DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed on 06/24/2026.
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8-9, 12-17 and 19-20 have been amended.
Claim 2 has been previously cancelled.
5. Claims 1 and 3-20 are currently pending and are considered below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
8. Claims 1 and 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Representative claim 1, recites a method for vehicle maintenance, which is a statutory class, executed by a user terminal, a processor and a memory: the method, comprising:
transmitting, by a user terminal to a hailing device, a hailing service request including a pick-up position and a drop-off position;
displaying, by the user terminal, a user interface including graphic objects representing candidate vehicles for which a user is requested to perform a maintenance task, wherein the graphic objects include a first graphic object representing a first candidate vehicle for which the user is requested to perform the maintenance task at the pick-up position and a second graphic object representing a second candidate vehicle for which the user is requested to mov to a current position of the second candidate vehicle and perform the maintenance task, wherein the first graphic object and the second graphic object are visually distinguished;
receiving, by the user terminal, user input for selecting one or more target vehicles from among the candidate vehicles displayed on the user interface;
transmitting, by the user terminal to the hailing device, a list of the target vehicles, to trigger a notification message informing that the maintenance task is scheduled to be performed;
picking up, by one of the target vehicles, the user at the pick-up position; and
traveling, by the one of the target vehicles, to the drop-off position via a position of one or more other target vehicles.
The steps of
transmitting, by a user terminal to a hailing device, a hailing service request including a pick-up position and a drop-off position;
displaying, by the user terminal, a user interface including graphic objects representing candidate vehicles for which a user is requested to perform a maintenance task, wherein the graphic objects include a first graphic object representing a first candidate vehicle for which the user is requested to perform the maintenance task at the pick-up position and a second graphic object representing a second candidate vehicle for which the user is requested to move to a current position of the second candidate vehicle and perform the maintenance task, wherein the first graphic object and the second graphic object are visually distinguished;
receiving, by the user terminal, user input for selecting one or more target vehicles from among the candidate vehicles displayed on the user interface;
transmitting, by the user terminal to the hailing device, a list of the target vehicles, to trigger a notification message informing that the maintenance task is scheduled to be performed;
picking up, by one of the target vehicles, the user at the pick-up position; and
traveling, by the one of the target vehicles, to the drop-off position via a position of one or more other target vehicles,
as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a method of organizing human activity. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim recites a method for vehicle maintenance. The above identified method steps recite commercial interactions such as sales activities and/or tailored personalized marketing relating to transmitting a notification message that the maintenance task is scheduled to be performed.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers commercial interaction such as tailored personalized marketing, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Representative claims 19 and 20, recites a device and a method, comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to
transmit, to a hailing device, a hailing service request including a pick-up position
and a drop-off position,
control a display to output a user interface including graphic objects representing
candidate vehicles for which a user is requested to perform a maintenance task, wherein the graphic objects include a first graphic object representing a first candidate vehicle for which the user is requested to perform the maintenance task at the pick-up position and a second graphic object representing a second candidate vehicle for which the user is requested to move to a current position of the second candidate vehicle and perform the maintenance task, wherein the first graphic object and the second graphic object are visually distinguished,
receive a user input for selecting one or more target vehicles from among the candidate vehicles via the user interface, and
dispatching one of the target vehicles to pick up the user at the pick-up position and to travel to the drop-off position via a position of one or more other target vehicles.
The steps of :
transmit, to a hailing device, a hailing service request including a pick-up position
and a drop-off position,
control a display to output a user interface including graphic objects representing
candidate vehicles for which a user is requested to perform a maintenance task, wherein the graphic objects include a first graphic object representing a first candidate vehicle for which the user is requested to perform the maintenance task at the pick-up position and a second graphic object representing a second candidate vehicle for which the user is requested to move to a current position of the second candidate vehicle and perform the maintenance task, wherein the first graphic object and the second graphic object are visually distinguished,
receive a user input for selecting one or more target vehicles from among the candidate vehicles via the user interface, and
dispatching one of the target vehicles to pick up the user at the pick-up position and to travel to the drop-off position via a position of one or more other target vehicles,
as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a method of organizing human activity. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim recites a method for vehicle maintenance. The above identified method steps recite commercial interactions such as sales activities and/or tailored personalized marketing relating to transmitting a notification message that the maintenance task is scheduled to be performed.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers commercial interaction such as tailored personalized marketing, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of a user terminal, a processor and a memory. The user terminal is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer functions of receiving, a hailing service request; identifying one or more candidate vehicles; transmitting, information on each candidate vehicle and information on the maintenance task required for each candidate vehicle; receiving, a list of one or more target vehicles selected from among the candidate vehicles; and transmitting, a notification message) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of a user terminal, a processor and a memory amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The additional elements are similar to the additional elements found by courts to be mere instructions to apply an exception because they do no more than merely invoke computers or machinery to perform an existing process such as: a common business method or mathematical algorithm being applied on a general purpose computer (Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 US 208, 223; Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334); providing a user with tailored information like advertisements based on information known about the user such as a location, address, or personal characteristics and a time of day is a fundamental practice long prevalent in our system); In re Morsa, 809 F. App’x 913, 917 (Fed. Cir. 2020). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Thus, considered as an ordered combination, the additional elements add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately. That is, a user terminal, a processor and a memory, performing commercial interactions including: receiving, a hailing service request; identifying one or more candidate vehicles; transmitting, information on each candidate vehicle and information on the maintenance task required for each candidate vehicle; receiving, a list of one or more target vehicles selected from among the candidate vehicles; and transmitting, a notification message, amount to mere instructions to apply the steps to a computer comprising of a processor.
Thus, claims 1, 19 and 20 are not eligible.
As for dependent claims 3-18, these claims recite limitations that further define the same abstract idea noted in claim 1. Therefore, they are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given above. The additional limitations of the dependent claims, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claims 1 and 3-20 are therefore not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments filed on 06/24/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 3-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
10. Applicant argued that “…A. Prong One of Step 2A: At Least One Limitation each of the Independent Claims 1, 19, and 20 Does Not Recite Judicial Exception and Should be Considered as an Additional Limitation…” Remarks pages 10-11
11. Examiner notes that for abstract idea directed to "Certain Methods of organizing
Human Activity" and specifically abstract idea that fall within the subgrouping of
commercial and legal activities namely advertising, marketing and sales activities, the
courts have determined that steps directed to gathering data, analyzing data,
determining results generating tailored content, and transmitting the tailored content are
all part of the abstract idea itself. In the instant case, the argued limitation are all
directed to receiving data, identifying data and transmitting the results in the process of performing advertising, marketing of sales activities. As such, the argued limitations are clearly part of the identified abstract idea and fall squarely within the "Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity." Thus, the rejection has been maintained."
12. Applicant argued that “…B. Prong Two of Step 2A: Independent Claims 1, 19, and 20 Integrate the Judicial Exception into a Practical Application. Remarks pages 11-12
13. Examiner notes that aside from “a user terminal, a processor and a memory” which are “additional elements”, the remainder of the claims have been identified as part of the abstract idea itself coupled to a data storage device executing software). In order to overcome a 35 USC 101 rejection under Step 2a, Prong 2 the purported improvement must be rooted in the "additional elements'. Additional elements are defined as those elements outside of the identified abstract idea itself. Thus, the "additional elements" as a whole are just a processing device coupled to a data storage device executing software upon which an abstract idea is merely being applied which is insufficient to transform the abstract idea into a practical application. Any purported improvement obtained by practicing the claimed invention is an improvement to the abstract idea which is an improvement in ineligible subject matter. Thus, the rejection has been maintained.
14. Applicant argued that “…C. Step 2B: Independent claims 1, 19, and 20 Provide an Inventive Concept. In claims 1, 19, and 20, the above additional elements amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. As discussed above, the above limitations of claims 1, 19, and 20 show a technical improvement in existing technology…” Remarks pages 12-13
15. Examiner notes that in order to overcome a 35 USC 101 rejection under Step 2b
it is the "additional elements" that must be considered "significantly more". Additional
elements are defined as those elements outside of the identified abstract idea itself. In
the instant case, the only "additional elements" found in the claim are a user terminal, a processor and a memory, which is merely a general-purpose computer upon which the abstract idea is being applied. Thus, the additional elements cannot be considered significantly more than the abstract idea. The purported improvement of the technology of "technical improvement in the functioning of the hailing service vehicle operation technology” in the manner claimed is part of the abstract idea itself and, as such, cannot be considered "significantly more" than the abstract idea under Step 2b. Examiner further notes that the improvement argued by the Applicants are improvement to the abstract idea. Thus, the rejection has been maintained.
Conclusion
16. The claims are not rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102/103(a): The closest prior art found by the Examiner includes:
17. Li (U.S. Pub. No. 20220215337) discloses providing vehicle-based services. Hailed vehicles are arranged to provide cooking, massage, medical, and parcel-delivery services. Using a ship-to-vehicle method, a parcel is delivered to an occupant of a hailed vehicle. In one aspect, a ship-to-vehicle option is presented in a purchasing interface. In another aspect, a notification is presented in a vehicle-hailing interface when a parcel is ready for delivery. Options are also provided for a user to select a trip segment as a parcel-delivery window (see at least the Abstract).
18. Li et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20180108103) discloses matching a transportation service request and candidate vehicles. The system may include at least one processor and a computer-readable storage medium storing a first set of instructions for monitoring a target vehicle. When executing the first set of instructions, the at least one processor is directed to: obtain, from a first passenger terminal, a transportation service request for a transportation service including a pickup location and a drop-off location; before selecting a vehicle to provide the transportation service, the at least one processor is directed to: obtain status information of a plurality of vehicles from a plurality of driver terminals within a first predetermined region around the pickup location, wherein each of the plurality of vehicles corresponds to one driver terminal of the plurality of driver terminals; determine, from the plurality of vehicles, at least one candidate vehicle available to provide the transportation service based on the status information of the plurality of vehicles; and send a real-time position of each of the at least one candidate vehicle to the first passenger terminal to display a tag of the at least one candidate vehicle in an electronic map on the first passenger terminal (see at least paragraph 0004).
19. Yang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,946,755) discloses online ride-hailing and invoice issuing methods, systems and apparatuses are provided. An example method comprises: receiving a first ride-hailing request from a user terminal, wherein the first ride-hailing request includes one or more transport capacity types, one or more online ride-hailing service providers providing the corresponding one or more transport capacity types, a start location and a destination location; sending one or more second ride-hailing requests to one or more online ride-hailing service platforms corresponding to the one or more online ride-hailing service providers according to the one or more transport capacity types and the one or more online ride-hailing service providers; receiving one or more second ride-hailing response messages returned by one or more of the one or more online ride-hailing service platforms; and returning a first ride-hailing message to the user terminal based on the second one or more ride-hailing response messages (see at least the Abstract).
20. Updated search found:
21. Takada et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,687,606) discloses an information processing system including a plurality of moving objects and an information processing device, wherein the plurality of moving objects include a communication device capable of communication using terahertz waves, and the information processing device includes a control unit configured to transmit a sensing request to a first moving object, receive a sensing result including a detection position of a detection object from the first moving object, and notify a second moving object of information related to the position of the predetermined user when the sensing result is a result of detecting a predetermined user, wherein the sensing by the first moving object is sensing using terahertz waves by the transmission and reception apparatus (see at least the Abstract).
22. However, non of these references teach ”displaying, by the user terminal, a user interface including graphic objects representing candidate vehicles for which a user is requested to perform a maintenance task, wherein the graphic objects include a first graphic object representing a first candidate vehicle for which the user is requested to perform the maintenance task at the pick-up position and a second graphic object representing a second candidate vehicle for which the user is requested to move to a current position of the second candidate vehicle and perform the maintenance task, wherein the first graphic object and the second graphic object are visually distinguished”
/MARILYN G MACASIANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3622 09/18/2026