DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II (Claims 7-11) in the reply filed on August 11th, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-6 (Invention I) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 11th, 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 21st, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: “13”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “nozzle arrangement”, the “air inlet arrangement” and the “dry material outlet” of Claim 9 (see Lines 2-5) must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Glass powder production device”
Claim Objections
Claims 10-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 (Line 1) and Claim 11(Line 1): “comprising” should read --further comprising--
Claim 11 (Line 5): “which is preceded” should read --wherein the hot gas flow generating device is preceded--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“a feed device” in Claim 7 (Line 9)
“a coarse material discharge device” in Claim 7 (Line 11)
“a coarse material preparation device” in Claim 7 (Line 13)
“a refeeding device” in Claim 7 (Line 15)
“an output device” in Claim 7 (Line 16)
“nozzle arrangement” in Claim 9 (Line 2)
“a washing system” in Claim 10 (Line 2)
“hot gas flow generating device” in Claim 11 (Line 2)
“hot gas feed device” in Claim 11 (Line 2)
Because these claim limitations re being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “The glass powder production device” in Line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 8-11, which depend on claim 7, are equally rejected.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, Claim 7 recites the broad recitation “a grain size <40 µm”, and the claim also recites “in particular < 15 µm to 25 µm” and “preferably <20 µm” which are narrower statements of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For examination purposes, the features introduced by such narrower language are treated as merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim.
Claims 8-11, which depend on claim 7, are equally rejected.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, Claim 7 recites the broad recitation “a fine mill”, and the claim also recites “namely a jet mill, impact disk mill, or preferably a vortex mill” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For examination purposes, the features introduced by such narrower language are treated as merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim.
Claims 8-11, which depend on claim 7, are equally rejected.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the dry grinding” in Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 8-11, which depend on claim 7, are equally rejected.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the ground glass cullet” in Line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 8-11, which depend on claim 7, are equally rejected.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “a grain size” in Lines 7 and 8. It is unclear if “a grain size” is referring to the grain size already recited in Line 2 or to an additional grain size. Thus, rendering the claim indefinite since the metes and bounds for the limitation has not been established.
Claims 8-11, which depend on claim 7, are equally rejected.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the end product” in Line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 8-11, which depend on claim 7, are equally rejected.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, Claim 8 recites the broad recitation “a wet mill”, and the claim also recites “in particular a wet ball mill” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For examination purposes, the feature introduced by such narrower language is treated as merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim.
Claims 9 and 11, which depend on claim 8, are equally rejected.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the wet-ground coarse material fraction” in Lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 9 and 11, which depend on claim 8, are equally rejected.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the upper region” in Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 11, which depends on claim 9, is equally rejected.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the lower region” in Lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 11, which depends on claim 9, is equally rejected.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the air or gas flow” in Line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 11, which depends on claim 9, is equally rejected.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the dried, wet-ground coarse material fraction” in Lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 11, which depends on claim 9, is equally rejected.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the washed glass cullet” in Lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the washed and dried glass cullet” in Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the dryer” in Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, Claim 11 recites the broad recitation “hot gas flow generating device”, and the claim also recites “preferably a wood powered burner” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For examination purposes, the feature introduced by such narrower language is treated as merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, Claim 11 recites the broad recitation “a further fine mill”, and the claim also recites “in particular a vortex mill” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For examination purposes, the feature introduced by such narrower language is treated as merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grasso, JR. et al. (US20080308659A1), hereinafter “Grasso, JR.”.
Regarding Claim 7, Grasso, JR. discloses a glass powder production device (Figs. 1-4; ¶0021) for producing glass powder (¶0021, “glass powder”) with a grain size < 40 µm (¶0042, “a 325 mesh or smaller size”), comprising: a fine mill (Figs. 1 and 3, Element 44; ¶0041, “jet mill”) for the dry grinding of glass cullet (¶0024), with an upstream glass cullet feeder (¶0054, “inlet port”, “inlet flow”) for feeding the fine mill with glass cullet (¶0038); an air classifier (Figs. 1 and 4, Element 46; Abstract, “air classification step”) for classifying the ground glass cullet into a fine material fraction and a coarse material fraction (¶0056, “fine”, “coarse”), with a separation limit at a grain size < 40 µm (¶0042, “325 mesh or smaller”); a feed device (¶0056, Lines 1-10, “air stream”; Fig. 4, Element 90) arranged between the air classifier and the fine mill (¶0056, Lines 1-2) for feeding the glass cullet ground on the fine mill into the air classifier (¶0056, Lines 1-2); a coarse material discharge device (Fig. 4, Element 100; ¶0056) for discharging the coarse material fraction from the air classifier (¶0056, “withdrawn at 100”), refeeding the coarse material fraction into the fine mill (¶0053, Lines 7-9; ¶0056, Lines 22-25); and outputting the fine material fraction as the end product (¶0056; Fig. 1), the glass powder (¶0056, Lines 17-22, “powdered glass”) downstream of the air classifier (¶0056; Fig. 1).
Grasso JR. fails to disclose a coarse material preparation device for preparing the coarse material fraction for refeeding into the fine mill, a refeeding device, and an output device.
While Grasso JR. fails to disclose a coarse material preparation device for preparing the coarse material fraction for refeeding into the fine mill, Grasso JR. teaches a material preparation device (Fig. 1, Elements B-C; ¶0038-0039; Fig. 1, Elements 26, 28, and 34) that prepares material (glass particles) for further milling after being pulverized in a mill (Fig. 1, Element 18) that washes the glass sand (¶0038) and dissolves sugars and other organic materials adhering to the glass particles (¶0038) and dries the washed glass particles (¶0039) before further pulverization in the fine mill (¶0040).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention incorporate these further teachings of Grasso JR. and add a material preparation device for preparing the coarse material fraction for refeeding into the fine mill into the glass powder production device disclosed by Grasso, JR. to dissolve sugars and other organic materials adhering to the coarse material fraction (¶0038-0039) before refeeding it to the fine mill for further pulverization (¶0040).
While Grasso JR. fails to disclose a refeeding device and an outputting device, Grasso JR. teaches the use of belt conveyors (Fig. 1, Elements 16 and 20) to transport material to and from a mill (Fig. 1, Element 18).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these further teachings of Grasso JR. and use belt conveyors as the refeeding and outputting device so that a refeeding device refeeds the coarse material fraction into the fine mill and the output device arranged downstream of the air classifier outputs the fine material fraction as the end product, the glass powder since the use of belt conveyors as material transporting devices is well-known in the art and it has been held that applying known techniques to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art (MPEP § 2143, subsection I.D.).
Regarding Claim 10, after modifications, Grasso JR. renders the glass powder production device according to claim 7 unpatentable as explained above.
After modifications, Grasso JR. teaches further comprising a washing system (Fig. 1, Elements 26 and 28) for washing the glass cullet (¶0038) and a dryer (Fig 1, Element 34) for drying the washed glass cullet (¶0038) before feeding the fine mill with the washed and dried glass cullet (Fig. 1; ¶0038-0039).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grasso JR. as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Andreae-Jaeckering (DE19611112C2), hereinafter “Andreae-Jaeckering”. For text citation of Andreae-Jaeckering refer to the machine translation provided by the Examiner.
Regarding Claim 8, after modifications, Grasso JR. renders the glass powder production device according to claim 7 unpatentable as explained above.
After modifications, Grasso JR. teaches wherein the coarse material preparation device (Fig. 1, Elements B-C; ¶0038-0039; Fig. 1, Elements 26, 28, and 34) comprises a downstream drying plant (Fig. 1, Element 34) for drying the coarse material fraction before it is fed back into the fine mill (¶0038-0040).
Grasso JR. fails to teach wherein the coarse material preparation device comprises a wet mill for wet grinding the coarse material fraction and drying the wet-ground coarse material fraction.
Nonetheless, Andreae-Jaeckering teaches a wet mill (Fig. 1, Element 1; ¶0011) for wet grinding the coarse material fraction (¶0011, “powder”; ¶0001, “powders”) and drying the wet-ground coarse material fraction (¶0001, “subsequently dried”).
Grasso JR. and Andreae-Jaeckering are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of powder production. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to incorporate the teachings of Andreae-Jaeckering and add a wet mill to the coarse material preparation device of the glass production device disclosed by Grasso JR. and modified based on its teachings to provide a device capable of achieving extremely fine powders with fineness down to 1µm (¶0001-0002).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grasso JR. in view of Andreae-Jaekering as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Tang et al. (CN112028603A), hereinafter “Tang”. For text citation of Tang refer to the machine translation provided by the Examiner.
Regarding Claim 9, the prior art combination of Grasso JR. and Andreae-Jaekering renders the glass powder production device according to claim 8 unpatentable as explained above.
The prior art combination of Grasso JR. and Andreae-Jaekering fails to teach wherein the drying plant comprises a spray drying tower with a nozzle arrangement for injecting the wet-ground coarse material fraction in the upper region, an air inlet arrangement in the lower region, so that the wet-ground coarse material fraction is injected into the air or gas flow coming from below, and with a dry material outlet in the lower region for the dried, wet-ground coarse material fraction.
Nonetheless, Tang teaches wherein the drying plant (see translated and annotated Fig. 1 of Tang reproduced below) comprises a spray drying tower (see translated and annotated Fig. 1 of Tang reproduced below; ¶0015) with a nozzle arrangement (see translated and annotated Fig. 1 of Tang reproduced below) for injecting the wet-ground material fraction (¶0014-0016, “wet grind”) in the upper region (see translated and annotated Fig. 1 of Tang reproduced below; ¶0016), an air inlet arrangement (see translated and annotated Fig. 1 of Tang reproduced below) in the lower region (see translated and annotated Fig. 1 of Tang reproduced below; ¶0016), so that the wet-ground material is injected into the air or gas flow coming from below (¶0016), and with a dry material outlet (see translated and annotated Fig. 1 of Tang reproduced below) in the lower region (see translated and annotated Fig. 1 of Tang reproduced below; ¶0016) for the dried, wet-ground material fraction (see translated and annotated Fig. 1 of Tang reproduced below; ¶0016).
Grasso JR., Andreae-Jaeckering, and Tang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of material pulverization. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to incorporate the teachings of Tang into the device of the glass production device disclosed by Grasso JR. and modified based on its teachings and the teachings of Andreae-Jaeckering such that the drying plant comprises a spray drying tower with a nozzle arrangement for injecting the wet-ground coarse material fraction in the upper region, an air inlet arrangement in the lower region, so that the wet-ground coarse material fraction is injected into the air or gas flow coming from below, and with a dry material outlet in the lower region for the dried, wet-ground coarse material fraction to provide a drying plant design that results in a longer residence time in the drying chamber, which is beneficial for the drying process and a configuration that prevents the formation of particles with a hard surface and hollow interior due to excessively high drying temperature and excessively fast moisture evaporation rate (¶0016).
Translated and annotated Fig. 1 of Tang (the figure was translated using Google Translate)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grasso JR. in view of Andreae-Jaekering and Tang as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Eatherton (US4431405A), hereinafter “Eatherton”.
Regarding Claim 11, the prior art combination of Grasso JR., Andreae-Jaekering, and Tang renders the glass powder production device according to claim 9 unpatentable as explained above.
The prior art combination of Grasso JR., Andreae-Jaekering, and Tang fails to teach comprising hot gas flow generating device for generating a hot gas flow, and hot gas feed device for introducing the hot gas flow into the spray drying tower and/or the dryer, wherein the hot gas flow generating device which is preceded by a further fine mill for grinding wood waste into wood power.
Nonetheless, Eatherton teaches a hot gas flow generating device (Fig. 1, Element 12) for generating a hot gas flow (Column 3, Lines 22-28), and hot gas feed device (Fig. 1, Element 30; Column 4, Lines 9-16 ) for introducing the hot gas flow into a dryer (Fig. 1, Element 10; Column 4, Lines 9-16), wherein the hot gas flow generating device is preceded by a fine mill (Column 8, Lines 16-21) for grinding wood waste (Column 8, Lines 16-21) into wood power (Column 8, Lines 16-21; Column 3, Lines 22-28, “wood dust”).
Grasso JR., Andreae-Jaeckering, Tang, and Eatherton are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of drying. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to incorporate the teachings of Eatherton into the device of the glass production device disclosed by Grasso JR. and modified based on its teachings and the teachings of Andreae-Jaeckering and Tang and use a hot gas flow generating device for generating a hot gas flow, and hot gas feed device for introducing the hot gas flow into the spray drying tower and/or the dryer, wherein the hot gas flow generating is preceded by a further fine mill for grinding wood waste into wood power to provide a highly economical source of hot air (Column 3, Lines 22-28).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
KR20060003974A & KR20100038850A - Wet grinding
WO2007090229A1 - Grinding, separating, and regrinding of coarse material fraction
US3650396A, US5950936A & US20230339808A1 - Glass production
JP2023085820A - Wood burner
/A.M.O./ Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725