DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities1:
[0044]: the clause “second side (132) of the protrusion” should be amended to recite “second surface (132) of the protrusion” for consistent nomenclature and to correct the typographical error.
[0045]: all instances of “second side (132)” need to be amended to recite “second surface (132)” for consistent nomenclature.
[0046]: the clauses “The electronic components (130)” and “the electronic component (130)” should be amended to recite “The electronic component (110)” and “the electronic component (110)” in order to correct the typographical error since reference character “110” is supposed to be the “electronic component”
The Office notes that the above objections are a non-exhaustive list, and thus requests Applicant’s cooperation with reviewing the specification and correcting ALL remaining informalities present in the specification, but not made of record above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 17, 19-21, and 23-26 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17: a period needs to be added to the end of the claim.
Claim 19 Ln.2: the clause “the side portion is coupled” should be amended to recite “the side portions are coupled” for consistent claim nomenclature and for grammatical reasons.
Claim 20 Ln.2: the clause “the side portion includes a” should be amended to recite “the side portions include a” for consistent claim nomenclature and for grammatical reasons.
Claim 21 Ln.3: the clause “at the edges” should be amended to recite “at edges” for antecedent reasons (i.e., this is the first instance in which “edges” is recited).
Claim 23: the Office recommends amending the claim to recite “wherein a portion of an upper surface of the printed circuit board comprises a ground area that is in contact with the heat dissipation member” for clarity purposes (i.e., the printed circuit board only has one upper surface, so it is confusing as to what the scope of “upper surfaces” is supposed to encompass). For the purposes of examination, claim 23 was interpreted using the above interpretation.
Claim 24 Lns.1-2: the clause “the side portion has an elastic force” should be amended to recite “the side portions have an elastic force” for consistent claim nomenclature and for grammatical reasons.
See next page→
Claim 25 Ln.6: the clause “wherein the second region is spaced” should be amended to recite “wherein the plurality of second regions are spaced” for consistent claim nomenclature and for grammatical reasons.
Claim 26 Lns.8-9: the clause “corresponding to the formed region” should be amended to recite “corresponding to a formed region” for antecedent purposes.
The Office requests Applicant’s cooperation with reviewing the claims and correcting ALL remaining informalities present in the claims, but not made of record above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14, 16-18, 25-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 20080198557) in view of Takahashi (US 20090309213).
Regarding claim 12, Lim discloses (Figs.5(a)-(b)):
A printed circuit board module, comprising: a printed circuit board (44) including a hole (43); a heat dissipation member (46) disposed on the printed circuit board (44), including a first surface (461) formed on an upper surface (Fig.5(b): 461 is formed on an upper surface of 46); and an electronic component (40) disposed on the heat dissipation member (46), wherein a lower surface (the portion of 46 that has 460 will define the "lower surface") of the heat dissipation member (46) is disposed with a protrusion (460) more downwardly protruded than other regions to be coupled to the hole (43) (Figs.5(a)-(b): 460 projects downwardly more than other regions of 46 and fits into 43 in order to couple 46 to 44).
However, Lim does not disclose:
A heat dissipation member disposed on the printed circuit board, including a first surface formed on an upper surface and a second surface disposed stepwise downwardly with respect to the first surface; and an electronic component disposed on the second surface, wherein a region corresponding to a formed region of the second surface in a lower surface of the heat dissipation member is disposed with a protrusion more downwardly protruded than other regions to be coupled to the hole.
Takahashi however teaches (Fig.42):
A heat dissipation member (4) disposed on the printed circuit board (2), including a first surface (See Figure Below) formed on an upper surface (See Figure Below) and a second surface (9a) disposed stepwise downwardly with respect to the first surface (Fig.42: 9a is disposed downward in a stepwise fashion with respect to 11, which has the first surface); an electronic component (5) disposed on the second surface (9a), wherein a region (See Figure Below) corresponding to a formed region of the second surface (9a) in a lower surface (See Figure Below) of the heat dissipation member (4) is disposed with a protrusion (See Figure Below) more downwardly protruded (See Figure Below) than other regions to be coupled (See Fig.42) to the hole (3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Takahashi to modify the device of Lim such that the heat dissipation member also includes a second surface that is disposed stepwise downwardly with respect to the first surface so that the second surface forms a region corresponding to a formed region of the second surface in a lower surface of the heat dissipation member and is disposed with a protrusion more downwardly protruded than other regions to be coupled to the hole, and such that the electronic component is disposed on the second surface, as claimed, in order to further reduce the overall height of the device, and thus produce a more compact design, due to the second surface of the heat dissipation member.
Regarding claim 26, Lim discloses (Figs.5(a)-(b)):
An electronic device, comprising: a housing (42); a printed circuit board (44) including a hole (43) and disposed in the housing (42), a heat dissipation member (46) disposed on the printed circuit board (44), the heat dissipation member (46) including a first surface (461) formed on an upper surface (Fig.5(b): 461 is formed on an upper surface of 46); and an electronic component (40) disposed on the heat dissipation member (46), the heat dissipation member (46) having a protrusion (460) protruding downwardly (See Figs.5(a)-(b)) and engaging (See Fig.5(a)) the hole (43).
However, Lim does not disclose:
The heat dissipation member including a first surface formed on an upper surface and a second surface disposed in a downward step with respect to the first surface; and an electronic component disposed on the second surface, the heat dissipation member having a protrusion protruding downwardly from a region corresponding to the formed region of the second surface and engaging the hole.
Takahashi however teaches (Fig.42):
The heat dissipation member (4) including a first surface (See Figure of Claim 12) formed on an upper surface (See Figure of Claim 12) and a second surface (9a) disposed in a downward step with respect to the first surface (Fig.42: 9a is disposed downward in a stepwise fashion with respect to 11, which has the first surface); and an electronic component (5) disposed on the second surface (9a), the heat dissipation member (4) having a protrusion (See Figure of Claim 12) protruding downwardly from a region (See Figure of Claim 12) corresponding to the formed region (See Figure of Claim 12) of the second surface (9a) and engaging the hole (3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Takahashi to modify the device of Lim such that the heat dissipation member also includes a second surface that is disposed in a downward step with respect to the first surface to contain the electronic component, and such that the heat dissipation member has a protrusion that protrudes downwardly from a region corresponding to the formed region of the second surface and engaging the hole, as claimed, in order to further reduce the overall height of the device, and thus produce a more compact design, due to the second surface of the heat dissipation member.
Regarding claims 13 and 27, Lim further discloses:
Wherein at least some of the lower surface (the portion of 46 that has 460 will define the "lower surface") of the heat dissipation member (46) is soldered ([0028]) to the printed circuit board (44) (Fig.5(a) and [0028]: since 46 is soldered to 44, at least some portion of the lower surface of 46 will also be soldered to 44 in order to reliably hold 46 to 44).
Examiner notes that the limitation as recited in claims 13 and 27 (e.g., “wherein at least some of the lower surface of the heat dissipation member is soldered to the printed circuit board”) does not have actual patentable weight since the claims are product-by-process claims that do not affect the patentability of the product. In product-by- process claims, “one a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to applicant to show an unobvious difference.” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.” In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Even though the claims are limited by and defined by the recited process, the determination of patentability of the product is based on the product itself, and does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). It is the patentability of the product claimed and not the recited process steps which must be established. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972). It should also be noted that a "[p]roduct-by-process claim, although recited subject matter of claim in terms of how it is made, is still product claim; it is patentability of product claimed and not recited process steps that must be established, in spite of fact that claim may recite only process limitations”, In re Hirao and Sato, 190 USPQ 15 (Fed. Cir. 1976). The presence of process limitations on product claims, which product does not otherwise patentability distinguish over the prior art, cannot impart patentability to the product. In re Stephens, 145 USPQ 656 (CCPA 1965). While Lim does disclose that a heat dissipation element is soldered to a printed circuit board, Examiner emphasizes that the end product will fundamentally have to have a heat dissipation element that is somehow secured to a printed circuit board.
Regarding claims 14 and 28, Lim further discloses:
Wherein the electronic component (40) includes a core (Figs.5(a)-(b); the main body of 40 that 45 extend from will define the "core") and a pin (45) extending from the core, and wherein the printed circuit board (44) is disposed with a pinhole (47) into which the pin (45) is coupled (See Fig.5(a)).
However, as outlined in claims 12 and 26 above, Lim does not disclose:
The second surface.
However, as presented in claims 12 and 26 above, Takahashi teaches:
The second surface (9a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Takahashi to further modify the device of modified Lim such that the core of the electronic component is disposed on the second surface, as respectively claimed in claims 14 and 28, in order to achieve the more compact design as outlined in claims 12 and 26 above.
Regarding claims 16 and 30, Lim further discloses:
A lower surface (bottom surface of 460) of the protrusion (460) and a lower surface (bottom surface of 44) of the printed circuit board (44).
However, modified Lim does not teach:
Wherein a lower surface of the protrusion forms a same plane as a lower surface of the printed circuit board.
However, modifying the size the lower surface of the protrusion such that it has a desired size, including as respectively claimed in claims 16 and 30 (i.e., being on the same plane as the lower surface of the printed circuit board), would have been an obvious modification that one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would do in order to provide an improved means of mounting the circuit board due to the lower surface of the protrusion and the lower surface of the printed circuit board being coplanar (i.e., due to the lower surfaces being coplanar, it makes it much simpler to mount the circuit board within a housing since a user no longer has to take into account the height difference between the PCB and the heat dissipation member), since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Finally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 17, Takahashi further teaches:
See next page→
Wherein a lower surface (bottom surface of 5 in contact with 14) of the electronic component (5) is disposed lower (See Figure Below: there is apportion of 5 that is lower than 2a) than an upper surface (2a) of the printed circuit board (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Takahashi to further modify the device of modified Lim such that the lower surface of the electronic component is disposed lower than an upper surface of the printed circuit board, as claimed, in order to achieve the more compact assembly as outlined in claim 12 above.
Regarding claim 18, Lim further discloses:
A bracket (49) disposed on the electronic component (40) and coupled to (See Figs.5(a)-(b)) the printed circuit board (44), wherein the bracket (49) includes an upper surface portion (upper surface of 49) disposed on an upper surface (upper surface of 40) of the electronic component (40), and side portions (Fig.5(b): the two side legs of 49 that engage 44) bent from both ends (See Fig.5(b)) of the upper surface portion (upper surface of 49) and extending downwardly (See Fig.5(b)) and disposed to cover sides of the electronic component (40) (Figs.5(a)-(b): in the engaged position of 49, the side portion of 49 will cover sides of 40 to push and hold 40 against 46 and 44).
Regarding claim 25, Lim further discloses:
Wherein the upper surface portion (upper surface of 49) includes a first region (See Figure Below) and a plurality of second regions (See Figure Below) disposed on both sides of the first region, wherein the first region is in contact with a top surface (top surface of 40) of the electronic component (40) (Fig.5(b) and See Figure Below: in the assembled state, the first region will be in contact with the top surface of 40 in order to push 40 against 46 and 44), and wherein the second region is spaced apart from the top surface (top surface of 40) of the electronic component (40) (Fig.5(b) and See Figure Below: in the assembled state, the second region will be spaced apart from the top surface of 40 while the first region will be in contact with the top surface of 40).
See next page→
Claims 15 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 20080198557) and Takahashi (US 20090309213) as applied to claims 14 and 28 above, and further in view of Berkel (US 20140111945).
Regarding claims 15 and 29, modified Lim does not explicitly teach:
Wherein the second surface includes a first side, a second side opposite the first side, a third side connecting the first side and the second side, and a fourth side opposite the third side, wherein the pin is at least partially disposed on the first side, and wherein the first side forms an edge of the heat dissipation member.
Berkel however teaches (Fig.1):
Wherein the second surface (See Figure Below) includes a first side (See Figure Below), a second side (See Figure Below) opposite the first side, a third side (See Figure Below) connecting the first side and the second side, and a fourth side (See Figure Below) opposite the third side, and wherein the first side forms an edge (See Figure Below) of the heat dissipation member (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Berkel to further modify the device of modified Lim such that the second surface includes a first side that forms an edge of the heat dissipation member, a second side opposite the first side, a third side connecting the first side and the second side, and a fourth side opposite the third side, and arranged such that the pin is at least partially disposed on the first side, as respectively claimed in claims 15 and 29, in order to provide a simple arrangement to contain the electronic component in the second surface and achieve the compact design as outlined in claims 12 and 26 above.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 20080198557) and Takahashi (US 20090309213) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Lee (US 5884692).
Regarding claim 19, modified Lim does not teach:
Wherein the heat dissipation member includes a first coupling hole and the side portion is coupled to the first coupling hole.
Lee however teaches (Figs.1-5):
Wherein the heat dissipation member (11) includes a first coupling hole (112) and the side portion (1311 and 1312) is coupled to (See Fig.3 and Col.3 Lns.42-43) the first coupling hole (112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Lee to further modify the device of modified Lim such that the heat dissipation member includes a first coupling hole, and such that the side portion of the bracket couples to the first coupling hole, as claimed, in order to further improve the connection between the heat dissipation member and the printed circuit board due to the increased contact among the bracket, heat dissipation member, and the printed circuit board.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 20080198557) and Takahashi (US 20090309213) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Kim (US 20110284271).
Regarding claim 23, modified Lim does not teach (using the interpretation provided in the Claim Objection):
Wherein a portion of an upper surface of the printed circuit board comprises a ground area that is in contact with the heat dissipation member.
Kim however teaches (Fig.3):
The printed circuit board (60) comprises a ground area ([0107]: “ground pattern”) that is in contact with the heat dissipation member (110) (Ground Area of PCB with the Heat Dissipation Member: [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching Kim to further modify the device of Lim such that a portion of an upper surface of the printed circuit board comprises a ground area that is in contact with the heat dissipation member, as claimed (i.e., convert the welding region 48 of Lim such that it is a ground area that the heat dissipation member converts to), in order to reduce electromagnetic interference due to the heat dissipation member being connected to a ground contact of the printed circuit board.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, subject to the obviation of the objections outlined above.
Claims 22 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon an allowable dependent claim that is dependent upon a rejected base claim.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the device as recited in the combined subject matter of claims 12 and 18-20, or as recited in the combined subject matter of claims 12 and 21, and at least in part, because claims 20 and 21 recite the limitations:
(Claim 20): “wherein a projection is formed at an inside of the first coupling hole, and the side portion includes a second coupling hole into which the projection is coupled”.
(Claim 21): “wherein the heat dissipation member includes a reinforcement portion including at least two plates disposed at the edges and perpendicular to each other”.
The aforementioned limitations, in combination with all remaining limitations of respective claims 20 and/or 21, are believed to render the combined subject matter of claims 12 and 18-20, or the combined subject matter of claims 12 and 21, and all claims depending therefrom allowable over the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, subject to the obviation of the objections outlined above.
The remaining prior art references teach other heat dissipation assemblies that utilize heat sinks and/or a heat dissipation component. However, none of the prior art references, taken alone or in combination, are believed to teach and/or suggest the aforementioned allowable limitations as respectively recited in claims 20 and 21. Therefore, none of the prior art references, taken alone or in combination, are believed to render the claimed invention unpatentable as claimed, subject to the obviation of the objections outlined above.
Finally, the Office has not identified any double patenting issues. For all of the reasons outlined above, claims 20-21 are believed to be in condition for allowance, subject to the obviation of the objections outlined above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 11497142: teaches a heat dissipation member that fits into a hole of a PCB, and a lower surface of the heat dissipation being coplanar with a lower surface of the PCB.
US 10842015: teaches a heat dissipation member that fits into a hole of a PCB, and the heat dissipation member holding an electronic component that has pins.
US 20100232113: teaches a heatsink with a coupling hole that allows a fastener to pass through to hold the heatsink to a PCB.
US 20090161318: teaches soldering a heat sink to a ground plane of a PCB.
US 20070223208: teaches a bracket that goes through first mounting holes of a PCB to couple the bracket to the PCB.
US 20060072291: teaches that grounding a heatsink to a ground contact can better reduce/shield EMI.
US 20050111193: teaches a heat sink clamping mechanism.
US 6434004: teaches a heat sink clamping mechanism.
US 6396699: teaches that grounding a heat sink to a ground contact on a PCB can reduce EMI.
US 3982271: teaches a printed circuit board with an opening and a heat dissipation member that has a first surface and a downwardly stepped second surface that fits into the hole of the printed circuit board in order to dissipate heat from an electronic component.
/STEPHEN S SUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
1 All paragraph citations are with respect to the US PG-Pub version of Applicant’s specification.