DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This Office Action is a response to Applicant’s communication (or preliminary’s amendment) filed on 08/29/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-19 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/27/2024 and 05/06/2026 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
If applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.97 to disclose the same.
Drawings
The drawing submitted on 08/29/2024 is accepted as part of the formal application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal et al (US 20030227663), hereinafter Agrawal.
Regarding claim 1,
Agrawal discloses an apparatus (a transparent chromogenic device, Fig 2C) comprising:
a window (a window W, Fig 2C) having one or more lites (substrates 10 and 20, Fig 2C), each comprising at least two surfaces (Fig 2C);
an electrochromic device (transparent conductive layer 21, Fig 2C) disposed on a first lite (the substrate 20 is the first lite, Fig 2C) of the one or more lites; and
an antenna structure (a busbar 22, Fig 2C; paragraph [0109]) disposed on the first lite.
Agrawal does not explicitly teach each lite having regions configured for viewing through the window.
However, Agrawal teaches this chromogenic device includes a pair of facing transparent substrates defining a cavity enclosing an electrolyte medium. Each of the facing surfaces of the substrates has a conductive transparent coating (paragraph [0018]). This teaching is result effect in order to control the coloration of an area of a portion of the device (paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use each lite comprising at least two surfaces having regions configured for viewing through a window in Agrawal, in order to provide a transparent chromogenic assembly in which color changes are selectively effectable over predefined areas of the assembly.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (W)][AltContent: textbox (Agrawal (US 20030227663))]
Regarding claim 2,
Agrawal as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Agrawal does not explicitly teach the antenna structure is configured as a strip line antenna or a patch antenna.
However, it’s well known in the art that an antenna structure is configured as a strip line antenna or a patch antenna.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an antenna structure being configured as a strip line antenna or a patch antenna in Agrawal as modified, in order to provide a transparent chromogenic assembly in which color changes are selectively effectable over predefined areas of the assembly.
Regarding claim 3,
Agrawal as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 2.
Agrawal does not explicitly teach the antenna structure is configured as a monopole antenna.
However, it’s well known in the art that an antenna structure is configured as a monopole antenna.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an antenna structure being configured as a monopole antenna in Agrawal as modified, in order to provide a transparent chromogenic assembly in which color changes are selectively effectable over predefined areas of the assembly.
Regarding claim 4,
Agrawal as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 2.
Agrawal teaches a second busbar (a busbar 24, Fig 2B) as a second antenna structure.
Agrawal does not explicitly teach the antenna structure further comprises a second strip line antenna or second patch antenna, and wherein the strip line antennas or the patch antennas are configured as a dipole antenna.
However, it’s well known in the art that an antenna structure is configured as a strip line antenna or a patch antenna, and wherein the strip line antennas or the patch antennas are configured as a dipole antenna.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an antenna structure further comprising a second strip line antenna or second patch antenna, and wherein strip line antennas or patch antennas being configured as a dipole antenna in Agrawal as modified, in order to provide a transparent chromogenic assembly in which color changes are selectively effectable over predefined areas of the assembly.
[AltContent: textbox (Agrawal (US 20030227663))]
Regarding claim 5,
Agrawal as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Agrawal does not explicitly teach the antenna structure comprises a fractal structure.
However, it’s well known in the art that an antenna structure comprises a fractal structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an antenna structure comprising a fractal structure in Agrawal as modified, in order to provide a transparent chromogenic assembly in which color changes are selectively effectable over predefined areas of the assembly.
Regarding claim 6,
Agrawal as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 5.
Agrawal does not explicitly teach a ground plane, wherein the fractal structure is disposed on a plane and the ground plane is substantially parallel to, or perpendicular to, the plane of the fractal structure.
However, it’s well known in the art that a fractal antenna is substantially parallel to a ground plane (Veerasamy, US 20030034926, Fig 2; paragraph [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a ground plane, wherein a fractal structure being disposed on a plane and the ground plane being substantially parallel to, or perpendicular to, the plane of the fractal structure in Agrawal as modified, in order to provide a transparent chromogenic assembly in which color changes are selectively effectable over predefined areas of the assembly.
[AltContent: textbox (Veerasamy (US 20030034926)]
Regarding claim 7,
Agrawal as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Agrawal does not explicitly teach the antenna structure is configured as a Yagi antenna or a log periodic antenna.
However, it’s well known in the art that an antenna structure is configured as a Yagi antenna or a log periodic antenna.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an antenna structure being configured as a Yagi antenna or a log periodic antenna in Agrawal as modified, in order to provide a transparent chromogenic assembly in which color changes are selectively effectable over predefined areas of the assembly.
Regarding claim 8,
Agrawal as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Agrawal does not explicitly teach an antenna controller comprising a transmitter and/or receiver for the antenna structure and a window controller configured to control optical transitions of the electrochromic device.
However, Agrawal teaches a chromogenic device with controlled variation of the area subject to coloration (paragraph [0018]), and the control system could link the power supply of various windows via wireless means to the central control system (paragraph [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an antenna controller comprising a transmitter and/or receiver for an antenna structure and a window controller configured to control optical transitions of an electrochromic device in Agrawal as modified, in order to provide a transparent chromogenic assembly in which color changes are selectively effectable over predefined areas of the assembly.
Regarding claim 10,
Agrawal as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Agrawal does not explicitly teach a ground plane, substantially transparent to optical wavelengths, disposed on the first lite.
However, it’s well known in the art that antenna arrays can be fabricated as patches on conductive transparent material over an appropriate transparent dielectric substrate with the appropriate transparent ground plane (Kontopidis, US 9537216, Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a ground plane, substantially transparent to optical wavelengths, disposed on a first lite in Agrawal as modified, in order to provide a transparent chromogenic assembly in which color changes are selectively effectable over predefined areas of the assembly.
Regarding claim 11,
Agrawal discloses a method comprising:
disposing an electrochromic device (transparent conductive layer 21, Fig 2C) disposed on a first lite (a substrate 20, Fig 2C) of a window (a window W, Fig 2C) having one or more lites (substrates 10 and 20, Fig 2C), each comprising at least two surfaces (Fig 2); and
disposing an antenna structure (a busbar 22, Fig 2C; paragraph [0109]) on the first lite.
Agrawal does not explicitly teach each lite having regions configured for viewing through the window.
However, Agrawal teaches this chromogenic device includes a pair of facing transparent substrates defining a cavity enclosing an electrolyte medium. Each of the facing surfaces of the substrates has a conductive transparent coating (paragraph [0018]). This teaching is result effect in order to control the coloration of an area of a portion of the device (paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use each lite comprising at least two surfaces having regions configured for viewing through a window in Agrawal, in order to provide a transparent chromogenic assembly in which color changes are selectively effectable over predefined areas of the assembly.
Regarding claim 12,
Agrawal as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 11.
Agrawal does not explicitly teach the antenna structure is configured as a strip line antenna or a patch antenna.
However, it’s well known in the art that an antenna structure is configured as a strip line antenna or a patch antenna.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an antenna structure being configured as a strip line antenna or a patch antenna in Agrawal as modified, in order to provide a transparent chromogenic assembly in which color changes are selectively effectable over predefined areas of the assembly.
Regarding claim 13,
Agrawal as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 12.
Agrawal does not explicitly teach the antenna structure is configured as a monopole antenna.
However, it’s well known in the art that an antenna structure is configured as a monopole antenna.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an antenna structure being configured as a monopole antenna in Agrawal as modified, in order to provide a transparent chromogenic assembly in which color changes are selectively effectable over predefined areas of the assembly.
Regarding claim 14,
Agrawal as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 12.
Agrawal teaches a second busbar (a busbar 24, Fig 2B) as a second antenna structure.
Agrawal does not explicitly teach the antenna structure further comprises a second strip line antenna or patch antenna, and wherein the strip line antennas or the patch antennas are configured as a dipole antenna.
However, it’s well known in the art that an antenna structure is configured as a strip line antenna or a patch antenna, and wherein the strip line antennas or the patch antennas are configured as a dipole antenna.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an antenna structure further comprising a second strip line antenna or second patch antenna, and wherein strip line antennas or patch antennas being configured as a dipole antenna in Agrawal as modified, in order to provide a transparent chromogenic assembly in which color changes are selectively effectable over predefined areas of the assembly.
Regarding claim 15,
Agrawal as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 11.
Agrawal does not explicitly teach the antenna structure comprises a fractal structure.
However, it’s well known in the art that an antenna structure comprises a fractal structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an antenna structure comprising a fractal structure in Agrawal as modified, in order to provide a transparent chromogenic assembly in which color changes are selectively effectable over predefined areas of the assembly.
Regarding claim 16,
Agrawal as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 11.
Agrawal does not explicitly teach the antenna structure is configured as a Yagi antenna or a log periodic antenna.
However, it’s well known in the art that an antenna structure is configured as a Yagi antenna or a log periodic antenna.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an antenna structure being configured as a Yagi antenna or a log periodic antenna in Agrawal as modified, in order to provide a transparent chromogenic assembly in which color changes are selectively effectable over predefined areas of the assembly.
Regarding claim 17,
Agrawal as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 11.
Agrawal does not explicitly teach a window controller configured to control optical transitions of the electrochromic device.
However, Agrawal teaches a chromogenic device with controlled variation of the area subject to coloration (paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a window controller configured to control optical transitions of an electrochromic device in Agrawal as modified, in order to provide a transparent chromogenic assembly in which color changes are selectively effectable over predefined areas of the assembly.
Regarding claim 19,
Agrawal as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 11.
Agrawal does not explicitly teach a ground plane, substantially transparent to optical wavelengths, on the first lite.
However, it’s well known in the art that antenna arrays can be fabricated as patches on conductive transparent material over an appropriate transparent dielectric substrate with the appropriate transparent ground plane (Kontopidis, US 9537216, Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a ground plane, substantially transparent to optical wavelengths, disposed on a first lite in Agrawal as modified, in order to provide a transparent chromogenic assembly in which color changes are selectively effectable over predefined areas of the assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “one or more bus bars in electrical contact with the electrochromic device, wherein the antenna structure is separated from and formed at a different layer than at least one of the one or more bus bars”.
Regarding claim 18, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “one or more bus bars are in electrical contact with the electrochromic device, and the antenna structure is separated from and formed at a different layer than at least one of the one or more bus bars”.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/HAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845