to reference line passing through center of the container bottom); and teaches a discharge valve (12) coupled to an upper end of the spray container (12 coupled to upper end of 14 in figure 1); wherein a distance (h) from the lower end of the siphon tube to the inner top point of the container bottom surface is calculated as follows: h = pi*r2/2pi*r + p, wherein rt represents an inner radius of the siphon tube, and wherein p represents a pitch of a thread for assembling the siphon tube to the discharge valve (position of siphon tube 13 relative to bottom of container in figure 1 can follow this formula, where no values are given within the formula to limit the distance the siphon tube is from the bottom).
Figure 1 of Zhang
Regarding Dependent Claim 3, Zhang teaches the siphon tube comprises an upper end connected to the discharge valve (upper end of 13 connected to 12 in figure 1).
Regarding Dependent Claim 4, Zhang teaches the siphon tube comprises a hollow tube (tube 13 shown as hollow in figure 1 for passing agent 16 through tube to valve 12).
Regarding Dependent Claim 5, Zhang teaches the reference line is based on an inner top point of the container bottom surface (reference line as shown in figure 1 above).
Regarding Dependent Claim 6, Zhang teaches the reference line is a horizontal line passing through the inner top point of the container bottom surface (horizontal reference line as shown in figure 1 above).
Regarding Dependent Claim 7, Zhang teaches the inclination angle of the lower end of the siphon tube (lower end of 13) is about 0 degrees or more (lower end of 13 shown as parallel to reference line in figure 1 above, such that the angle is 0 degrees).
Regarding Dependent Claim 9, Zhang teaches the inclination angle of the lower end of the siphon tube is equal to or less than an inclination angle of the container bottom surface (lower end of 13 shown at zero degrees, and the bottom surface is convex, such that the lower end of 13 will be less than an inclination angle of the bottom).
Regarding Dependent Claim 10, Zhang teaches the inclination angle of the lower end of the siphon tube is about 10 degrees or less (lower end of 13 shown as parallel to reference line in figure 1 above, such that the angle is 0 degrees).
In regards to Independent Claim 11, Zhang teaches a fire-extinguishing agent spray device (figure 1) comprising: a spray container (14) for storing a fire-extinguishing agent (16), and comprising an inwardly convex container bottom surface (inwardly convex bottom surface of 14 shown in figure 1); and a siphon tube (13) in the spray container (13 shown within 14 in figure 1), and comprising a lower end adjacent to the container bottom surface and having an inclination angle with respect to a reference line based on a center of an inner surface of the container bottom surface (lower end of 13 shown in figure 1 below with an inclination angle of 0 degrees relative to reference line passing through center of the container bottom); and teaches a discharge valve (12) coupled to an upper end of the spray container (12 coupled to upper end of 14 in figure 1); wherein a distance (h) from the lower end of the siphon tube to an inner top point of the container bottom surface is calculated as follows: h = (pi*rt2 - (2pi*rt2 x tan theta)) / 2pi*rt + p, wherein rt represents an inner radius of the siphon tube, wherein p represents a pitch of a thread for assembling the siphon tube to the discharge valve, and wherein θ represents the inclination angle of the lower end of the siphon tube with respect to the reference line based on the center of the inner surface of the container bottom surface (position of siphon tube 13 relative to bottom of container in figure 1 can follow this formula, where no values are given within the formula to limit the distance the siphon tube is from the bottom).
Claims 12, 14-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi KR 20030024769 A.
In regards to Independent Claim 12, Choi teaches a fire-extinguishing agent spray device (figure 2) comprising: a spray container (103) for storing a fire-extinguishing agent (112 and abstract) and comprising an outwardly convex container bottom surface (103 has outwardly convex bottom as shown in figure 2); and a siphon tube (113) in the spray container (as shown in figure 2), and comprising a lower end (bottom of 113 in figure 2) adjacent to the container bottom surface and having an inclination angle with respect to a reference line based on a center of an inner surface of the container bottom surface (lower end is at 0 degrees relative to reference line through center of bottom surface of 103 in figure 2); and a discharge valve (105) coupled to an upper end of the spray container (105 coupled to upper end of 103 in figure 2), a distance (h) from the lower end of the siphon tube to the inner bottom point of the container bottom surface is calculated as follows: h = pi*r2/2pi*r + p, wherein rt represents an inner radius of the siphon tube, and wherein p represents a pitch of a thread for assembling the siphon tube to the discharge valve (position of siphon tube 113 relative to bottom of container in figure 2 can follow this formula, where no values are given within the formula to limit the distance the siphon tube is from the bottom).
Figure 2 of Choi
Regarding Dependent Claim 14, Choi teaches the siphon tube comprises an upper end connected to the discharge valve (upper end of 113 attached to 105 in figure 2).
Regarding Dependent Claim 15, Choi teaches the siphon tube comprises a hollow tube (113 shown as a hollow tube in figure 2).
Regarding Dependent Claim 16, Choi teaches the reference line is based on an inner bottom point of the container bottom surface (reference line is at inner bottom point of 103 in figure 2 above).
Regarding Dependent Claim 17, Choi teaches the reference line is a horizontal line passing through the inner bottom point of the container bottom surface (horizontal reference line as shown in figure 2 above).
Regarding Dependent Claim 18, Choi teaches the inclination angle of the lower end of the siphon tube is about 0 degrees or more (lower end of 113 shown as parallel to reference line in figure 2 above, such that the angle is 0 degrees).
Regarding Dependent Claim 21, Choi teaches a support part (support in figure 2 below) for supporting a lower end of the spray container (103).
Figure 2 of Choi
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Meng CN 116603191 A.
Regarding Dependent Claim 20, Choi teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. However, Choi does not teach that the distance from the lower end of the siphon tube to the inner bottom point of the container bottom surface is about three times the pitch of the thread between the siphon tube and discharge valve. Meng teaches that the closer the siphon is to the bottom of a container, the more extinguishing agent can be released to the maximum extent during the releasing process, so that the extinguishing agent can be used more efficiently (paragraph [0039]). Therefore, the distance from the bottom of the siphon tube to the container bottom surface, as well as the ratio of the distance to the pitch of the threads between the siphon tube and valve, are recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. variables which achieve a recognized result. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). In this case, the recognized result is that decreasing the distance between the siphon tube and the bottom of the container releases more extinguishing agent and more efficiently uses the extinguishing agent in the container. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that the distance between the siphon tube and bottom surface can be reduced, was disclosed in the prior art by Meng, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to use a distance between the siphon tube and the bottom of the container that is about 3 times the pitch of the thread, in order to use the extinguishing agent in the device more efficiently (paragraph [0039]). It has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., values for the inner radius of the siphon tube and pitch of a thread for assembling the siphon tube to the discharge valve) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN M SUTHERLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752