DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 contains the trademark/trade names Kevlar®, Spectra Shield®, and Dyneema®. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe one of an aramid or an ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PG Pub. US 2022/0390211 A1 – Adrain.
Regarding claim 1.
Adrain discloses (Examiner notes that the embodiment of fig 18 is relied upon. However, other figures may be referred to for illustration purposes) a ballistic panel (1310, fig 18) for a rolling shutter assembly (1305, fig 18) covering an opening (Paragraph [0137]; a window or door frame), comprising:
a ballistic panel cover (as at 107 in fig 3); and
a plurality of ballistic sheets (as at 106 in fig 3) disposed within the ballistic panel cover (See fig 3), wherein each ballistic sheet is fabricated from a high-strength material (Paragraph [0076]; For example, mixing and matching sheets using different types of anti-ballistic materials can be chosen to offer strength, fireproofing, flexibility, and other desired properties.) and has a sheet upper edge (at 1315 in fig 18), a sheet lower edge (at 1325 in fig 18) and oppositely disposed sheet lateral edges (See fig 18), wherein the plurality of ballistic sheets are attached to each other proximate the sheet upper edges (as at 1202 in fig 15) and are not attached to each other (as at 1205 in fig 15) along (Following a line or length: Moving or extending parallel to the length of something.) the sheet lower edges (the non-attached space follows a line extending parallel to the length of the sheet lower edge) and the sheet lateral edges (See fig 15) such that the plurality of ballistic sheets slide relative to each other when the plurality of ballistic sheets are rolled up around the sheet upper edges (Paragraph [0054]; For example, Dyneema layers may need to slide a bit in relation to other layers to allow for proper rolling of the laminate.).
Regarding claim 2.
Adrain discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Adrain further discloses the ballistic panel cover comprises a cover inside sheet (as at 107 in fig 3) and a cover outside sheet (as at 107 in fig 3) with the plurality of ballistic sheets (as at 106 in fig 3) disposed between the cover inside sheet and the cover outside sheet (See fig 3).
Regarding claim 3.
Adrain discloses all limitations of claim 2.
Adrain further discloses the cover inside sheet and the cover outside sheet are connected at a panel upper end of the ballistic panel (as at 1202 in fig 15).
Regarding claim 4.
Adrain discloses all limitations of claim 2.
Adrain further discloses the cover inside sheet and the cover outside sheet are connected at a panel lower end of the ballistic panel (as at 1202 in fig 15).
Regarding claim 5.
Adrain discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Adrain further discloses the ballistic panel cover (as at 107 in fig 3) is attached to the plurality of ballistic sheets (as at 106 in fig 3) proximate the sheet upper edges and a panel upper end of the ballistic panel (as in fig 15).
Regarding claim 6.
Adrain discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Adrain further discloses the plurality of ballistic sheets is connected proximate the sheet upper edges by a plurality of rivets (Paragraph [0061]; riveting).
Regarding claim 7.
Adrain discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Adrain further discloses the high-strength material is one of Kevlar®, Spectra Shield®, Dyneema® (Paragraph [0053]; such as Kevlar (or other aramid fibers that may include poly-para-phenylene terephthalamide), Lexan, Tensylon, Dyneema (ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMwPE)), Twaron, other polyethylene, boron treated cloth, boron screens, polycarbonate, fiberglass (e.g., ArmorCore), carbon structures such as graphene, DLC, nanotubes, and other lightweight fibrous anti-ballistic materials.).
Regarding claim 8.
Adrain discloses (Examiner notes that the embodiment of fig 18 is relied upon. However, other figures may be referred to for illustration purposes) a rolling shutter assembly (1305, fig 18) for covering an opening of a structure (Paragraph [0137]; a window or door frame), the rolling shutter assembly comprising:
a shutter support member (1315, fig 18) mounted at a top wall of the opening (See fig 18);
a shutter curtain (1310, fig 18) coupled to the shutter support member so that rotation of the shutter support member rolls the shutter curtain onto and unrolls the shutter curtain from the shutter support member (See fig 18); and
a ballistic panel (as at 105 in fig 3) having a panel upper end (at 1315, fig 18), a panel lower end (at 1325, fig 18) and oppositely disposed panel lateral sides (See fig 18), the ballistic panel comprising a plurality of ballistic sheets (106, fig 3), wherein each ballistic sheet is fabricated from a high-strength material (Paragraph [0076]; For example, mixing and matching sheets using different types of anti-ballistic materials can be chosen to offer strength, fireproofing, flexibility, and other desired properties.) and has a sheet upper edge (at 1315, fig 18), a sheet lower edge (at 1325, fig 18) and oppositely disposed sheet lateral edges (See fig 18), wherein the plurality of ballistic sheets are attached (as at 1202 in fig 15) to each other and to the shutter curtain proximate the sheet upper edges (See fig 15) and the plurality of ballistic sheets are not attached to each other (as at 1205, fig 15) along (Following a line or length: Moving or extending parallel to the length of something.) the sheet lower edges (the non-attached space follows a line extending parallel to the length of the sheet lower edge) and the sheet lateral edges (See fig 15) such that the plurality of ballistic sheets slide relative to each other when the shutter curtain and the ballistic panel are rolled up around the shutter support member (Paragraph [0054]; For example, Dyneema layers may need to slide a bit in relation to other layers to allow for proper rolling of the laminate.).
Regarding claim 10.
Adrain discloses all limitations of claim 8.
Adrain further discloses the ballistic panel (as at 105 in fig 3) comprises a ballistic panel cover (107, fig 3) having the plurality of ballistic sheets (106, fig 3) disposed therein (see fig 3).
Regarding claim 11.
The rolling shutter assembly according to claim 10.
Adrain further discloses the ballistic panel cover is attached to the shutter curtain proximate the panel bottom end (as at 1202 in fig 15).
Regarding claim 12.
Adrain discloses all limitations of claim 8.
Adrain further discloses the ballistic panel (as at 105 in fig 3) comprises a ballistic panel cover (107, fig 3) having a panel outside sheet (107, fig 3) on an opposite side of the plurality of ballistic sheets from the shutter curtain (See fig 3), wherein the panel outside sheet is attached to the shutter curtain proximate the panel upper end and the panel lower end (as at 1202 in fig 15).
Regarding claim 14.
Adrain discloses all limitations of claim 8.
Adrain further discloses the plurality of ballistic sheets is attached to the shutter curtain by a plurality of rivets spaced along the sheet upper edges (Paragraph [0061]; riveting).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adrain in view of German Document DE 3444853 C2 – Seuster.
Regarding claim 9.
Adrain discloses all limitations of claim 8.
Adrain does not disclose the shutter curtain comprises a plurality of individual slats and a plurality of hinges interconnecting the plurality of individual slats, wherein the ballistic sheets are attached proximate the sheet upper edges to one of the slats with the panel lower end disposed proximate a bottom end of the shutter curtain.
However, Seuster teaches the shutter curtain comprises a plurality of individual slats (13, fig 13) and a plurality of hinges interconnecting the plurality of individual slats (see fig 13), wherein the ballistic sheets are attached proximate the sheet upper edges to one of the slats (See fig 20) with the panel lower end disposed proximate a bottom end of the shutter curtain (See fig 20).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Adrain with the slats and hinges of Seuster. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of increasing the cut resistance of the panel.
Regarding claim 13.
Adrain discloses all limitations of claim 8.
Adrain does not disclose a pair of side tracks each having a U-shaped channel, each of the pair of side tracks mounted to a corresponding side wall of the opening such that curtain lateral edges of the shutter curtain are received within the U-shaped channels when the shutter curtain is unrolled from the shutter support member to cover the opening, and wherein the side tracks engage the curtain lateral edges to prevent the curtain lateral edges from being pulled out of the side tracks.
However, Seuster teaches a pair of side tracks (1, fig 11) each having a U-shaped channel (See fig 11), each of the pair of side tracks mounted to a corresponding side wall of the opening (See fig 10) such that curtain lateral edges of the shutter curtain are received within the U-shaped channels when the shutter curtain is unrolled from the shutter support member to cover the opening (See figs 10 and 11), and wherein the side tracks engage the curtain lateral edges to prevent the curtain lateral edges from being pulled out of the side tracks (See fig 11).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Adrain with the side tracks having a U-shaped channel of Seuster. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of guiding and securing the lateral edges of the assembly.
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seuster in view of Adrain.
Regarding claim 15.
Seuster discloses a ballistic curtain (Examiner notes that the embodiment of fig 13 is relied upon. However, other figures may be referred to for illustration purposes. Examiner further notes that the curtain of Seuster presents a barrier against ballistic objects (broadly including thrown objects) and therefore meets the limitation of “ballistic curtain” as claimed.) for covering an opening (Between side tracks, 1, fig 10) of a structure (See figs 10 and 11), comprising:
a shutter support member (19, fig 20) mounted at a top wall of the opening (See fig 20);
a shutter curtain (2, fig 20) coupled to the shutter support member (See fig 20), the shutter curtain comprising a plurality of individual slats (13, fig 13) and a plurality of hinges interconnecting the plurality of individual slats (See fig 13);
a pair of side tracks (1, fig 11) each having a U-shaped channel (See fig 11), each of the pair of side tracks mounted to a corresponding one of the opening side walls such that ends of the plurality of individual slats are received within the U-shaped channels when the shutter curtain is unrolled from the shutter support member to cover the opening (See figs 10 and 11); and
a ballistic panel (4, fig 13) having a panel upper end, a panel lower end and oppositely disposed panel lateral sides (See figs 10, 11, and 13), the ballistic panel comprising a plurality of ballistic sheets (3, fig 13), wherein each ballistic sheet is fabricated from a high-strength material (steel) and has a sheet upper edge, a sheet lower edge and oppositely disposed sheet lateral edges (See figs 11 and 13), wherein the plurality of ballistic sheets are attached to each other and to one of the slats proximate the sheet upper edges (See fig 20).
Seuster does not disclose the plurality of ballistic sheets are not attached to each other along the sheet lower edges and the sheet lateral edges such that the plurality of ballistic sheets slide relative to each other when the shutter curtain and the ballistic panel are rolled up around the shutter support member.
However, Adrain teaches the plurality of ballistic sheets are not attached to each other (as at 1205, fig 15) along (Following a line or length: Moving or extending parallel to the length of something.) the sheet lower edges (the non-attached space follows a line extending parallel to the length of the sheet lower edge) and the sheet lateral edges (See fig 15) such that the plurality of ballistic sheets slide relative to each other when the shutter curtain and the ballistic panel are rolled up around the shutter support member (Paragraph [0054]; For example, Dyneema layers may need to slide a bit in relation to other layers to allow for proper rolling of the laminate.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curtain of Seuster with the lack of attachments of Adrain. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for smoother rolling of the curtain.
Regarding claim 16.
The combination of Seuster and Adrain teaches all elements of claim 15.
Seuster does not disclose the ballistic panel comprises a ballistic panel cover having the plurality of ballistic sheets disposed therein.
However, Adrain teaches the ballistic panel (105, fig 3) comprises a ballistic panel cover (107, fig 3) having the plurality of ballistic sheets (106, fig 3) disposed therein (See fig 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curtain of Seuster with the panel cover and sheets of Adrain. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for adjusting the aesthetic appearance of the curtain.
Regarding claim 17.
The combination of Seuster and Adrain teaches all elements of claim 16.
Seuster does not disclose the ballistic panel cover is attached to the shutter curtain proximate the panel bottom end.
However, Adrain teaches the ballistic panel cover is attached to the shutter curtain proximate the panel bottom end (as at 1202, fig 15).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curtain of Seuster with the attachment of Adrain. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for ensuring the security of the layers.
Regarding claim 18.
The combination of Seuster and Adrain teaches all elements of claim 15.
Seuster does not disclose the ballistic panel comprises a ballistic panel cover having a panel outside sheet on an opposite side of the plurality of ballistic sheets from the shutter curtain, wherein the panel outside sheet is attached to the shutter curtain proximate the panel upper end and the panel lower end.
However, Adrain teaches the ballistic panel (109, fig 4) comprises a ballistic panel cover (108, fig 4) having a panel outside sheet (108, fig 4) on an opposite side of the plurality of ballistic sheets (103 and 104, fig 4) from the shutter curtain, wherein the panel outside sheet is attached to the shutter curtain proximate the panel upper end and the panel lower end (See fig 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curtain of Seuster with the attachment of Adrain. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for adjusting the aesthetic appearance of the curtain.
Regarding claim 19.
The combination of Seuster and Adrain teaches all elements of claim 15.
Seuster further discloses the side tracks (1, fig 11) engage the ends of the plurality of individual slats (See fig 11) to prevent the slats from being pulled out of the side tracks (See fig 11).
Regarding claim 20.
The combination of Seuster and Adrain teaches all elements of claim 15.
Seuster further discloses the plurality of ballistic sheets (3, fig 13) is attached to the one of the slats (13, fig 13) by a plurality of rivets (as at 5 in fig 2) spaced along the sheet upper edges (See fig 20).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (Of note is EP 1 413 846 A1, in which the embodiment of fig 3 discloses all limitations of claim 1, as currently claimed.)
/J.W.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634