DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the application # 18/819,771 filed on August 29, 2024. By preliminary amendment Claims 21-40 are pending and are directed toward SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR CRYPTOGRAPHIC AUTHENTICATION OF CONTACTLESS CARDS.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23, 34-37, and 39, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over DUA (US 2014/0172724, Pub. Date: Jun. 19, 2014), hereinafter referred to as DUA.
As per claim 21, DUA teaches A system, comprising:
a server comprising a processor and a memory, the memory of the server containing a plurality of card identifiers (The Personalization File may be a batch file that contains numerous records of credentials that are to be issued to individuals on their wireless device 200, or could be a separate file record for each credential to be issued. In another embodiment, the Personalization File is transmitted to WCM 110 by issuer personalization server 130 which is in communication with issuer cardholder system 120. DUA, [0058]), wherein the server:
receives, from an application executing on a client device, at least one card identifier associated with a card, verifies the at least one card identifier based on a comparison with the plurality of card identifiers, and authenticates the card based on the verification of the at least one card identifier (The use of ENUM presupposes the collection of these records into a central or hierarchical service. According to a preferred embodiment, the resolved Internet address is used to establish secure real-time communication between WCM 110 and the wallet application on wireless device 200 using the Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) (for example, according to the RFC 3261 standard) to transfer encrypted credentials. The issuer WCM 110 may also be used to update credentials or update the status of credentials on wireless device 200. WCM 110 may also be used to authenticate a mobile user's identity in real-time during a transaction. While the use of SIP for such purposes is preferred, alternative application protocols may be used in lieu of SIP while still remaining within the spirit and scope of the present invention. DUA, [0051]).
As per claim 22, DUA teaches the system of claim 21, wherein the plurality of card identifiers are stored in a table (A Replacement field to define the next DNS query object The Order field in the NAPTR record for the wallet service can be set with the highest value since WCM 110 will be selecting a single record that contains the wallet enum service. The high value in the Order field will also reduce the likelihood of other SIP applications cycling through the records and incorrectly trying to communicate with the wallet application. DUA, [0084]).
As per claim 23, DUA teaches the system of claim 22, wherein the table maps the plurality of card identifiers for cycling (A Replacement field to define the next DNS query object The Order field in the NAPTR record for the wallet service can be set with the highest value since WCM 110 will be selecting a single record that contains the wallet enum service. The high value in the Order field will also reduce the likelihood of other SIP applications cycling through the records and incorrectly trying to communicate with the wallet application. DUA, [0084]).
Claims 34 and 39 have limitations similar to those treated in the above rejection, and are met by the references as discussed above, and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
As per claim 35, DUA teaches the method of claim 33, further comprising, prior to verifying the at least one card identifier, cycling, by the server, the plurality of card identifiers (DUA, [0352]).
As per claim 36, DUA teaches the method of claim 35, wherein the server cycles the plurality of card identifiers in an ordered sequence (DUA, [0354]).
As per claim 37, DUA teaches the method of claim 35, wherein the server cycles the plurality of card identifiers in a sequential manner (DUA, [0354]).
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of US patent No. 10,748,138. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all elements of claims 21-40 of the instant application correspond to elements of claims 1-18 of US patent No. 10,748,138. The above claims of the present application would have been obvious over claims 1-18 of US patent No. 10,748,138 because each element of the claims of the present application is anticipated by the claims of the US patent No. 10,748,138 and as such are unpatentable for obviousness-type double patenting (In re Goodman (CAFC) 29 USPQ2D 2010 (12/3/1993)).
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US patent No. 11,610,195. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all elements of claims 21-40 of the instant application correspond to elements of claims 1-20 of US patent No. 11,610,195. The above claims of the present application would have been obvious over claims 1-20 of US patent No. 11,610,195 because each element of the claims of the present application is anticipated by the claims of the US patent No. 11,610,195 and as such are unpatentable for obviousness-type double patenting (In re Goodman (CAFC) 29 USPQ2D 2010 (12/3/1993)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-33, 38, and 40 are indicated as allowable over prior art.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims of instant application are of the same scope as allowed claims of US 10,748,138 and US 11,610,195.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/OLEG KORSAK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492