DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-16 and 18-20 are pending
Claims 2 and 17 have been canceled
Claims 1 and 16 have been amended
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng, Pan et al. CN 215993841 (CN’841).
Regarding claim 1, CN’841 teaches a robotic cleaning system comprising: a robotic cleaner (cleaning robot 10, abstract, page 4, see fig. 1-2) comprising: a housing (machine body 110, see fig. 1-2);
and at least one wet cleaning element comprising at least one cleaning surface on an underside of the housing (wet cleaning system 153, see fig. 3-4, page 7);
and a docking station (base station 20, page 5-6, see fig. 1 and 5) comprising:
a base; a support extending laterally from the base (the base station in configured to support the cleaning robot while charging, see fig. 1 and 5, page 17),
the support configured to receive at least a portion of the robotic cleaner on top of the support, the support defining a cavity (see fig. 1 and 5); and
at least one cleaning shuttle within the cavity (cleaning assembly 30, cleaning groove 211 of the base station for containing the cleaning assembly 30, page 17, see fig. 5-6) and
comprising at least one spray nozzle (the nozzle of the liquid outlet device 35, pages 11-12, see fig. 6) and
at least one mechanical contacting element (first cleaning piece 31 and the second cleaning piece 32 include brush and/or blade, pages 9 and 11-12),
the at least one spray nozzle configured to spray cleaning fluid onto at least a first portion of the at least one cleaning surface (the liquid outlet device sprays liquid out to the cleaning system 150 of the cleaning robot 10, page 11),
the at least one mechanical contacting element configured to contact at least a second portion of the at least one cleaning surface (in performing the cleaning process, the cleaning piece of the brush or blade can be inserted into the cleaning head 1531 and contact the wet cleaning system cleaning head, page 7 and 9).
wherein the at least one cleaning shuttle is configured to move in at least one direction relative to the at least one cleaning surface while the at least one spray nozzle is spraying the cleaning fluid and the at least one mechanical contacting element is in contact with the at least one cleaning surface (performing the cleaning process includes moving the cleaning assembly 30 left to right while spraying cleaning liquid on the cleaning system 150 and the cleaning piece of the brush or blade can be inserted into the cleaning head 1531 and contact the wet cleaning system cleaning head while moving the cleaning assembly left to right, page 7-9, see fig. 5-8).
Regarding claim 3, CN’841 teaches the cleaning system of claim 1. CN’841 further teaches wherein the first portion of the at least one cleaning surface comprises a first strip of the at least one cleaning surface comprising a first length equal to a length of the at least one cleaning surface and a first width that is less than a width of the at least one cleaning surface, wherein the second portion of the at least one cleaning surface comprises a second strip of the at least one cleaning surface comprising a second length equal to the length of the at least one cleaning surface and a second width that is less than the width of the at least one cleaning surface (any cleaning surface can be segmented into many possible sections including a first portion and second portion having any definable lengths and widths), and wherein, upon movement of the at least one cleaning shuttle in the at least one direction relative to the at least one cleaning surface, the at least one spray nozzle sprays the cleaning fluid on substantially an entire surface of the at least one cleaning surface and the at least one mechanical contacting element scrapes substantially the entire surface of the at least one cleaning surface (the nozzles 35 are spread across the length of cleaning assembly along the length of the mechanical cleaning parts, located at the two sides of the first cleaning piece 31 and the cleaning assembly is moved left to right and back and forth to clean the cleaning head of the robot, as discussed above, the cleaning liquid is uniformly coated on the cleaning system of the cleaning robot, so as to improve the cleaning effect of the cleaning system, and improve the utilization rate of the cleaning liquid, effective scraping of the dirt on the cleaning system is performed by the cleaning assembly, see fig. 5-7, page 9-12, therefore the cleaning is performed across an length and width of the cleaning surface, as discussed above, while the nozzles spray the cleaning head of the robot and the mechanical cleaning part contacts the cleaning system of the robot and substantially the entire surface of the robot cleaning surface is cleaning of dirt and sewage).
Regarding claim 4, CN’841 teaches the cleaning system of claim 1. CN’841 further teaches wherein the at least one spray nozzle comprises two spray nozzle (the nozzles 35 are spread across the length of cleaning assembly along the length of the mechanical cleaning parts, located at the two sides of the first cleaning piece 31 and the cleaning assembly is moved left to right and back and forth, see fig. 5-7, page 11-12).
Regarding claim 5, CN’841 teaches the cleaning system of claim 1. CN’841 further teaches wherein the at least one spray nozzle comprises at least one of a deflector nozzle (the liquid outlet device 35 also can be the cleaning liquid sprayed on at least one of the first cleaning piece 31 and the second cleaning piece 32, so as to pass through the first cleaning piece 31 and/or the second cleaning piece 32 the cleaning liquid quickly, uniformly coated to the cleaning system 150, page 7-8, see fig. 6-7, therefore the liquid is deflected off of the roller brush or blade 31 or 32 before it contact the cleaning system 150).
Regarding claim 6-7, CN’841 teaches the cleaning system of claim 1. CN’841 is silent about the operating pressure such that wherein the at least one spray nozzle is configured to spray the cleaning fluid at a pressure of 100-300 pounds per square inch, with regard to claim 6 and wherein the at least one spray nozzle is configured to spray the cleaning fluid at a pressure of 10-30 pounds per square inch, with regard to claim 7. However, it is noted that the applicant claimed configuration of “the spray nozzle" recites the intended use of the nozzle. And a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The apparatus of CN’841includes liquid outlets that can dispense cleaning liquid at a wide range of pressures for the purpose of cleaning a cleaning surface of a robotic cleaning system and therefore would be capable of spraying cleaning liquid at any range necessary for performing the process, which is the same process as the instant application. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have known that the structural limitations of the nozzles taught by the prior art and the nozzles claimed would have been the same and since the claim is directed towards an apparatus, the apparatus is independent of the intended use.
Regarding claim 8, CN’841 teaches the cleaning system of claim 1. CN’841 further teaches wherein the first portion of the at least one cleaning surface comprises a strip of the at least one cleaning surface comprising a first length equal to a length of the at least one cleaning surface and a first width that is less than a width of the at least one cleaning surface (any cleaning surface can be segmented into many possible sections including a first portion having any definable lengths and widths and he nozzles 35 are spread across the length of cleaning assembly along the length of the mechanical cleaning parts, located at the two sides of the first cleaning piece 31 and the cleaning assembly is moved left to right and back and forth to clean the cleaning head of the robot, as discussed above, see fig. 5-7, page 11-12).
Regarding claim 9, CN’841 teaches the cleaning system of claim 1. CN’841 further teaches wherein the at least one mechanical contacting element comprises at least one of a plurality of bristles (hair brush, page 9, see fig. 6-7).
Regarding claim 10, CN’841 teaches the cleaning system of claim 9. CN’841 further teaches wherein the at least one mechanical contacting element comprises a first vertical bar and a first plurality of bristles on a first side of the at least one spray nozzle and a second vertical bar and a second plurality of bristles on a second side of the at least one spray nozzle opposite the first side (see fig. 7 page 7-9, cleaning piece 32 includes a bar with hairs making hair brushes on either side of the nozzles 35).
Regarding claim 11, CN’841 teaches the cleaning system of claim 1. CN’841 further teaches wherein the second portion of the at least one cleaning surface comprises a strip of the at least one cleaning surface comprising a first length equal to a length of the at least one cleaning surface and a first width that is less than a width of the at least one cleaning surface (any cleaning surface can be segmented into many possible sections including a first portion having any definable lengths and widths and he nozzles 35 are spread across the length of cleaning assembly along the length of the mechanical cleaning parts, located at the two sides of the first cleaning piece 31 and the cleaning assembly is moved left to right and back and forth to clean the cleaning head of the robot, as discussed above, see fig. 5-7, page 11-12).
Regarding claim 12, CN’841 teaches the cleaning system of claim 1. CN’841 further teaches wherein the at least one wet cleaning element comprises a plate detachably connected to the underside of the housing, and wherein the at least one cleaning surface comprises a mop pad on an underside of the plate (cleaning head 1531 includes cleaning cloth, is mounted on supporting platform 1534, page 7, see fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN’841 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pileggi US 6,647,584 (US’584).
Regarding claims 13-15, CN’841 teaches the cleaning system of claim 1. CN’841 further teaches a cleaning fluid tank configured to store the cleaning fluid (the base station supplies cleaning liquid to the cleaning assembly, page 15-17, see fig. 5 and 8) and at least one internal cleaning fluid conduit (see fig. 8, conduits are shown as connected to cleaning assembly 30), with regard to claim 13.
CN’841 does not teach wherein the docking station further comprises: a pump configured to pump the cleaning fluid from the cleaning fluid tank to the at least one spray nozzle via at least one internal cleaning fluid conduit, with regard to claim 13, wherein the docking station further comprises: an accumulator fluidly coupled to the pump and configured to store the cleaning fluid under pressure; and a valve configured to release the cleaning fluid stored under pressure in the accumulator to the at least one spray nozzle via at least one internal cleaning fluid conduit, with regard to claim 14 and wherein the docking station further comprises: an air compressor fluidly coupled to the accumulator and configured to increase pressure within the accumulator, with regard to claim 16.
US’584 teaches an apparatus for cleaning an object surface (abstract). US’584 teaches a tank, accumulator, connected to a compressor and pump and delivery valves to deliver a cleaning solution to a surface to be cleaned without delivering too much or too little cleaning solution and allows adjustment for the amount of cleaning solution delivered to the object surface to be cleaned (col. 1-5, see fig. 2 and 3). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the cleaning device of CN’841 can be modified to include the structural features recited in claims 13-15 for the purpose of controlling the delivery of the cleaning liquid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of CN’841 to include wherein the docking station further comprises: a pump configured to pump the cleaning fluid from the cleaning fluid tank to the at least one spray nozzle via at least one internal cleaning fluid conduit, with regard to claim 13, wherein the docking station further comprises: an accumulator fluidly coupled to the pump and configured to store the cleaning fluid under pressure; and a valve configured to release the cleaning fluid stored under pressure in the accumulator to the at least one spray nozzle via at least one internal cleaning fluid conduit, with regard to claim 14 and wherein the docking station further comprises: an air compressor fluidly coupled to the accumulator and configured to increase pressure within the accumulator, with regard to claim 16 because US’548 teaches it controls the amount of cleaning fluid delivered to the object surface to be cleaned so that the cleaning process does not deliver too much or too little cleaning solution and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng, Pan et al. CN 215993841 (CN’841).
Regarding claim 16, CN’841 teaches a docking station for a robotic cleaner (base station 20 for cleaning robot 10, abstract, page 4-6, see fig. 1-2 and 5), comprising:
a base; a support extending laterally from the base (the base station in configured to support the cleaning robot while charging, see fig. 1 and 5, page 17),
the support configured to receive at least a portion of a robotic cleaner on top of the support, the support defining a cavity; (see fig. 1 and 5); and
at least one cleaning shuttle within the cavity (cleaning assembly 30, cleaning groove 211 of the base station for containing the cleaning assembly 30, page 17, see fig. 5-6) and
comprising at least one spray nozzle (the nozzle of the liquid outlet device 35, pages 11-12, see fig. 6) and
at least one mechanical contacting element (first cleaning piece 31 and the second cleaning piece 32 include brush and/or blade, pages 9 and 11-12),
the at least one spray nozzle configured to spray cleaning fluid onto at least a first portion of at least one cleaning surface of at least one wet cleaning element on an underside of the robotic cleaner (the liquid outlet device sprays liquid to the cleaning system 150 of the cleaning robot 10, page 7 and 11, see fig. 3-4),
the at least one mechanical contacting element configured to contact at least a second portion of the at least one cleaning surface (in performing the cleaning process, the cleaning piece of the brush or blade can be inserted into the cleaning head 1531 and contact the wet cleaning system cleaning head, page 7 and 9).
wherein the at least one cleaning shuttle is configured to move in at least one direction relative to the at least one cleaning surface while the at least one spray nozzle is spraying the cleaning fluid and the at least one mechanical contacting element is in contact with the at least one cleaning surface (performing the cleaning process includes moving the cleaning assembly 30 left to right while spraying cleaning liquid on the cleaning system 150 and the cleaning piece of the brush or blade can be inserted into the cleaning head 1531 and contact the wet cleaning system cleaning head while moving the cleaning assembly left to right, page 7-9, see fig. 5-8).
Regarding claim 18, CN’841 teaches the cleaning system of claim 16. CN’841 further teaches wherein the first portion of the at least one cleaning surface comprises a first strip of the at least one cleaning surface comprising a first length equal to a length of the at least one cleaning surface and a first width that is less than a width of the at least one cleaning surface, wherein the second portion of the at least one cleaning surface comprises a second strip of the at least one cleaning surface comprising a second length equal to the length of the at least one cleaning surface and a second width that is less than the width of the at least one cleaning surface (any cleaning surface can be segmented into many possible sections including a first portion and second portion having any definable lengths and widths), and wherein, upon movement of the at least one cleaning shuttle in the at least one direction relative to the at least one cleaning surface, the at least one spray nozzle sprays the cleaning fluid on substantially an entire surface of the at least one cleaning surface and the at least one mechanical contacting element scrapes substantially the entire surface of the at least one cleaning surface (the nozzles 35 are spread across the length of cleaning assembly along the length of the mechanical cleaning parts, located at the two sides of the first cleaning piece 31 and the cleaning assembly is moved left to right and back and forth to clean the cleaning head of the robot, as discussed above, the cleaning liquid is uniformly coated on the cleaning system of the cleaning robot, so as to improve the cleaning effect of the cleaning system, and improve the utilization rate of the cleaning liquid, effective scraping of the dirt on the cleaning system is performed by the cleaning assembly, see fig. 5-7, page 9-12, therefore the cleaning is performed across an length and width of the cleaning surface, as discussed above, while the nozzles spray the cleaning head of the robot and the mechanical cleaning part contacts the cleaning system of the robot and substantially the entire surface of the robot cleaning surface is cleaning of dirt and sewage).
Regarding claim 19, CN’841 teaches the cleaning system of claim 16. CN’841 further teaches wherein the at least one spray nozzle comprises at least one of a deflector nozzle (the liquid outlet device 35 also can be the cleaning liquid sprayed on at least one of the first cleaning piece 31 and the second cleaning piece 32, so as to pass through the first cleaning piece 31 and/or the second cleaning piece 32 the cleaning liquid quickly, uniformly coated to the cleaning system 150, page 7-8, see fig. 6-7, therefore the liquid is deflected off of the roller brush or blade 31 or 32 before it contact the cleaning system 150) and wherein the at least one mechanical contacting element comprises at least one of a plurality of bristles (hair brush, page 9, see fig. 6-7).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng, Pan et al. CN 215993841 (CN’841).
Regarding claim 20, CN’841 teaches a method, comprising: receiving at least a portion of a robotic cleaner on top of a support extending laterally from a base of a docking station (the base station supports the cleaning robot while charging and cleans a cleaning system of the robot while in the based station, see fig. 1 and 5, page 8-9 and 17),
the support defining a cavity (see fig. 1 and 5);
moving at least one cleaning shuttle within the cavity in at least one direction relative to at least one cleaning surface of at least one wet cleaning element on an underside of the robotic cleaner (cleaning groove 211 of the base station for containing the cleaning assembly 30 which includes liquid outlet device which sprays liquid out to the cleaning system 150 of the cleaning robot 10 while the cleaning assembly moves back and forth, page 8-11, fig. 1, 5 and 6),
the at least one cleaning shuttle comprising at least one spray nozzle and at least one mechanical contacting element (cleaning assembly 30 includes nozzles of the liquid outlet device 35 and brush and or blade cleaning pieces, see fig. 6, pages 11-12);
while moving the at least one cleaning shuttle, spraying, with the at least one spray nozzle, cleaning fluid onto at least a first portion of the at least one cleaning surface; and while moving the at least one cleaning shuttle, contacting, with the at least one mechanical contacting element, at least a second portion of the at least one cleaning surface (performing the cleaning process includes moving the cleaning assembly 30 left to right while spraying cleaning liquid on the cleaning system 150 and the cleaning piece of the brush or blade can be inserted into the cleaning head 1531 and contact the wet cleaning system cleaning head while moving the cleaning assembly left to right, page 7-9, see fig. 5-8).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to independent claims 1 and 16 to incorporate subject matter of claims 2 and 17 into claims 1 and 16 and include subject matter regarding the configuration of the cleaning shuttle has changed the scope of claims 1 and 16. However, the teachings of CN’841 still reads on the limitation recited. Therefore, a new ground(s) of rejection of claims 1 and 16 is made under 102 as anticipated by CN’841 which includes both the rejection of claims 1 and 16 as stated in the non-final office action mailed 4-16-26 and rejection of claims 2 and 17 as stated in the non-final office action relevant to subject matter incorporated into claims 1 and 16 and additional discussion regarding the newly added subject matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicants amendments to claims 3 and 18 have overcome the 112 rejections of the non-final mailed 4-16-26. Therefore the 112 rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 7-13-26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants arguments that "the wash unit 30 is movable relative to the base station body[.]" and that therefore Cheng does not teach the cleaning shuttle being configured to move in at least one direction relative to the at least one cleaning surface, has been considered but is not deemed persuasive. Movement relative to the base body is movement relative to the cleaning surface. When the cleaning robot is docked, it is parked, and therefore stationary on the base station and the cleaning assembly sits directly opposite the robot’s cleaning surface (page 17, see fig. 1 and 5). CN’841 describes the cleaning assembly moving back and forth in the left and right direction relative to the base station body (para. 7-9, see fig. 5). Since the robot is parked on the based station, the robot’s cleaning surface is necessary stationary on the base during the cleaning. Movement of the based station cleaning assembly relative to the base body is necessarily movement relative to the cleaning surface. Therefore, CN’841 teaches the configuration required by claims 1 and 16. The cleaning assembly travels from one side of the based station to the other while the robot cleaning surface is stationary relative to the movement. The liquid outlet device sprays liquid to the cleaning surface of the cleaning robot, and the mechanical contact element, brush and/or blade contact the cleaning surface of the cleaning robot during the relative movement (see fig. 1, 4-7 pages 7-9). CN’841 teaches that in performing the cleaning process, the second cleaning piece of the brush hair or blade can be inserted into and contact the cleaning head of the robot. In addition, the second cleaning member 32 can rotate at the same time of the left and right movement, the brush or blade in the rotating process can generate flapping effect to the cleaning system, the hidden in the cleaning system of sundries is shaken out and scraped in the vibration generated by the flapping effect (page 9). Therefore, the travel from right to left is simultaneous with scrapping and spraying while the robot is docked. The quoted sentence of CN’841 describes the mechanical mounting of the assembly, not the limits of what the reference teaches. CN’841’s teachings as a whole disclose a cleaning assembly that translates across the docked robot’s cleaning surface while liquid is being sprayed and while the brush and/or scraper are in contact with that surface.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN F BERGNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713